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SECTION 1: NARRATIVE   
   a. Current Law:   
 
Due to the court rulings in Granholm v. Heald, 125 S.Ct. 1885, and Bainbridge v. Florida, US Middle District Court, Middle District 
of Florida, Tampa Division, Case number 8:99-CV-268-T-27TBN, August 5, 2005, Florida was enjoined from enforcing current 
prohibitions against direct shipment of wine because the courts found the laws unconstitutional in that they discriminate against out-of-
state wineries.   
 
With the above caveat, Florida Statutes currently prohibit any shipments of alcoholic beverages going directly to any consumer in 
Florida.   

• Section 561.54, F.S., makes it unlawful to make delivery of any alcoholic beverage from outside the state to any person, 
association of persons, or corporation within the state, except to qualified manufacturers, distributors, exporters, and bonded 
warehouses in this state.   

• Section 561.545, F.S., finds any direct shipment of alcoholic beverages by persons in the business of selling alcoholic 
beverages to residents of this state to be in violation of the statutes. 

• Section 561.14, F.S., requires alcoholic beverage products to pass through a three-tier system before ultimately reaching the 
consumer.  The manufacturer/supplier can only sell to the wholesaler/distributor, who in turn can sell to the vendor/retailer.  
The retailer then sells to the ultimate consumer.  This three-tier system of supplier-distributor-retailer has been in place and 
guided the flow of alcoholic beverages in Florida and the nation since the repeal of Prohibition in 1933. 

• Section 561.545, F.S., provides penalties for direct shipment of alcoholic beverages to residents of this state. 
 
Certified Florida Farm Wineries are permitted to obtain licensure as a manufacturer, distributor, and a vendor.  
 
 
   b. Proposed Change:   
 
SB 1096 creates Section 561.222, F.S., to authorize certain specific direct shipments of wine to be made to consumers within Florida, 
while keeping in place the statutes which make other direct shipment of malt and spirituous beverages to Florida consumers a violation 
of law.  The bill provides for out-of-state entities to be licensed by the State of Florida to ship directly to persons in Florida who are at 
least 21 years of age for personal use only, up to a maximum of 4 cases of 9 liters of wine per calendar year to any household address. 
 
There are various criteria associated with the licensing of the winery shipper.  The winery shipper must: 
 

• Manufacture no more than 250,000 gallons of wine per year; 
• File an application for licensure and provide information that is identical to the information required for licensure as a wine 

manufacturer in this state; 
• Provide a copy of a current wine manufacturer’s license issued by the state in which it is domiciled and a copy of its current 

Federal Basic Permit as a wine producer; 
• Provide evidence that it qualifies for licensure in s. 561.15, F.S.; 
• Consent to the jurisdiction of any applicable Florida agency or court concerning enforcement of this law; 
• Appoint a registered agent in this state for acceptance of service of process; 
• Obtain and maintain a current license as a Primary American Source of Supply (PAS), as provided in s. 564.045, F.S., and 

register all brands shipped; 
• File a surety bond in the amount of $5,000; 
• Register with the Department of Revenue as a collector and remitter of state sales tax; and 
• Pay an annual license fee of $250. 
 
The division may not issue or renew a license if: 
• The entity has violated provisions of this section; 
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• The entity produces more than 250,000 gallons of wine annually or has a subsidiary or affiliate winery whose individual 
production totals are greater than 250,000 gallons of wine annually; and 

• The winery has appointed a distributor in this state, unless the division is provided a copy of written notice to the distributor 
of its application as a winery shipper at least 1 year in advance of applying for the license. 

 
The winery shipper must: 
• Verify the purchaser’s age at the point of purchase before completing any transaction and refuse sales to anyone younger than 

21; 
• Ensure the outside shipping label is conspicuous and includes four components: 1)  This package contains alcohol; 2)  The 

recipient must be at least 21 years of age; 3) The wine is for personal use only and not for resale; and 4) The signature of the 
recipient is required; 

• Ship no more than 4 cases of 9 liters each of wine per calendar year to any household address; 
• Require each common carrier to obtain signature of the recipient prior to delivery and after presentation of a valid 

identification; 
• Obtain from each common carrier, before delivering wine, a written policy to the winery shipper that the common carrier will 

obtain the required information; 
• Offer the brands of wine shipped to licensed distributors in the same quantities per calendar year as are direct shipped; 
• Remit monthly all sales taxes and excise taxes due on sales to persons in this state for the preceding month to the Department 

of Revenue and the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, respectively (The amount of tax is calculated as if the sale 
occurred in this state); 

• Maintain records of all shipments to include the names, addresses, amounts, and date of birth of the purchaser, and quantity 
and brands of wine shipped for at least three years after date of delivery, and must allow the Department of Revenue and the 
Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco to perform an audit of the records upon request.  Maintain records of any 
contracts with common carriers and the carrier’s written wine delivery policy; and 

• Report monthly to the division whether any wine product was shipped during the preceding month; the total amount of wine 
shipped for the preceding month; the quantity and brands of wine shipped; and the amount of excise tax paid to the division 
the previous month. 

 
Common Carriers making deliveries shall: 
• Register with the division and acknowledge their intent to deliver wines and acknowledge the requirements for delivery of 

same; 
• Maintain a written wine-delivery policy stating that the common carrier will, before delivering any wine, obtain the signature 

of the recipient after a valid identification is presented verifying that the recipient is 21 years of age or older; 
• Refuse to deliver a shipment if the recipient appears to be under 21 or does not present valid identification; and 
• Obtain the recipient’s address, signature, and acknowledgement of personal consumption of the wines received and maintain 

those records for a period of 3 years and make them available upon request of the division. 
 
