
REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Concealed Weapons License 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB543 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 5 
Sponsor(s):  Representative Brannan 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2023  
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 13, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  A person is prohibited from carrying a concealed weapon or concealed firearm (CWCF) without a license to carry a 

concealed weapon (CWL), with exemptions for certified law enforcement officers, correctional officers or correctional probation 
officers. Carrying a concealed weapon without a CWL is a first degree misdemeanor. Carrying a concealed firearm without a 
CWL is a third degree felony. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  The bill authorizes a person to carry a CWCF with or without a valid CWL.  They must otherwise satisfy the 

criteria for receiving and maintaining a CWL, except that the person is not required to demonstrate competency with a firearm 
or state they carry for self-defense. A person carrying a CWCF without a CWL must carry valid identification while in possession 
of a CWCF.  They are still prohibited from carrying a CWCF in certain locations, including schools, patrol stations, and drinking 
establishments. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/safety/documents/2022_Annual_Handgun_Report.pdf 
https://www.seviercountysheriff.com/tennessee-gun-laws.html 
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/7502/file/cw_active.pdf 
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/7438/file/Concealed-Weapons-License-Fees-06-26-2017.pdf  
 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

 Florida currently (April 30,3023 – DACS) has 2,692,551 concealed weapon/firearm licensees 

 The license renews every 7 years 

 To be issued a license, the applicant will fill out an application, get fingerprinted at DACS, tax collector or a local 
sheriff/police department.  They must provide a certificate of completion from a firearms training class.  The class cost is 
typically $50.  Application fees are as follows (source: Dept. of Ag) : 

 
 
 
 
 
  

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Concealed Weapons License 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB543 
 

 Florida Department of Agriculture reports a 22% decline in renewals/applications in April 2023 over April 2022. 

 Florida Department of Agriculture reports a 4.88% increase in renewals/applications in May 2023 over May 2022. 
o New Applications: 11,030 – 61.51% decrease from May 2022 
o Renewal Applications: 19,209 – 43% increase from May 2022 

 
Reasons why to continue to get a permit to carry: 

 Allows Floridians to carry in states with permit reciprocity while traveling. 

 May prevent delays resulting from a delayed NICS check when purchasing from a Federal Firearms License seller. 

 May clarify any questions an individual has regarding their eligibility to carry or possess firearms. 

 May prevent legal issues associated with a person coming within 1,000 feet of the grounds of a public, parochial, or private 
school without a state issued permit in violation of the federal Gun Free School Zones Act. 

 
Permit less carry states:  Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, 
Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, 
Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming 
 
The analysis uses other state’s license history to determine the impact of removing the requirement for a concealed weapons 
license.  States that recently enacted the law on average saw a 37% reduction in volume the first year and 22% reduction the second 
year.  These averages were used to estimate new and renewal declines for Florida residents.  A smaller reduction was assumed for 
out of state residents.  The assumption was a 15% decrease for the first year and 5% decrease for the years after.  An out of state 
resident may choose to get a Florida license as the renewal period is 7 years while most states are typically every 5 years and to take 
advantage of reciprocity with other states.  

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   ($8.9) ($8.9)   

2024-25   ($12.1) ($12.1)   

2025-26   ($14.7) ($14.7)   

2026-27   ($16.8) ($16.8)   

2027-28   ($18.4) ($18.4)   

 
Revenue Distribution:  FDLE and FDACS Trust Funds, General Revenue Service Charge 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted 50% of the expected reductions from the new 
law that were proposed in Section 4.  This is considered the minimum of the impact; other states have had greater declines.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (0.3) (0.3) (3.9) (3.9) 0.0  0.0  (4.2) (4.2) 

2024-25 (0.5) (0.5) (5.8) (5.8) 0.0  0.0  (6.3) (6.3) 

2025-26 (0.6) (0.6) (7.4) (7.4) 0.0  0.0  (8.0) (8.0) 

2026-27 (0.8) (0.8) (8.9) (8.9) 0.0  0.0  (9.7) (9.7) 

2027-28 (0.9) (0.9) (10.2) (10.2) 0.0  0.0  (11.1) (11.1) 
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New applicants
Renewal  (out of state 

includes fingerprint fee)

FEES Fingerprint processing Fee Initial License Fee Renewal License Fee Revised/Duplicate Fee

Concealed Weapon or Firearm - Florida Resident $42.00 $55.00 $45.00 $15.00

Concealed Weapon or Firearm - Out of State $42.00 $55.00 $87.00 $15.00

Distribution
FDLE $15.00 $15.00

FDLE (FBI - Federal Fee) $13.25 $13.25

FDACS - instate $13.75 $55.00 $13.75 $15.00

FDACS - out of state $13.75 $55.00 $45.00 $15.00

Florida In-State Out of State

License Issued New applications Renewal New applications Renewal

FY 2022-23 ytd 162,026                                        183,077                                        22,502                                          11,393                                          

FY 2021-22 260,443                                        84,451                                          23,236                                          9,780                                             

FY 2020-21 293,127                                        98,290                                          16,798                                          11,652                                          

FY 2019-20 147,762                                        141,633                                        12,215                                          11,376                                          

FY 2018-19 159,727                                        121,006                                        14,292                                          12,533                                          

FY 2017-18 195,980                                        126,838                                        17,360                                          11,258                                          

FY 2016-17 211,910                                        160,443                                        26,259                                          13,637                                          

FY 2015-16 212,734                                        120,965                                        24,992                                          6,671                                             

In-State Out of State

New applications Renewal New applications Renewal

Average 7 years 198,093                                        125,889                                        19,726                                          10,876                                          

Estimated Reduction 1st Year 18.3% 18.3% 7.5% 7.5%

Estimated Reduction After 1st Year 10.8% 10.8% 2.5% 2.5%

Volume after Enactment In-State New In-State Renewal Out of State New Out of State Renewals

FY 2023-24 161,778                                        102,811                                        18,246                                          10,060                                          

FY 2024-25 144,366                                        91,746                                          17,790                                          9,809                                             

FY 2025-26 128,828                                        81,871                                          17,345                                          9,563                                             

FY 2026-27 114,963                                        73,060                                          16,912                                          9,324                                             

FY 2027-28 102,590                                        65,196                                          16,489                                          9,091                                             

646

https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/7503/file/CWApplicationsReceivedByFiscalYearSince1999-2000.pdf
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/105599/file/07012022_06302023_cw_annual.pdf
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/7503/file/CWApplicationsReceivedByFiscalYearSince1999-2000.pdf
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/105599/file/07012022_06302023_cw_annual.pdf
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/7503/file/CWApplicationsReceivedByFiscalYearSince1999-2000.pdf
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/105599/file/07012022_06302023_cw_annual.pdf
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/7503/file/CWApplicationsReceivedByFiscalYearSince1999-2000.pdf
https://www.fdacs.gov/content/download/105599/file/07012022_06302023_cw_annual.pdf


Reduced Volume In-State New In-State Renewal Out of State New Out of State Renewals

Baseline 198,093                                        125,889                                        19,726                                          10,876                                          

FY 2023-24 36,315                                          23,078                                          1,479                                             816                                                

FY 2024-25 53,727                                          34,144                                          1,936                                             1,067                                             

FY 2025-26 69,264                                          44,018                                          2,380                                             1,312                                             

FY 2026-27 83,130                                          52,830                                          2,814                                             1,551                                             

FY 2027-28 95,503                                          60,693                                          3,237                                             1,785                                             

Breakout of Fees Total Fee FDLE FDACS (FBI Fee)

New
Florida Resident 97.00$                                          15.00$                                          68.75$                                          13.25$                                          

Out of State 97.00$                                          15.00$                                          68.75$                                          13.25$                                          

Renewal
Florida Resident 45.00$                                          45.00$                                          

Out of State 87.00$                                          15.00$                                          58.75$                                          13.25$                                          

In-State New In-State Renewal Out of State New Out of State Renewals

FY 2023-24 3,522,541$                                  1,038,526$                                  143,504$                                      70,965$                                        

FY 2024-25 5,211,483$                                  1,536,465$                                  187,751$                                      92,846$                                        

FY 2025-26 6,718,649$                                  1,980,812$                                  230,892$                                      114,179$                                      

FY 2026-27 8,063,602$                                  2,377,335$                                  272,955$                                      134,980$                                      

FY 2027-28 9,263,800$                                  2,731,181$                                  313,966$                                      155,260$                                      

Total FDLE FDACS (FBI Fee)

FY 2023-24 4,775,535$                                  579,149$                                      3,684,804$                                  511,582$                                      

FY 2024-25 7,028,545$                                  850,941$                                      5,425,940$                                  751,665$                                      

FY 2025-26 9,044,533$                                  1,094,357$                                  6,983,493$                                  966,682$                                      

FY 2026-27 10,848,871$                                1,312,431$                                  8,377,127$                                  1,159,314$                                  

FY 2027-28 12,464,207$                                1,507,867$                                  9,624,391$                                  1,331,949$                                  

TF GR Service Charge

FY 2023-24 (3.9)$                                              (0.3)$                                              ($4.3)

FY 2024-25 (5.8)$                                              (0.5)$                                              ($6.3)

FY 2025-26 (7.4)$                                              (0.6)$                                              ($8.1)

FY 2026-27 (8.9)$                                              (0.8)$                                              ($9.7)

FY 2027-28 (10.2)$                                           (0.9)$                                              ($11.1)
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State Permit Type
Effective Date 

of CWL repeal
Note

Growth Rate 1st Year 

After Enactment

Average Growth Rate 

After Enactment
2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016

Alabama Concealed Weapon 1/1/2023 Based on 5 counties 50,808        76,116        
-33%

Tennessee Handgun Permit 7/1/2021 67,385        104,573      145,237   
-36% (0)                 

Ohio Licenses, New and Renewals 6/13/2022 89,782        202,920      169,100   
-56%

Oklahoma Approved applications 11/1/2019 14,957        21,433        21,902     29,991     46,757     
-30% -2% -27% -36%

South Dakota Active Pistol Permits 7/1/2019 54,918        66,156        85,332     100,544   107,129   100,728   96,047     
-17% -22% -15% -6%

Texas Handgun Licensing 9/1/2021 SFY (09/30 - 08/31) 260,908      469,543      390,886   305,133   
-44% 20% 28%

After repeal of CWL requirement

-44%

-33%

-36%

-56%

-36%

-15%

-25%

-18%
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Tourist Development Taxes - Local Tax Referenda 
Bill Number(s):  HB 7063 (codified as Chapter 2023-157, L.O.F.) 
 

Page | 1 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 2 only 
Sponsor(s):  House Ways and Means Committee and Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date of Analysis: June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: 

 
General Election 
Section 97.021(17), F.S., defines general election as “an election held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November in 
the even-numbered years, for the purpose of filling national, state, county, and district offices and for voting on constitutional 
amendments not otherwise provided for by law.” 
 
Tourist Development Taxes 
Section 125.0104, F.S., authorizes five separate tourist development taxes (TDTs) that county governments may levy. Depending 
on a county’s eligibility to levy, the tax rate applied to transient rental transactions may vary from a minimum of 3 percent to a 
maximum of 6 percent. The levies are by vote of the county’s governing body or referendum approval. The tax proceeds are 
used generally for capital construction of tourist-related facilities, tourist promotion, and beach and shoreline maintenance; 
however, the authorized uses vary according to the particular levy. The five TDTs are as follows below; however, only the 1 or 2 
Percent Tax and Additional 1 Percent Tax must or may be authorized pursuant to referendum. 
 
1. 1 or 2 Percent Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(c), F.S]  – authorized pursuant to referendum approval by the registered voters within the 

county or subcounty special district. 
2. Additional 1 Percent Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(d), F.S.] – authorized pursuant to an extraordinary vote of the county’s governing 

body or by referendum approval by the registered voters within the county or subcounty special district. 
3. Professional Sports Franchise Facility Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(l), F.S.] – authorized pursuant to a majority vote of the county’s 

governing body. 
4. High Tourism Impact Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(m), F.S.]  – authorized pursuant to an extraordinary vote of the county’s governing 

body. 
5. Additional Professional Sports Franchise Facility Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(n), F.S.] – authorized pursuant to a majority plus one 

vote of the county’s governing body. 
 
Chapter 2016-220, L.O.F., created s. 125.0104(5)(c), F.S., to authorize a county located adjacent to the Gulf of Mexico or the 
Atlantic Ocean, except a county that receives revenues from taxes levied pursuant to s. 125.0108, F.S., (i.e.,  Monroe County) 
which meets certain criteria to use up to 10 percent of the tourist development tax revenue to reimburse expenses incurred in 
providing public safety services, including emergency medical services as defined in s. 401.107(3),F.S., and law enforcement 
services, which are needed to address impacts related to increased tourism and visitors to the area. 
 
To receive reimbursement, the county must: 
 
1. Generate a minimum of $10 million in annual proceeds from any Tourist Development Tax, or any combination of such 

taxes, authorized to be levied pursuant to s. 125.0104, F.S. 
2. Have at least three municipalities. 
3. Have an estimated population of less than 225,000, excluding the inmate population, according to the most recent official 

population estimate. 
 
The counties currently eligible to receive reimbursement are Bay, Okaloosa, and Walton. 
 

  

X 
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Issue:  Tourist Development Taxes - Local Tax Referenda 
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b. Proposed Changes: 
 
Tourist Development Taxes 
Section 2 of the legislation amends s. 125.0104, F.S., to modify the procedures for levying certain TDTs. 
 
1. Additional 1 Percent Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(d), F.S.] – deletes the optional authorization of this levy pursuant to an 

extraordinary vote of the county’s governing body. Any referendum to authorize this levy must be held at a general 
election. 

