
REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Documentary Stamp 
Issue:  Documentary Stamp Tax Exemption 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 917 & CS/SB 1334 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain & Senator Boyd 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  7/1/2021 
Date of Analysis:  3/19/2021 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

Section 201.08 (1)(a), F.S., states that promissory notes and other written obligations to pay money, including each renewal 
of a promissory note and other written obligations to pay money (except those exempt under section 201.09(1), Florida 
Statutes), that are signed or delivered in Florida are subject to documentary stamp tax. Tax is due on the full amount of the 
obligation evidenced by the taxable document at the rate of 35 cents per $100 or portion thereof. However, the tax due on a 
note or other written obligation to pay money is capped at $2,450.   

Section 201.08(1)(b), F.S., states that mortgages, liens, security agreements, and other evidences of indebtedness, including 
each renewal of the same, are subject to tax and payable when filed and recorded in Florida. The tax is based on the full amount 
of the indebtedness secured by the mortgage or lien regardless of whether the indebtedness is contingent or absolute. The rate 
of tax is 35 cents per $100 or portion thereof of the amount secured thereby. There is no cap on the amount of tax due.   

Section 201.09(1), F.S., provides that when any promissory note is given in renewal of any existing promissory note, which 
renewal note only extends or continues the identical contractual obligations of the original promissory note and evidences part 
or all of the original indebtedness evidenced thereby, not including any accumulated interest thereon and without enlargement 
in any way of the original contract and obligation, such renewal note shall not be subject to documentary stamp taxation. 

Section 201.09(2), F.S., provides that when any mortgage, trust deed, security agreement, or other evidence of 
indebtedness evidences a promissory note which would not be subject to taxation pursuant to Section 201.09(1), F.S., then such 
mortgage, trust deed, security agreement, or other evidence of indebtedness shall not be subject to taxation under this chapter. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:   

The House bill adds a sentence to subsection 201.08(5), F.S., to read: “A modification of an original document which 
changes only the interest rate and is made as the result of the discontinuation of an index to which the original interest rate is 
referenced is not a renewal and is not subject to the tax pursuant to this section.”  

The Senate bill is identical in effect but not language. The sentence added to subsection 201.08(5), F.S., in Senate bill CS/SB 
1334 reads: “A modification of an original document for the sole purpose of changing the interest rate due to the 
discontinuation of an index to which the original interest rate is referenced is not a renewal and is not subject to tax pursuant to 
this section.” 

 The bold words in the above proposed changes indicate the substantive changes from the original bill.  
 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

General Revenue Conference (Tables 18A&B – 19); 
DOR Doc Stamp and Intangible C tax collection data; 
MBA Mortgage Finance Forecast; 
MBA Mortgage Applications Weekly Survey; 
Federal Reserve data - Total Mortgages Outstanding; 
Federal Reserve – Net Change in Mortgage; 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The addition of the word only/solely in the committee substitutes removes the potential impact from changes beyond 

interest rate being included in the renewal exemption.  
A potential impact remains for out of state notes subsequently renewed in Florida. An out of state note in which Florida 

documentary stamp tax was not initially applicable could be renewed in Florida under the parameters of the bill language without 
incurring tax. The Department currently holds that the renewal of a note in the state that was initially executed and delivered 
outside of the state is subject to tax. As such, the bill language would result in exemptions for notes that meet the parameter of the 
bill language that otherwise would not be exempt (i.e., renewals of notes executed or delivered in the state that were originally 
executed and delivered outside the state). This would imply a clear direction, and there would be a negative but indeterminate 
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impact from the bill language. This type of behavior is impossible to identify uniquely in the data, so it would be a fraction of total 
doc stamp collections. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2021-22   (**) (**)   

2022-23   (**) (**)   

2023-24   (**) (**)   

2024-25   (**) (**)   

2025-26   (**) (**)   
 
List of affected Trust Funds:  Doc Stamp 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  

2022-23 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  

2023-24 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  

2024-25 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  

2025-26 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Ad Valorem 
Issue:  Change of Ownership; Calamity and Misfortune 
Bill Number(s):  SB 1254 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Senator Bean 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2021 
Date of Analysis:  March 26, 2021 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

Section 1. Paragraph (a) of subsection (3) and paragraph (b) of subsection (4) of section 193.155, Florida Statutes, currently 
reads:  

(3)(a) Except as provided in this subsection or subsection (8), property assessed under this section shall be assessed at just 
value as of January 1 of the year following a change of ownership. Thereafter, the annual changes in the assessed value of the 
property are subject to the limitations in subsections (1) and (2). For the purpose of this section, a change of ownership means 
any sale, foreclosure, or transfer of legal title or beneficial title in equity to any person, except if: 

1. Subsequent to the change or transfer, the same person is entitled to the homestead exemption as was previously 
entitled and: 

a. The transfer of title is to correct an error; 
b. The transfer is between legal and equitable title or equitable and equitable title and no additional person applies 

for a homestead exemption on the property; 
c. The change or transfer is by means of an instrument in which the owner is listed as both grantor and grantee of the 

real property and one or more other individuals are additionally named as grantee. However, if any individual who is 
additionally named as a grantee applies for a homestead exemption on the property, the application is considered a change 
of ownership; or 

d. The person is a lessee entitled to the homestead exemption under s. 196.041(1). 
2. Legal or equitable title is changed or transferred between husband and wife, including a change or transfer to a 

surviving spouse or a transfer due to a dissolution of marriage; 
3. The transfer occurs by operation of law to the surviving spouse or minor child or children under s. 732.401; or 
4. Upon the death of the owner, the transfer is between the owner and another who is a permanent resident and who is 

legally or naturally dependent upon the owner. 
 
(4)(b) Changes, additions, or improvements that replace all or a portion of homestead property damaged or destroyed by 

misfortune or calamity shall not increase the homestead property’s assessed value when the square footage of the homestead 
property as changed or improved does not exceed 110 percent of the square footage of the homestead property before the 
damage or destruction. Additionally, the homestead property’s assessed value shall not increase if the total square footage of 
the homestead property as changed or improved does not exceed 1,500 square feet. Changes, additions, or improvements that 
do not cause the total to exceed 110 percent of the total square footage of the homestead property before the damage or 
destruction or that do not cause the total to exceed 1,500 total square feet shall be reassessed as provided under subsection 
(1). The homestead property’s assessed value shall be increased by the just value of that portion of the changed or improved 
homestead property which is in excess of 110 percent of the square footage of the homestead property before the damage or 
destruction or of that portion exceeding 1,500 square feet. Homestead property damaged or destroyed by misfortune or 
calamity which, after being changed or improved, has a square footage of less than 100 percent of the homestead property’s 
total square footage before the damage or destruction shall be assessed pursuant to subsection (5). This paragraph applies to 
changes, additions, or improvements commenced within 3 years after the January 1 following the damage or destruction of the 
homestead. 

