
REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:   
Issue:  Special Alcoholic Beverage Licenses for Caterers 
Bill Number(s): Section 3, CS/CS/CS/HB 689 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   Section 3, CS/CS/CS/HB 689 
Sponsor(s): Commerce Committee; Ways & Means Committee; Careers & Competition Subcommittee; Burton 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 2017 
Date of Analysis:  06/02/17 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
 
a. Current Law:   

Section 561.20(2)(a)5, Florida Statutes, provides that there is no limit on the number of special alcoholic beverage licenses 
that may be issued to a caterer that is licensed by the Division of Hotels and Restaurants and that derives at least 51 
percent of its gross revenue from the sale of food and nonalcoholic beverages.  The statute requires caterers holding the 
special alcoholic beverage license authorized pursuant to this subsection to maintain for a period of 3 years all records to 
demonstrate compliance with the license requirements, including vendor receipts for purchases of alcoholic beverages, 
customer names, catered event dates and locations, and other records as may be required by the department by rule. 
 

b.  Proposed Change:   
Section 3 of CS/CS/CS/HB 689 amends paragraph (a) of subsection (2) of section 561.20, Florida Statutes, effectively 
clarifying the scope and application of the minimum revenue requirement pertaining to special alcoholic beverage licenses 
issued to qualifying caterers licensed by the Division of Hotels and Restaurants. 
 
The bill specifies that the minimum 51% of revenue that must be derived from the sale of food and non-alcoholic beverages 
is calculated based on the caterer’s gross food and beverage revenue.  The bill further provides that this minimum revenue 
percentage applies to each catered event in which the special alcoholic beverage license is utilized. 

 
The bill also clarifies the types of records which must be maintained for a period of 3 years by a caterer holding a special 
alcoholic beverage license pursuant to this statute. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

The Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco conducts compliance audits on special license types such as caterer 
licenses for purposes of determining compliance with the minimum revenue requirements specific to these license types.  
The compliance audits of caterer licenses are assigned at random and undertaken as auditor resources and capacity allows 
in consideration of other primary tax and revenue audits conducted on other licenses by the Division.  Data for this impact 
analysis is based on license populations for this special license type and compliance audits conducted on a subset of these 
licenses in calendar year 2016. 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The Division identified 472 current and active caterer alcoholic beverage licenses on record in calendar year 2016.  The 
special alcoholic beverage license issued to caterers is subject to an annual license tax of $1,820 each.  Based on the 2016 
license population, at least $862,680 in license fee revenue was derived from issuance or renewal of this license type during 
the year. 

 
In calendar year 2016, the Division completed audits of license compliance on the special caterer license type as follows: 

 
Summary of Audits Completed 
Total License Population of Special Caterer Licenses: 472 

 Audits Completed:    132  
 Percent of License Population Audited:  28% 

 
Summary of Audit Findings 
Audits Passed:     79 
Audits Failed:     53 
Compliance Rate Based on Licenses Audited: 60% 

 X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:   
Issue:  Special Alcoholic Beverage Licenses for Caterers 
Bill Number(s): Section 3, CS/CS/CS/HB 689 
 
  

The Division is unable to predict whether the amended revenue requirement based on gross food and beverage revenue 
only will result in any change in the license population in future years or any change in compliance rates and associated 
administrative actions on these licenses.  Therefore, impacts on annual license fee and administrative penalty revenue 
associated with these licenses are unknown. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

2018-19 Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

2019-20 Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

2020-21 Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

2021-22 Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

Indeterminate 
(non-directional) 

+/-** 

 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
 
Alcohol Beverages and Tobacco Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/09/2017):  The Conference adopted a +/- Indeterminate impact. 
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) 0.0  0.0  (+/-) (+/-) 

2018-19 (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) 0.0  0.0  (+/-) (+/-) 

2019-20 (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) 0.0  0.0  (+/-) (+/-) 

2020-21 (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) 0.0  0.0  (+/-) (+/-) 

2021-22 (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) (+/-) 0.0  0.0  (+/-) (+/-) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Expands the streamlined installation permitting of low-voltage alarm systems to include low-voltage electric fences.  Prohibits 
a local government agency from charging more than a $40 permitting fee for the installation or replacement of a new or existing 
low-voltage electric fence, when permitting is required. 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 241 (codified as Chapter 2017-52, Laws of Florida) 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Local, Federal & Veterans Subcommittee and Agriculture & Property Rights Subcommittee and Representative 
Williamson 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  Upon becoming law – June 2, 2017 
Date of Analysis:  June 9, 2017 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Section 553.793, F.S., streamlines the permitting process for the installation of low-voltage alarm system projects.  

A low-voltage alarm system project is defined as a project related to the installation, maintenance, inspection, replacement, or 
service of a new or existing alarm system, and attached ancillary components, that is hardwired and operating at low voltage.  
Generally, the law authorizes licensed electrical and alarm system contractors to purchase uniform basic permit labels (permits) 
from the local enforcement agencies without requiring detailed information about the project and exempts the contractor from 
having to notify the local enforcement agency of the details of a job prior to installation.  Contractors have 14 days after 
completion of a project to submit a Uniform Notice of a Low Voltage Alarm System Project to the local enforcement agency.  
The local enforcement agency is then authorized to coordinate directly with the property owner or customer for inspection. 
 
A municipality, county, district, or other entity of local government may not adopt or maintain in effect an ordinance or rule 
regarding a low-voltage alarm system that is inconsistent with the streamlined low-voltage alarm system installation permitting 
of s. 553.793, F.S. 
 

b. Proposed Change:  Section 1 of the bill expands s. 553.793, F.S., regarding the streamlined installation permitting of low-voltage 
alarm systems to include low-voltage electric fence as a type of low-voltage alarm system project. 
 
The bill: 
1. Adds new or existing low-voltage electric fence to the types of projects that constitute a low-voltage alarm system project; 
2. Adds “closed-circuit television systems,” “access controls,” and “battery recharging devices” to the types of ancillary 
components or equipment attached to a low-voltage alarm system; 
3. Defines “low-voltage electric fence” as an alarm system, as defined in s. 489.505, F.S., which consists of a fence structure 
and an energizer powered by a commercial storage battery not exceeding 12 volts which produces an electric charge upon 
contact with the fence structure. 
4. Requires that a low-voltage electric fence meet specified requirements to be permitted as a low-voltage alarm system 
project and prohibits any further permitting for the low-voltage alarm system project other than as provided in s. 553.793, F.S. 
 
Since current law prohibits a local enforcement agency from charging more than $40 for a permit, the agency would be 
prohibited under this law change from charging more than a $40 permitting fee for the installation or replacement of a new or 
existing low-voltage electric fence, when permitting is required. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
House Agriculture & Property Rights Subcommittee staff provided EDR staff with a list of local “inconsistencies”, with respect to local 
government electric fence permitting, that was provided to Committee staff during the bill initial analysis phase.  However, this 
document is not specify amounts for any such permitting fees or local revenues collected.  In a number of instances, local codes 
currently prohibit electric fences or permits are not required.  Due to the relative lack of information, EDR staff surveyed select 
county and municipal governments. 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
EDR surveyed select local governments to ask if the local government currently charges a permitting fee for the installation or 
replacement of new or existing low-voltage electric fence.  The initial survey was sent on May 15, 2017, and a follow-up survey, in an 
effort to boost the low response rate, was sent on May 24, 2017.  If a permitting fee was indicated, the local government was asked 
to report estimated revenues resulting from such permitting fees in the last three fiscal years (i.e., FY 2014-15 through FY 2016-17) 
and to estimate the revenue loss in FY 2017-18 as the result of the new legislation. 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Expands the streamlined installation permitting of low-voltage alarm systems to include low-voltage electric fences.  Prohibits 
a local government agency from charging more than a $40 permitting fee for the installation or replacement of a new or existing 
low-voltage electric fence, when permitting is required. 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 241 (codified as Chapter 2017-52, Laws of Florida) 
 
 
EDR staff surveyed the 42 county governments having a 2016 population greater than 50,000 and the 95 municipal governments 
having a 2016 municipal governments having a 2016 population greater than 25,000 (total of 137 local governments).  Twenty-one 
of 42 county governments (i.e., 50%) and 29 of 95 municipal governments (i.e., 31%) responded to the EDR survey (see attached 
summary). 
 
Nineteen of the 21 county governments (i.e., 90%) and 20 of the 29 municipal governments (i.e., 69%) responding to the EDR survey 
indicated that no permitting fee is currently charged for the installation or replacement of new or existing low-voltage electric 
fences.  In some cases, current local codes prohibit electric fences.  For those local governments that indicated current permitting 
fees, all indicated the expected fiscal impact of the new legislation as negative insignificant due primarily to the small number of 
such electric fence permits requested in recent years. 
 