2. Professional Sports Franchise Facility Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(l), F.S.] – deletes the authorization of this levy pursuant to a 
majority vote of the county’s governing body and replaces it with approval by referendum that must be held at a general 
election. 

3. High Tourism Impact Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(m), F.S.]  – deletes the authorization of this levy pursuant to an extraordinary vote 
of the county’s governing body and replaces it with approval by referendum that must be held at a general election. 

4. Additional Professional Sports Franchise Facility Tax [s. 125.0104(3)(n), F.S.] – deletes the authorization of this levy pursuant 
to a majority plus one vote of the county’s governing body and replaces it with approval by referendum that must be held 
at a general election. 

 
Additionally, the legislation requires any future referendum to reenact an expiring tourist development tax to be held at a 
general election occurring within the 48-month period immediately preceding the effective date of the reenacted tax. 
Furthermore, any such referendum could only appear on the ballot once within that 48-month period. 
 
Furthermore, the legislation amends s. 125.0104(5)(c), F.S., to increase the 225,000 population threshold to 275,000, which will 
allow the continued use of funds for public safety purposes by Bay, Okaloosa, and Walton counties. Additionally, it allows this 
use of funds by fiscally constrained counties that border the Gulf of Mexico or the Atlantic Ocean. The House of Representatives 
Staff Final Bill Analysis of HB 7063, dated June 1, 2023, states that under existing fiscally constrained county designations, this 
expansion would include Dixie, Franklin, Gulf, Levy, Taylor, and Wakulla counties. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
According to the Florida Department of State’s Division of Elections website, the next General Election Day will be November 5, 
2024.1 In 2026 and 2028, the General Election Days will be held on November 3, 2026 and November 7, 2028, respectively. 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Following the 2019 Regular Legislative Session, the REC considered CS/CS/HB 5 – Section 1 that would have required a referendum 
to adopt or amend a local discretionary sales surtax to be held at a general election as defined in s. 97.021, F.S. On June 5, 2019, the 
REC adopted an estimate of zero cash/zero recurring. The Conference reasoned that the requirement did not directly impact current 
baseline revenue forecasts because they were based on current law / current administration and did not contain assumptions 
regarding future surtax enactments. That legislation was approved by the Governor and later codified as Chapter 2019-64, L.O.F. 
 
Following the 2022 Regular Legislative Session, the REC considered CS/CS/HB 777 that would have required a referendum to adopt 
or amend several local taxes to be held at a general election as defined in s. 97.021, F.S. On June 1, 2022, the REC adopted an 
estimate of zero cash/zero recurring and stated that the Conference does not account for future changes in the enactment of these 
taxes in its baseline. That legislation was approved by the Governor and later codified as Chapter 2022-214, L.O.F. 
 
On April 7, 2023, the REC considered proposed language, which was later incorporated into HB 7063, to require that a referendum 
to reenact any of several local option taxes must be held at a general election as defined in s. 97.021, F.S., and any such referendum 
to reenact an expiring tax must occur within the 48 month immediately preceding the effective date of the reenacted tax. 
Furthermore, any such referendum could only appear on the ballot once within that 48-month period. The REC adopted an estimate 
of zero cash/zero recurring and stated that the Conference does not account for future changes in the enactment of these taxes in 
its baseline. 
 

                                                      
1 https://dos.myflorida.com/elections/for-voters/election-dates/  
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While this legislation would limit the current flexibility that county governments or subcounty special districts have for authorizing or 
reenacting several Tourist Development Tax levies and scheduling the required referendum, it does not appear to limit the authority 
of these local entities to raise revenues. The legislation does not increase or decrease local revenues; it only shifts the timing of 
revenues collected from local levies that may be approved by voters in the future. 
 
For these reasons, EDR staff again recommends a zero cash/zero recurring fiscal impact. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact (Millions) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   0 0   

2024-25   0 0   

2025-26   0 0   

2026-27   0 0   

2027-28   0 0   

 
List of Affected Trust Funds: 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.  The Conference does 
not account for future changes in the enactment of these taxes in its baseline. 
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Specialty Contractors 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 1383 
 

 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Trabulsy 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

Construction contractors are either certified (“certified contractors” or “certified specialty contractors”) by the Construction 
Industry Licensing Board (CILB) housed within DBPR, or are registered with the CILB (“registered contractors,” licensed by 
local jurisdictions).  Contractors certified by the CILB can operate statewide, while registered contractors can only work in 
the jurisdiction for which they hold a license. 
 
CILB currently issues 18 specialty contractor licenses, as follows:  

 Drywall 

 Demolition 

 Gas Line 

 Glass and Glazing 

 Industrial Facilities  

 Irrigation  

 Marine  

 Residential Pool/Spa Servicing 

 Solar Water Heating 

 Structure 

 Swimming Pool Decking 

 Swimming Pool Excavation 

 Swimming Pool Finishes 

 Swimming Pool Layout 

 Swimming Pool Piping 

 Swimming Pool Structural 

 Swimming Pool Trim 

 Tower 
 
These existing specialty licenses have fees for: application ($40), initial licensure ($200), examination ($160), and 
administration fee for exam ($135). 
 

b.  Proposed Change:   
The bill requires the CILB, by July 1, 2024, to, by rule, establish certified specialty contractor categories for voluntary 
licensure for each of the following (categories in bold appear to be subcategories of existing specialty licenses): 

• Structural aluminum or screen enclosures 
• Marine seawall work 
• Marine bulkhead work 
• Marine dock work 
• Marine pile driving 
• Structural masonry 
• Structural prestressed, precast concrete work 
• Rooftop solar heating installation 
• Structural steel 
• Window and door installation, including garage door installation and hurricane or windstorm protection 
• Plaster and lath 
• Structural carpentry 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
HB 1383 Staff Analysis 
HB 1383 Agency Analysis by Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
Communication with DBPR 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Based on information provided by DBPR, while “voluntary,” local governments can require relevant licensure in order to pull permits 
and complete work in their jurisdiction.  As such, contractors wishing to work in these specialty areas are incentivized, or in some 
cases required, to apply for specialty licenses.   

 

X 

652



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Specialty Contractors 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 1383 
 

 

DBPR indicated that no existing speciaty licenses are expected to be discontinued or replaced by the new categories of specialty 
licenses.  DBPR anticipates it will take a full year to adopt rules and procedures related to these new specialties, so there should be 
no impact until July 2024.  Beginning in July 2024, all thirty specialty licenses should be available.  While the new categories will not 
replace existing categories, it seems likely that some contractors will choose to apply for the existing specialty licensure that covers 
more areas for the same fee (e.g., apply for the existing “marine” license, rather than “marine seawall work” or “marine dock work.”  
The demand for the narrower new subcategories of existing licenses is likely lower than for the entirely new categories (e.g., window 
and door installation). 
 
The total number of specialty licenses issued in the last three years ranges from 151 to 207, increasing each year.  The impact is 
structured to assume the number of new licenses in any year is a percentage of the existing licenses issued in any given year.  To 
calculate the number of existing licenses in any year, the number of licenses issued thus far in 2023 (roughly 110) is doubled, and the 
average increase over the last three years is used to estimate how many licenses under the existing categories will be issued in the 
coming years.  The low assumes 10% of the number of existing specialty licenses will be issued for the twelve new license categories.  
The middle assumes 30%, and the high assumes 50%.  The relatively low percentages factor in that of the twelve “new” categories, 
only three are not currently within the scope of an existing specialty license so demand will likely be lower.  Any applicant who 
would have applied for an existing license and will now apply for a new license has no fiscal impact, as they would have paid the fee 
in either case.  The proposed impact reflects only the likely new applicants, as compared to baseline applicants.   
 
After the first year, the impact also accounts for the annual renewal of licensing fees for the new applicants from the cumulative 
years before.  The impact assumes the renewal fee is $200, equivalent to the initial licensure fee. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0 0 0 0 0 0 

2024-25 * * * * * * 

2025-26 0.1 0.1 * * * * 

2026-27 0.2 0.2 * * * * 

2027-28 0.2 0.2 0.1 0.1 * * 

 
Revenue Distribution:  Professional Regulation Trust Fund 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the low estimate.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2024-25 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2025-26 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2026-27 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2027-28 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Regulation of Securities 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 180 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s): Senator Gruters  
Month/Year Impact Begins:  October 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 22, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

The Office of Financial Regulation (Office) and the Division of Securities within oversee the registration of firms, brokers, 
issuers, dealers, and agents, the registration of securities, and the regulation of securities transactions.  
 
Registration of Dealer, Issuers, and Associated Persons 
A dealer, issuer, or associated person may not offer or sell securities in Florida unless registered with the Office or is exempt 
from registration. Issuers and dealers pay a registration fee of $200. Associated persons pay a registration fee of $50.1 
Registrations expire at the end of each calendar year. 
 
Registration of Securities 
Securities must be registered with the State unless the security meets an exemption provided by law or is federally covered, 
such as a security under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).2 Securities offerings are 
subject to a one-time fee equal to $1,000.3 
 
Registration of Private Fund Advisors 
Private fund advisors are not a distinct class of advisors under current law. An “investment adviser” is any person who 
receives compensation, directly or indirectly, and engages for all or part of her or his time, directly or indirectly, or through 
publications or writings, in the business of advising others as to the value of securities or as to the advisability of 
investments in, purchasing of, or selling of securities, except a dealer whose performance of these services is solely 
incidental to the conduct of her or his business as a dealer and who receives no special compensation for such services.  
 
The law excludes from registration as an investment advisor ”[a]ny person who does not hold herself or himself out to the 
general public as an investment adviser and has no more than 15 clients within 12 consecutive months in this state.4 
 

b.  Proposed Change:   
Registration of Dealer, Issuers, and Associated Persons  
The bill excludes issuers who sell or offer to sell securities in this state or to persons in this state from the requirement to 
register with the Office. Making this change also exempts from registration associated persons of such issuers. 
 
Registration of Securities 
The bill reduces the application fee from $1,000 to $200 for securities offerings totaling $5 million or less. 
 
Registration of Private Fund Advisors 
The bill exempts private fund advisors from registration with the Office. A private fund advisor is an investment advisor who 
provides advice to solely one or more qualifying private funds. Under the bill, a “qualify private fund” may be one of three 
types:  

 A private fund not registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940 (the SEC) and is not treated as a business 
development company,  

                                                      
1 Section 517.12(10)(a), F.S. Fees for associated persons may be waived if the person is or was an active duty member of the United 
States Armed Forces or a spouse or surviving spouse of such person.  
2 Section 517.07, F.S. 
3 Section 517.081(6), F.S. 
4 Section 517.021(14)(b)7., F.S. 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Regulation of Securities 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 180 
 

 A venture capital fund (generally may be an entity such as a small business investment company or a rural 
investment company or a fund that meets other federal criteria such as requirements for strategy representation, 
debt obligations, and is not registered by the SEC)5, or 

 A venture operating company defined by the U.S. Department of Labor. 
  

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
 CS/SB 180 Senate Bill Analysis 

Correspondence with the Office of Financial Regulation 
CS/HB 253 Final Bill Analysis 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
There are three impacts identified in the bill. One, exclusion of issuers and their agents from registration; two, a reduction 
in the one-time application fee for offerings that total $5 million or less; and three, exempting private fund advisors from 
registration.  
 
Number 3. Private Fund Advisors 
Investment advisors who meet the new registration exemption are not identifiable in the data. However, the exclusion in 
current law is expected to include ‘private fund advisors’ who are investment advisors today. The impact from this part is 
zero. 

 
Number 1. Exclusion of Issuers and their Agents from Registration 
The Office provided data for issuer registrations and their agents for Fiscal Years 2017-18 through 2021-22. Annual 
registrations and renewals estimates are forecasted each year beginning in Fiscal Year 2022-23 using a five-year moving 
average. The following table displays the data followed by a chart to display the forecast trend. 
 

# of Issuer 

Applications per 

Year

Total Fees
# of Issuer 

Renewals
Total Fees

# of Issuer Agent 

Applications per 

Year

Total Fees
# of Issuer Agent 

Renewals per Year
Total Fees

FY 2017-18 17 3,400$    77 15,400$  36 1,800$    183 9,150$       

FY 2018-19 16 3,200$    71 14,200$  27 1,350$    172 8,600$       

FY 2019-20 12 2,400$    65 13,000$  23 1,150$    151 7,550$       

FY 2020-21 17 3,400$    67 13,400$  24 1,200$    155 7,750$       

FY 2021-22 16 3,200$    66 13,200$  31 1,550$    140 7,000$       

FY 2022-23 16 3,200$    69 13,800$  28 1,400$    160 8,000$       

FY 2023-24 15 3,000$    68 13,600$  27 1,350$    156 7,800$       

FY 2024-25 15 3,000$    67 13,400$  27 1,350$    152 7,600$       

FY 2025-26 16 3,200$    67 13,400$  27 1,350$    153 7,650$       

FY 2026-27 16 3,200$    67 13,400$  28 1,400$    152 7,600$       

FY 2027-28 16 3,200$    68 13,600$  27 1,350$    155 7,750$        
 
Total fees is equal to the number of issuer and agent registrations and renewals multiplied by their respective fee amount, 
$200 per year for issuers and $50 per year for agents. 

                                                      
5 § 275.203(l)-1 Venture capital fund defined 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Regulation of Securities 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 180 
 

 
 
The revenue reduction for this part is equal to the sum of the fee columns.  
 