 
Proposed Change:   

Section 1. Paragraph (a) of subsection (3) and paragraph (b) of subsection (4) of section 193.155, Florida Statutes, are amended 
to read:  

(3)(a) Except as provided in this subsection or subsection (8), property assessed under this section shall be assessed at just 
value as of January 1 of the year following a change of ownership. Thereafter, the annual changes in the assessed value of the 
property are subject to the limitations in subsections (1) and (2). For the purpose of this section, a change of ownership means 
any sale, foreclosure, or transfer of legal title or beneficial title in equity to any person, except if: 
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1. Subsequent to the change or transfer, the same person is entitled to the homestead exemption as was previously 
entitled and: 

a. The transfer of title is to correct an error; 
b. The transfer is between legal and equitable title or equitable and equitable title and no additional person 

applies for a homestead exemption on the property; 
c. The change or transfer is by means of an instrument in which the owner is listed as both grantor and grantee 

of the real property and one or more other individuals are additionally named as grantee. However, if any individual who is 
additionally named as a grantee applies for a homestead exemption on the property, the application is considered a change 
of ownership; or 

d. The change or transfer is by means of an instrument in which the owner entitled to the homestead exemption is 
listed as both grantor and grantee of the real property and one or more other individuals, all of whom held title as joint tenants 
with rights of survivorship with the owner, are named only as grantors and are removed from the title; or 

e. The person is a lessee entitled to the homestead exemption under s. 196.041(1). 
2. Legal or equitable title is changed or transferred between husband and wife, including a change or transfer to a 

surviving spouse or a transfer due to a dissolution of marriage; 
3. The transfer occurs by operation of law to the surviving spouse or minor child or children under s. 732.401; or 
4. Upon the death of the owner, the transfer is between the owner and another who is a permanent resident and who is 

legally or naturally dependent upon the owner; or 
5. The transfer occurs with respect to a property where all of the following apply: 

a. Multiple owners hold title as joint tenants with rights of survivorship; 
b. One or more owners were entitled to and received the homestead exemption on the propertys; 
c. The death of one or more owners occurs; and 
d. Subsequent to the transfer, the surviving owner or owners previously entitled to and receiving the homestead 

exemption continue to be entitled to and receive the homestead exemption. 
 
 

(4)(b) 1. Changes, additions, or improvements that replace all or a portion of homestead property, including ancillary 
improvements, damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity shall be assessed upon substantial completion as provided in 
this paragraph. Such assessment must be calculated using shall not increase the homestead property’s assessed value as of the 
January 1 immediately before the date on which the damage or destruction was sustained, subject to the assessment limitations 
in subsections (1) and (2), when: 

a. The square footage of the homestead property as changed or improved does not exceed 110 percent of the square 
footage of the homestead property before the damage or destruction; or. 

b. Additionally, the homestead property’s assessed value shall not increase if The total square footage of the homestead 
property as changed or improved does not exceed 1,500 square feet. Changes, additions, or improvements that do not cause 
the total to exceed 110 percent of the total square footage of the homestead property before the damage or destruction or that 
do not cause the total to exceed 1,500 total square feet shall be reassessed as provided under subsection (1).  

2. The homestead property’s assessed value shall be increased by the just value of that portion of the changed or improved 
homestead property which is in excess of 110 percent of the square footage of the homestead property before the damage or 
destruction or of that portion exceeding 1,500 square feet.  

 
Changes, additions, or improvements assessed pursuant to this paragraph must be reassessed pursuant to subsection (1) in 
subsequent years.  

3. Homestead property damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity which, after being changed or improved, has a 
square footage of less than 100 percent of the homestead property’s total square footage before the damage or destruction 
shall be assessed pursuant to subsection (5).  

4. This paragraph applies to changes, additions, or improvements commenced within 3 years after the January 1 following 
the damage or destruction of the homestead. 

 
Section 2. Paragraph (b) of subsection (6) of section 193.1554, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:   

(6) (b) 1. Changes, additions, or improvements that replace all or a portion of nonhomestead residential property, including 
ancillary improvements, damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity must be assessed upon substantial completion as 
provided in this paragraph. Such assessment must be calculated using shall not increase the nonhomestead property’s assessed 
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value as of the January 1 immediately before the date on which the damage or destruction was sustained, subject to the 
assessment limitations in subsections (1) and (2), when: 

a. The square footage of the property as changed or improved does not exceed 110 percent of the square footage of the 
property before the damage or destruction; or. 

b. Additionally, the property’s assessed value shall not increase if The total square footage of the property as changed or 
improved does not exceed 1,500 square feet. Changes, additions, or improvements that do not cause the total to exceed 110 
percent of the total square footage of the property before the damage or destruction or that do not cause the total to exceed 
1,500 total square feet shall be reassessed as provided under subsection (3).  

2. The property’s assessed value must shall be increased by the just value of that portion of the changed or improved 
property which is in excess of 110 percent of the square footage of the property before the damage or destruction or of that 
portion exceeding 1,500 square feet. Changes, additions, or improvements assessed pursuant to this paragraph shall be 
reassessed pursuant to subsection (3) in subsequent years. 

3. Property damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity which, after being changed or improved, has a square footage 
of less than 100 percent of the property’s total square footage before the damage or destruction shall be assessed pursuant to 
subsection (8).  

4. This paragraph applies to changes, additions, or improvements commenced within 3 years after the January 1 following 
the damage or destruction of the property. 

 
Section 3. Paragraph (b) of subsection (6) of section 193.1555, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 

(6)(b) 1. Changes, additions, or improvements that replace all or a portion of nonresidential real property, including 
ancillary improvements, damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity must be assessed upon substantial completion as 
provided in this paragraph. Such assessment must be calculated using shall not increase the nonresidential real property’s 
assessed value as of January 1 immediately before the date on which the damage or destruction was sustained, subject to the 
assessment limitations in (1) and (2), when: 
a. The square footage of the property as changed or improved does not exceed 110 percent of the square footage of the 

property before the damage or destruction; and  
b. The changes, additions, or improvements do not change the property’s character or use. Changes, additions, or 

improvements that do not cause the total to exceed 110 percent of the total square footage of the property before the 
damage or destruction and do not change the property’s character or use shall be reassessed as provided under subsection 
(3).  

2. The property’s assessed value must shall be increased by the just value of that portion of the changed or improved property 
which is in excess of 110 percent of the square footage of the property before the damage or destruction.  
 
Changes, additions, or improvements assessed pursuant to this paragraph must be reassessed pursuant to subsection (3) in 
subsequent years. 
3.  Property damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity which, after being changed or improved, has a square footage of 
less than 100 percent of the property’s total square footage before the damage or destruction shall be assessed pursuant to 
subsection (8).  
4. This paragraph applies to changes, additions, or improvements commenced within 3 years after the January 1 following the 
damage or destruction of the property. 
 
Section 4. For the purpose of incorporating the amendments made by this act to sections 193.1555, 194.1554, and 193.1555, 
Florida Statutes, in references thereto, section 193.1557, Florida Statutes, is reenacted to read: 
 193.1557 Assessment of certain property damaged or destroyed by Hurricane Michael. –For property damaged or 
destroyed by Hurricane Michael in 2018, s. 193.155 (4)(b), s. 193.1554(6)(b), or s. 193.1555(6)(b) applies to changes, additions, 
or improvements commenced within 5 years after January 1, 2019. This section applies to the 2019-2023 tax rolls and shall 
stand repealed on December 31, 2023.  
 
Section 5. The amendments made by this act to sections 193.155, 193.1554, and 193.1555, Florida Statutes, are remedial and 
clarifying in nature, but the amendments may not affect any assessment for tax rolls before 2021 unless the assessment is 
under review by a value adjustment board or a Florida court as of the effective date of this act. If changes, additions, or 
improvements that replaced all or a portion of property damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity were not assessed in 
accordance with this act as of January 1 immediately after they were substantially completed, the property appraiser must 
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determine the assessment for the year they were substantially completed and recalculate the just and assessed value for each 
subsequent year so that the 2021 tax roll and subsequent tax rolls will be corrected.  
 
Section 6. This act applies to assessments made as of January 1, 2021.  
 
Section 7. This act shall take effect July 1, 2021.  