In those cases where a local government does not currently charge such a permitting fee, some local governments indicated that the 
new legislation might encourage them to begin charging a permitting fee, up to the statutory cap of $40, as a new source of 
revenue. 
 
Based on the data gathered from the EDR survey and the expectation that similar results would extend to those survey non-
responders and those local governments not surveyed, EDR staff is recommending a proposed fiscal impact of insignificant negative. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact (Millions $) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18     (*) (*) 

2018-19     (*) (*) 

2019-20     (*) (*) 

2020-21     (*) (*) 

2021-22     (*) (*) 

 
List of Affected Trust Funds:  Local funds only. 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/09/2017):  The Conference adopted the low estimate.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2018-19 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2019-20 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2020-21 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2021-22 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
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Office of Economic and Demographic Research

2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

County Population No Yes Amount of Permit Fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Alachua 257,062       X No impact

Bay 176,016       X No impact

Brevard 568,919       X No impact

Broward 1,854,513    X No impact

Charlotte 170,450       X

A regular electric trade permit 

of $90 is required for new 

fences only if there is not an 

existing power source. A 

zoning permit of $30 is 

required for installation of 

physical fence.

 Minimal 

impact 

Citrus 143,054       X No impact

Clay 205,321       

Collier 350,202       X No impact

Columbia 68,566         

Duval 923,647       

Escambia 309,986       X No impact

Flagler 103,095       X No impact

Hernando 179,503       

Highlands 101,531       

Hillsborough 1,352,797    X No impact

Indian River 146,410       

Jackson 50,345         

Lake 323,985       X No impact

Lee 680,539       

Leon 287,671       

Manatee 357,591       

Marion 345,749       X No impact

Martin 150,870       

Miami-Dade 2,700,794    

Monroe 76,047         

Nassau 77,841         

Okaloosa 192,925       X No impact

Orange 1,280,387    X

Current zoning regulations 

prohibit electrically charged 

fences in residential and office 

districts, expect around public 

utilities. No impact

Osceola 322,862       

Palm Beach 1,391,741    

Pasco 495,868       X No impact

Pinellas 954,569       

Polk 646,989       

Putnam 72,972         

Santa Rosa 167,009       X No impact

Sarasota 399,538       X No impact

Seminole 449,124       

St. Johns 220,257       X No impact

St. Lucie 292,826       

Sumter 118,577       X $38 NR NR NR -$                  

Volusia 517,411       X No impact

Walton 62,943         X No impact

County Total 19,548,502  19 2 -$              -$              -$              -$              

Response Rate 50%

Source: EDR's May 2017 e-mail survey of those 42 county governments having a 2016 countywide population greater than 50,000.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/CS/HB 241 regarding Alarm Systems
Does your county currently charge a 

permitting fee for the installation or 

replacement of new or existing low-

voltage electric fence?

Estimated revenues resulting from such 

permitting fees.

 Unable to determine the number of permits 

issued for electric fences but expect this 

number would have been minimal.  

Legislation would result in revenue loss of 

$50 per electric trade permit - expect minimal 

impact. 

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 241 June 9, 2017
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Office of Economic and Demographic Research

2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

Municipality County Population No Yes Amount of Permit Fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Altamonte Springs Seminole 43,905         

Apopka Orange 47,826         

Aventura Miami-Dade 37,611         

Boca Raton Palm Beach 88,275         X No impact

Bonita Springs Lee 48,388         

Boynton Beach Palm Beach 73,163         

Bradenton Manatee 53,771         

Cape Coral Lee 170,474       X

No separate category for this 

type of fence. Would require 

permitting fee associated with 

traditional fence. NR

Casselberry Seminole 27,786         

Clearwater Pinellas 112,387       X No impact

Clermont Lake 34,667         

Coconut Creek Broward 57,116         

Cooper City Broward 33,671         X No impact

Coral Gables Miami-Dade 49,449         

Coral Springs Broward 126,264       

Cutler Bay Miami-Dade 44,901         

Dania Beach Broward 31,093         X

 Minimal 

impact 

Davie Broward 99,446         

Daytona Beach Volusia 64,569         

Deerfield Beach Broward 77,659         

DeLand Volusia 31,792         X No impact

Delray Beach Palm Beach 63,972         

Deltona Volusia 88,922         

Doral Miami-Dade 59,304         

Dunedin Pinellas 36,060         

Estero Lee 30,565         

Fort Lauderdale Broward 176,747       

Fort Myers Lee 76,108         

Fort Pierce St. Lucie 42,489         

Gainesville Alachua 128,612       X No impact

Greenacres Palm Beach 39,066         

Hallandale Beach Broward 38,621         

Hialeah Miami-Dade 233,431       

Hollywood Broward 146,155       

Homestead Miami-Dade 70,209         X

Electric fences not allowed by 

code. No impact

Jacksonville Duval 878,456       X No impact

Jupiter Palm Beach 60,615         X No impact

Key West Monroe 25,009         X $40 120$              120$              120$              -$                  

Kissimmee Osceola 68,401         X No impact

Lake Worth Palm Beach 37,475         X

2.5% of value of the fence 

(average fee $125) (4,000)$          

Lakeland Polk 102,507       

Largo Pinellas 81,587         

Lauderdale Lakes Broward 34,830         

Lauderhill Broward 70,677         

Margate Broward 57,226         

Melbourne Brevard 80,419         X No impact

Miami Miami-Dade 456,089       

Miami Beach Miami-Dade 92,797         

Miami Gardens Miami-Dade 111,998       

Miami Lakes Miami-Dade 30,456         

Miramar Broward 134,037       

New Smyrna Beach Volusia 25,078         X No impact

North Lauderdale Broward 44,064         

North Miami Miami-Dade 63,731         

North Miami Beach Miami-Dade 44,512         

North Port Sarasota 64,472         

Oakland Park Broward 44,098         X $160 -$                  

Ocala Marion 59,720         X No impact

Ocoee Orange 41,881         

Orlando Orange 271,752       

Ormond Beach Volusia 40,366         

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/CS/HB 241 regarding Alarm Systems
Does your municipality currently charge a 

permitting fee for the installation or 

replacement of new or existing low-

voltage electric fence?

Estimated revenues resulting from such 

permitting fees.

 The City would lose $120 per permit; 

however, the City would expect minimal 

revenue loss since no such permits were 

issued during the last three fiscal years. 

 No separate data for new or existing low-

voltage electric fences. 

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 241 June 9, 2017
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Office of Economic and Demographic Research

2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

Municipality County Population No Yes Amount of Permit Fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/CS/HB 241 regarding Alarm Systems
Does your municipality currently charge a 

permitting fee for the installation or 

replacement of new or existing low-

voltage electric fence?

Estimated revenues resulting from such 

permitting fees.

Oviedo Seminole 37,128         

Palm Bay Brevard 109,162       

Palm Beach Gardens Palm Beach 51,532         

Palm Coast Flagler 81,184         

Panama City Bay 36,909         X No impact

Parkland Broward 29,586         X

Permit and inspection fee of 

$200 -$                  

Pembroke Pines Broward 161,799       

Pensacola Escambia 53,690         X

City code (i.e., Sec. 12-2-40.-

Fences) prohibits permitting of 

electrical fences. No impact

Pinellas Park Pinellas 52,497         X

Fee amount based on 

valuation; $60-$70 for a typical 

fence on a residential lot. -$                  

Plant City Hillsborough 37,840         

Plantation Broward 88,328         X No impact

Pompano Beach Broward 107,425       X $40 -$                  

Port Orange Volusia 59,315         

Port St. Lucie St. Lucie 178,091       X No impact

Riviera Beach Palm Beach 33,957         

Rockledge Brevard 26,303         X

Permit fee averages 

approximately $45 900$              900$              900$              (100)$             

Royal Palm Beach Palm Beach 37,138         

Sanford Seminole 57,248         X No impact

Sarasota Sarasota 53,865         

St. Cloud Osceola 42,998         

St. Petersburg Pinellas 259,906       

Sunrise Broward 90,714         

Tallahassee Leon 189,675       

Tamarac Broward 63,309         

Tampa Hillsborough 365,124       

Temple Terrace Hillsborough 25,820         

Titusville Brevard 46,022         

Wellington Palm Beach 60,308         

West Palm Beach Palm Beach 108,896       

Weston Broward 66,526         X

A miscellaneous electrical 

base permit fee of $86.34 per 

structure per trade is charged.  

Escalating fees based on 

construction costs. -$                  

Winter Garden Orange 41,606         

Winter Haven Polk 39,524         X No impact

Winter Park Orange 29,308         X No impact

Winter Springs Seminole 36,156         

Municipal Total 8,365,616    20 9 1,020$           1,020$           1,020$           (4,100)$          

Response Rate 31%

Source: EDR's May 2017 e-mail survey of those 95 municipal governments having a 2016 population greater than 25,000.