Revenue Reduction

FY 2023-24 25,750$                      

FY 2024-25 25,350$                      

FY 2025-26 25,600$                      

FY 2026-27 25,600$                      

FY 2027-28 25,900$                       
 

Number 2. Reduction to the One-time Application Fee for Offerings that Total $5 Million or Less 
The Office provided data for Fiscal Years 2017-18 through 2021-22. Only 1 issuer made application. The forecast is derived 
as the expected value of an application being filed in any given year. Since only 1 application existed in the look-back 
period, there is a 20 percent chance that in any year an application will be filed. Multiplying 20 percent by the revenue 
reduction per application ($800) results in the annual expected value of foregone revenue. 
 
The table below reports the total number of filings for all offerings and for filings of $5 million or less, with corresponding 
total fee amounts. 

# of Issuers Who 

Paid  Filing Fees
Total Fees

# of Issuers who paid 

filing fees for offering 

<$5m

Total Fees

FY 2017-18 10 $10,000 0 $0

FY 2018-19 2 $2,000 0 $0

FY 2019-20 5 $5,000 0 $0

FY 2020-21 7 $7,000 0 $0

FY 2021-22 15 $15,000 1 $1,000

FY 2022-23 8 $16,000 0.2 $160

FY 2023-24 7 $14,000 0.2 $160

FY 2024-25 8 $16,000 0.2 $160

FY 2025-26 9 $18,000 0.2 $160

FY 2026-27 9 $18,000 0.2 $160

FY 2027-28 8 $16,000 0.2 $160  
 
The revenue reduction for this part is equal to the expected value of filing fees in any given year. 
 

36
27 23 24

31 28 27 27 27 28 27

17 16 12
17 16 16 15 15 16 16 16

77
71

65 67 66 69 68 67 67 67 68

183

172

151 155

140

160 156 152 153 152 155

Number of Registrations and Renewals
Forecast Agent Registrations Issuer Registrations Issuer Renewals Agent Renewals
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Regulation of Securities 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 180 
 

Fiscal Year Revenue Reduction

FY 2023-24 160$                             

FY 2024-25 160$                             

FY 2025-26 160$                             

FY 2026-27 160$                             

FY 2027-28 160$                              
 
Final Impact 
With all parts combined, the final impact of the bill is negative insignificant. 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   (*) (*)   

2024-25   (*) (*)   

2025-26   (*) (*)   

2026-27   (*) (*)   

2027-28   (*) (*)   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
General Revenue (impacts from Firms and Issuers) 
Regulatory Trust Fund (Agent fees) 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2024-25 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2025-26 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2026-27 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 

2027-28 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Communications Services Tax 
Issue:  Local Rate Freeze 
Bill Number(s):  HB 7063 Enrolled 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  HB 7063 Enrolled – Section 17 
Sponsor(s):   
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  The governing authority of each county and municipality may levy a discretionary communications service tax. 

 
b.  Proposed Change: The proposed language redefines “discretionary” communications service tax as a “local” communications 

service tax and freezes the local CST rate in effect January 1, 2023, until January 1, 2026. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
February 2023 Gross Receipts/CST Conference Package 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The Conference does not assume future change to local rates in its local baseline forecast; therefore, the impact of the local rate 
freeze is zero. 
 

Fiscal year Local CST Revenues Impact 

FY 22-23  $ 666M  $ 0M 

FY 23-24  $ 694M  $ 0M 

FY 24-25  $ 720M  $ 0M 

FY 25-26  $ 738M  $ 0M 

FY 26-27  $ 754M  $ 0M 

FY 27-28  $ 768M  $ 0M 
 
 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   $0M $0M   

2024-25   $0M $0M   

2025-26   $0M $0M   

2026-27   $0M $0M   

2027-28   $0M $0M   

 
Revenue Distribution:  Local CST 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. The Conference does not 
assume future changes to local rates in its local baseline forecast; therefore, the impact of the local rate freeze is zero. 
     

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Corporate Income Tax   
Issue:  Brownfield Tax Credit Increase 
Bill Number(s): HB7063 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 37 
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain  
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Current law stipulates that $27 million in tax credits may be granted in the 2021-2022 fiscal year and $10 million 

each fiscal year thereafter. 
 

b.  Proposed Change:  Tax credits increase to and may not exceed $35 million from $10 million each fiscal year starting in fiscal 
year 2023-2024.  

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Review of prior analysis and communications with DEP. 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Each estimate assumes the first fiscal year will have the projected activity of $23.8 million and clear the $8.7 million backlog totaling 
$32.5 million.  In the high estimate, the following years will have a level of activity equal to the approved tax credits of $35 million.  
The middle estimate uses a constant growth rate derived from the most recent three years of approved credits starting from the 
projected level of activity of $23.8 million in fiscal year 2023-2024. The low estimate follows the same methodology as the middle 
estimate but applies a growth rate derived from a five-year average.  

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 ($22.5 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($22.5 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($22.5 mil) ($25.0 mil) 

2024-25 ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($19.3 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($17.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) 

2025-26 ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($20.6 mil) ($25.0 mil) 

2026-27 ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($24.7 mil) ($25.0 mil) 

2027-28 ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) ($25.0 mil) 

 
Revenue Distribution:  Corporate Income Tax 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted high estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (22.5) (22.5) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (22.5) (22.5) 

2024-25 (25.0) (25.0) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (25.0) (25.0) 

2025-26 (25.0) (25.0) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (25.0) (25.0) 

2026-27 (25.0) (25.0) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (25.0) (25.0) 

2027-28 (25.0) (25.0) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (25.0) (25.0) 

 

X 
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Calendar Year Fiscal Year Issued
Total Amount of Tax 

Credits Approved
Tax Credits Issued Remaining Backlog

Growth Rate of Tax 

Credits Approved

Total Demand of 

Credits

Growth in 

Demand (Tax 

Credits Approved 

+ Previous Year's 

Backlog)

2016 FY17-18  $             14,356,339.93 10,000,000.00$                  $       10,451,298.04 14,356,339.93$     

2017 FY18-19  $             11,407,898.28 18,500,000.00$                  $         3,191,328.84 -21% 21,859,196.32$     52%

2018 FY19-20  $             15,055,055.38 10,000,000.00$                  $         8,246,384.22 32% 18,246,384.22$     -17%

2019 FY20-21  $             12,525,086.20 10,000,000.00$                  $       10,771,490.81 -17% 20,771,470.42$     14%

2020 FY21-22  $             16,157,168.98 27,500,000.00$                  $            411,530.14 29% 26,928,659.79$     30%

2021 FY22-23  $             18,799,854.84 10,000,000.00$                  $         8,678,546.78 16% 19,211,384.98$     -29%

2022 FY23-24  $             23,774,740.14 32,453,286.92$                  $        (2,546,713.08) 26% 32,453,286.92$     69%

Tax Credits 35,000,000.00$            Tax Credits 10,000,000.00$       

5yr Avg. Demand Growth 13% 5yr Avg. Growth* 17%

3yr Avg. Demand Growth 23% 3yr Avg. Growth 23%

2022 Expected 32,453,286.92$            2022 Expected 23,192,427.95$       

Calendar Year Fiscal Year Issued
Projected Tax Credits 

Approved
Tax Credits Issued

Difference From 

Current Funding

Report Input 

Numbers

2022 FY23-24  $             32,453,286.92 32,453,286.92$                 22,453,286.92$       ($22.5)

2023 FY24-25  $             35,000,000.00 35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

2024 FY25-26  $             35,000,000.00 35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

2025 FY26-27  $             35,000,000.00 35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

2026 FY27-28  $             35,000,000.00 35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

2022 FY23-24 32,453,286.92$              32,453,286.92$                 22,453,286.92$       ($22.5)

2023 FY24-25 26,971,151.93$              26,971,151.93$                 16,971,151.93$       ($17.0)

2024 FY25-26 30,597,307.57$              30,597,307.57$                 20,597,307.57$       ($20.6)

2025 FY26-27 34,710,984.27$              34,710,984.27$                 24,710,984.27$       ($24.7)

2026 FY27-28 39,377,727.16$              35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

2022 FY23-24 32,453,286.92$              32,453,286.92$                 22,453,286.92$       ($22.5)

2023 FY24-25 29,315,179.97$              29,315,179.97$                 19,315,179.97$       ($19.3)

2024 FY25-26 36,146,757.92$              35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

2025 FY26-27 44,570,359.43$              35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

2026 FY27-28 54,956,987.97$              35,000,000.00$                 25,000,000.00$       ($25.0)

Middle (3yr Growth Rate)

Low (5yr Growth Rate)

High (Constant Value)

Previous Analysis

Input Variables Input Variables
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes & Fees 
Issue:  Temporary Commercial Kitchens 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 752 
xx   Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Calatayud 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  6/23/2023. 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
Current Law: The Division of Hotels and Restaurants (Division) within the Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
(DBPR) is charged with enforcing the applicable laws relating to the inspection and regulation of public food service establishments 
for the purpose of protecting the public health, safety, and welfare. Food trucks are regulated by DBPR as a “mobile food dispensing 
vehicle,”(MFDV). To obtain a license as an MFDV, an applicant must complete a kitchen plan review for sanitation and safety 
concerns, apply for a license and pay the license fee, and schedule and pass an initial licensing inspection. Once licensed, Division 
personnel inspect MFDVs as often as necessary for the protection of the public’s health, safety, and welfare. 
By rule, the division provides different license fees for a public food service establishment based on the license classification for the 
establishment. The division’s general classifications are non-seating and seating, which are then divided into sub-classifications. 
MFDVs are classified under the non-seating classification. The license for an MFDV requires payment of a $50 application fee and a 
$347 license fee. 

 
Proposed Change:  
The bill amends s. 509.101, F.S., requires operators of public food service establishments to recognize temporary commercial 
kitchens similarly to MFDVs when it comes to maintaining a daily registry and verifying proper licenses. 
It defines a temporary commercial kitchen as a public food service establishment used for takeout or delivery-only meals housed in 
portable structures with self-contained utilities, excluding a tent. The bill also preempts regulation of licenses, registrations, permits, 
and fees for temporary commercial kitchens.  
Temporary commercial kitchens and MFDVs can operate on the same premises as a separately licensed public food service 
establishment and can supplement the kitchen operations of a licensed permanent food service establishment.  
Temporary commercial kitchens can operate for 60 consecutive days on the premises of a licensed permanent food service 
establishment to assist in kitchen operations or 120 consecutive days during renovation, repair, or rebuilding of a licensed 
permanent food service establishment and during a declared state of emergency (both time frames can be granted an extension). 
Excluding those circumstances, a temporary kitchen cannot operate in one location for longer than 30 straight days. 
Temporary commercial kitchens must notify the Division of their location and renew it every 90 days for the duration of their 
operation. 
 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Correspondence with DBPR 
https://mobilekitchens.com/2020/12/14/food-truck-vs-mobile-kitchen-trailer-which-is-better/ 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The bill provides uniformity when licensing and regulating temporary commercial kitchens and seems geared to provide assistance 
to restaurants damaged in the wake of a hurricane or similar natural disaster.  
The definition of a temporary commercial kitchen closely mirrors that of mobile food dispensing vehicles (food trucks), but the clear 
delineation of the two may spur additional revenue from current brick and mortar businesses looking to expand. 
Presently, the total cost of application and annual license fee is $397 ($50 application fee, $347 license fee). Currently there are 
9,314 active MFDV licenses statewide. 
In 2021, DBPR licensed 467 new mobile food dispensing vehicles, and in 2022, it was 432 licenses for new mobile food dispensing 
vehicles.  
Because of the clear delineation and boundaries within which a temporary commercial kitchen can now operate, it is possible that 
this bill will incrementally increase the number of licenses for a temporary commercial kitchen, otherwise, the revenue impact 
would not change, hence a projection of either 0 or positive insignificant. 

 
 
 
 
 

 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes & Fees 
Issue:  Temporary Commercial Kitchens 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 752 

 
 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   0/* 0/*   

2024-25   0/* 0/*   

2025-26   0/* 0/*   

2026-27   0/* 0/*   

2027-28   0/* 0/*   

 
 
Revenue Distribution:  Hotel and Restaurant Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0/*  0/*  0/*  0/*  0.0  0.0  0/*  0/*  

2024-25 0/*  0/*  0/*  0/*  0.0  0.0  0/*  0/*  

2025-26 0/*  0/*  0/*  0/*  0.0  0.0  0/*  0/*  

2026-27 0/*  0/*  0/*  0/*  0.0  0.0  0/*  0/*  

2027-28 0/*  0/*  0/*  0/*  0.0  0.0  0/*  0/*  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Grandfathered Licensing of Electrical and Alarm Contractors 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 869 
 

 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 3 
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
 
a. Current Law:   
 

Section 489.514, F.S., previously permitted Florida registered electrical and alarm contractors to grandfather their registered 
license to a state wide certification without taking the state licensure examination if they met certain criteria and made 
application to the Department between July 1, 2019, and November 1, 2021.  Registered contractors are permitted to work only 
within local jurisdictions which provide them a local competency card and are not permitted to operate on a state wide basis 
unless they obtain a state certified license.  Since closing of the grandfathering provision on November 1, 2021, registered 
contractors are required to sit for the state certified license examination prior to receiving a state certified license as an 
electrical or alarm contractor.  

 
b.  Proposed Change:   
 

The bill amends s. 489.118, F.S., to permanently re-open the period for grandfathering of registered contractors’ licenses to 
state wide certified contractors’ licenses indefinitely by removing the requirement that applicants apply by November 1, 2021.   

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
HB 869 Staff Analysis 
HB 869 and SB 782 Agency Analysis from Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
Communications with DBPR staff 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 
Revenue from a grandfathering fee is indeterminate because it is unknown how many eligible registered Electrical Contractors’ 
Licensing Board (ECLB) licensees will apply for grandfathering. The total fee (application fee, initial licensing fee, and unlicensed 
activity fee) during the end of the previous grandfathering period was $196.  
 