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Conversations with Property Appraisers and Department of Revenue Staff 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 Regarding the Section 1 changes made to paragraph 193.155(3)(a), F.S.,: It was conveyed both during direct and relayed 
conversations that certain counties today either currently administer as the proposed language provides or allow the remaining 
owner that was entitled to the homestead exemption to maintain the save our homes cap through portability. For those counties 
that remove the cap and disallow the homestead but allow the remaining owner to reapply for homestead and port the cap back to 
the parcel, it is possible that a taxpayer ignores the notices and does not take action to reapply for homestead and to port the cap. 
For the low it is assumed that the proposed language is current administration for all counties and that any impacted homeowner 
would take steps necessary to reestablish their homestead exemption and Save our Homes cap. For the middle it is assumed that 
the proposed language is current administration for all counties, but some affected party does not take the necessary action to 
reestablish their homestead and cap. For the high it is assumed that not all counties administer as the proposed law provides. 

 
Section 1 changes made to paragraph 193.155(4)(b), F.S., and mirrored in Sections 2 and 3, provide remedial clarification of 

current statute. The clarification addresses two separate issues. The first issue improves the potential lack of clarity regarding which 
date should be used for the base assessment value after a destructive calamity. The second issue makes it clear that ancillary 
improvements, which would include special features, are to be included as part of the pre-calamity assessment base value. Based on 
our conversations with property appraiser’s office it appears that this treatment is consistent with current administration. 

 
Section 4 re-enacts the extended calamity recovery period. 
 
Section 5 limits the remedial scope of the changes and sets the first roll year that could be modified by the clarifying 

language. Section 5 further provides the method by which a property appraiser would remedy the 2021 assessed value for any 
property previously assessed in a manner inconsistent with statute.  

 
The effective date of the bill is July 1, 2021, and the 2021 tax roll is the first assessment year that will be affected. 
 
The bill clearly considers that there will be some properties that would have a change in the assessment value under the 

proposed language changes. The direction of these changes appears to be clearly negative. However, the value added in error for 
special features reconstructed after a calamity is not readily identifiable in the data. The estimate is presented as a negative 
indeterminate for both cash and recurring for all years.  

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 0 0 (**) (**) 0 0 

2022-23 0 0 (**) (**) 0 0 

2023-24 0 0 (**) (**) 0 0 
2024-25 0 0 (**) (**) 0 0 

2025-26 0 0 (**) (**) 0 0 
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List of affected Trust Funds:  Ad Valorem 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):  The Conference adopted the middle estimate.  The proposed change in 
193.155(3)(a) has a negative insignificant impact; however the remaining changes are negative indeterminate impact.   
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2022-23 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  
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       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Woodson / Senator Polsky 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2021 
Date of Analysis:  March 26, 2021 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

Paragraph (d) of subsection (4) and subsection (5) of section 196.075, Florida Statutes, current reads,  
“(4) An ordinance granting an additional homestead exemption as authorized by this section must meet the following 

requirements: 
“(d) It must require that a taxpayer claiming the exemption annually submit to the property appraiser, not later than 

March 1, a sworn statement of household income on a form prescribed by the Department of Revenue. 
“(5) The department must require by rule that the filing of the statement be supported by copies of any federal income 

tax returns for the prior year, any wage and earnings statements (W-2 forms), any request for an extension of time to file returns, 
and any other documents it finds necessary, for each member of the household, to be submitted for inspection by the property 
appraiser. The taxpayer’s sworn statement shall attest to the accuracy of the documents and grant permission to allow review of 
the documents if requested by the property appraiser. Submission of supporting documentation is not required for the renewal 
of an exemption under this section unless the property appraiser requests such documentation. Once the documents have been 
inspected by the property appraiser, they shall be returned to the taxpayer or otherwise destroyed. The property appraiser is 
authorized to generate random audits of the taxpayers’ sworn statements to ensure the accuracy of the household income 
reported. If so selected for audit, a taxpayer shall execute Internal Revenue Service Form 8821 or 4506, which authorizes the 
Internal Revenue Service to release tax information to the property appraiser’s office. All reviews conducted in accordance with 
this section shall be completed on or before June 1. The property appraiser may not grant or renew the exemption if the required 
documentation requested is not provided.” 

 
 

b.  Proposed Change:   
This would amend these sections to read, 
 “(4) An ordinance granting an additional homestead exemption as authorized by this section must meet the following 

requirements: 
“(d) It must require that a taxpayer claiming the exemption for the first time annually submit to the property appraiser, not 

later than March 1, a sworn statement of household income on a form prescribed by the Department of Revenue. 
“(5) The department must require by rule that the filing of the statement be supported by copies of any federal income tax 

returns for the prior year, any wage and earnings statements (W 2 forms), any request for an extension of time to file returns, 
and any other documents it finds necessary, for each member of the household, to be submitted for inspection by the property 
appraiser. The taxpayer’s sworn statement shall attest to the accuracy of the documents and grant permission to allow review 
of the documents if requested by the property appraiser. Submission of supporting documentation is not required for the 
renewal of an exemption under this section unless the property appraiser requests such documentation. Once the documents 
have been inspected by the property appraiser, they shall be returned to the taxpayer or otherwise destroyed. Annually, the 
property appraiser shall notify each taxpayer of the adjusted income limitation set forth in subsection (3). The taxpayer must 
notify the property appraiser by March 1 if his or her household income exceeds the most recent adjusted income limitation. 
The property appraiser may conduct is authorized to generate random audits of the taxpayers’ sworn statements to ensure the 
accuracy of the household income reported. If so selected for audit, a taxpayer shall execute Internal Revenue Service Form 
8821 or 4506, which authorizes the Internal Revenue Service to release tax information to the property appraiser’s office. All 
reviews conducted in accordance with this section shall be completed on or before June 1. The property appraiser may not 
grant or renew the exemption if the required documentation requested is not provided. 

“Section 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2021.” 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
2018-2020 Real Property Rolls 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

 

 X 
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Parcels with one of the county or city adopted low income senior exemptions were identified on the 2018 NAL (real 
property) tax roll.  These parcels were compared with parcels from the 2019 NAL to determine if the exemption had been removed 
during the period.  In 2019, just over 25,000 parcels from the previous roll had their county low income senior exemption removed.  
A review of sales information on the 2019 NAL indicated that 8,164 exemptions had been removed due to the sale of the parcel.  
The remaining 17,608 parcels had exemptions removed for either loss of homestead status, failure to provide income verification or 
failure to meet the income threshold.  A comparison of these parcels with the 2020 NAL shows that 1,260 parcels had the county 
low income senior exemption reinstated with the same owner as the 2018 roll.  The assumption being that these owners may have 
failed to provide income documentation and temporarily lost exemption status in 2019. 

The estimate only provides the impact of the restored county exemptions and ignores any parcels with city adopted low 
income senior exemptions.  

Parcels with the exemption restored in 2020 were identified.  The statewide non-school millage rate was applied and the 
results were calculated.  There is no school tax impact since the exemption only reduces county taxable value.  It is assumed that 
these parcels best estimate the number of parcels that would create a tax impact under the proposed change.  No growth rate was 
applied. 