 No permits for low-voltage electric fences 

have been issued in the last three years. 

 No significant impact expected as City does 

not grant many permits for this purpose. 

 No permit applications received so no 

revenue to report.  The City would lose $160 

per permit; however, there have been no 

applications in recent years. 

 No permits for low-voltage electric fences 

have been issued in the last three years. 

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 241 June 9, 2017
640



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Provides that an authority (i.e., a county or municipality) may not prohibit, regulate, or charge for the collocation of small 
wireless facilities in the public rights-of-way, except as specified, and caps the rate for collocation on an authority utility pole at $150 
annually. 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 687 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Commerce Committee and Energy & Utilities Subcommittee and Representative La Rosa 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2017 
Date of Analysis:  June 9, 2017 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Pursuant to s. 337.401, F.S., the Department of Transportation (DOT) and each local governmental entity that has 

jurisdiction and control of public roads or publicly owned rail corridors are authorized to prescribe and enforce reasonable rules 
or regulations with regard to the placement and maintenance of utility facilities across, on, or within the right-of-way limits of 
any road or publicly owned rail corridors under its jurisdiction.  These entities are referred to individually as the authority.  The 
authority may authorize any person who is a resident of this state, or any corporation which is organized under the laws of this 
state or licensed to do business within this state, to use a right-of-way for a utility in accordance with the authority’s rules or 
regulations.  A utility may not be installed, located, or relocated within a right-of-way unless authorized by a written permit.  
The permit must require the permit holder to be responsible for any damage resulting from the permitted use of the right-of-
way. 
 
Municipalities and counties must treat providers of communications services in a nondiscriminatory and competitively neutral 
manner when imposing such rules or regulations. The rules and regulations must be generally applicable to all such providers 
and may not require such providers to apply for or enter into an individual license, franchise, or other agreement as a condition 
of using the right-of-way. 
 
Pursuant to s. 202.24(1), F.S., the authority of a public body to require taxes, fees, charges, or other impositions from dealers of 
communications services for occupying its roads and rights-of-way is specifically preempted by the state, with certain 
exceptions.  However, s. 202.24(2)(c), F.S., the following are among the taxes, fees, and charges not preempted. 
 
1. Pole attachment fees charged by a local government for attachments to its utility poles. 
2. Amounts charged for the rental or other use of property owned by a public body which is not in the public rights-of-way to 

a dealer of communications services for any purpose, including, but not limited to, the placement or attachment of 
equipment used in the provision of communications services. 

3. Permit fees related to placing or maintaining facilities in or on public roads or rights-of-way pursuant to s. 337.401, F.S. 
 

b. Proposed Change:  The bill amends s. 337.401, F.S., to create the Advanced Wireless Infrastructure Deployment Act, which 
establishes a process by which wireless providers may place certain small wireless facilities on, under, within, or adjacent to 
certain utility poles or wireless support structures within public rights-of-way that are under the jurisdiction and control of an 
authority (i.e., a county or municipality).  The bill provides that an authority may not prohibit, regulate, or charge for the 
collocation of small wireless facilities in the public rights-of-way, except as specified in the bill, and caps the rate for collocation 
on an authority utility pole at $150 per pole annually. 
 
Small wireless facilities are defined in the bill as wireless facilities that meet the following size limitations: 
 
1. Each antenna associated with the facility is located inside an enclosure of no more than 6 cubic feet in volume or, if the 

antenna has exposed elements, the antenna and all of its exposed elements would fit within an enclosure of the same 
volume. 

2. All associated wireless equipment is cumulatively no more than 28 cubic feet in volume. 
 
Under the bill, a utility pole includes any pole or similar structure that is used in whole or in part to provide communication 
services or for electric distribution, lighting, traffic control, signage, or a similar function, but does not include any horizontal 
support structures to which signal lights or other traffic control devices are attached or any pole or similar structure 15 feet in 
height or less.  The bill excludes utility poles that are: 
 

 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Provides that an authority (i.e., a county or municipality) may not prohibit, regulate, or charge for the collocation of small 
wireless facilities in the public rights-of-way, except as specified, and caps the rate for collocation on an authority utility pole at $150 
annually. 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 687 
 

1. Owned by a municipal electric utility or used to support electric distribution facilities owned or operated by a municipality; 
2. Located in the right-of-way within a retirement community that is deed-restricted as housing for older persons as defined in 

s. 760.29(4)(b), F.S., has more than 5,000 residents, and has underground utilities for electric transmission or distribution; 
or 

3. Located in the right-of-way within a municipality that is located on a coastal barrier island as defined in s. 161.053(b)(3), 
F.S., has a land area of less than 5 square miles, has less than 10,000 residents, and, prior to July 1, 2017, has received 
referendum approval to issue debt to finance municipal-wide undergrounding of its utilities for electric transmission or 
distribution. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
House Energy and Utilities Subcommittee staff provided written response indicating fees for two municipalities: 
 
City of Jacksonville: Ordinance Code Title XXI, Chapter 711, Part 4A – Site Leases for Small Cell Antennas on City Improvements 
 Section 711.421: $250 application fee 
 Section 711.426: $1,200 annual site lease fee with 3% annual escalator 
 
Fort Walton Beach: Small Cell Master Lease Agreement with Verizon 
 Section 3: Annual site lease fee of $2,000 per site 
 Section 4: Annual electrical service fee of $200 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
EDR surveyed select local governments to ask if the local government currently charges a fee on wireless providers for the 
collocation of small wireless facilities in the public rights-of-way.  The initial survey was sent on May 15, 2017, and a follow-up 
survey, in an effort to boost the low response rate, was sent on May 24, 2017.  If a fee was indicated, the local government was 
asked to specify the fee(s) and report estimated revenues resulting from such fees in the last three fiscal years (i.e., FY 2014-15 
through FY 2016-17) and to estimate the revenue loss in FY 2017-18 resulting from the legislation. 
 
EDR staff surveyed the 42 county governments having a 2016 population greater than 50,000 and the 95 municipal governments 
having a 2016 municipal governments having a 2016 population greater than 25,000 (total of 137 local governments).  Eight of 42 
county governments (i.e., 19%) and 14 of 95 municipal governments (i.e., 15%) responded to the EDR survey (see attached 
summary). 
 
Seven of the 8 county governments (i.e., 88%) and 10 of the 14 municipal governments (i.e., 71%) responding to the EDR survey 
indicated that no fee(s) were currently being charged on wireless providers for the collocation of small wireless facilities in the public 
rights-of-way.  For the 1 county government that indicated a current fee, the single county (i.e., Orange) did not quantify the 
estimated revenue loss but suggested the loss would be great.  For the 4 municipal governments that indicated current fees, one 
municipality (i.e., Cooper City) quantified the estimated revenue loss; however, the other 3 municipalities (i.e., Dania Beach, 
Homestead, and Jacksonville) did not quantify the estimated revenue loss.  Dania Beach and Homestead suggested the losses would 
be minimal; however, Jacksonville suggested the loss would be significant.  In written responses, a number of local governments 
indicated that more study of the potential impacts would need to be undertaken if the bill became law. 
 
This analysis uses a compound annual growth rate calculated from historical Revenue Account 323.200 – Permits, Fees, and Special 
Assessments – Franchise Fee – Telecommunications collections to project the estimated revenue losses into the forecast period. 
 
In those cases where a local government does not currently charge such a collocation fee, some local governments indicated that 
the new legislation, if it becomes law, might encourage them to charge a fee, up to the annual amount of $150 per pole, as a new 
source of revenue. 
 
In written responses to the EDR survey, some local governments suggested that the estimated revenue losses might be significant 
given the potentially large number of future applicants; however, county or municipal government staff would need to study and 
evaluate the bill language in greater detail, if the bill becomes law.  Based on comments by some local governments as to the 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Provides that an authority (i.e., a county or municipality) may not prohibit, regulate, or charge for the collocation of small 
wireless facilities in the public rights-of-way, except as specified, and caps the rate for collocation on an authority utility pole at $150 
annually. 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 687 
 
uncertainty of the bill’s fiscal impact and the very limited data gathered from the low number of survey respondents, EDR staff is 
suggesting that the proposed High impact of indeterminate negative is more appropriate than the Low impact. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact (Millions $) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 (**) (**)   (0.3) (0.3) 

2018-19 (**) (**)   (0.3) (0.3) 

2019-20 (**) (**)   (0.3) (0.3) 

2020-21 (**) (**)   (0.3) (0.3) 

2021-22 (**) (**)   (0.3) (0.3) 

 
List of Affected Trust Funds:  Local funds only. 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/09/2017):  The Conference adopted the high estimate.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2018-19 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2019-20 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2020-21 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2021-22 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 
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Source Revenue Revenue

From Survey  $                        -  $          (292,591)

FY Revenue % Chg. Revenue % Chg.