There are 2,036 Registered Current Active/Inactive ECLB licensees who may be able to take advantage of the grandfathering 
provision.  However, the department received only 766 applications during the last period of grandfathering, which was from July 1, 
2019 to November 1, 2021, representing a little over 1/3 of the total base of eligible applicants.  
 
As a permanent change, the bill may lead to fewer applications in any given year (lack of urgency) but a steady stream of applicants 
in the future.  Given that 766 applications were received over the 28 month grandfather period the last time, the middle assumes a 
similar future impact of 27 applications per month over the forecast period.  The high assumes that the number of applications will 
start with 27 per month but will grow 10% per year.  The low assumes most of the individuals who held the applicable licensure and 
wanted to take advantage of the grandfathering provision did so the last time the option was available, and the number of 
individuals who will take advantage of this is 10 per month over the forecast period. 
 
Assuming total application/license fees of $196, the initital application grandfathering fees received by the department are logically 
capped at $399,056, which would be the impact if all 2,036 Registered Current Active/Inactive licensees apply over the forecast 
period.  These seems unlikely given participation in the recent grandfathering program for these individuals.  While the workpapers 
show a range of potential impacts, they are all less than $100,000 per fiscal year.   
 
The total impact includes an estimate that all of the new licensees will also pay renewal fees of $196 in each subsequent year, which 
increase all three impacts above the threshold for significance by FY 2027-28. 
 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Grandfathered Licensing of Electrical and Alarm Contractors 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 869 
 

 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 * * * * * * 

2024-25 0.1 0.1 * * * * 

2025-26 0.2 0.2 * * * * 

2026-27 0.3 0.3 0.1 0.1 * * 

2027-28 0.4 0.4 0.2 0.2 0.1 0.1 

 
Revenue Distribution:  Professional Regulation Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted a positive insignificant impact.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2024-25 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2025-26 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2026-27 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2027-28 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Sales and Use Tax   
Issue:  Business Rent Tax Rate Reduction 
Bill Number(s):  HB 7063 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 22 
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  December 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23rd, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Commercial Rent is taxed at a 5.5% rate which is expected to decline to a 2% rate in August 2024 based on the 

most recent Reemployment Tax Trust Fund estimate. 
b.  Proposed Change:  The commercial rent tax rate would be reduced to a 4.5% rate. The drop to 2% is still expected in August 

2024. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
March 2, 2023, Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund Estimating Conference 
March 13, 2023, General Revenue Estimating Conference (Business Investment Growth rates – adjusted for trust fund rate 
reduction) 
February 2023 Commercial Rent Tax Base Investigation by the Office of Tax Research 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
We multiply the commercial rent tax base by both the current and proposed rate, then take the difference to reach an impact. The 
impact is of limited window. 6.75 Months in the first year to account for the lag in collections and the delayed start date, 1.25 
months in the second year to account for the drop to a 2% rate already expected to take effect. The conference previously adopted 
a one week, 25% first month lag and a corresponding 25% last month remainder, so that is reflected in the impact below.  

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   ($215.9) M $0   

2024-25   ($40.1) M $0   

2025-26    $0   

2026-27    $0   

2027-28    $0   

 
Revenue Distribution:  Sales and Use Tax – state rate only 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.      

 GR Trust Revenue Sharing Local Half Cent 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (191.2) 0.0  (Insignificant) 0.0  (6.4) 0.0  (18.3) 0.0  

2024-25 (35.5) 0.0  (Insignificant) 0.0  (1.2) 0.0  (3.4) 0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

 

  
Local Option Total Local Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  (24.7) 0.0  (215.9) 0.0  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  (4.6) 0.0  (40.1) 0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

 

X 
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HB 7063 Section 22 Impact Analysis Business  Rent Tax Reduction

1

2

3

4

5
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A B C D E F

Return Total Taxable Sales

DR-15 24,656,095,571$            

DR-15 EZ 8,593,388,358$               

DR-7 Members 5,926,034,291$               

Total 39,175,518,219$            

5.5% 2,154,653,502$               

4.5% 1,762,898,320$               

Collections Growth

2022-23 7,695.00$                         

2023-24 7,540.30$                         -2%

2024-25 6,523.70$                         -13%

Collections Measures Adj. Collections Growth

2022-23 7,695.00$                         7,695.00$                

2023-24 7,540.30$                         7,540.30$                -2.0%

2024-25 6,523.70$                         1,038.50$                  7,562.20$                0.3%

2023-24 -2.0%

2024-25 0.3%

Tax Paid at 5.5% Tax Paid at 4.5%

2022-23 2,154,653,502$               1,762,898,320$        

2023-24 2,111,336,426$               1,727,457,076$        

2024-25 2,117,468,579$               1,732,474,292$        

Impact of rate reduction from 5.5% to 4.5%

2023-24 (383,879,350)$                 

2024-25 (384,994,287)$                 

2023-24 6.75                                   

2024-25 1.25                                   

Cash Recurring

2023-24 (215,932,134.52)$           -$                            

2024-25 (40,103,571.57)$             -$                            

Middle

Months in Effective Window

Total Tax Paid at Each Commercial Rent Rate

2023 Leg. GR Sales Tax Business Investment

2023 Leg. GR Sales Tax Business Investment Adjustment

Grown to 2024-25

2023 Leg. Business Investment Growth Rates Adjustmed for Measures (not adjusted for CY)

That -13% includes the anticipated 
drop to a 2% tax rate. In order to 
measure the true growth of the 
economic sector, the forecast must 
be adjusted to remove this effect.

The effective window of the 4.5% tax rate is December 1 
2023 to July 31 2024. This is 7 months of FY24 and 1 
month of FY25. The conference has previously adopted a 
1 week lag on the effect of a commercial rent rate 
change, which is approximated as 75% of a month. 

June 23rd, 2023666



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Local Option Food and Beverage Tax – Levy of 1% Tax in Select Municipalities Subject to Referendum Approval 
Bill Number(s):  HB 7063 (codified as Chapter 2023-157, L.O.F.) 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 21 only 
Sponsor(s):  House Ways and Means Committee and Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date of Analysis:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: 

Local Option Food and Beverage Tax 
Section 212.0306, F.S., authorizes the Local Option Food and Beverage Tax, which actually consists of two separate levies. Any 
county, as defined in s. 125.011(1), F.S., [i.e., Miami-Dade County] may impose two separate taxes by ordinance adopted by a 
majority vote of the county’s governing body. The first tax authorized in s. 212.0306(1)(a), F.S., may be imposed at the rate of 2 
percent on the sale of food, beverages, or alcoholic beverages in hotels and motels. A second tax authorized in s. 
212.0306(1)(b), F,S., may be imposed at the rate of 1 percent on the sale of food, beverages, or alcoholic beverages in 
establishments that are licensed by the state to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, except for hotels and 
motels. However, this 1 percent tax does not apply to any alcoholic beverage sold by the package for off-premises consumption. 
The county levying either tax locally administers the tax using the powers and duties enumerated for local administration of the 
tourist development tax by s. 125.0104, F.S. Miami-Dade County began levying these taxes on October 1, 1993. 
 
The county distributes the 2 percent tax proceeds to a countywide convention and visitors’ bureau, which by interlocal 
agreement and contract with the county has been given the primary responsibility for tourist and convention promotion, to be 
used for those purposes authorized in s. 125.0104(5)(a)2. or 3., F.S. (1992 Supp.). If the county is not or is no longer a party to 
such an interlocal agreement and contract with a countywide convention and visitors’ bureau, the county allocates the proceeds 
for those purposes authorized in s. 125.0104(5)(a)2. or 3., F.S. (1992 Supp.). 
 
As described in s. 125.0104(5)(a)2. or 3., F.S. (1992 Supp.), the 2 percent tax proceeds are used for the following purposes. 
 

1. Promoting and advertising tourism in the State of Florida and nationally and internationally. 
2. Funding convention bureaus, tourist bureaus, tourist information centers, and news bureaus as county agencies or by 

contract with the chambers of commerce or similar associations in the county. 
 
The 1 percent tax proceeds are distributed by the county pursuant to the guidelines provided in the approved plans for 
addressing homeless needs as well as the construction and operation of domestic violence centers. The county and its 
respective municipalities continue to contribute each year at least 85 percent of aggregate expenditures from the respective 
county or municipal general fund budget for county-operated or municipally-operated homeless shelter services at or above the 
average level of such expenditures in the two fiscal years preceding the levy date of this tax. 
 
For the first 12 months of the 1 percent tax levy, the proceeds are used by the county to assist persons who have become or are 
about to become homeless. These funds are made available for emergency homeless shelters, food, clothing, medical care, 
counseling, alcohol and drug abuse treatment, mental health treatment, employment and training, education, and housing. 
Thereafter, not less than 15 percent of the proceeds are made available for construction and operation of domestic violence 
centers. The remainder is used for programs to assist the homeless or those about to become homeless. In addition, the 
proceeds and accrued interest may be used as collateral, pledged, or hypothecated for authorized projects, including bonds 
issued in connection with such authorized projects. 
 
Pursuant to s. 212.0306(2)(d), F.S., sales in cities or towns presently imposing a municipal resort tax as authorized by Chapter 
67-930, L.O.F., are exempt from the Local Option Food and Beverages Tax. 
 
Municipal Resort Tax 
Chapter 67-930, L.O.F., as amended by Chapters 82-142, 83-363, 93-286, and 94-344, L.O.F., authorizes the Municipal Resort 
Tax, which also consists of two separate levies. Municipalities in counties having a population of not less than 330,000 and not 
more than 340,000 (i.e., Broward County) and in counties having a population of more than 900,000 (i.e., Miami-Dade County), 
according to the 1960 decennial census, whose charter specifically provided or was amended prior to January 1, 1968, to 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Local Option Food and Beverage Tax – Levy of 1% Tax in Select Municipalities Subject to Referendum Approval 
Bill Number(s):  HB 7063 (codified as Chapter 2023-157, L.O.F.) 
 

provide for this tax levy, are eligible to impose it by ordinance adopted by the governing body. A tax of up to 4% may be levied 
upon the rent of every occupancy of a room or rooms in any hotel, motel, apartment house, rooming house, tourist or trailer 
camp, as defined in part I of ch. 212, F.S. A tax of up to 2% may be levied upon the retail sale price of all items of food or 
beverages sold at retail, and of alcoholic beverages sold at retail for consumption on the premises at any place of business 
required by law to be licensed by the state hotel and restaurant commission or by the state beverage department. However, the 
tax does not apply to those sales the amount of which is less than 50 cents or sales of food or beverages delivered to a person’s 
home under a contract providing for deliveries on a regular schedule when the price of each meal is less than $10. 
 
The Miami-Dade County municipalities of Bal Harbour, Miami Beach, and Surfside are eligible to impose the Municipal Resort 
Tax. According to their official government websites, Bal Harbour1, Miami Beach2, and Surfside3 are imposing the tax at 4 
percent on transient rental transactions and 2 percent on the sale of food and beverages. 
 
It is the duty of every person renting a room or rooms and selling at retail food or beverages or alcoholic beverages for 
consumption on the premises to act as the tax collection agent. These persons must collect, report, and pay over to the 
municipality all taxes levied in accordance with the enacted ordinance. Any municipality collecting the tax has the same duties 
and privileges as the Department of Revenue (DOR) under part I of ch. 212, F.S., and may use any power granted to the DOR 
under this part including enforcement and collection procedures and penalties. 
 
The governing body may authorize by ordinance the creation of an authority or commission empowered to contract and be 
contracted with its own name as an agency of the municipality to expend the tax proceeds as the body may determine 
appropriate. The tax proceeds are used for the creation and maintenance of convention and publicity bureaus; development 
and maintenance of art and cultural centers; enhancement of tourism; publicity and advertising; construction, operation, and 
maintenance of auditoriums, community centers, and convention structures; or relief from ad valorem taxes being used for any 
of these other purposes. 
 

Relevant Taxes on the Sale of Food, Beverages, or Alcoholic Beverages 

Local Option Food and Beverage Tax Municipal Resort Tax 

2% Tax 
On the sale of food, beverages, or alcoholic 
beverages in hotels and motels only. 

Up to 2% 
Tax 

Upon the retail sale price of all items of food 
or beverages sold at retail, and of alcoholic 
beverages sold at retail for consumption on 
the premises at any place of business 
required by law to be licensed by the state 
hotel and restaurant commission of by the 
state beverage department. However, this 
tax shall not apply to those sales the amount 
of which is less than fifty cents nor to sales 
of food or beverages delivered to a person’s 
home under a contract providing for 
deliveries on-a regular schedule when the 
price of each meal is less than ten dollars. 