The effective date of the change is July 1, 2021 and would be expected to make the first impact to the 2022 tax roll.  
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22    $(.44M)   
2022-23   $(.44M) $(.44M)   

2023-24   $(.44M) $(.44M)   

2024-25   $(.44M) $(.44M)   

2025-26   $(.44M) $(.44M)   

 
List of affected Trust Funds:  Ad Valorem 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):  The Conference adopted a +/- indeterminate impact, assuming existing 
penalty provisions will have an impact. 
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/-  +/-  +/-  

2022-23 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/-  +/-  +/-  +/-  

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/-  +/-  +/-  +/-  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/-  +/-  +/-  +/-  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/-  +/-  +/-  +/-  
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Low Income Senior Exemptions - County Impact

2018 Parcels with County low income senior exemptions 230,950                            

2018 Parcels with county low income senior exemptions  

removed in 2019 25,772                              

Exemptions removed due to sale of parcel 8,164                                 

Exemptions removed with no sales identified 17,608                              

County Senior Exemptions reinstated in 2020 (same 

owner as 2018) 1,260                                 

Category

Number of Parcels - 2018 

Exemption reinstated 

2020

Exemption Value 2020
2020 Millage 

(Non-School)
Tax Impact

Sr Exemptions up to 50,000 1088 35,979,229$                          10.7629 387,241$                          

Sr Exemptions - Fully exempt 25 year Residents 172 4,994,308$                            10.7629 53,753$                            

Total 1260 40,973,537$                          10.7629 440,994$                          

* Low income senior exemptions adopted by individual cities will also have a tax impact if SB 1256 is implemented

** Exemptions removed between 2019 & 2020 with no sale - 21,032 parcels

3/26/2021283



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Article V 
Issue:  Court Records of Eviction Proceedings 
Bill Number(s):  HB 1193 and SB 1746 

       Entire Bill 
      Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Aloupis and Senator Jones 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  07/01/2021 
Date of Analysis:  03/26/2021 

Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  There is currently no public records exemption for eviction related court records.

b. Proposed Change:  Section 83.626, F.S. is created to allow a tenant or mobile home owner who is a defendant is an eviction
proceeding to file a motion with the court to have the records of the eviction proceedings sealed and to have his or her name
substituted with “tenant” on the progress docket if a joint stipulation is filed, the case was dismissed, the case was resolved by
settlement and the defendant has satisfied all terms of the agreement, a default judgment was entered and the defendant has
satisfied the subsequent monetary award, or if a judgment was entered against the defendant at least five years prior and the
defendant has satisfied the subsequent monetary award.  If a written objection is filed within 30 days, the court must schedule a
hearing.  The court may not charge a fee as a result of a defendant filing a motion under this new section.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Phone and email contact with Clerks of Courts Operations Corporation and Office of State Courts Administrator staff 
Florida Court Clerks and Comptroller Distribution Schedule 2020 
Article V REC 03/03/2021 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The bill would allow some defendants of an eviction proceeding to file a motion with the court to have the records of the eviction 
sealed and his or her name replaced with “tenant.”  The court may not charge a fee resulting from this filing.  As written, the bill 
does not have any impact on the current revenue forecast because this motion does not currently exist, therefore there are 
currently no fees to collect. 

If the motion created by the bill did not include the language preventing the court from charging fees resulting from the motion, 
then individuals would pay the $42 seal fee which is distributed $37.50 to the clerks and $4.50 to GR.  If the motion is filed at least 
90 days after the final judgment, the individual would also pay the $50 reopen fee, which is kept entirely by the clerks.  To see the 
potential scope, derived evictions filings was calculated using the $180 eviction filing fee from the most recent Article V REC.  It is 
assumed that 10% will file the motion for the low scenario, 20% for the middle, and 40% for the high. For all three scenarios, it is 
assumed that 90% will also pay the $50 reopen fee.  The resulting calculations show a potential annual revenue loss ranging from 
$1.2 million in the low scenario to $4.7 million in the high scenario (attached).  

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 0.0 0.0 
2022-23 0.0 0.0 

2023-24 0.0 0.0 
2024-25 0.0 0.0 

2025-26 0.0 0.0 

List of affected Trust Funds:   
General Revenue Fund 
Clerk’s Fine and Forfeiture Funds 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Article V 
Issue:  Court Records of Eviction Proceedings 
Bill Number(s):  HB 1193 and SB 1746 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. While the bill’s 
provisions add the potential for increased fee collections, the bill also prohibits charging for those new fees.  The net impact is 
zero.      

GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2022-23 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2023-24 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2024-25 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2025-26 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
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HB 1193/SB1746 

Potential Fees Lost

Total Fee Clerks GR

Reopen Fee 50.00$        50.00$            -$                

Seal Fee 42.00$        37.50$            4.50$              

Total 87.50$            4.50$              

Evictions Filings

$180 Fee* Filings

2018-19 23.7$          131,869         

2019-20 20.3$          112,789         

2020-21 21.0$          116,667         

2021-22 31.4$          174,444         

2022-23 24.1$          133,889         

2023-24 24.1$          133,889         

2024-25 24.1$          133,889         

2025-26 24.1$          133,889         

*Fee is in millions

Low (millions)

Seal (10%) Reopen (90%) Clerks GR Total

2021-22 17,444        15,700            (1.44)$             (0.08)$          (1.52)$             

2022-23 13,389        12,050            (1.10)$             (0.06)$          (1.16)$             

2023-24 13,389        12,050            (1.10)$             (0.06)$          (1.16)$             

2024-25 13,389        12,050            (1.10)$             (0.06)$          (1.16)$             

2025-26 13,389        12,050            (1.10)$             (0.06)$          (1.16)$             

Middle (millions)

Seal (20%) Reopen (90%) Clerks GR

2021-22 34,889        31,400            (2.88)$             (0.16)$          (3.04)$             

2022-23 26,778        24,100            (2.21)$             (0.12)$          (2.33)$             

2023-24 26,778        24,100            (2.21)$             (0.12)$          (2.33)$             

2024-25 26,778        24,100            (2.21)$             (0.12)$          (2.33)$             

2025-26 26,778        24,100            (2.21)$             (0.12)$          (2.33)$             

High (millions)

Seal (40%) Reopen (90%) Clerks GR

2021-22 69,778        62,800            (5.76)$             (0.31)$          (6.07)$             

2022-23 53,556        48,200            (4.42)$             (0.24)$          (4.66)$             

2023-24 53,556        48,200            (4.42)$             (0.24)$          (4.66)$             

2024-25 53,556        48,200            (4.42)$             (0.24)$          (4.66)$             

2025-26 53,556        48,200            (4.42)$             (0.24)$          (4.66)$             
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Article V 
Issue:  Human Trafficking Victim Expunction 
Bill Number(s):  CS HB 523 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 4 
Sponsor(s):  Byrd 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  07/01/2021 
Date of Analysis:  03/26/2021 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Section 943.0583, F.S. allows a victim of human trafficking to petition the court for the expunction of a criminal 

history record for an offense committed or reported to have been committed while the person was a victim of human 
trafficking. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  Section 943.0583, F.S. is revised so that the clerk of court may not charge a filing fee, service charge, copy 

fee, or any other charge for a petition filed for the expunction of a criminal history record of an offense committed or reported 
to have been committed by a person who is a victim of human trafficking. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Phone and email contact with Clerks of Courts Operations Corporation (CCOC) and Office of State Courts Administrator (OSCA) staff 
CS HB 523 Staff Analysis completed by the Criminal Justice and Public Safety Subcommittee on 03/17/2021 
humantraffickinghotline.org/state/florida 
April 1, 2020 Population Estimates by County: edr.state.fl.us/Content/population-demographics/data/index-floridaproducts.cfm 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Section 787.06, F.S. defines human trafficking as transporting, soliciting, recruiting, harboring, providing, enticing, maintaining, or 
obtaining another person for the purpose of exploitation of that person.  According to the National Human Trafficking Hotline, there 
were 896 human trafficking cases reported in Florida during calendar year 2019.  The Florida Hotline received 617 calls from victims 
of human trafficking during calendar year 2019. 
 