2012-13 3,419,406$        - 9,113,411$        -

2013-14 3,290,268$        -3.8% 10,368,660$      13.8%

2014-15 2,907,965$        -11.6% 9,554,548$        -7.9%

CAGR County Govts Municipal Govts

2012-13 to 2014-15 -7.8% 2.4%

FY

2017-18 -$                      - (292,591)$          -

2018-19 -$                      #DIV/0! (299,589)$          2.4%

2019-20 -$                      #DIV/0! (306,754)$          2.4%

2020-21 -$                      #DIV/0! (314,090)$          2.4%

2021-22 -$                      #DIV/0! (321,602)$          2.4%

FY Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2017-18 (**) (**) ($0.3) ($0.3)

2018-19 (**) (**) ($0.3) ($0.3)

2019-20 (**) (**) ($0.3) ($0.3)

2020-21 (**) (**) ($0.3) ($0.3)

2021-22 (**) (**) ($0.3) ($0.3)

County Governments Municipal Governments

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 687 - Utilities

I.  Estimated Revenue Losses in FY 2017-18

County Governments Municipal Governments

II.  Permits, Fees, and Special Assessments - Franchise Fee - Telecommunications Revenue Collections Reported 

in Annual Financial Reports (AFRs)

High Middle Low

Data Source: Compiled from Annual Financial Reports (AFR) submitted by county and municipal governments to the Department of Financial Services  (i.e., Revenue Account 

#323.200).

III.  Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) Calculated from Historical Revenue Account 344.900 Collections

IV.  County and Municipal Revenue Losses Projected into the Forecast Period Using the Compound Annual 

Growth Rate (CAGR) Based on the Historical Revenue Account 344.900 Collections

County Governments Municipal Governments

V.  Estimated Revenue Losses (Millions $) - Sum of County and Municipal Government Figures

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 687 June 9, 2017
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2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

County Population No Yes Amount of Fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Alachua 257,062        X No impact

Bay 176,016        X No impact

Brevard 568,919        

Broward 1,854,513     

Charlotte 170,450        

Citrus 143,054        

Clay 205,321        

Collier 350,202        

Columbia 68,566          

Duval 923,647        

Escambia 309,986        

Flagler 103,095        

Hernando 179,503        

Highlands 101,531        

Hillsborough 1,352,797     X No impact

Indian River 146,410        

Jackson 50,345          

Lake 323,985        

Lee 680,539        

Leon 287,671        

Manatee 357,591        

Marion 345,749        

Martin 150,870        

Miami-Dade 2,700,794     X

Staff will need to consider 

impact on operations if 

collocation requests are 

received. No impact

Monroe 76,047          

Nassau 77,841          

Okaloosa 192,925        X No impact

Orange 1,280,387     X

$100 right-of-way permit fee 

per each individual application - 

not specific to collocation of 

small wireless facilities

 Unspecified 

but great due 

to up to 30 

requests per 

application 

Osceola 322,862        

Palm Beach 1,391,741     

Pasco 495,868        

Pinellas 954,569        

Polk 646,989        

Putnam 72,972          

Santa Rosa 167,009        X No impact

Sarasota 399,538        

Seminole 449,124        

St. Johns 220,257        X No impact

St. Lucie 292,826        

Sumter 118,577        

Volusia 517,411        

Walton 62,943          

County Total 19,548,502   7 1 -$                -$                -$                -$                

Response Rate 19%

Source: EDR's May 2017 e-mail survey of those 42 county governments having a 2016 countywide population greater than 50,000.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/CS/HB 687 regarding Utilities
Does your county currently charge a fee 

on wireless providers for the collocation 

of small wireless facilties in the public 

rights-of-way?

Estimated revenues resulting from such 

fees.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 687 June 9, 2017
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2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

Municipality County Population No Yes Amount of Fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Altamonte Springs Seminole 43,905         

Apopka Orange 47,826         

Aventura Miami-Dade 37,611         

Boca Raton Palm Beach 88,275         

Bonita Springs Lee 48,388         X No impact

Boynton Beach Palm Beach 73,163         

Bradenton Manatee 53,771         

Cape Coral Lee 170,474       X No impact

Casselberry Seminole 27,786         

Clearwater Pinellas 112,387       X No impact

Clermont Lake 34,667         

Coconut Creek Broward 57,116         

Cooper City Broward 33,671         X

The City has several cell tower 

lease agreements with annual 

escalator -$                  -$                  294,241$       (292,591)$      

Coral Gables Miami-Dade 49,449         

Coral Springs Broward 126,264       

Cutler Bay Miami-Dade 44,901         

Dania Beach Broward 31,093         X

 Minimal 

impact 

Davie Broward 99,446         

Daytona Beach Volusia 64,569         

Deerfield Beach Broward 77,659         

DeLand Volusia 31,792         X No impact

Delray Beach Palm Beach 63,972         

Deltona Volusia 88,922         

Doral Miami-Dade 59,304         

Dunedin Pinellas 36,060         

Estero Lee 30,565         

Fort Lauderdale Broward 176,747       

Fort Myers Lee 76,108         

Fort Pierce St. Lucie 42,489         

Gainesville Alachua 128,612       

Greenacres Palm Beach 39,066         

Hallandale Beach Broward 38,621         

Hialeah Miami-Dade 233,431       

Hollywood Broward 146,155       

Homestead Miami-Dade 70,209         X

$100 annual fee per pole. 

Additional Make Ready fees 

for new installations and 

Maintenance fees for city-

completed work. 131,213$       51,669$         132,000$       Minimal

Jacksonville Duval 878,456       X

$250 application fee and an 

annual $1,200 site lease fee 

per tower with an annual 3% 

escalator

 Significant 

revenue loss 

Jupiter Palm Beach 60,615         

Key West Monroe 25,009         X No impact

Kissimmee Osceola 68,401         

Lake Worth Palm Beach 37,475         X No impact

Lakeland Polk 102,507       

Largo Pinellas 81,587         

Lauderdale Lakes Broward 34,830         

Lauderhill Broward 70,677         

Margate Broward 57,226         

Melbourne Brevard 80,419         

Miami Miami-Dade 456,089       

Miami Beach Miami-Dade 92,797         

Miami Gardens Miami-Dade 111,998       

Miami Lakes Miami-Dade 30,456         

Miramar Broward 134,037       

New Smyrna Beach Volusia 25,078         

North Lauderdale Broward 44,064         

North Miami Miami-Dade 63,731         

North Miami Beach Miami-Dade 44,512         

North Port Sarasota 64,472         

Oakland Park Broward 44,098         

Ocala Marion 59,720         X No impact

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/CS/HB 687 regarding Utilities
Does your county currently charge a fee 

on wireless providers for the collocation 

of small wireless facilties in the public 

rights-of-way?

Estimated revenues resulting from such 

fees.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 687 June 9, 2017
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2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

Municipality County Population No Yes Amount of Fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/CS/HB 687 regarding Utilities
Does your county currently charge a fee 

on wireless providers for the collocation 

of small wireless facilties in the public 

rights-of-way?

Estimated revenues resulting from such 

fees.

Ocoee Orange 41,881         

Orlando Orange 271,752       

Ormond Beach Volusia 40,366         

Oviedo Seminole 37,128         

Palm Bay Brevard 109,162       

Palm Beach Gardens Palm Beach 51,532         

Palm Coast Flagler 81,184         

Panama City Bay 36,909         X No impact

Parkland Broward 29,586         

Pembroke Pines Broward 161,799       

Pensacola Escambia 53,690         

Pinellas Park Pinellas 52,497         

Plant City Hillsborough 37,840         

Plantation Broward 88,328         X No impact

Pompano Beach Broward 107,425       

Port Orange Volusia 59,315         

Port St. Lucie St. Lucie 178,091       

Riviera Beach Palm Beach 33,957         

Rockledge Brevard 26,303         

Royal Palm Beach Palm Beach 37,138         

Sanford Seminole 57,248         

Sarasota Sarasota 53,865         

St. Cloud Osceola 42,998         

St. Petersburg Pinellas 259,906       

Sunrise Broward 90,714         

Tallahassee Leon 189,675       

Tamarac Broward 63,309         

Tampa Hillsborough 365,124       

Temple Terrace Hillsborough 25,820         

Titusville Brevard 46,022         

Wellington Palm Beach 60,308         

West Palm Beach Palm Beach 108,896       

Weston Broward 66,526         

Winter Garden Orange 41,606         

Winter Haven Polk 39,524         

Winter Park Orange 29,308         X No impact

Winter Springs Seminole 36,156         

Municipal Total 8,365,616    10 4 131,213$       51,669$         426,241$       (292,591)$      

Response Rate 15%

Source: EDR's May 2017 e-mail survey of those 95 municipal governments having a 2016 population greater than 25,000.