1% Tax 

On the sale of food, beverages, or alcoholic 
beverages in establishments that are 
licensed by the state to sell alcoholic 
beverages for consumption on the 
premises, except for hotels and motels; 
however, the tax shall not apply to any 
alcoholic beverage sold by the package for 
off-premises consumption. 

 
b. Proposed Change: The legislation amends s. 212.0306(2)(d), F.S., to maintain the Local Option Food and Beverage Tax 

exemption for each of the three municipalities (i.e., Bal Harbour, Miami Beach, and Surfside) currently levying the Municipal 
Resort Tax. However, the 1% Local Option Food and Beverage Tax authorized in s. 212.0306(1)(b), F.S., may be levied by each of 
the three municipalities of Bal Harbour, Miami Beach, and Surfside, if the levy is approved by voters of that municipality in a 
referendum held at a general election as defined in s. 97.021, F.S. Any authorized levy of this 1% tax takes effect on January 1st 
following the general election in which the ordinance was approved. Furthermore, any future referendum to reenact an expiring 

                                                      
1 http://www.balharbourfl.gov/doing-business/resort-tax-registration 
2 https://www.miamibeachfl.gov/city-hall/finance/filepay-resort-tax/ 
3 See document entitled “Resort Tax Form” available at http://www.townofsurfsidefl.gov/departments-services/finance/certificate-
of-use-local-business-tax-receipt-and-resort-tax-information 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Local Option Food and Beverage Tax – Levy of 1% Tax in Select Municipalities Subject to Referendum Approval 
Bill Number(s):  HB 7063 (codified as Chapter 2023-157, L.O.F.) 
 

levy of this 1% tax must be held at a general election occurring within the 48-month period immediately preceding the effective 
date of the reenacted tax, and the referendum may appear on the ballot only once within the 48-month period. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
None 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Beginning July 1, 2023, any future imposition of the 1% Local Option Food and Beverage Tax on eligible sales within one or more of 
these three municipalities (and the resulting tax proceeds going to Miami-Dade County) would be subject to two conditions. First, 
the municipality’s governing body would need to call for a local referendum to approve the tax levy within the jurisdiction. Second, 
the registered voters within that municipality would need to approve the referendum, which must be held at a general election. 
 
On April 21, 2023, the REC reviewed proposed language, which was similar to this legislation. The April 2023 language would have 
maintained the exemption for each of the three municipalities levying the Municipal Resort Tax, unless the 1% or 2% Local Option 
Food and Beverage Tax or both were approved in a referendum by voters of that municipality. At that time, the REC adopted a 
zero/positive indeterminate fiscal impact. 
 
In this legislation, the referendum approval provision is limited to the 1% tax only. For these reasons, EDR staff again recommends a 
zero/positive indeterminate fiscal impact. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact - $ Millions 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   0 0/**   

2024-25   0/** 0/**   

2025-26   0/** 0/**   

2026-27   0/** 0/**   

2027-28   0/** 0/**   

 
List of Affected Trust Funds: Local funds only. 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0.0  0/**  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Ad Valorem 
Issue:  Affordable Housing Property Tax Exemption (missing middle) 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 102 Section 8 – Paragraphs 196.1978 (3)(a)-(o) F.S. 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 8 – Missing Middle 
Sponsor(s): Senator Calatayud 
Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed: February 3, 2023; February 10, 2023; February 17, 2023; March 3, 3023; June 13, 2023; June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  No current law. 
b. Proposed Change:  Effective January 1, 2024, subsection (3) is added to 196.1978 F.S.; the impact-relevant parts are 

paraphrased below: 
 

(3) (b) Notwithstanding ss. 196.195 and 196.196, portions of property in a multifamily project are considered property used 
for a charitable purpose and are eligible to receive an ad valorem property tax exemption if such portions: 

1. Provide affordable housing to natural persons or families meeting the income limitations provided in 
paragraph (d); 

2. Are within a newly constructed multifamily project that contains more than 70 units dedicated to housing 
natural persons or families meeting the income limitations provided in paragraph (d); and 

3. Are rented at a rate that does not exceed the amount as specified by the most recent multifamily rental 
programs income and rent limit chart posted by the corporation and derived from the Mulfiamily Tax Subsidy 
Projects Income Limits published by the US Dept of Housing and Urban Development or 90% of the fair market 
value rent as determined by a rental market study meeting the requirements of paragraph (m), whichever is 
less. 
 

(c) If a unit that in the previous year qualified for the exemption under this subsection and was occupied by a tenant is 
vacant on January 1, the vacant unit is eligible for the exemption if the use of the unit is restricted to providing 
affordable housing that would otherwise meet the requirements of this subsection and a reasonable effort is made to 
lease the unit to eligible persons or families. 
 
(d) 1. Qualified property used to house natural persons or families whose annual household income is 80% but not more 
than 120% of the median annual adjusted gross income [AGI] for households within the metropolitan statistical area 
[MSA] or, if not within a MSA, within the county in which the person or family resides, must receive an ad valorem 
property tax exemption of 75% of the assessed value. 

2. Qualified property used to house natural persons or families whose annual household income does not exceed 
80% of the median annual AGI for hoseholds within the MSA or, if not within a MSA, within the county in which the 
person or family residesis exempt from ad valorem property taxes. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

 2022F Real Property (NAL) Roll data 

 Apartment Pricing Market Research:  
o Various apartment websites and Apartments.com 

 Individual links can be found in accompanying spreadsheet 

 Conversations with Florida Housing Finance Corporation’s (FHFC’s) Office of Multifamily Development 

 Distribution of bedrooms for renter-occupied units: Census.gov Table B25042 Tenure by Bedrooms, 2021 ACS 1-
year estimates 

o B25042: TENURE BY BEDROOMS - Census Bureau Table 

 Florida Housing Finance Corporation: Florida Housing Rental Programs - 2022 MTSP Income and Rent Limits, 
4/18/2022  

o https://www.floridahousing.org/owners-and-managers/compliance/rent-limits  

 List of FHFC properties: Florida Housing Data Clearinghouse—Assisted Housing Inventory Property List (Sheet 2) 
o http://flhousingdata.shimberg.ufl.edu/assisted-housing-inventory/results?nid=1  

 Median Household Income by County: Florida Health Charts 
o https://www.flhealthcharts.gov/ChartsReports/rdPage.aspx?rdReport=NonVitalIndRateOnly.DataViewer

&cid=293  

 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Ad Valorem 
Issue:  Affordable Housing Property Tax Exemption (missing middle) 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 102 Section 8 – Paragraphs 196.1978 (3)(a)-(o) F.S. 
 

 Median Income and Income Distribution: 2021 ACS 1-Year Estimates Table S1901 
o https://data.census.gov/table?q=household+income+in+florida&tid=ACSST1Y2021.S1901  

 Rental-occupied bedroom distribution: ACS 2021 1-Yr data 

 Rent Limits: Florida Housing Finance Corporation: Florida Housing Rental Programs - 2022 MTSP Income and Rent 
Limits, 4/18/2022 

o https://www.floridahousing.org/owners-and-managers/compliance/rent-limits   

 Rental Rate Information: Smart Asset: “How Much Should I Charge for Rent?” 
o https://smartasset.com/mortgage/how-much-you-should-charge-for-

rent#:~:text=The%20amount%20of%20rent%20you,%242%2C000%20and%20%242%2C750%20each%20
month. 

 Residential Non-homestead Taxable Value Growth Rates: August 2022 Ad Valorem Revenue Estimating Conference 
(AV REC) 

o http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/advalorem/index.cfm  

 Survey Cost per Unit: information received from Office of Economic and Demographic Research 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

Step 1: Identify Eligible Parcels 
The 2022 Final (2022F) NAL roll was used to identify 1,027 parcels that had been built (Actual Year Built) between 2017 
and 2022 with more than 70 residential units. As of the publishing date of the 2022F NAL roll, only one parcel with at 
least 70 units was recorded as having been built that year (as opposed to the average of 205 built in prior years). The 
2017 data was used as a proxy for the 2022 data. The following DOR Use Codes are included in the analysis leaving 867 
parcels: 

 03 (Multi-family - 10 units or more) 

 06 (Retirement Homes not eligible for exemption) 

 12 (Mixed use - store and office or store and residential combination) 
 

Step 2: Estimate Market Value and Rental Rates 
For each parcel, the just value (JV) was increased by 15% to determine the market value (MV). The MV was divided by the 
number of residential units to get a per-unit MV. According to Smart Asset, “the rents that landlords charge fall between 
0.8% and 1.1% of the home’s value,” so the MV/unit was multiplied by 0.81% for the low estimate, 0.80% for the middle, 
and 0.79% in the high to calculate the monthly rent for each unit. 
 
53 properties’ current rental rates were identified through market research and were compared to their parcels’ just and 
market values. While the information on the Real Property Roll does not give information regarding bedroom counts per 
unit, comparing the advertised rental rates and just values give some insight regarding the market capitalization rate of 
such properties. 
 

Step 3: Estimating Potential New Rental Rates 
HUD releases Rental Limits (RLs) based on the county or MSA, number of bedrooms in the unit (0-5 bedrooms), and 
income of the renter. The RL used for comparison is a weighted average of the different bedroom (br) prices for each 
county. The current weighting reflects the 2021 1-year ACS data for tenure by bedrooms. First, each property’s new 
rental rates were calculated three ways:  

1. It is assumed that the current high, middle, and low rental rates are the current fair market value rents. These 
values were reduced to 90% for comparisons, and we will call this value the “Reduced Rate.”  

2. Each parcel’s county was used to determine the RL for an 80% income level tenant (“80%_RL”). 
3. Each parcel’s county was used to determine the RL for a 120% income level tenant (“120%_RL”). 

 
Step 4: Estimate Tax Burden 

Using the 2022 real property roll, taxable value non-school district amount per unit and parcel are calculated. Using each 
county’s millage rates, the estimated tax burdens per unit and parcel were calculated. 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Ad Valorem 
Issue:  Affordable Housing Property Tax Exemption (missing middle) 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 102 Section 8 – Paragraphs 196.1978 (3)(a)-(o) F.S. 
 

Step 5: Cost/Benefit Analysis 
It is assumed that property owners would only seek this exemption if the exemption value would outweigh the income 
they would forgo by lowering their rents into the applicable ranges. (3) (b) 3. states, in part: 
“…portions of property in a multifamily project are…eligible to receive an ad valorem property tax exemption if such 
portions…[a]re rented for an amount that does not exceed the amount as specified by the most recent multifamily rental 
programs income and rent limit chart posted by the corporation and derived from the Multifamily Tax Subsidy Projects 
Income Limits published by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development or 90 percent of the fair 
market value rent as determined by a rental market study…whichever is less.” 
 
To detmine if owners would seek the 75% or 100% exemption, two case-by-case calculations were performed.  

1. The lesser of the reduced rate and the 80%_RL was subtracted from the original estimated rental rate. This 
represents the monthly rent the owner would need to forgo to receive the 100% exemption. This difference 
was multiplied by twelve to annualize the amount, and this forgone rent amount was compared to the 
estimated tax burden for that parcel. If the annual forgone rent, plus a cost of $185.88 per unit for the rental 
market study, is less than the estimated tax burden, it is assumed the owner would take the necessary steps to 
seek the exemption.  

2. The lesser of the reduced rate and the 120%_RL was subtracted from the original estimated rental rate. This 
represents the monthly rent the owner would need to forgo to receive the 75% exemption. This difference 
was multiplied by twelve to annualize the amount, and this forgone rent amount was compared to 75% of the 
estimated tax burden for that parcel. If the annual forgone rent, plus a cost of $185.88 per unit for the rental 
market study, is less than 75% of the estimated tax burden, it is assumed the owner would take the necessary 
steps to seek the exemption. 
 

If it would be worth the cost to seek both the 100% and the 75% exemption, the benefit under both scenarios is 
calculated and the property owner sets the rent such that they receive the most benefit. (This situation would likely occur 
if the reduced rate would be lower than the 80%_RL, or if the parcel has a particularly high tax burden). 
 
For the low, middle, and high estimates, it is assumed that the cost of conducting the survey is $185.88, per information 
received from the Office of Economic and Demographic Research regarding per-unit market rental study costs. 

 
Step 6: Calculate Tax Impact 

The taxable value for each parcel was then multiplied by its county millage rates to determine the tax impact. Those that 
only met the threshold for the 75% exemption were multiplied by 75% to find the amount that would be exempted. 

 
Step 7: Account for Parcels with Florida Housing Finance Corporation (FHFC) Contracts 

Paragraph (3) (k) (lines 796-801) indicate that units with an existing agreement with “the corporation” (FHFC) are not 
eligible for this exemption. Florida Housing Data Clearinghouse’s Assisted Housing Inventory Property List was used to 
identify properties built in 2017-2020 with greater than 70 units that have existing agreements with FHFC. 2021 data was 
not yet available. Of the 861 properties initially identified on the NAL Roll, 37 were found to have such FHFC agreements, 
representing of 0.67% of the eligible pool’s School District Taxable Value (TV_SD) and Non-school District Taxable Value 
(TV_NSD). 
 
The amounts calculated in Step 6 were reduced by this 0.7% to account for properties with FHFC agreements for all 
properties built 2017-2021. 

 
Step 8: Unit Participation Estimate  

Thus far in the analysis, it is assumed that eligible properties would seek the exemption for 100% of their units. However, 
property owners may consider seeking certification and applying for this exemption for only a portion of their units. To 
account for this, the high estimate assumes 100% of each property’s units would seek and receive the exemption. The 
middle assumes 95% participation and the low assumes 90%.  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Ad Valorem 
Issue:  Affordable Housing Property Tax Exemption (missing middle) 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 102 Section 8 – Paragraphs 196.1978 (3)(a)-(o) F.S. 
 

Step 9: Apply Growth Rates and Forecast Impact 
Residential Non-Homestead Taxable Value Growth Rates from the March 2023 Ad Valorem Revenue Estimating 
Conference were applied to grow the 2021 impact through the forecast period. A cohort concept has been included to 
represent new batches of qualifying properties entering the market each year. The additional cohort is equal to one-fifth 
of the 2022-23 year as this represents the most recent 5 years’ worth of qualifying properties. 

 
Assumptions: 

 It is assumed that people will behave rationally and self select into units with appropriate income and rent 
limits. 

 It is assumed that property owners would only seek this exemption if the exemption value would outweigh the 
income they would forgo by lowering their rents into the applicable ranges.  

 It is assumed that parcels built in 2017 are an appropriate proxy for those built in 2022.  

 It is assumed that the current high, middle, and low rental rates are the current fair market value rents. 
 