CS HB 523 prevents the clerk of court from charging a filing fee, service charge, copy fee, or any other charge for a petition filed for 
the expunction of a criminal history record of an offense committed or reported to have been committed by a person who is a victim 
of human trafficking.  According to CCOC staff, there were 20 to 30 cases consistent with the motions being exempted from fees in 
this bill filed in Miami-Dade, Orange, and Hillsborough counties each.  Assuming that all three major counties had 30 cases, the 
combined share of population represented by those three counties was used to extrapolate a statewide total for cases equaling 339.  
This case total was then used to calculate the loss of the $42 expungement fee, which is distributed $37.50 to the clerks and $4.50 to 
GR. As an alternative method, the total Florida calls from human trafficking victims to the National Human Trafficking hotline was 
used to calculate the potential loss of the $42 fee. The result in both scenarios is an insignificant negative impact to GR and clerks. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

GR, Local 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22   (*) (*)   
2022-23   (*) (*)   

2023-24   (*) (*)   
2024-25   (*) (*)   

2025-26   (*) (*)   

 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
General Revenue Fund 
Clerk’s Fine and Forfeiture Funds 
  

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Article V 
Issue:  Human Trafficking Victim Expunction 
Bill Number(s):  CS HB 523 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2021-22 (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  

2022-23 (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  

2023-24 (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  
2024-25 (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  

2025-26 (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  
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Scenario 1

Cases Population

Miami-Dade 30 2,832,794       

Orange 30 1,415,260       

Hillsborough 30 1,478,759       

Total 90 5,726,813       

Population

Statewide Total 21,596,068 

Mia/Oran/Hills 5,726,813   

Percentage 26.52%

Cases

Calculated Statewide Total 339                  

Revenue Loss ($42 Fee)

Total

Clerks (12,727)$     

GR (1,527)$       

Scenario 2

Florida Hotline Calls 617                  

Revenue Loss ($42 Fee)

Total

Clerks (23,138)$     

GR (2,777)$       
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Sales and Use Tax/Rental Car Surcharge 
Issue:  Rental Car Surcharge Peer-to-Peer Services 
Bill Number(s):  HB 365 

       Entire Bill 
      Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Caruso 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  10/01/2021 
Date of Analysis:  03/26/2021 

Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Per section 212.0606, F.S., car rentals are subject to the $2 per day rental car surcharge for the first 30 days

except for people whose vehicles are being repaired, adjusted, or serviced by the entities providing the replacement vehicle.   A
member or a car sharing service pays $2 if the rental is for at least 24 consecutive hours and $1 if the rental is less than 24
consecutive hours.  Under current law, a car rental is subject to sales tax and local discretionary surtax per section 212.05, F.S. 

Peer-to-peer car sharing services sites allow vehicle owners interested in renting their vehicles to register as hosts.  The host 
specifies the vehicle’s location and availability. The peer-to-peer car sharing services site connects the host to potential renters 
and assists with determining a rental fee based on location and rental period.  The rental fee is typically paid via direct deposit.  
According to the Department of Revenue, vehicle owners who earn rental revenue generated through peer-to-peer car sharing 
services are currently required to remit rental car surcharge and sales tax.  According to the Department of Highway Safety and 
Motor Vehicles, vehicle owners acting as hosts on peer-to-peer car sharing sites do not register their vehicles as for-hire 
vehicles. 

b. Proposed Change:  Section 212.05, F.S. is revised to clarify that the 6% sales tax is due when a motor vehicle is leased or rented
by a motor vehicle rental company or a peer-to-peer car sharing program.  If the vehicle is rented by a peer-to-peer car sharing
program, the peer-to-peer car sharing program must collect and remit the applicable tax due in connection to the rental.
Section 212.0606, F.S. is revised so that the lease or rental of a motor vehicle requiring payment of the $2 per day rental car
surcharge specifically includes the lease or renting of a motor vehicle through a peer-to-peer car sharing program.  Section
627.7483, F.S. is created to define a peer-to-peer car sharing program as a business platform that connects vehicle owners with
drivers to enable the sharing of vehicles for financial consideration.  The peer to peer vehicle sharing program shall ensure that
both the shared vehicle owner and shared vehicle driver are insured.  The peer to peer vehicle sharing program shall also collect
and verify records pertaining to use of vehicles, fees paid, and proceeds kept by vehicle owners, and verify that the vehicles
being rented do not have any safety recalls, and keep a record of the name, address, and active driver license number of the
individual who is renting a vehicle on the platform.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Contact with Department of Revenue staff and Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles staff 
CS HB 1111 Staff Analysis prepared by the Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee on 03/28/2019 
Turo, Getaraound, and Drift websites 
12/09/2020 Transportation REC 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
There will be a positive impact to the General Revenue Fund, local funds, and state trust funds from increased collections of sales tax 
and rental car surcharge related to peer-to-peer rentals.  Although these taxes are currently required to be remitted during peer-to-
peer transactions, there currently is no mechanism in place to facilitate tax payments.  It is assumed that current collections are only 
five percent of activity.  The bill specifically lists the peer-to-peer car sharing programs as taxable for rental car surcharge and sales 
tax. 

There are three major companies that provide peer-to-peer car sharing services in Florida.  One of these services reported that they 
have 23,000 hosts who earn $500 per month in the U.S. and $1,141 per month in Miami.  It is assumed that this company is 
pointedly larger than the other two. The 23,000 hosts from this company are extrapolated out assuming the company represents 
60% of market share in the high scenario, 70% of market share in the middle scenario, and 90% of market share in the low scenario.  
Total revenue per month is calculated using total hosts times monthly earnings plus 20% kept by the peer to peer service.  The low 
scenario assumes Florida earnings equal to US monthly earnings ($500), the high assumes Miami monthly earnings ($1,141), and 
the middle assumes the average of US and Miami ($821).  Total annual collections is multiplied by 6% to calculate sales tax 
collections.  For all three scenarios, 5% is deducted for current collections and future years are grown by rental car surcharge 
growth rates from 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Sales and Use Tax/Rental Car Surcharge 
Issue:  Rental Car Surcharge Peer-to-Peer Services 
Bill Number(s):  HB 365 
 
the Transportation REC.  To calculate additional rental car surcharge revenue, the total revenue is divided by the total average daily 
rate of $80 ($50 base fee, $30 taxable other fees).  In all three scenarios 5% is deducted for current collections and future years are 
grown by rental car surcharge growth rates from the Transportation REC.  The GR and state trust fund calculations are based upon 
the statutory distribution percentages.  According to Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle, changes made in this bill will 
not result in vehicle owners participating as hosts on peer-to-peer car sharing services to register their vehicles as for-hire vehicles. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
  Sales Tax 

GR, TF, 
Local 

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 17.9  26.9  11.1  16.6  5.3  7.9  

2022-23 32.7  32.7  20.2  20.2  9.6  9.6  
2023-24 35.0  35.0  21.6  21.6  10.2  10.2  

2024-25 35.7  35.7  22.0  22.0  10.4  10.4  

2025-26 36.1  36.1  22.3  22.3  10.5  10.5  

 
  Rental Car Surcharge 

GR 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 0.5  0.9  0.4  0.6  0.1  0.1  

2022-23 1.1  1.1  0.7  0.7  0.2  0.2  

2023-24 1.2  1.2  0.7  0.7  0.2  0.2  

2024-25 1.2  1.2  0.7  0.7  0.2  0.2  

2025-26 1.2  1.2  0.7  0.7  0.2  0.2  

 

TF 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 6.0  10.3  3.7  6.4  1.8  3.0  