 The City was in discussions with carriers 

about possible monthly rents and other cities 

about comparable rents. 

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/CS/HB 687 June 9, 2017
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Preempts to the state the regulation of Transportation Network Companies (TNCs), TNC drivers, and TNC vehicles and 
prohibits a local governmental entity or subdivision from requiring a license or imposing a tax on such TNCs. TNC drivers, and TNC 
vehicles. 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 221  (codified as Chapter 2017-12, Laws of Florida) 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Government Accountability Committee and Representatives Sprowls and J. Grant 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2017 
Date of Analysis:  June 9, 2017 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Florida law provides for certain regulations regarding taxis, limousines, and other for-hire transportation services, 

including minimum insurance requirement in s. 324.032, F.S.; an exception to workers’ compensation insurance requirements 
under certain circumstances in s. 440.02(15)(c)10., F.S.; and an exception to child restraint requirements in s. 316.613, F.S.  Any 
additional regulations of these transportation services is established at the local level. 
 
Pursuant to s. 125.01(1)(n). F.S., county governing bodies, to the extent not inconsistent with general or special law, have the 
power to license and regulate taxis, jitneys (i.e., a bus or other vehicle carrying passengers for a low fare), limousines for hire, 
rental cars, and for-hire vehicles that operate in the county’s unincorporated area. 
 
Pursuant to s. 166.021(3)(c), F.S., municipal governing bodies have the power to enact legislation concerning any subject matter 
upon which the state legislature may act, except any subject expressly preempted to the state or county governments by the 
constitution or general law.  Since the regulation of taxis, limousines, and other for-hire vehicles has not been expressly 
preempted to the state or county government, municipalities may regulate these vehicles under their broad home rule powers. 
 

b. Proposed Change:  The legislation creates Section 627.748, F.S., in Part XI (i.e., Motor Vehicle and Casualty Insurance Contracts) 
of Chapter 627, F.S., (i.e., Insurance Rates and Contracts) and expresses the Legislature’s intent to provide for uniformity of laws 
governing a Transportation Network Company (TNC), TNC drivers, and TNC vehicles throughout the state.  The bill provides that 
TNCs, TNC drivers, and TNC vehicles will be governed exclusively by state law, including in any locality or other jurisdiction that 
enacted a law or created rules governing such TNCs, TNC drivers, and TNC vehicles before July 1, 2017. 
 
Subsection 15 of s. 627.748, F.S., provides that a county, municipality, special district, airport authority, port authority, or other 
local governmental entity or subdivision may not: 

 
1) Impose a tax on, or require a license for a TNC, TNC driver, or TNC vehicle if such tax or license relates to providing 

prearranged rides; 
2) Subject a TNC, a TNC driver, or a TNC vehicle to any rate, entry, operation, or other requirement of the county, 

municipality, special district, airport authority, port authority, or other local governmental entity or subdivision; or 
3) Require a TNC or TNC driver to obtain a business license or any other type of similar authorization to operate within 

the local governmental entity’s jurisdiction. 
 

This subsection does not prohibit an airport or seaport from charging reasonable pickup fees consistent with any pickup fees 
charged to taxicab companies at that airport or seaport for their use of the airport’s or seaport’s facilities or prohibit the airport 
or seaport from designating locations for staging, pickup, and other similar operations at the airport or seaport. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
House Government Accountability Committee staff 
Florida Association of Special Districts (FASD) 
Florida Ports Council 
Lyft “Florida Driver Information” webpage:  https://help.lyft.com/hc/en-us/articles/213707938-Florida-Driver-Information 
Uber representative 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
EDR surveyed select local governments to ask if the local government has enacted any ordinance or rule regulating TNCs, TNC 
drivers, or TNC vehicles that would be preempted by this bill.  The initial survey was sent on May 15, 2017, and a follow-up survey, in 

 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Preempts to the state the regulation of Transportation Network Companies (TNCs), TNC drivers, and TNC vehicles and 
prohibits a local governmental entity or subdivision from requiring a license or imposing a tax on such TNCs. TNC drivers, and TNC 
vehicles. 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 221  (codified as Chapter 2017-12, Laws of Florida) 
 
an effort to boost the low response rate, was sent on May 24, 2017.  If a local ordinance or rule was indicated, the local government 
was asked to specify the fee(s) and report estimated revenues resulting from such fees in the last three fiscal years (i.e., FY 2014-15 
through FY 2016-17) and to estimate the revenue loss in FY 2017-18 resulting from the legislation. 
 
EDR staff surveyed the 42 county governments having a 2016 population greater than 50,000 and the 95 municipal governments 
having a 2016 municipal governments having a 2016 population greater than 25,000 (total of 137 local governments).  Twenty-one 
of 42 county governments (i.e., 50%) and 30 of 95 municipal governments (i.e., 32%) responded to the EDR survey (see attached 
summary). 
 
Nineteen of the 21 county governments (i.e., 90%) and 27 of the 30 municipal governments (i.e., 90%) responding to the EDR survey 
indicated that no local ordinance or rule regulating TNCs has been enacted.  For the 2 county governments and 3 municipal 
governments that indicated local ordinances, estimates of loss revenues in FY 2017-18 totaled $858,431. 
 
Additionally, an Uber-Florida representative provided data on annual permit fees totaling paid to Palm Beach County (i.e., $200,000) 
and the cities of Fort Lauderdale and Tallahassee (i.e., totaling $320,000).  These local governments did not respond to the EDR 
survey. 
 
This analysis assumes that TNC-related revenues received by county and municipal governments would be reported in Revenue 
Account 344.900 – Charges for Services-Transportation-Other Transportation Charges.  The estimated revenue losses were projected 
into the forecast period using a compound annual growth rate calculated from historical Revenue Account 344.900 collections. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact (Millions $) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 (**) (**)   (1.4) (1.4) 

2018-19 (**) (**)   (1.4) (1.4) 

2019-20 (**) (**)   (1.5) (1.5) 

2020-21 (**) (**)   (1.5) (1.5) 

2021-22 (**) (**)   (1.6) (1.6) 

 
List of Affected Trust Funds:  Local funds only. 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/09/2017):  The Conference adopted a negative indeterminate impact that is at least 
the low. 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2018-19 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2019-20 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2020-21 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 

2021-22 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**) (**) (**) (**) 
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Source Revenue Revenue

From Survey  $          (779,331)  $            (79,100)

From Uber  $          (200,000)  $          (320,000)

Total  $          (979,331)  $          (399,100)

FY Revenue % Chg. Revenue % Chg.

2010-11 34,909,747$      - 24,186,797$      -

2011-12 31,176,390$      -10.7% 22,525,013$      -6.9%

2012-13 45,321,109$      45.4% 21,435,036$      -4.8%

2013-14 47,785,280$      5.4% 23,064,996$      7.6%

2014-15 40,263,133$      -15.7% 26,099,775$      13.2%

CAGR County Govts Municipal Govts

2010-11 to 2014-15 3.6% 1.9%

FY

2017-18 (979,331)$          - (399,100)$          -

2018-19 (1,014,892)$       3.6% (406,768)$          1.9%

2019-20 (1,051,744)$       3.6% (414,582)$          1.9%

2020-21 (1,089,934)$       3.6% (422,547)$          1.9%

2021-22 (1,129,511)$       3.6% (430,666)$          1.9%

FY Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2017-18 (**) (**) ($1.4) ($1.4)

2018-19 (**) (**) ($1.4) ($1.4)

2019-20 (**) (**) ($1.5) ($1.5)

2020-21 (**) (**) ($1.5) ($1.5)

2021-22 (**) (**) ($1.6) ($1.6)

High Middle Low

County Governments Municipal Governments

III.  Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) Calculated from Historical Revenue Account 344.900 Collections

County Governments Municipal Governments

V.  Estimated Revenue Losses (Millions $) - Sum of County and Municipal Government Figures

Data Source: Compiled from Annual Financial Reports (AFR) submitted by county and municipal governments to the Department of Financial Services  (i.e., Revenue Account 

#344.900).

IV.  County and Municipal Revenue Losses Projected into the Forecast Period Using the Compound Annual 

Growth Rate (CAGR) Based on the Historical Revenue Account 344.900 Collections

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/HB 221 - Transportation Network Companies

II.  Charges for Services - Transportation - Other Transportation Charges Revenue Collections Reported in 

Annual Financial Reports (AFRs)

County Governments Municipal Governments

I.  Estimated Revenue Losses in FY 2017-18

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/HB 221 June 9, 2017
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2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

County Population No Yes If Yes, identify Specify fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Alachua 257,062       X No impact

Bay 176,016       X No impact

Brevard 568,919       X No impact

Broward 1,854,513    X

 Chapter 22 1/2, 

Broward County Code of 

Ordinances, and 

Chapter 40.50(i), 

Broward County 

Administrative Code 

Initial application fee of 

$250; increasing annual 

licensing fee, from 

$2,000 to $300,000, 

depending on total # of 

vehicles 8,000$       468,000$   608,000$   (608,000)$  

Charlotte 170,450       X No impact

Citrus 143,054       X No impact

Clay 205,321       

Collier 350,202       X No impact

Columbia 68,566         

Duval 923,647       

Escambia 309,986       X No impact

Flagler 103,095       X No impact

Hernando 179,503       

Highlands 101,531       

Hillsborough 1,352,797    X

 On a temporary basis 

only.  Adoption of 

permanent rules was 

abated in light of this 

legislation. 