Additional Information: 
Paragraph (3) (f) lists four pieces of information that must be provided to FHFC to receive certification for this exemption: 

1. A completed rental market study 
2. A list of units for which the owner is seeking exemption 
3. The rent amount received for each unit for which the owner is seeking exemption 
4. A sworn statement restricting the property for affordable housing for at least 3 years 

This list does not include verification of the renter’s income. Based on discussions with FHFC’s Office of Multifamily 
Development, FHFC has no current plan to verify this aspect of the requirements. As long as the property is more than 70 
units, was built in the last five years, submits the required paperwork, and is not listed in the FHFC portfolio, they would 
have no reason to deny the certification. Finally, the bill first impacts the 2024 tax roll. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 $0 $(1,002.7 M) $0 $(930.5 M) $0 $(827.5 M) 

2024-25 $(517.5 M) $(1,002.7 M) $(480.2 M) $(930.5 M) $(427.0 M) $(827.5 M) 

2025-26 $(630.8 M) $(1,002.7 M) $(585.3 M) $(930.5 M) $(520.5 M) $(827.5 M) 

2026-27 $(748.6 M) $(1,002.7 M) $(694.7 M) $(930.5 M) $(617.7 M) $(827.5 M) 

2027-28 $(871.1 M) $(1,002.7 M) $(808.3 M) $(930.5 M) $(718.8 M) $(827.5 M) 

 
Revenue Distribution:  Ad Valorem 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Ad Valorem 
Issue:  Affordable Housing Property Tax Exemption (missing middle) 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 102 Section 8 – Paragraphs 196.1978 (3)(a)-(o) F.S. 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the low estimate. 
     

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (827.5) 0.0  (827.5) 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (427.0) (827.5) (427.0) (827.5) 

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (520.5) (827.5) (520.5) (827.5) 

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (617.7) (827.5) (617.7) (827.5) 

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (718.8) (827.5) (718.8) (827.5) 

 

  
School Non-School Total Local/Other 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  (289.1) 0.0  (538.4) 0.0  (827.5) 

2024-25 (149.2) (289.1) (277.8) (538.4) (427.0) (827.5) 

2025-26 (181.8) (289.1) (338.7) (538.4) (520.5) (827.5) 

2026-27 (215.8) (289.1) (401.9) (538.4) (617.7) (827.5) 

2027-28 (251.1) (289.1) (467.7) (538.4) (718.8) (827.5) 
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DOR Use Codes: 

Number of Residential 

Units:

Actual Year Built

Actual Year Built Count
School District Taxable 

Value (TV_SD)

Non-School District 

Taxable Value 

(TV_NSD)

2017 (proxy for 2022) 155                                 7,059,156,804$              6,492,794,800$         

2018 147                                 7,649,543,034$              6,819,839,222$         

2019 165                                 8,350,872,617$              7,658,162,628$         

2020 192                                 11,015,735,149$            10,415,162,970$       

2021 208                                 10,598,036,214$            10,590,316,730$       

Sum 867                                44,673,343,818              41,976,276,350        

Source: 2022F NAL Roll

15%

High Middle Low

0.79% 0.80% 0.81%

Weight

0 5.16%

1 22.09%

2 41.14%

3 24.77%

4 6.13%

5 0.71%

Sum 100%

Source: ACS 2021  1-year Tenure by Bedroom: Table B25042

90%

Each parcel's Non-School District Taxable Value was multiplied by its county's 2022F millage rates to estimate the tax burden

Cost

185.88$                         

High Middle Low

Parcels 282 270 261

Units 54,800                           52,557                               50,212                         

TV_SD 7,366,112,207             6,914,701,864$              6,481,425,187$         

TV_NSD 7,111,596,679$           6,668,140,356$              6,242,371,148$         

Estimated Tax Burden 124,459,660$              116,555,152$                  109,456,167$             

Tax Impact (124,459,660)$             (116,555,152)$                 (109,456,167)$           

90% of the Fair Market Rent

Step 1: Identify Eligible Parcels

003 (Multi-family - 10 units or more), 006 (Retirement Homes not eligible for exemption), or 012 

(Mixed use - store and office or store and residential combination)

> 70

2017-2021

Step 2: Estimate Market Value and Current Rental Rates

Just Value to Market Value Increase

Rental Rate of Market Value

Step 3: Estimating Potential New Rental Rates

a) HUD's Rental Limit (RL) Estimate

RL Weighted by Bedrooms

b) Fair Market Value Rent

(Rent Forgone + Survey Cost) < Tax Burden

Lines 693-695 of bill language

Step 4: Estimate Tax Burden

Step 5: Cost/Benefit Analysis

Survey Cost (per parcel)

Pool 1: (3) (d) 2. = 100% Exempt

6/23/2023675
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Source: 2022F NAL Roll

High Middle Low

Parcels 199 202 192

Units 56,216                           56,468                               53,237                         

TV_SD 13,924,017,193           13,941,290,263$            13,028,541,090$       

TV_NSD 13,598,740,363$         13,629,564,912$            12,773,463,271$       

Estimated Tax Burden 248,838,479$              249,767,256$                  234,369,621$             

Tax Impact (186,628,859)$             (187,325,442)$                 (175,777,216)$           

% Exempt 75% 75% 75%

Source: 2022F NAL Roll

Note: It is assumed that, if qualified for both exemption amounts, the owner would elect to be 100% exempt (pool 1)

Use County Level Millage? 1

School District

Non-School District

100% High Middle Low

School District 44,690,302$                 41,888,856$                    39,327,632$               

Non-School District 79,769,358$                 74,666,296$                    70,128,535$               

High Middle Low

School District 64,345,027$                 64,471,619$                    60,320,015$               

Non-School District 122,283,832$              122,853,823$                  115,457,201$             

High Middle Low

School District (109,035,329)$             (106,360,475)$                 (99,647,647)$              

Non-School District (202,053,189)$             (197,520,119)$                 (185,585,736)$           

Actual Year Built Count Agreement with FHFC Remaining FHFC %

2017 (proxy for 2022) 155                                 2                                         153                               1.3%

2018 147                                 11                                       136                               7.5%

2019 165                                 14                                       151                               8.5%

2020 192                                 10                                       182                               5.2%

2021 208                                 14                                       194                               
Sources: 2022F NAL Roll and Shimburg 

Report

Note: shading indicates 

estimate average: 7.1%

Actual Year Built All Agreement with FHFC Remaining FHFC Percent

2017 (proxy for 2022) 7,059,156,804$           5,149,281$                       7,054,007,523$         0.1%

2018 7,649,543,034$           47,399,752$                    7,602,143,282$         0.6%

2019 8,350,872,617$           74,918,330$                    8,275,954,287$         0.9%

2020 11,015,735,149$         56,007,601$                    10,959,727,548$       0.5%

2021 10,598,036,214$         71,544,025$                    10,526,492,189$       
Sources: 2022F NAL Roll and Shimburg 

Report

Note: shading indicates 

estimate average: 0.7%

Pool 2: (3) (d) 1.= 75% Exempt

(Rent Forgone + Survey Cost) < 75% of Tax Burden

Step 6: Calculate Tax Impact

Statewide Aggregate Millage Rates

Pool 1: (3) (d) 2. = 100% Exempt

2022 Taxes Owed

Pool 2: (3) (d) 1.= 75% Exempt

2022 Taxes Owed, 75% Exempt

2022 Total Impact

Step 7: Account for Parcels with Florida Housing Finance Corporation (FHFC) Agreements

School District Taxable Value

6/23/2023676
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Actual Year Built All Agreement with FHFC Remaining FHFC Percent

2017 (proxy for 2022) 6,492,794,800$           5,117,164$                       6,487,677,636$         0.1%

2018 6,819,839,222$           42,156,904$                    6,777,682,318$         0.6%

2019 7,658,162,628$           71,649,825$                    7,586,512,803$         0.9%

2020 10,415,162,970$         41,976,237$                    10,373,186,733$       0.4%

2021 10,590,316,730$         69,076,463$                    10,521,240,267$       
Sources: 2022F NAL Roll and Shimburg 

Report

Note: shading indicates 

estimate average: 0.7%

0.7%

% Exempt High Middle Low

School District (108,324,135)$             (105,666,728)$                 (98,997,685)$              

Non-School District (200,735,276)$             (196,231,773)$                 (184,375,233)$           

High Middle Low

100% 95% 90%

% Exempt High Middle Low

School District (108,324,135)$             (100,383,391)$                 (89,097,916)$              

Non-School District (200,735,276)$             (186,420,185)$                 (165,937,710)$           

2022 884,038,137,463$      

2023 1,033,445,782,129$   16.9%

2024 1,057,273,251,883$   2.3%

2025 1,127,660,298,544$   6.7%

2026 1,189,593,719,242$   5.5%

2027 1,245,789,396,602$   4.7%

2028 1,303,762,658,809$   4.7%

Source: Mar 2023 AV REC

Year

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2022-2023 $0 $(108.3 M) $0 $(100.4 M) $0 $(89.1 M)

2023-2024 $0 $(152.0 M) $0 $(140.8 M) $0 $(125.0 M)

2024-2025 $(181.4 M) $(181.4 M) $(168.1 M) $(168.1 M) $(149.2 M) $(149.2 M)

2025-2026 $(221.1 M) $(221.1 M) $(204.9 M) $(204.9 M) $(181.8 M) $(181.8 M)

2026-2027 $(262.4 M) $(262.4 M) $(243.1 M) $(243.1 M) $(215.8 M) $(215.8 M)

2027-2028 $(305.3 M) $(305.3 M) $(282.9 M) $(282.9 M) $(251.1 M) $(251.1 M)

2028-2029 $(351.5 M) $(351.5 M) $(325.7 M) $(325.7 M) $(289.1 M) $(289.1 M)

Year

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2022-2023 $0 $(200.7 M) $0 $(186.4 M) $0 $(165.9 M)

2023-2024 $0 $(281.6 M) $0 $(261.5 M) $0 $(232.8 M)

2024-2025 $(336.1 M) $(336.1 M) $(312.1 M) $(312.1 M) $(277.8 M) $(277.8 M)

2025-2026 $(409.7 M) $(409.7 M) $(380.5 M) $(380.5 M) $(338.7 M) $(338.7 M)

2026-2027 $(486.2 M) $(486.2 M) $(451.5 M) $(451.5 M) $(401.9 M) $(401.9 M)

2027-2028 $(565.8 M) $(565.8 M) $(525.4 M) $(525.4 M) $(467.7 M) $(467.7 M)

2028-2029 $(651.3 M) $(651.3 M) $(604.8 M) $(604.8 M) $(538.4 M) $(538.4 M)

Impact: School District

Non-School District Taxable Value

Percent of Value to Remove for FHFC Parcels

2022 Total Impact

Step 8: Unit Participation Estimate

2022 Total Impact

Step 9: Apply Growth Rates and Forecast Impact

Residential Non-Homestead Taxable Value Growth Rates

High Middle Low

Impact: Non-School District

High Middle Low
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Year

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2022-2023 $0 $(309.1 M) $0 $(286.8 M) $0 $(255.0 M)

2023-2024 $0 $(433.6 M) $0 $(402.3 M) $0 $(357.8 M)

2024-2025 $(517.5 M) $(517.5 M) $(480.2 M) $(480.2 M) $(427.0 M) $(427.0 M)

2025-2026 $(630.8 M) $(630.8 M) $(585.3 M) $(585.3 M) $(520.5 M) $(520.5 M)

2026-2027 $(748.6 M) $(748.6 M) $(694.7 M) $(694.7 M) $(617.7 M) $(617.7 M)

2027-2028 $(871.1 M) $(871.1 M) $(808.3 M) $(808.3 M) $(718.8 M) $(718.8 M)

2028-2029 $(1,002.7 M) $(1,002.7 M) $(930.5 M) $(930.5 M) $(827.5 M) $(827.5 M)

Total Impact

High Middle Low
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Ad Valorem 
Issue:  Local Option Affordable Housing Property Tax Exemption 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 102 Section 9: Local Option 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 9 
Sponsor(s): Senator Calatayud 
Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2024  
Date(s) Conference Reviewed: February 3, 2023; June 13, 2023; June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: No current law 
b. Proposed Change: Section 196.1979, F.S., is created and is paraphrased below: 

(1) (a) Notwithstanding ss. 196.195 and 196.196, the board of county commissioners or governing body of a municipality 
may adopt an ordinance to exempt those portions of property used to provide affordable housing meeting the 
requirements of this section. Such property is considered property used for a charitable purpose. To be eligible, the 
portions of property:  

1. Must be used to house those whose annual household income: 
a. Is > 30% but <= 60% of the median annual adjusted gross income (AGI) for households within the 

metropolitan statistical area (MSA) or county in which the person or family resides; or 
b. <= 30% of the AGI for households within the MSA or county; 

2. Must be within a multifamily project containing >= 50 residential units, >= 20% of which are used to provide 
affordable housing per this section; 

3. Must be rented for an amount no greater than the amount specified by the most recent multifamily rental 
programs income and rent limit chart posted by the corporation and derived from the Multifamily Tax Subsidy 
Projects Income Limits published by the U.S. Dept of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) or 90% of the fair 
market value rent as determined by a rental market study meeting the requirements of subsection (4), 
whichever is less; 

4. May not have been cited for 3 or more code violations in the 24 months before the submission of the 
exemption application;  

5. May not have any un-remedied cited code violations before the submission of the exemption application; 
6. May not have any unpaid fines or charges relating to the cited code violations. Payment of unpaid fines or 

charges before a final determination on a property’s qualification for an exemption under this section will not 
exclude such property from eligibility if the property otherwise complies with all other requirements for the 
exemption. 