2022-23 12.5  12.5  7.7  7.7  3.7  3.7  

2023-24 13.4  13.4  8.3  8.3  3.9  3.9  

2024-25 13.7  13.7  8.4  8.4  4.0  4.0  

2025-26 13.8  13.8  8.5  8.5  4.0  4.0  

 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
General Revenue Fund 
State Transportation Trust Fund 
Local Trust Funds 
Tourism Promotional Trust Fund 
Florida International Trade and Promotion Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):   The Conference adopted a positive indeterminate impact for cash and 
recurring. It is unclear the extent to which the provisions of this bill are enforceable given the out-of-state nature of the current 
marketplace providers. 
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** 

2022-23 ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** 
2023-24 ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** 

2024-25 ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** 
2025-26 ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** 
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A B C D E F G H

HB 365 - Peer to Peer Car Sharing Services

Industry Data Calculations
Low Middle High

Turo Hosts 23,000                 23,000                 23,000                 

Total Hosts 25,556                 32,857                 38,333                 2019-20 -9.74%

Avg Host $ per month 500$                    821$                    1,141$                 2020-21 -38.52%

Plus 20% kept by P2P 625$                    1,026$                 1,426$                 2021-22 29.57%

FL Total $ per month 15,972,222$       33,699,107$       54,672,917$       2022-23 21.75%

FL Total $ per year 191,666,667$     404,389,286$     656,075,000$     2023-24 6.85%

Assumed daily rate 50$                      50$                      50$                      2024-25 2.14%

Taxable other fees 30$                      30$                      30$                      2025-26 1.07%

Total daily rate 80$                      80$                      80$                      

FL Days per year 2,395,833            5,054,866            8,200,938            

Sales Tax Calculations Turo Market Share

Low Middle High Low 90%

Total $ Per Year 191,666,667$     404,389,286$     656,075,000$     Middle 70%

Sales Tax @ 6% High 60%

2018-19 10,925,000$       23,050,189$       37,396,275$       

2019-20 9,860,513$         20,804,273$       33,752,535$       

2020-21 6,061,974$         12,789,900$       20,750,138$       Avg Monthly Earnings*

2021-22 7,854,795$         16,572,495$       26,886,963$       US 500$                      

2022-23 9,563,577$         20,177,781$       32,736,124$       Miami 1,141$                   

2023-24 10,219,077$       21,560,792$       34,979,900$       *per Turo's website

2024-25 10,437,577$       22,021,796$       35,727,826$       

2025-26 10,549,628$       22,258,208$       36,111,377$       

*Note: Growth by RCS growth rates. Reduced by 5% for current payers.

Rental Car Surcharge Calculations (Low)
Days RCS Total $ GR TPTF FIT&P TF STTF

2018-19 2,276,042            4,552,083$         364,167$             659,597$             177,986$             3,350,333$            

2019-20 2,054,274            4,108,547$         328,684$             595,328$             160,644$             3,023,891$            

2020-21 1,262,911            2,525,823$         202,066$             365,992$             98,760$               1,859,005$            

2021-22 1,636,416            3,272,831$         261,826$             474,233$             127,968$             2,408,804$            

2022-23 1,992,412            3,984,824$         318,786$             577,401$             155,807$             2,932,830$            

2023-24 2,128,974            4,257,949$         340,636$             616,977$             166,486$             3,133,850$            

2024-25 2,174,495            4,348,990$         347,919$             630,169$             170,046$             3,200,857$            

2025-26 2,197,839            4,395,678$         351,654$             636,934$             171,871$             3,235,219$            

Assumes 5% are currently paying the surcharge

Rental Car Surcharge Calculations (Middle)
Days RCS Total $ GR TPTF FIT&P TF STTF

2018-19 4,802,123            9,604,246$         768,340$             1,391,655$         375,526$             7,068,725$            

2019-20 4,334,224            8,668,447$         693,476$             1,256,058$         338,936$             6,379,977$            

2020-21 2,664,562            5,329,125$         426,330$             772,190$             208,369$             3,922,236$            

2021-22 3,452,603            6,905,206$         552,417$             1,000,564$         269,994$             5,082,232$            

2022-23 4,203,704            8,407,409$         672,593$             1,218,234$         328,730$             6,187,853$            

2023-24 4,491,832            8,983,664$         718,693$             1,301,733$         351,261$             6,611,976$            

2024-25 4,587,874            9,175,748$         734,060$             1,329,566$         358,772$             6,753,351$            

2025-26 4,637,127            9,274,254$         741,940$             1,343,839$         362,623$             6,825,851$            

Assumes 5% are currently paying the surcharge

Rental Car Surcharge Calculations (High)
Days RCS Total $ GR TPTF FIT&P TF STTF

2018-19 7,790,891            15,581,781$       1,246,543$         2,257,800$         609,248$             11,468,191$         

2019-20 7,031,778            14,063,556$       1,125,085$         2,037,809$         549,885$             10,350,778$         

2020-21 4,322,945            8,645,891$         691,671$             1,252,790$         338,054$             6,363,376$            

2021-22 5,601,451            11,202,901$       896,232$             1,623,300$         438,033$             8,245,335$            

2022-23 6,820,026            13,640,052$       1,091,204$         1,976,443$         533,326$             10,039,078$         

2023-24 7,287,479            14,574,958$       1,165,997$         2,111,911$         569,881$             10,727,169$         

2024-25 7,443,297            14,886,594$       1,190,928$         2,157,067$         582,066$             10,956,533$         

2025-26 7,523,204            15,046,407$       1,203,713$         2,180,224$         588,315$             11,074,156$         

Assumes 5% are currently paying the surcharge

Growth Rates

Rental Car Surcharge 

Variable Assumptions
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Sales and Use Tax 
Issue: Aircraft Sales and Leases Exemption 
Bill Number(s):  HB 6047 & SB 842 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s): Representative Altman & Senator Baxley 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2021 
Date of Analysis:  March 26, 2021 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Aircraft sales or leases.—The sale or lease of a qualified aircraft or an aircraft of more than 15,000 pounds 

maximum certified takeoff weight for use by a common carrier is exempt from the tax imposed by this chapter. As used in this 
paragraph, "common carrier" means an airline operating under Federal Aviation Administration regulations contained in Title 
14, chapter I, part 121 or part 129 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

 

b.  Proposed Change: Section 1. Paragraph (ss) of subsection (7) of section 212.08, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: Aircraft 
sales or leases.—The sale or lease of a qualified aircraft or an aircraft of more than 15,000 pounds maximum certified takeoff 
weight for use by a common carrier is exempt from the tax imposed by this chapter. As used in this paragraph, "common 
carrier" means an airline operating under Federal Aviation Administration regulations contained in Title 14, chapter I, part 121 
or part 129 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Department of Revenue Discovery and Voluntary Disclosure Data 
December 2020 Revenue Estimating Conference 
Department of Revenue monthly sales data 
SB 580 impact analysis 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The estimate consists of Department of Revenue Discovery and Voluntary Disclosure (D&VD) Data as well as Department of Revenue 
Monthly Sales Data for kind code 27. It was determined in a previous conference from March 22, 2019 that kind code 27 also 
included a percentage of non-sales and leases equal to 45% which is used as a reduction factor. The D&VD amounts for 2019-20 
were used in the middle estimate and the three-year average for 2017-18 to 2019-20 were used in the low estimate. The same kind 
code 27 data is used in both the middle and the low estimates. The starting year is grown by the percentage growth in Other 
Durables from the General Revenue Estimating Conference (12/20). 

The kind code data is primarily composed of payments from leasing arrangements. For prior estimates on this issue, it has 
been assumed that plane purchases may be delayed to take advantage of a tax rate differential. In the case of lease arrangements 
there should be less ability and/or motivation to shift travel plans to effectively make use of a tax rate discount. For this reason, the 
cash value for the kind code data is equal to 11 months of activity.  