Tiered fee structure 

based on the # of 

permits issued for TNC 

vehicles, ranging from 

$80 each to $160 each. NR NR NR (171,331)$  

Indian River 146,410       

Jackson 50,345         

Lake 323,985       X No impact

Lee 680,539       

Leon 287,671       

Manatee 357,591       

Marion 345,749       X No impact

Martin 150,870       

Miami-Dade 2,700,794    

Monroe 76,047         

Nassau 77,841         

Okaloosa 192,925       X No impact

Orange 1,280,387    X No impact

Osceola 322,862       

Palm Beach 1,391,741    

Pasco 495,868       X No impact

Pinellas 954,569       

Polk 646,989       

Putnam 72,972         

Santa Rosa 167,009       X No impact

Sarasota 399,538       X No impact

Seminole 449,124       

St. Johns 220,257       X No impact

St. Lucie 292,826       

Sumter 118,577       X No impact

Volusia 517,411       X No impact

Walton 62,943         X No impact

County Total 19,548,502  19 2 8,000$       468,000$   608,000$   (779,331)$  

Response Rate 50%

Source: EDR's May 2017 e-mail survey of those 42 county governments having a 2016 countywide population greater than 50,000.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/HB 221 regarding Transportation Network Companies
Has your county enacted any ordinance or rule regulating 

TNCs, TNC drivers, or TNC vehicles that would be 

preempted by this law?

Estimated revenues resulting from an 

applicable tax, fee, or charge.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/HB 221 June 9, 2017
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2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

Municipality County Population No Yes If Yes, identify Specify fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Altamonte Springs Seminole 43,905        

Apopka Orange 47,826        

Aventura Miami-Dade 37,611        

Boca Raton Palm Beach 88,275        

Bonita Springs Lee 48,388        X No impact

Boynton Beach Palm Beach 73,163        

Bradenton Manatee 53,771        

Cape Coral Lee 170,474      X No impact

Casselberry Seminole 27,786        

Clearwater Pinellas 112,387      X No impact

Clermont Lake 34,667        

Coconut Creek Broward 57,116        

Cooper City Broward 33,671        X No impact

Coral Gables Miami-Dade 49,449        

Coral Springs Broward 126,264      X No impact

Cutler Bay Miami-Dade 44,901        

Dania Beach Broward 31,093        X No impact

Davie Broward 99,446        

Daytona Beach Volusia 64,569        

Deerfield Beach Broward 77,659        

DeLand Volusia 31,792        X No impact

Delray Beach Palm Beach 63,972        

Deltona Volusia 88,922        

Doral Miami-Dade 59,304        

Dunedin Pinellas 36,060        

Estero Lee 30,565        

Fort Lauderdale Broward 176,747      

Fort Myers Lee 76,108        

Fort Pierce St. Lucie 42,489        

Gainesville Alachua 128,612      X

$9,500 annual licensing fee for 

Uber and Lyft NR NR 19,000$         (19,000)$       

Greenacres Palm Beach 39,066        

Hallandale Beach Broward 38,621        

Hialeah Miami-Dade 233,431      

Hollywood Broward 146,155      

Homestead Miami-Dade 70,209        X No impact

Jacksonville Duval 878,456      X No impact

Jupiter Palm Beach 60,615        X No impact

Key West Monroe 25,009        X No impact

Kissimmee Osceola 68,401        X No impact

Lake Worth Palm Beach 37,475        X No impact

Lakeland Polk 102,507      

Largo Pinellas 81,587        

Lauderdale Lakes Broward 34,830        

Lauderhill Broward 70,677        

Margate Broward 57,226        

Melbourne Brevard 80,419        X No impact

Miami Miami-Dade 456,089      

Miami Beach Miami-Dade 92,797        

Miami Gardens Miami-Dade 111,998      

Miami Lakes Miami-Dade 30,456        

Miramar Broward 134,037      

New Smyrna Beach Volusia 25,078        X No impact

North Lauderdale Broward 44,064        

North Miami Miami-Dade 63,731        

North Miami Beach Miami-Dade 44,512        

North Port Sarasota 64,472        

Oakland Park Broward 44,098        X No impact

Ocala Marion 59,720        X No impact

Ocoee Orange 41,881        

Orlando Orange 271,752      

Ormond Beach Volusia 40,366        

Oviedo Seminole 37,128        

Palm Bay Brevard 109,162      

Palm Beach Gardens Palm Beach 51,532        

Palm Coast Flagler 81,184        

Panama City Bay 36,909        X  Ordinance 2602 Each TNC is charged $25. NR NR NR (100)$            

Parkland Broward 29,586        X No impact

Pembroke Pines Broward 161,799      

Pensacola Escambia 53,690        X

 City Code Sections 10-

2-4 and 10-2-5 

TNC's are charged a pickup 

fee of $2.50 per pickup at 

Pensacola International Airport 

while taxicabs are assessed 

an annual permit fee. City 

would be concerned that 

pickup fees would be 

disallowed. 60,000$         60,000$         60,000$         (60,000)$       

Pinellas Park Pinellas 52,497        X No impact

Plant City Hillsborough 37,840        

Plantation Broward 88,328        X No impact

Pompano Beach Broward 107,425      X No impact

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/HB 221 regarding Transportation Network Companies
Has your county enacted any ordinance or rule regulating TNCs, 

TNC drivers, or TNC vehicles that would be preempted by this 

law?

Estimated revenues resulting from an 

applicable tax, fee, or charge.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/HB 221 June 9, 2017
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Office of Economic and Demographic Research

2016

Estimated 

revenue loss

Municipality County Population No Yes If Yes, identify Specify fee FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18

Fiscal Impact Analysis of 2017 CS/HB 221 regarding Transportation Network Companies
Has your county enacted any ordinance or rule regulating TNCs, 

TNC drivers, or TNC vehicles that would be preempted by this 

law?

Estimated revenues resulting from an 

applicable tax, fee, or charge.

Port Orange Volusia 59,315        

Port St. Lucie St. Lucie 178,091      X No impact

Riviera Beach Palm Beach 33,957        

Rockledge Brevard 26,303        X No impact

Royal Palm Beach Palm Beach 37,138        

Sanford Seminole 57,248        X No impact

Sarasota Sarasota 53,865        

St. Cloud Osceola 42,998        

St. Petersburg Pinellas 259,906      

Sunrise Broward 90,714        

Tallahassee Leon 189,675      

Tamarac Broward 63,309        

Tampa Hillsborough 365,124      

Temple Terrace Hillsborough 25,820        

Titusville Brevard 46,022        

Wellington Palm Beach 60,308        

West Palm Beach Palm Beach 108,896      

Weston Broward 66,526        X No impact

Winter Garden Orange 41,606        

Winter Haven Polk 39,524        X No impact

Winter Park Orange 29,308        X No impact

Winter Springs Seminole 36,156        

Municipal Total 8,365,616   27 3 60,000$         60,000$         79,000$         (79,100)$       

Response Rate 32%

Source: EDR's May 2017 e-mail survey of those 95 municipal governments having a 2016 population greater than 25,000.

Fiscal Impact Analysis of CS/HB 221 June 9, 2017
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  DOH – Medical Faculty Certification 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 209, Ch. 2017-50, L.O.F. 
 

 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Health & Human Services Committee, Health Quality Subcommittee, Miller, A., and others 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2017 
Date of Analysis:  June 7, 2017 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  

 
Medical Faculty Certificates 
The Department of Health (DOH) may issue medical faculty certificates (certificates) to certain physicians allowing them to 
practice medicine in Florida without passing a licensing exam.  These physicians may only practice in conjunction with a full-time 
faculty position at one of Florida’s 8 medical schools/teaching hospitals.  To be eligible to receive the certificate, the physician 
must, among other requirements, remit a nonrefundable $500 application fee and, upon approval of the application, an initial 
certificate fee of $424.  The certificate must be renewed every 2 years and the physician must pay a renewal fee of $360. There 
is no limit on the number of initial certificates a medical school may receive.  However, the number of medical faculty 
certificates that may be renewed by each medical school is statutorily limited to 30 per school, except the Mayo Clinic is limited 
to 10 renewed medical faculty certificates. 
 