In addition to penalties provided in section 561.545, F.S., SB 1096 authorizes the division to suspend or revoke a direct shipper’s 
license, issue cease and desist orders, and impose fines up to $50,000 for any violation of a cease and desist order.  Any direct 
shipper or anyone transporting wine from a direct shipper, knowingly or intentionally, directly to any person in this state who is 
under 21 years of age commits a felony of the third degree 
 
SB 1096 amends s. 561.24, F.S., to prohibit the issuance of a winery shipper license to a manufacturer who is licensed as a 
distributor or vendor in any state. 
 
SB 1096 amends s. 561.54, F.S., to allow a winery shipper to ship wine or a licensed Florida vendor to ship alcoholic beverages to 
persons 21 years of age or older.  
 
SB 1096 amends s. 561.545, F.S., to permit the direct shipment of wine only to residents of this state. 
 
SB 1096 amends section 599.004, Florida Statutes, to reduce the current requirement that 90% of wine produced must be made 
from Florida agricultural products in order to qualify for the certification as a Florida Farm Winery down to 60% and authorizes 
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the Commissioner of Agriculture to waive this requirement for hardship reasons.   
 
 
SECTION 2: DESCRIPTION OF DATA AND SOURCES    
 

1. Current Florida PAS Licenses – 1,328; 
2. Federally Licensed Manufacturers – 5,438; 
3. Estimated Recipients - 60,000 
4. Fees @ $250; 
5. TAXES @ $2.25 PER GALLON; AND 
6. PURCHASE LIMITS – 4 CASES PER RECIPIENT 

 
It is uncertain how many of the current federally licensed manufacturers will want to become licensed to ship wine into Florida.  It is 
also uncertain how many consumers in Florida will wish to purchase wine via direct shipments.  To estimate these numbers the 
following methodologies were used.   

We are projecting that 2,095 of the current 5,438 federally licensed manufacturers will wish to ship directly into Florida.   
It is estimated that there will be 2,095 entities who will meet licensure requirements and who will seek licensure to sell wine directly 
into Florida.  The number of individuals who will purchase wine directly from the licensed direct shippers is unknown.   
Assuming that approximately ½ of 1% of the consuming population will purchase directly, there could be 60,000 individual recipients. 
 The bill limits the amount of wine that can be purchased by the individuals from the licensed winery shippers to 4 cases per year.  For 
analysis purposes, it is assumed that the individuals will purchase a high of 4 cases or a low of 2 cases of wine per year. 
 
SECTION 3: METHODOLOGY (INCLUDE ASSUMPTIONS AND ATTACH DETAILS)   
 
Sales Tax Assumptions: 
9 bottles per case (average of 6-12/case) 
$15 per bottle 
4 Cases/consumer 
60,000 consumers annually 
Grown 3% 
9 X $15 X 4 =$540 purchase X 60,000 purchases = $32,400,000 X .06 = $1.94 m a year 
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SECTION 4: PROPOSED FISCAL IMPACT   
 

State Impact—All Funds FY 2008-09 Annualized FY 2008-09 Cash FY 2009-10 Cash 
High 4 Cases 
Excise Tax (GR) 
License Fees (AB&T TF) 
Sales Tax 

 
1,285,200 

523,750 
1,780,000 

 
1,285,200 

523,750 
1,940,000 

 
1,323,756 

539,463 
2,000,000 

Middle 
NA NA NA                                NA 

Low 2 Cases 
Excise Tax (GR) 
License Fees (AB&T TF) 

 
642,600 
523,750 

 
642,600 
523,750 

 
661,878 
539,463 

 
State Impact—All Funds FY 2010-11 Cash FY 2011-12 Cash 

High 4 cases 
Excise Tax (GR) 
License Fees (AB&T TF) 
Sales Tax 

 
1,363,469 

555,646 
2,060,000 

 
1,404,373 

572,316 
2,120,000 

Middle 
NA NA NA 

Low 
Excise Tax (GR) 
License Fees (AB&T TF) 

 
681,734 
555,646 

 
702,186 
572,316 

 
SECTION 5: CONSENSUS ESTIMATE (ADOPTED 2  /  8 / 08 )  The conference adopted the 4 case estimate.   
 

 FY 2008-09 Annualized FY 2008-09 Cash FY 2009-10 Cash 

General Revenue—Sales 
General Revenue—Beverage 
General Revenue—Svc Chg 
State Trust—AB&T TF 
Total State Impact 

1.7 
1.3 

Insignificant 
.5 
3.5 

1.6 
1.3 

Insignificant 
.5 
3.4 

1.8 
1.3 

Insignificant 
.5 
3.6 

Revenue Sharing 
Local Gov’t Half Cent 
Local Option 
Total Local Impact 

.1 

.2 

.2 

.5 

.1 

.2 

.2 

.5 

.1 

.2 

.2 

.5 
Total Impact 4.0 3.9 4.1 

 
 FY 2010-11 Cash FY 2011-12 Cash 
General Revenue—Sales 
General Revenue--Beverage 
General Revenue—Svc Chg 
State Trust—AB&T TF 
Total State Impact 

1.9 
1.4 

Insignificant 
.6 
3.9 

1.9 
1.4 

Insignificant 
.6 
3.9 

Revenue Sharing 
Local Gov’t Half Cent 
Local Option 
Total Local Impact 

.1 

.2 

.2 

.5 

.1 

.2 

.2 

.5 
Total Impact 4.4 4.4 

 


