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Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

Section 466.004, F.S., establishes the Board of Dentistry (BOD) within the Department of Health (department) to regulate 
the practice of dentistry. The requirements for dental licensure by examination are found in s. 466.006, F.S. A person desiring to 
be licensed as a dentist must apply to the department to take the examinations. 

Sections 466.067 through 466.00673, F.S., established the authority for Board to issue health access dental licenses. The 
health access dental license was established in 2008 to attract out-of-state dentists to practice in underserved health access 
settings in this state, without supervision. A health access setting is a program or institution operated by the Department of 
Children and Families, Department of Health, Department of Juvenile Justice, a nonprofit health care center, a Head Start 
center, a federally-qualified health center or a lookalike, a school-based prevention program, a clinic operated by an accredited 
college of dentistry, or certain accredited dental hygiene program. Health access dental licenses must be renewed biennially . A 
licensee must meet the same continuing education requirements as a Florida-licensed dentist. Additionally, a licensee must 
continue to meet all the requirements for initial licensure. DOH is authorized to establish application, examination, initial 
licensure, and licensure renewal fees for health access dental licenses. The Board may revoke a health access dental license if 
the licensee is terminated from employment at the health access setting, practices outside of the health access setting, fails the 
Florida dental examination, or is found to have violated the Dental Practice Act. 

 Section 466.00673, F.S., repeals the statutory authority for the health access dental license on January 1, 2020, if not 
reenacted by the Legislature. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  The bill revives and reenacts the statutory authority for health access dental licenses retroactively to 

January 1, 2020, and repeals the obsolete language setting the January 1, 2020, sunset of health access dental licenses. This 
gives DOH and the Board of Dentistry the statutory authority to resume issuing and renewing such licenses, and allows the 
program to continue as if it had not expired on January 1, 2020. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Annual Report and Long-Range Plan, Fiscal Year 2018-2019 
Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Annual Report and Long-Range Plan, Fiscal Year 2017-2018 
Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Annual Report and Long-Range Plan, Fiscal Year 2016-2017 
https://floridasdentistry.gov/renewals/health-access-dentist 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The biennium for these licenses begins on March 1 of an even year and ends on February 28 on an even year 2 years later. The 
license must be renewed no later than February 28 of the even year 2 years removed. Current license holders (those with licenses as 
of February 28 2020) must renew no later than February 28 2022.  Total fees for new applicants is $405. If applicant applies in the 
second year of the biennium, the total fee is $260. All initial licenses expire February 28 of following even year. Renewal fees are 
$305.  
 
The historic number of existing and new licenses is reported in the Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality 
Assurance, Annual Report and Long-Range Plans FY 2016-17 through FY 2018-19. These historic numbers were grown by their 
average growth rate, 4% for total licenses and 0% (a flat 7 per year) for new licenses.  
 
To estimate fee collection, the new licensees paid either $405 in even years or $260 in odd years. Those renewing their license paid 
$305 in the even years. The even years has higher fee collection because of the set biennium calendar.  
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Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2020-21   $1,820.00 $1,820.00   
2021-22   $17,780.00 $17,780.00   
2022-23   $1,820.00 $1,820.00   
2023-24   $19,000.00 $19,000.00   
2024-25   $1,820.00 $1,820.00   

 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
Medical Quality Assurance Trust Fund (MQAF) 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 07/07/2020):  The Conference adopted a positive insignificant impact.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2020-21 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 
2021-22 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 
2022-23 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 
2023-24 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 
2024-25 Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant Insignificant 0.0  0.0  Insignificant Insignificant 
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Historic and Forecasted Health Access Dental Licenses 
FY Total Active New Licenses Existing Licenses 
2016-17 46 7 39 
2017-18 47 7 40 
2018-19 50 7 43 
2019-20 52 7 45 
2020-21 54 7 47 
2021-22 56 7 49 
2022-23 58 7 51 
2023-24 60 7 53 
2024-25 62 7 55 

    
    

Estimated Fee Collection 
FY Total Fees New Fees ($405/$260) Renewal Fees ($305) 
2020-21  $    1,820.00   $                         1,820.00    
2021-22  $ 17,780.00   $                         2,835.00   $                    14,945.00  
2022-23  $    1,820.00   $                         1,820.00    
2023-24  $ 19,000.00   $                         2,835.00   $                    16,165.00  
2024-25  $    1,820.00   $                         1,820.00    
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