Temporary Registration of Physicians for Educational Purposes 
Upon the request of a dean of a medical school or a director of a teaching hospital, the DOH may authorize a physician, via a 
temporary registration with DOH, to provide medical care or treatment for educational purposes for a single period of time, not 
to exceed 180 consecutive days. Such physician must pay a $100 registration fee.  No more than 3 physicians per year, per 
institution may be registered to provide such services. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:   

 
Medical Faculty Certificates 
The bill expands the list of eligible medical schools/teaching hospitals that may issue medical faculty certificates to include the 
Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital in St. Petersburg, FL, up to 30 active certificates. 
 
Temporary Registration of Physicians for Educational Purposes 
The bill authorizes the medical director of a specialty-licensed children’s hospital licensed under ch. 395, F.S., that is affiliated 
with an accredited medical school and its affiliated clinics, to request temporary registration to authorize a physician who is not 
licensed in Florida to provide medical care or treatment for educational purposes. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
 
Sources 

 s. 458.3145, F.S. 

 Rule 64B-3.002, F.A.C. 

 Department of Health, Agency Analysis of 2017 House Bill 209 (Jan. 11, 2017). 

 Email correspondence with DOH staff, June 1-8, 2017 

 Email correspondence with AHCA staff, June 6, 2017 

 Phone conversation with DOH staff, June 1, 2017 (confirmed no change to fiscal in agency analysis from bill amendments 
subsequent to date of agency analysis). 
 

Data 
 
Medical Faculty Certificates 

 According to DOH, currently there are 54 active medical faculty certificates: 
o University of Florida - 15 

 

X 
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Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 209, Ch. 2017-50, L.O.F. 
 

 

o University of Miami – 31 (17 initial certificates, 14 renewed certificates) 
o Florida State University - 1 
o Florida International University - 6 
o University of South Florida – 1 

 

 According to DOH data, the highest number of initial certificates issued by an eligible medical school in any given year is 29 
certificates.  The average number of certificates issued by an eligible medical school in the past 5 years is 2 per school.  The 
highest historical year of initial certificate issuance per school is provided below: 

o University of Florida - 29 in 1999 
o University of Miami - 17 in 2010 
o Florida State University - 3 in 2016 
o Florida International University - 3 in 2010 
o University of South Florida – 10 in 2000 
o University of Central Florida – 4 in 2016 
o The Mayo Clinic College of Medicine in Jacksonville, FL – 1 in 2011 
o Florida Atlantic University - 0 

 
Temporary Registrations 

 According to AHCA, currently there are 4 children’s hospitals in Florida that have the classification as a “specialty-licensed 
children’s hospital”: 

o Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital (St. Petersburg) 
o Nemours Children’s Hospital (Orlando) 
o Nicklaus Children’s Hospital (Miami) 
o Shriners Hospitals for Children (Tampa) 

 The DOH has issued 4 temporary registrations of physicians for educational purposes since 2013. 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 
Medical Faculty Certificates 
Assuming the number of applications for certificates at Johns Hopkins is the maximum allowable number of certificates per year 
(30), the application fee revenue in the first year would be $500 x 30 = $15,000.  Additionally, assuming the number of initial 
certificates issued to Johns Hopkins is the maximum allowable number of certificates per year (30), the initial certificate fee revenue 
in year 1 would be $424 x 30 = $12,720. Year 1 total is $27,720. In subsequent years, there is a biennial renewal fee of $360 per 
certificate, so again assuming the maximum allowable number of certificates per year are renewed (30), the annual renewal fee 
revenue would be $180 x 30 = $5,400. 
 
Temporary Registrations 
Assuming the maximum number of registrations (3 per hospital) at each of Florida’s 4 specialty-licensed children’s hospitals = 12 
certificates x $100 fee per certificate = $1,200 increase in fee revenue per year 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18   $28,920 $6,600   

2018-19   $1,200 $6,600   

2019-20   $6,600 $6,600   

2020-21   $1,200 $6,600   

2021-22   $6,600 $6,600   

 
List of affected Trust Funds:  Medical Quality Assurance Trust Fund 
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Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/09/2017):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.      
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2018-19 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2019-20 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2020-21 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2021-22 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax: Various Fees   
Issue:  Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services  
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 467  
 

 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Sections 10, 11, 12, 18, 20, 23, 30, 32, 38, and 39 
Sponsor(s): Commerce Committee and Agricultural Property Rights Subcommittee and Raburn (Co-Sponsors) Albritton; Clemons; 
McGhee   
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2017 
Date of Analysis: 06/05/2017  
 
Section 1: Narrative 
 

Sections 10 and 11, Providers of Private Security, Private Investigation and Repossession Services   
Current Law: 
Chapter 493 regulates private investigation, private security and repossession service agencies. Section 493.6106(2)(d), F.S. 
requires each agency licensed under ch. 493, F.S., to designate a properly licensed manager for each office and/or branch 
location. Pursuant to ss. 493.6107, 493.6302 and 493.6402, F.S., the fee to obtain a manager license for each of the 
occupations regulated thereby is $75. All receipts collected pursuant to ch. 493, F.S., are deposited into the Division of 
Licensing Trust Fund within the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. (Department)   
 
Section 493.105(3)(j), F.S., requires each individual, partner, or principal officer in a corporation seeking licensure as a 
private investigation firm to submit, a full set of fingerprints, a fingerprint processing fee, and an annual $6.00 fingerprint 
retention fee to the Department.  

 
Proposed Change:   
The bill allows the manager of a private investigative agency to manage up to three offices within a 150-mile radius of the 
manager’s primary office. The bill also exempts corporate officers who do not possess licenses subject to renewal under s. 
493.6113, F.S., from the fingerprint retention requirements and the associated fees required under s. 493.6108, F.S.  

 
Sections 12, 18, 20 and 23, Private Security, Private Investigation and Repossession Service License Fees  

Current Law:  
Pursuant to ch. 493, F.S., providers of private security, private investigation and repossession services must meet certain 
licensure requirements.  ch. 493, F.S., denotes many different licenses, with a variety of renewal periods.   Class “A,” Class 
“B,” Class “AB,” Class “K,” Class “R,” and branch agency licenses are renewable for a period of three years. However, the 
fees provisions for these licenses are currently described as “biennial”. The Joint Administrative Procedures Committee 
pointed out this inconsistency.  

  
Proposed Change:   
The bill corrects inconsistencies related to triennial licenses by removing the term “biennial” from licensing fee statutes 
provided in ss. 493.6107, 493.6202, 493.6302, and 493.6402, F.S. This change brings statute into conformity with the 
Department’s current administration of ch. 493, F.S.  

 
Section 30 Taximeters  

Current Law 
The Bureau of Standards within the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Department) is responsible for 
inspecting commercial weight and measurement devices, including taximeters. The Department funds its inspections with 
an annual permit fee  of $35.00 per device.  Revenues from this fee are deposited into the General Inspection Trust Fund 
within the Department. However, pursuant to s. 531.61(1), F.S., taximeters are exempt from state regulation and the 
associated fee if they are licensed and tested by a local government.  

 
Proposed Change:   
The bill eliminates the annual taximeter permit fee and exempts all taximeters and transportation measurement systems 
from state regulation.  

 
Section 32 Recording of Marks and Brands 

X 
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Current Law:  
Section 534.021, F.S., requires any livestock owner who identifies his or her livestock with a brand to register the brand 
with the Department and paying a $10 fee for each brand used. Pursuant to s. 534.041, F.S., registering a brand entitles the 
owner to exclusive use thereof for a period of 5 years. Brand registration may be renewed upon application and payment of 
a $5.00 renewal fee. 

 
Proposed Change:   

 The bill eliminates the renewal fee and extends the renewal period to 10 years.  
 
Section 38 Agricultural Dealer License Fees 
 Current Law: 

Agricultural products dealers must be licensed and post a bond that will be used to reimburse agricultural product 
producers in the event of default. Section 604.15(2), F.S., generally defines “dealer” as  any person, partnership, 
corporation, or other business entity, engaged in the business of purchasing, receiving, or soliciting agricultural products 
from the producer for resale. The required bond amount varies from $5,000 to $100,000, based on the volume of business 
transacted by the licensee.  Annual licensing fees range from $170-$300, based on the bond posted.  Pursuant to s. 
604.16(2), F.S., dealers who pay in full at the time of purchase using cash or a cash equivalent are exempt from license and 
bond requirements.  
 
Proposed Change:   
The bill adds credit cards to the list of cash equivalent payment methods which are exempt from the license and bond 
requirements provided in ch. 604, F.S. 