(b) Qualified property may receive an ad valorem exemption of: 
1. Up to 75% of the assessed value of each unit used to provide affordable housing if <100% of the units are used 

for affordable housing 
2. Up to 100% of the assessed value if 100% of the units are used to provide affordable housing. 

(c) The board of county commissioners or the governing body may choose to adopt exemptions for properties that 
meet the income limits of sub-subparagraph (a)1.a., (a)1.b., or both. 

(2) If a unit that qualified the previous year is vacant in the current year, it can still qualify if a reasonable effort is made to 
lease it to qualifying individuals. 
(3) An ordinance granting the exemption authorized by this section must: 

(a) Be adopted under the procedures for adoption of a nonemergency ordinance by a board of county commissioners 
specified in chapter 125 or by a municipal governing body specified in chapter 166. 

(b) Designate the local entity under the supervision of the board of county commissioners or governing body of a 
municipality which must develop, receive, and review applications for certification and develop notices of determination of 
eligibility. 

(c) Require the property owner to apply for a certification by the local entity. The application must be on a form 
provided by the local entity designated pursuant to paragraph (b) and include all of the following: 

1. The most recently completed rental market study meeting the requirements of subsection (4). 
2. A list of the units for which the property owner seeks an exemption. 
3. The rent amount received by the property owner for each unit for which the property owner seeks an 

exemption. If the unit is vacant (per subsection (2)), owner must provide evidence of the published rent 
amount. 

 
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(d) Require the local entity to verify and certify property and forward the certification to the property owner and 
appraiser. If the local entity denies the exemption, it must notify the applicant and include reasons for the denial. 

(e) Require the eligible unit to meet the eligibility criteria of paragraph (1) (a). 
(f)-(l) Additional procedures are identified 

(4) A rental market study submitted as required by paragraph (3)(c) must identify the fair market value rent of each unit for 
which a property owner seeks an exemption. Only a certified general appraiser, as defined in s. 475.611, may issue a rental 
market study. The certified general appraiser must be independent of the property owner who requests a rental market 
study. In preparing the study, the appraiser shall comply with the standards of professional practice pursuant to part II of 
chapter 475 and use comparable property within the same geographic area and of the same type as the property in 
question. This study must have been completed within 3 years before submission of the application. 
(5) An ordinance adopted under this section must expire before the fourth January 1 after adoption; however, it can be 
renewed.  
(6) Consequences are identified for having falsely claimed this exemption. 
(7) This section first applies to the 2024 tax roll.  
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

 2022F Real Property (NAL) Roll data 

 American Community Survey (1-yr, 2021) renter-occupied units 

 Apartment Pricing Market Research:  
o Various apartment websites and Apartments.com 

 Individual links can be found in accompanying spreadsheet 

 Conversations with Florida Housing Finance Corporation’s (FHFC’s) Office of Multifamily Development 

 Distribution of bedrooms for renter-occupied units: Census.gov Table B25042 Tenure by Bedrooms, 2021 ACS 1-
year estimates 

o B25042: TENURE BY BEDROOMS - Census Bureau Table 

 Median Income and Income Distribution: 2021 ACS 1-Year Estimates Table S2503 

o https://data.census.gov/table?q=Income+(Households,+Families,+Individuals)&g=0400000US12&tid=ACS

ST1Y2021.S2503  
 Rent Limits: Florida Housing Finance Corporation: Florida Housing Rental Programs - 2022 MTSP Income and Rent 

Limits, 4/18/2022 
o https://www.floridahousing.org/owners-and-managers/compliance/rent-limits   

 Rental Rate Information: Smart Asset: “How Much Should I Charge for Rent?” 
o https://smartasset.com/mortgage/how-much-you-should-charge-for-

rent#:~:text=The%20amount%20of%20rent%20you,%242%2C000%20and%20%242%2C750%20each%20
month. 

 Residential Non-homestead Taxable Value Growth Rates: August 2022 Ad Valorem Revenue Estimating Conference 
(AV REC) 

o http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/advalorem/index.cfm  

 Survey Cost per Unit: information received from Office of Economic and Demographic Research 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Step 1: Identify Eligible Parcels 

The 2022F Real Property Roll was used to identify 5,511 parcels with DOR Use Code = 3 (Multi-family – 10 units or more) 
and 50 or more residential units. 

 
Step 2: Estimate Current Rent 

For each parcel, the just value (JV) was increased by 15% to determine the market value (MV). The MV was divided by the 
number of residential units to get a per-unit MV. According to Smart Asset, “the rents that landlords charge fall between 
0.8% and 1.1% of the home’s value,” so the MV/unit was multiplied by 0.81% for the low estimate, 0.80% for the middle, 
and 0.79% in the high to calculate the monthly rent for each unit. 
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Step 3: Find Lowest New Rent 
HUD releases Rental Limits (RLs) based on the county or MSA, number of bedrooms in the unit (0-5 bedrooms), and income 
of the renter. The RL used for comparison is a weighted average of the different bedroom (br) prices for each county. The 
current weighting reflects the 2021 1-year ACS data for tenure by bedrooms. First, each property’s new rental rates were 
calculated three ways: 

1. It is assumed that the current high, middle, and low rental rates are the current fair market value rents. These 
values were reduced to 90% for comparisons, and we will call this value the “Reduced Rate.”  

2. Each parcel’s county was used to determine the RL for an 30% income level tenant (“30%_RL”). 
3. Each parcel’s county was used to determine the RL for a 60% income level tenant (“60%_RL”). 

 
Step 4: Estimate Cost to Owner 

For a cost/benefit analysis, we first calculate the cost to the owner to attain the rent level to be eligible for the exemption. 
The cost is calculated as: 

 
Annual Cost to Owner = [(Current Rent – New Rent) x (12 months) + Survey Cost] x (Number of Units) 

 
For the low, middle, and high estimates, it is assumed that the cost of conducting the survey is $185.88, per information 
received from the Office of Economic and Demographic Research regarding per-unit market rental study costs. 

 
Step 5: Estimate Tax Burden 

The remaining non-school district taxable value for each parcel was multiplied by its county’s aggregate millage rate to 
estimate the tax burden for the parcel and its units. For the high estimate’s tax burden estimate, 100% of the units became 
100% exempt. For the middle estimate’s tax burden estimate, 29.7% of the units (the proportion of households making 60% 
or less of the median AGI) was used and the units became 75% exempt. For the low estimate’s tax burden estimate, 20% of 
the units (the minimum required by the bill language) became 75% exempt. 

 
Step 6: Estimate Benefit and Compare 

Each parcel’s annual forgone rent was compared to its high, middle, and low tax burden estimates. If the annual forgone 
rent is less than the tax burden, it is assumed the owner will seek the respective exemption amount for the respective 
portion of units, and those parcels were flagged as participating in the high, middle, and/or low estimate pools. 

 
Step 7: Calculate Tax Impact 

The taxable values for school and non-school districts were multiplied by the county millage rates for parcels that were 
flagged in step 6. Those amounts were then multiplied by the respective exemption amounts (100% for the high or 75% for 
the middle and low) and the unit participation amounts (100% for the high, 29.7% for the middle, or 20% for the low).  

 
Step 8: Estimate Code Violation Portions 

This bill requires that the property not have received three or more citations in the prior 24 months, or have any 
outstanding citations or violations. Research for the frequency of these situations was not fruitful. It is estimated that the 
violation rates are 0% for the high, 5% for the middle, and 10% for the low. 

 
Step 9: Apply Growth Rates and Forecast Impact 

The calculated impact was grown forward using the March 2023 Ad Valorem Revenue Estimating Conference’s Residential 
Non-Homestead Taxable Value Growth Rate. The impact begins in the 2024-2025 fiscal year. 
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Using the methodology in the analyses of CS/SB 102 sections 8 and 9 presented to the conference on June 13, 2023, of the 824 
parcels in both analyses, 146 (17.7%) would benefit from either sections exemption under the high scenarios, 35 (4.2%) under 
the middle scenarios, and 31 (3.8%) under the low. The remaining would either only benefit from 1 or neither of the 
exemptions. Of those with both benefits available, the benefits of section 8 are always at least as large as those of section 9. As 
such, if the parcel is in the set for section 8, it is not considered for section 9. 

 
A negative indeterminate impact may be appropriate because the exemption is granted at the discretion of the local 
jurisdiction. If all jurisdictions fully implement the exemption, the impact could be as large as -$805.7m recurring in Fiscal Year 
2027-28, assuming 100% of the units in qualifying parcels would be eligible for the full exemption. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 $0 $(668.3 M) $0 $(49.9 M) $0 $(27.0 M) 

2024-25 $(683.7 M) $(683.7 M) $(51.1 M) $(51.1 M) $(27.6 M) $(27.6 M) 

2025-26 $(729.3 M) $(729.3 M) $(54.5 M) $(54.5 M) $(29.5 M) $(29.5 M) 

2026-27 $(769.3 M) $(769.3 M) $(57.5 M) $(57.5 M) $(31.1 M) $(31.1 M) 

2027-28 $(805.7 M) $(805.7 M) $(60.2 M) $(60.2 M) $(32.5 M) $(32.5 M) 

 
Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted a negative indeterminate impact because the 
exemption is granted at the discretion of the local jurisdiction. If all jurisdictions fully implement the exemption, the impact could 
be as large as -$805.7m recurring in Fiscal Year 2027-28, assuming 100% of the units in qualifying parcels would be eligible for the 
full exemption.   
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  0.0  0/(**)  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  0/(**)  
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1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

A B C D E F G

DOR Use Codes: 003 (Multi-family - 10 Number of Residential 

Units: >=50

Actual Year Built Count

School District 

Taxable Value 

(TV_SD)

Non-School District 

Taxable Value 

(TV_NSD)

<=2016 4,644                             103,415,058,443    90,396,707,817      

2017 151                                6,956,735,359        6,392,405,652        

2018 149                                7,379,064,483        6,590,743,660        

2019 162                                8,188,586,648        7,494,383,829        

2020 192                                10,231,438,435      9,631,604,023        

2021 213                                10,175,663,285      10,165,173,944      

2022 -                                 -                            -                            

Sum 5,511                            146,346,546,653   130,671,018,925   

Source: 2022F NAL Roll

15%

High Middle Low

0.79% 0.80% 0.81%

a) HUD's Rental Limit (RL) Estimate

RL Weighted by Bedrooms Weight

0 5.16%

1 22.09%

2 41.14%

3 24.77%

4 6.13%

5 0.71%

Sum 100%

Source: ACS 2021  1-year Tenure by Bedroom: Table B25042

b) Fair Market Value Rent

90% of the Fair Market Rent

Lines 693-695 of bill language

90%

Step 4: Estimate Tax Burden

Each parcel's Non-School District Taxable Value was multiplied by its county's 2022F millage rates to estimate the tax burden

Survey Cost (per parcel)

Cost

185.88$                        

Each parcel's Non-School District Taxable Value was multiplied by its county's 2022F millage rates to estimate the tax burden

Step 3: Estimating Potential New Rental Rates

Step 1: Identify Eligible Parcels

Step 2: Estimate Market Value and Current Rental Rates

Just Value to Market Value Increase

Rental Rate of Market Value

Step 5: Estimate Tax Burden
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50

51

52

53

54

55

56

57

58

59

60

61

62

63

64

65

66

67

68

69

70

71

72

73

74

75

76

77

78

79

80

81

82

83

84

85

86

87

88

89

90

91

92

93

94

95

96

97

A B C D E F G

Exemption Structure

High Middle Low

% of Units 100% 29.7% 20%

Exemption % 100% 75% 75%

Each parcel's High, Middle, and Low % of Units and Exemption % were computed to determine the potential tax benefit. 

If this tax benefit exceeded the cost to the owner, it is assumed the owner would seek the exemption.