 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2021-22    $(25.8 M)  $(28.1 M)  $(24.4 M)  $(26.6 M) 

2022-23    $(28.7M)  $(28.7M)  $(27.2M)  $(27.2M) 

2023-24    $(28.9M)  $(28.9M)  $(27.3M)  $(27.3M) 

2025-26    $(29.1M)  $(29.1M)  $(27.5M)  $(27.5M) 

2026-27    $(29.1M)  $(29.1M)  $(27.5M)  $(27.5M) 

 
 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
Sales and Use Tax Fund 
 
 
 

 

 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Sales and Use Tax 
Issue: Aircraft Sales and Leases Exemption 
Bill Number(s):  HB 6047 & SB 842 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):  The Conference adopted the middle estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Revenue Sharing Local Half Cent 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2021-22 (22.8) (24.9) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (0.8) (0.8) (2.2) (2.4) 

2022-23 (25.4) (25.4) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (0.9) (0.9) (2.4) (2.4) 

2023-24 (25.6) (25.6) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (0.9) (0.9) (2.5) (2.5) 
2025-26 (25.8) (25.8) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (0.9) (0.9) (2.5) (2.5) 

2026-27 (25.8) (25.8) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (0.9) (0.9) (2.5) (2.5) 

 

  
Local Option Total Local Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 (3.9) (4.3) (6.9) (7.5) (29.7) (32.4) 

2022-23 (4.3) (4.3) (7.6) (7.6) (33.0) (33.0) 

2023-24 (4.4) (4.4) (7.7) (7.7) (33.3) (33.3) 

2024-25 (4.4) (4.4) (7.7) (7.7) (33.5) (33.5) 

2025-26 (4.4) (4.4) (7.7) (7.7) (33.5) (33.5) 
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Sales and Use Tax Impact Analysis HB 6047 SB 842 - Aircraft Sale and Lease Exemption

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

A B C D E F G H

Monthly sales tax data Kind Code 27

Fiscal Year Sales Tax Collected Taxable Sales

2018-19 14,849,178$           298,175,865$           

2019-20 15,188,027$           317,180,609$           

Reduction Factor (Non-Sales or Lease %) 45%

2019-20 Taxable Sales (D4*1-D5) 174,449,335$           

Historic Discovery Data

Year

Liability Amount 

(Voluntary 

Disclosure)

Liability Amount 

(Discovery)  Liability (Total) 
2012-13 2,171,325$             2,247,413$             4,418,738$                

2013-14 7,401,668$             4,833,623$             12,235,291$              

2014-15 4,803,384$             6,623,884$             11,427,268$              

2015-16 2,311,163$             8,462,067$             10,773,230$              

2016-17 6,589,063$             6,285,061$             12,874,123$              

2017-18 6,095,203$             4,959,697$             11,054,900$              

2018-19 8,156,652$             9,935,705$             18,092,357$              

2019-20 8,822,102$             7,949,600$             16,771,702$              

average of 3 complete years 7,691,319$             7,615,001$             15,306,320$              

Historic Discovery Data (Converted to Tax Base)

Year

Liability Amount 

(Voluntary 

Disclosure)

Liability Amount 

(Discovery) Liability (Total)

2012-13 36,188,757$           37,456,878$           73,645,635$              

2013-14 123,361,136$        80,560,379$           203,921,515$           

2014-15 80,056,402$           110,398,071$        190,454,473$           

2015-16 38,519,378$           141,034,454$        179,553,832$           

2016-17 109,817,709$        104,751,015$        214,568,724$           

2017-18 101,586,725$        82,661,609$           184,248,333$           

2018-19 135,944,198$        165,595,089$        301,539,287$           

2019-20 147,035,035$        132,493,333$        279,528,369$           

average of 3 complete years 128,188,653$        126,916,677$        255,105,329$           

03/26/2021295



Sales and Use Tax Impact Analysis HB 6047 SB 842 - Aircraft Sale and Lease Exemption
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63

64

65

A B C D E F G H

Tax Base numbers used below Low

Growth rate for 

Other Durables Monthly data

2019-20 Voluntary 

Disclosure data

2019-20 Discovery 

data

3 Year average of 

Voluntary 

Disclosure data

3 Year average of 

Discovery data

2019-20 174,449,335$        147,035,035$           132,493,333$         128,188,653$         126,916,677$         

2020-21 3.2% 180,097,797$        151,795,855$           136,783,310$         132,339,249$         131,026,088$         

2021-22 0.0% 180,097,797$        151,795,855$           136,783,310$         132,339,249$         131,026,088$         

2022-23 2.1% 183,841,672$        154,951,389$           139,626,763$         135,090,319$         133,749,860$         

2023-24 0.6% 185,027,958$        155,951,253$           140,527,741$         135,962,024$         134,612,916$         

2024-25 0.6% 186,105,410$        156,859,386$           141,346,060$         136,753,756$         135,396,792$         

2025-26 0.2% 186,388,378$        157,097,886$           141,560,972$         136,961,686$         135,602,658$         

Tax Base Totals

Middle Low Middle Low

2021-22 468,676,963$        443,463,134$        28,120,618$              26,607,788$            

2022-23 478,419,824$        452,681,851$        28,705,189$              27,160,911$            

2023-24 481,506,952$        455,602,898$        28,890,417$              27,336,174$            

2024-25 484,310,857$        458,255,958$        29,058,651$              27,495,358$            

2025-26 485,047,236$        458,952,722$        29,102,834$              27,537,163$            

2019-20 Cash (uses effective rates from Row 33)

Proposed Revenue Impact

Low

Year Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2021-22 25.8 M$                   $                   28.1 M 24.4 M$                       $                    26.6 M 

2022-23 28.7 M$                   $                   28.7 M 27.2 M$                       $                    27.2 M 

2023-24 28.9 M$                   $                   28.9 M 27.3 M$                       $                    27.3 M 

2024-25 29.1 M$                   $                   29.1 M 27.5 M$                       $                    27.5 M 

2025-26 29.1 M$                   $                   29.1 M 27.5 M$                       $                    27.5 M 

Tax Collection 6%

Middle

Middle

03/26/2021296



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Sales and Use Tax 
Issue:  Tax Absorption 
Bill Number(s):  Proposed Language 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  N/A 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2021 (one and a half month lag to refund)   
Date of Analysis: March 26, 2021 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: Businesses are required to add the amount of sales tax imposed to the sales price. Additionally, businesses are 

broadly prohibited from advertising that they will absorb the sales tax on behalf of purchasers.  
 

b.  Proposed Change:  Subsection 212.07 (4) F.S. is modified: (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a dealer engaged in any 
business taxable under this chapter may not advertise or hold out to the public, in any manner, directly or indirectly, that he or 
she will pay absorb all or any part of the tax, or that he or she will relieve the purchaser of the payment of all or any part of the 
tax, or that the tax will not be added to the selling price of the property or services sold or released or, when added, that it or 
any part thereof will be refunded either directly or indirectly by any method whatsoever.  
(b) Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter to the contrary, a dealer may advertise or hold out to the public that he or she 
will pay all or any part of the tax on behalf of the purchaser, subject to both of the following conditions:  
1. The dealer must expressly state on any charge ticket, sales slip, invoice, or other tangible evidence of sale given to the 
purchaser that the dealer will pay the tax imposed by this chapter to the state. The dealer may not indicate or imply that the 
transaction is exempt or excluded from the tax imposed by this chapter.  
2. A charge ticket, sales slip, invoice, or other tangible evidence of the sale given to the purchaser must separately state the sale 
price and the amount of the tax in accordance with subsection (2). 
The effective date of the proposed amendment is July 1, 2021.  