 
Section 39 Restoration of Firearms Eligibility & Fee reduction  

Current Law:  
Section 790.06, F.S., prohibits the Department from issuing a concealed weapons permit to persons who have been 
committed  for the abuse of alcohol or other controlled substances within the past three years, persons who have been 
convicted of a drug crime within the past three years, or persons who have been adjudicated incapacitated within the past 
five years. Statute also prohibits the Department from issuing a concealed weapons permit to a person who has been 
committed to a mental institution, unless said person produces a certificate from a licensed psychiatrist stating that he or 
she has not suffered from disability for at least 5 years before the date of application. As explained below, these 
prohibitions conflict with the provisions of s. 790.065(2)(a)4.d, F.S.  
 
Section 790.065(2)(a)4.d., F.S.,  sets out the method by which a person whose firearm rights have been restricted may apply 
for restoration of said rights. In summary, this provision states that a court shall grant restoration of firearm rights if it finds 
the petitioner will not be likely to act in a manner that is dangerous to public safety and granting the relief would not be 
contrary to public interest. 
 
Pursuant to 790.06(5)(b), F.S., concealed weapon license applicants pay a fee of $60 for initial licensure. Once issued, a 
license is valid for a period of 7 years. Renewing an expired license requires payment of a $50 renewal fee.   
 
Proposed Change:   
The bill clarifies inconsistencies within ch. 790.06, F.S., by replacing the 3-year and 5-year waiting periods that the 
Department requires  for restoration of firearm rights and replaces them with the adherence to the judicial finding of 
firearm competency prescribed in s. 790.065(2)(a)4.d., F.S. Staff from the Department report that this legislation resulted 
from a court proceeding which highlighted inconsistencies between the Department’s and Florida Department of Law 
Enforcement’s administration of firearms rights restoration. The bill also reduces initial and renewal licensure fees by $5.00 
so that the fee to obtain an initial and renewal licenses will be $55.00 and $45.00, respectively.    
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
The Department provided all estimates and supporting data.  
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Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

Sections 10 and 11, Providers of Private Security, Private Investigation and Repossession Services   
Based on a three-year average of new and renewed agency manager licenses, the Department estimates that allowing a private 
investigative agency manager to manage multiple locations will have the following impact to revenue:   
 

Fiscal Year Revenue Impact 

17-18 ($6,562) 

18-19 ($6,748) 

19-20 ($6,748) 

20-21 ($6,748) 

21-22 ($6,748) 

 
Based on a population of 226 corporate officers eligible for exemption, the Department estimates that exempting corporate 
officers who are not otherwise licensed under ch. 493, F.S. from the $6.00 fingerprint retention fee will have the following 
impact on revenue: 
 

Fiscal Year Revenue Impact 

17-18 ($678) 

18-19  ($2,034) 

19-20 ($3,390) 

20-21 ($4,746) 

21-22 ($6,102) 

 
Section 30 Taximeters  
Based on the existing total of 3,700 state-licensed taximeter permits, the Department estimates that eliminating the $35.00 
permit fee will result in the following negative recurring impact to revenue: 

 

Fiscal Year Revenue Impact 

17-18 ($129,500) 

18-19 ($129,500) 

19-20 ($129,500) 

20-21 ($129,500) 

21-22 ($129,500) 

 
        Section 32 Recording of Marks and Brands 

Based on a 3-year average of fee revenues, the Department estimates that eliminating the brand registration renewal fee 
will result in the following revenue impact: 
  

Fiscal Year Revenue Impact 

17-18 ($7,646) 

18-19 ($7,646) 

19-20 ($7,646) 

20-21 ($7,646) 

21-22 ($7,646) 
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Section 38 Agricultural Dealer License Fees 
Based on a population of 1,054 agricultural product dealers as of FY 15-16 and the assumption that half of agricultural product 
dealers will begin using credit cards, the Department estimates that including credit card transactions in the definition of “cash 
equivalent transactions” will result in the following revenue impact:   
 

Fiscal Year Revenue Impact 

17-18 ($304,730) 

18-19 ($304,730) 

19-20 ($304,730) 

20-21 ($304,730) 

21-22 ($304,730) 

 
Section 39 Restoration of Firearms Eligibility & Fee reduction  
The Department estimates that reducing fees associated with obtaining initial and renewed concealed weapon permits will result in 
the following revenue impact:  
 
 

Fiscal Year Revenue Impact 

17-18 ($1,795,130) 

18-19 ($1,705,115) 

19-20 ($1,652,295) 

20-21 ($1,721,325) 

21-22 ($1,721,325) 

 
Section 39 Restoration of Firearms Eligibility 
The revenue impacts resulting from amending the firearm right rehabilitation provisions of s. 790.065(2)(a)4.d, F.S  into the 
Department’s licensing statute is difficult because there is no way to know how many applicants will seek a court order restoring 
their firearm privileges pursuant to s. 790.065(2)(a)4.d, F.S. Staff from the Department do not expect this change will have a 
significant revenue impact.      

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18   ($2,243,569) ($2,243,569)   

2018-19   ($2,154,740) ($2,154,740)   

2019-20   ($2,100,420) ($2,100,420)   

2020-21   ($2,174,695) ($2,174,695)   
2021-22   ($2,176,051) ($2,176,051)   

 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
Division of Licensing Trust Fund within the Department (Sections 10 11, 12, 18, 20, 23 and 39) (4% Service Charge) 
General Inspection Trust fund within the Department (Sections 30, 32 and 38) (8% GR Service charge)  
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Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: June 9, 2017):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 (0.2) (0.2) (2.1) (2.1) 0.0  0.0  (2.2) (2.2) 

2018-19 (0.2) (0.2) (2.0) (2.0) 0.0  0.0  (2.2) (2.2) 

2019-20 (0.2) (0.2) (2.0) (2.0) 0.0  0.0  (2.1) (2.1) 

2020-21 (0.2) (0.2) (2.0) (2.0) 0.0  0.0  (2.2) (2.2) 

2021-22 (0.2) (0.2) (2.0) (2.0) 0.0  0.0  (2.2) (2.2) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Certificates of Nonviable Birth 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/SB101 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Cortes, B. 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2017 
Date of Analysis:  May 1, 2017 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  The Department of Health does not collect information on fetal demise occurring before a gestation period of 20 

completed weeks that do not result in a live birth.  The department files fetal deaths for pregnancies at 20 or more weeks of 
gestation in accordance with National Center for Health Statistics standards.  DOH must issue a certificate of birth resulting in 
stillbirth upon the request of any parent listed on a fetal death certificate. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  Allows the parents of a pregnancy that results in a fetal demise to request and be issued a certificate of 

“nonviable birth.”  The bill defines “nonviable birth” as an unintentional, spontaneous fetal demise occurring after the 9th week 
of gestation but before the completion of the 20th week of gestation of a pregnancy that has been verified by a health care 
practitioner.  The bill authorizes DOH to collect fees of at least $3 but no more than $5 for the processing and filing of a 
certificate of nonviable birth. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

 FL Bureau of Vital Statistics – annual recorded live births, fetal deaths (>20 weeks), and number of certificates of stillbirth 
requested 

 U.S. Dep’t of Health and Human Services, Office of Women’s Health, Pregnancy: Pregnancy Loss, (last rev. Sept. 27, 2010), 
available at https://www.womenshealth.gov/pregnancy/you-are-pregnant/pregnancy-loss.html (last visited May 1, 2017) – 
miscarriage rates and statistics 

 American Pregnancy Association, Miscarriage, (updated August 2016), available at 
http://americanpregnancy.org/pregnancy-complications/miscarriage/ (last visited May 1, 2017) – miscarriage rates and 
statistics 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Using 3-year average (2013-2015) total recorded live births and fetal deaths from FL Bureau of Vital Statistics, the average number of 
nonviable births per year is estimated assuming that 17.5% of all pregnancies end in miscarriage and 40% of those miscarriages 
occur after the 9th week of gestation but before the completion of the 20th week of gestation. That figure is then used to estimate 
the number of nonviable birth certificate requests per year by applying 2.55% - the 10 year average number of stillbirth certificates 
requested divided by the ten year average number of fetal deaths.  It is assumed that the percentage of nonviable birth certificates 
requested will be similar to the percentage of stillbirth certificates requested.  It is assumed that DOH will collect a $5 processing and 
filing fee for each nonviable birth certificate. 
 

Three-year 
average total 
live births and 

fetal deaths 
Estimated 

nonviable births 

Estimated 
nonviable birth 

certificate 
requests 

Estimated 
revenue 
assuming $5 fee 

221,660 18,807 479 $2,395 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18   * *   

2018-19   * *   

2019-20   * *   

2020-21   * *   

2021-22   * *   

 

 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Certificates of Nonviable Birth 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/SB101 
 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
Planning and Evaluation Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/09/2017):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.   
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2017-18 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 

2018-19 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 

2019-20 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 

2020-21 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 

2021-22 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 
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