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
 Revenue Estimating Conference - General Revenue Fund 12/2020 
 Department of Revenue – Sales and Use Tax Refund detail reports  

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 The Department of Revenue (DOR) detailed revenue report showing the total approved and denied refunds is used to 
calculate approved refunds as a percent of total refunds. The average percent of approved from FY 2015 to FY 2021 YTD is used to 
calculate the implied total refund volume from the forecasted General Revenue (GR) Sales Tax Refunds. The implied total refund 
minus the GR forecasted refunds results in an implied value for denied refunds.  
 Currently, businesses who apply for a refund of taxes must show that they have refunded the taxes paid by the purchaser 
before receiving a refund from DOR. However, businesses who sell tax exempt items to members of the public, and erroneously 
collects the tax on those items, may have no way to show that they have refunded the taxes paid to the purchaser. For example: 
how would a business that sells bottled water, and is incorrectly collecting the tax, show that they have refunded the sales tax paid 
in error to each purchaser? Under the proposed changes, if this business were an absorbing entity, this barrier could be lessened or 
eliminated.  
 The proposed language could generate increased refund amounts in two ways. First, through a reduction in the amount of 
refunds denied. Second, through and increase in the overall volume of refund applications. For refund denials, the high estimate 
assumes a 1.75% reduction, the middle estimate assumes a 1.25% reduction, and the low estimate assumes a 0.75% reduction. For 
refund volume increases, the high estimate assumes a 1.5% increase, the middle estimate assumes a 1.0% increase, and the low 
estimate assumes a 0.5% increase.  
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22  $(2.0 M)  $(2.3 M)  $(1.4 M)  $(1.6 M)  $(0.7 M)  $(0.9 M) 

2022-23  $(2.4 M)  $(2.4 M)  $(1.6 M)  $(1.6 M)  $(0.9 M)  $(0.9 M) 

2023-24  $(2.5 M)  $(2.5 M)  $(1.7 M)  $(1.7 M)  $(0.9 M)  $(0.9 M) 

2024-25  $(2.6 M)  $(2.6 M)  $(1.8 M)  $(1.8 M)  $(1.0 M)  $(1.0 M) 

2025-26  $(2.6 M)  $(2.6 M)  $(1.8 M)  $(1.8 M)  $(1.0 M)  $(1.0 M) 

 

 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Sales and Use Tax 
Issue:  Tax Absorption 
Bill Number(s):  Proposed Language 
 
 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
Sales and Use Tax Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 03/26/2021):  The Conference adopted a negative indeterminate impact because the 
number of businesses that would participate in tax absorption is unknown. 
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2021-22 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2022-23 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2023-24 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2024-25 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2025-26 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  
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Sales and Use Tax Impact Analysis PL- Sales Tax Absorption

1
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27

28

29

30

31

A B C D E F G

Sales Tax Refunds

Approved Denied Total

FY  Count Value Count Value Count Value

15/16 4,816 60,513,060$     2,218 42,876,292$     7,034 103,389,352$   

16/17 4,256 82,441,264$     1,934 62,480,907$     6,190 144,922,171$   

17/18 5,184 84,631,186$     2,003 47,490,848$     7,187 132,122,033$   

18/19 4,820 76,589,264$     2,377 45,670,511$     7,197 122,259,775$   

19/20 4,866 67,125,433$     2,399 40,438,155$     7,265 107,563,588$   

20/21 3,198 45,834,137$     1,600 25,352,595$     4,798 71,186,731$     

Grand Total 27,140 417,134,343$   12,531 264,309,307$   39,671 681,443,650$   

Approved  Percent of Total

Approved

FY  Count Value

15/16 68.5% 58.5%

16/17 68.8% 56.9%

17/18 72.1% 64.1%

18/19 67.0% 62.6%

19/20 67.0% 62.4%

20/21 66.7% 64.4%

Avg. Percent 2015-

2021 68.4% 61.2%

12/20 GR Refunds Forecast

(b25/c21) (c26-b26)

Refunds 

(approved)

Implied Refund 

Total 

Refunds 

(denied)

2021-22 87.6$            143.1$               55.5$       

2022-23 91.3$            149.2$               57.9$       

2023-24 94.9$            155.0$               60.1$       

2024-25 98.2$            160.4$               62.2$       

2025-26 101.3$          165.5$               64.2$       

03/26/2021299



Sales and Use Tax Impact Analysis PL- Sales Tax Absorption
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A B C D E F G

Reduction of Denied Refunds

Low 0.75%

Middle 1.25%

High 1.75%

Increased Refund Volume Overall

Low 0.50%

Middle 1.00%

High 1.50%

03/26/2021300



Sales and Use Tax Impact Analysis PL- Sales Tax Absorption
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A B C D E F G

Impact - Decreased Denial rate

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2021-22  $            (0.8 M)  $                  (1.0 M)  $     (0.6 M)  $                  (0.7 M)  $     (0.4 M)  $               (0.42 M)

2022-23  $            (1.0 M)  $                  (1.0 M)  $     (0.7 M)  $                  (0.7 M)  $   (0.43 M)  $               (0.43 M)

2023-24  $            (1.1 M)  $                  (1.1 M)  $     (0.8 M)  $                  (0.8 M)  $   (0.45 M)  $               (0.45 M)

2024-25  $            (1.1 M)  $                  (1.1 M)  $     (0.8 M)  $                  (0.8 M)  $   (0.47 M)  $               (0.47 M)

2025-26  $            (1.1 M)  $                  (1.1 M)  $     (0.8 M)  $                  (0.8 M)  $   (0.48 M)  $               (0.48 M)

Impact - Increased Volume of Refunds

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2021-22  $            (1.1 M)  $                  (1.3 M)  $     (0.8 M)  $                  (0.9 M)  $     (0.4 M)  $               (0.44 M)

2022-23  $            (1.4 M)  $                  (1.4 M)  $     (0.9 M)  $                  (0.9 M)  $   (0.46 M)  $               (0.46 M)

2023-24  $            (1.4 M)  $                  (1.4 M)  $     (0.9 M)  $                  (0.9 M)  $   (0.47 M)  $               (0.47 M)

2024-25  $            (1.5 M)  $                  (1.5 M)  $     (1.0 M)  $                  (1.0 M)  $   (0.49 M)  $               (0.49 M)

2025-26  $            (1.5 M)  $                  (1.5 M)  $     (1.0 M)  $                  (1.0 M)  $   (0.51 M)  $               (0.51 M)

Impact - Total

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2021-22  $            (2.0 M)  $                  (2.3 M)  $     (1.4 M)  $                  (1.6 M)  $     (0.7 M)  $                  (0.9 M)

2022-23  $            (2.4 M)  $                  (2.4 M)  $     (1.6 M)  $                  (1.6 M)  $     (0.9 M)  $                  (0.9 M)

2023-24  $            (2.5 M)  $                  (2.5 M)  $     (1.7 M)  $                  (1.7 M)  $     (0.9 M)  $                  (0.9 M)

2024-25  $            (2.6 M)  $                  (2.6 M)  $     (1.8 M)  $                  (1.8 M)  $     (1.0 M)  $                  (1.0 M)

2025-26  $            (2.6 M)  $                  (2.6 M)  $     (1.8 M)  $                  (1.8 M)  $     (1.0 M)  $                  (1.0 M)

Year

High Middle Low

Year

High Middle Low

Year

High Middle Low

03/26/2021301
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