High Middle Low

Parcels 2,155                             589                           512                           

Units 371,859                        106,474                   90,384                      

TV_SD 36,927,436,920$         11,807,789,717$    9,963,372,792$      

TV_NSD 33,330,295,348$         11,434,747,170$    9,677,859,712$      

Use County Level Millage? 1

School District

Non-School District

High Middle Low

SD Impact (207,786,675)$             (15,004,540)$          (8,561,376)$             

NSD Impact (363,923,632)$             (29,948,961)$          (17,096,824)$          

Source: 2022F NAL Roll

High Middle Low

0% 5% 10%

% Exempt High Middle Low

School District (207,786,675)$             (14,254,313)$          (7,705,239)$             

Non-School District (363,923,632)$             (28,451,513)$          (15,387,142)$          

2022 884,038,137,463$       

2023 1,033,445,782,129$   16.9%

2024 1,057,273,251,883$   2.3%

2025 1,127,660,298,544$   6.7%

2026 1,189,593,719,242$   5.5%

2027 1,245,789,396,602$   4.7%

2028 1,303,762,658,809$   4.7%

Source: Mar 2023 AV REC

Step 6: Estimate Benefit and Compare

Step 7: Calculate Tax Impact

2022F NAL Roll Data

Statewide Aggregate Millage Rates

Residential Non-Homestead Taxable Value Growth Rates

2022 Tax Impact

Step 8: Estimate Code Violation Portions

2022 Total Impact

Step 9: Apply Growth Rates and Forecast Impact
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98

99

100

101

102

103

104

105

106

107

108

109

110

111

112

113

114

115

116

117

118

119

120

121

122

123

124

125

126

127

128

129

A B C D E F G

Year

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2022-2023 $0 $(207.8 M) $0 $(14.3 M) $0 $(7.7 M)

2023-2024 $0 $(242.9 M) $0 $(16.7 M) $0 $(9.0 M)

2024-2025 $(248.5 M) $(248.5 M) $(17.0 M) $(17.0 M) $(9.2 M) $(9.2 M)

2025-2026 $(265.0 M) $(265.0 M) $(18.2 M) $(18.2 M) $(9.8 M) $(9.8 M)

2026-2027 $(279.6 M) $(279.6 M) $(19.2 M) $(19.2 M) $(10.4 M) $(10.4 M)

2027-2028 $(292.8 M) $(292.8 M) $(20.1 M) $(20.1 M) $(10.9 M) $(10.9 M)

2028-2029 $(306.4 M) $(306.4 M) $(21.0 M) $(21.0 M) $(11.4 M) $(11.4 M)

Year

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2022-2023 $0 $(363.9 M) $0 $(28.5 M) $0 $(15.4 M)

2023-2024 $0 $(425.4 M) $0 $(33.3 M) $0 $(18.0 M)

2024-2025 $(435.2 M) $(435.2 M) $(34.0 M) $(34.0 M) $(18.4 M) $(18.4 M)

2025-2026 $(464.2 M) $(464.2 M) $(36.3 M) $(36.3 M) $(19.6 M) $(19.6 M)

2026-2027 $(489.7 M) $(489.7 M) $(38.3 M) $(38.3 M) $(20.7 M) $(20.7 M)

2027-2028 $(512.8 M) $(512.8 M) $(40.1 M) $(40.1 M) $(21.7 M) $(21.7 M)

2028-2029 $(536.7 M) $(536.7 M) $(42.0 M) $(42.0 M) $(22.7 M) $(22.7 M)

Year

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2022-2023 $0 $(571.7 M) $0 $(42.7 M) $0 $(23.1 M)

2023-2024 $0 $(668.3 M) $0 $(49.9 M) $0 $(27.0 M)

2024-2025 $(683.7 M) $(683.7 M) $(51.1 M) $(51.1 M) $(27.6 M) $(27.6 M)

2025-2026 $(729.3 M) $(729.3 M) $(54.5 M) $(54.5 M) $(29.5 M) $(29.5 M)

2026-2027 $(769.3 M) $(769.3 M) $(57.5 M) $(57.5 M) $(31.1 M) $(31.1 M)

2027-2028 $(805.7 M) $(805.7 M) $(60.2 M) $(60.2 M) $(32.5 M) $(32.5 M)

2028-2029 $(843.1 M) $(843.1 M) $(63.0 M) $(63.0 M) $(34.1 M) $(34.1 M)

Impact: School District

High Middle Low

High Middle Low

Impact: Non-School District

High Middle Low

Total Impact
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Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/SB 250 
 

 

       Entire Bill: 
       Partial Bill:  Sections 4, 9, 11-13, 17 
Sponsor(s):  Fiscal Policy Committee, Community Affairs Committee, and Senator Martin 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023, except for Section 11 of bill that is effective upon becoming law. 
Date of Analysis:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: 

 
Tolling of Permits during Emergencies 
Section 252.363, F.S., states that the declaration of a state of emergency issued by the Governor for a natural emergency tolls 
the period remaining to exercise the rights under a permit or other authorization for the duration of the emergency declaration. 
Further, the emergency declaration extends the period remaining to exercise the rights under a permit or other authorization, 
authorized pursuant to s. 252.363(1)(a), F.S., for 6 months in addition to the tolled period. 
 
Local Government Emergency Bridge Loan Program 
Chapter 2023-1, L.O.F., creates s. 288.066, F.S., to establish the Local Government Emergency Bridge Loan Program, subject to 
appropriation, within the Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO). The program provides financial assistance to local 
governments impacted by Hurricanes Ian or Nicole. Its purpose is to assist impacted local governments in maintaining 
operations by bridging the time gap between when the declared disaster occurred and additional funding sources or revenues 
are secured. The term of any loan is one year, unless otherwise extended by DEO. 
 
Additionally, the legislation provides a nonrecurring $50 million appropriation to DEO from the General Revenue Fund for the 
2022-23 fiscal year. Any unexpended balance of the funds at June 30, 2023, are to revert and be re-appropriated for the 2023-
24 fiscal year. The program expires June 30, 2027. On expiration, all unencumbered funds and loan repayments revert to the 
General Revenue Fund. This legislation became law on February 15, 2023. 
 
Registered Contractors 
Construction contractors are either certified or registered by the Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) housed within the 
Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). The CILB meets to approve or deny applications for licensure, 
review disciplinary cases, and conduct informal hearings relating to discipline. Certified contractors are individuals who pass the 
state competency examination and obtain a certificate of competency issued by DBPR. Certified contractors are able to obtain a 
certificate of competency for a specific license category and are permitted to practice in that category in any jurisdiction in the 
state. Furthermore, certified specialty contractors are contractors whose scope of work is limited to a particular phase of 
construction, such as drywall or demolition. Certified specialty contractor licenses are created by the CILB through rulemaking. 
Certified specialty contractors are permitted to practice in any jurisdiction in the state. 
 
Section 489.117, F.S., states that any person engaged in the business of a contractor, as defined in law, must be registered 
before engaging in business as a contractor in Florida, unless the contractor is certified. To be initially registered, an applicant 
must submit the required fee and file evidence of successful compliance with local examination and licensing requirements, if 
any, in the area for which registration is desired. Contrary to certification, an examination is not required for registration. 
Pursuant to s. 489.117(1)(b), F.S., a registered contractor can only engage in contracting within the local jurisdiction (county, 
municipality, or development district) where such contractor has complied with all local licensing requirements. Furthermore, 
the registered contractor can only engage in the type of work covered by the registration. 
 
Building Permits and Inspections 
Part IV of Chapter 553, F.S., (i.e., the Florida Building Code) provides local governments with the authority to inspect all 
buildings, structures, and facilities within their jurisdiction in protection of the public’s health, safety, and welfare. Local 
governments must enforce the Florida Building Code and issue building permits. It is unlawful for a person, firm, or corporation 
to construct, erect, alter, repair, secure, or demolish any building without first obtaining a permit from the local government 
enforcing agency or from such persons as may, by resolution or regulation, be directed to issue such permit. A local government 
may charge reasonable fees as set forth in a schedule of fees adopted by the enforcing agency for the issuance of a building 
permit. Such fees shall be used solely for carrying out the local government’s responsibilities in enforcing the Building Code. 

X 
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Enforcing the Building Code includes the direct costs and reasonable indirect costs associated with training, review of building 
plans, building inspections, re-inspections, building permit processing, and fire inspections. Local governments must post all 
building permit and inspection fee schedules on their respective websites. 
 
Furthermore, current law provides a set of deadlines for ordinary processing of a building permit, chief among them that a local 
government must approve, approve with conditions, or deny an application for a building permit within 120 days following 
receipt of a completed application. Various laws require or encourage local governments to further expedite the permitting 
process in certain situations, such as for the construction of public schools, state colleges and universities, and affordable 
housing. 
 

b. Proposed Change: 
 
Tolling of Permits during Emergencies 
Section 4 of the bill amends s. 252.363(1)(a), F.S., to increase the extension of a permit or other authorization following a 
declaration of a state of emergency from six to 24 months. The extension is capped at 48 months in the event of multiple 
natural emergencies for which the Governor declares a state of emergency. Furthermore, the tolling and extension of permits 
and other authorizations is applied retroactively to September 28, 2022. 
 
Local Government Emergency Revolving Bridge Loan Program 
Section 9 of the bill amends s. 288.066, F.S., to convert the loan program into a revolving loan program. Additionally, it makes 
any Florida county or municipality located in an area designated in a Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster 
declaration eligible for a loan. The term of any loan is extended from one year to up to 24 months, unless extended by DEO for 
up to six months based on the local government’s financial condition. Furthermore, the program’s expiration is extended from 
June 30, 2027 until July 1, 2038. Upon expiration of the program, all unencumbered funds and loan repayments made on or 
after July 1, 2038, must be transferred to the General Revenue Fund. 
 
Section 17 of the bill provides $50 million in nonrecurring funds from the General Revenue Fund to be transferred to DEO’s 
Economic Development Trust Fund. Any general revenue funds appropriated in Chapter 2023-1, L.O.F., which have not been 
loaned to a local government by July 1, 2023, are to be transferred to DEO’s Economic Development Trust Fund to be used for 
the Local Government Emergency Revolving Bridge Loan Program. Loan repayments received by DEO from local governments 
are to be repaid to the Economic Development Trust Fund and be made available for loans under the program. 
 
Registered Contractors 
Section 11 of the bill amends s. 489.117, F.S., to allow registered contractors to engage in contracting for the types of work 
covered by their registration within any area for which a state of emergency has been declared, pursuant to s. 252.36, F.S., for a 
natural emergency. This authorization terminates 24 months after the expiration of the declared state of emergency. The local 
jurisdiction that licenses the registered contractor may discipline the contractor for violations occurring outside the licensing 
jurisdiction under these circumstances. 
 
Waiver of Application and Inspection Fees for Expedited Permits 
Section 12 of the bill creates s. 553.7922, F.S., to require local governments to approve special processing procedures to 
expedite the issuance of permits following a natural emergency for which the Governor has declared a state of emergency. 
Permits to be expedited pursuant to this section are those which do not require technical review and include, but are not 
limited to permits for: roof repairs; reroofing; electrical repairs; service changes; or the replacement of one window or one 
door. Local governments may waive application and inspection fees for such expedited permits. 
 
Freeze on Local Building Inspection Fees 
Section 13 of the bill creates s. 553.80(8), F.S., to prohibit local governments located in areas designated in the FEMA disaster 
declarations for Hurricanes Ian and Nicole from raising building inspection fees during the period of January 1, 2023 through 
October 1, 2024. This subsection expires June 30, 2025. 
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Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
None 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 
Tolling of Permits during Emergencies (Section 4 of the Bill) 
The REC did not analyze this issue in the original 2011 legislation (i.e., SB 2156 and later codified in Chapter 2011-142), which 
created s. 252.363, F.S., authorizing tolling and extension of permits and other authorizations. Additionally, subsequent 
amendments to this section of law in 2018 (i.e., CS/CS/HB 1151 and later codified in Chapter 2018-158, L.O.F.) and 2019 (i.e., 
CS/CS/HB 7103 and later codified in Chapter 2019-165, L.O.F.) were not considered by the REC. 
 
In 2021, the REC considered CS/CS/SB 912 and later codified as Chapter 2021-179, L.O.F., which added two categories of permits 
that could be tolled as a result of a declaration of a state of emergency issued by the Governor for a natural emergency. The REC 
adopted the proposed estimates of zero/negative insignificant and zero/negative indeterminate, and the reasoning that the future 
impacts of the two additional categories were indeterminate because of the uncertain nature in predicting weather or other disaster 
events that could lead to a declared state of emergency for a natural emergency. Furthermore, the REC reasoned that there was 
additional indeterminacy in predicting which businesses might request the tolling of permits and when the impacts from such tolling 
would be felt. If the REC chooses to include this issue, EDR staff recommends a zero/negative indeterminate fiscal impact. 
 
Local Government Emergency Revolving Bridge Loan Program (Sections 9 & 17 of the Bill) 
When the legislation creating the original loan program (i.e., SB2-B and later codified as Chapter 2023-1, L.O.F.) was enacted, the 
REC did not analysis the bill because the provisions were subject to appropriation. The issue was separately addressed in the Outlook 
Statement. Consequently, no proposed fiscal impact for this issue has been included in this analysis. 
 
Registered Contractors (Section 11 of the Bill) 
Under current law, a registered contractor can only engage in contracting within the local jurisdiction where such contractor has 
complied with all local licensing requirements and only for the type of work covered by the registration. The proposed change would 
still limit the registered contractor to the same type of work covered by the registration, but allow such contractor to work within 
any area of the state for which a state of emergency has been declared for a natural emergency. However, the contractor would not 
be required to register within that local jurisdiction and pay the applicable fees. 
 
Given the uncertainty regarding the future number of states of emergency that might be declared during the forecast period as well 
as the number of registered contractors, if any, who might choose to travel outside their licensing jurisdiction to work, EDR staff 
recommends a zero/negative indeterminate fiscal impact. 
 
Waiver of Application and Inspection Fees for Expedited Permits (Section 12 of the Bill) 
The decision by individual local governments to waive application and inspection fees for expedited permits is permissive rather 
than mandatory. Consequently, EDR staff recommends a zero/negative indeterminate fiscal impact. 
 
Freeze on Local Building Inspection Fees (Section 13 of the Bill) 
The FEMA disaster declarations for Florida’s Hurricane Ian include all 67 counties1, and 61 counties for Hurricane Nicole.2 It is not 
known how many county or municipal governments, if any, were or are planning to raise building inspection fees during the period 
of the proposed freeze (i.e., January 1, 2023 through October 1, 2024). Consequently, EDR staff recommends a zero/negative 
indeterminate fiscal impact. 
 
  

                                                      
1 https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4673/designated-areas  
2 https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4680/designated-areas  
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Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact (millions $) 
 
Tolling of Permits during Emergencies (Section 4 of the Bill) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2024-25   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2025-26   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2026-27   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2027-28   0/(**) 0/(**)   

 
Registered Contractors (Section 11 of the Bill) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2024-25   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2025-26   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2026-27   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2027-28   0/(**) 0/(**)   

 
Waiver of Application and Inspection Fees for Expedited Permits (Section 12 of the Bill) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2024-25   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2025-26   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2026-27   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2027-28   0/(**) 0/(**)   

 
Freeze on Local Building Inspection Fees (Section 13 of the Bill) 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2024-25   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2025-26   0 0   

2026-27   0 0   

2027-28   0 0   

 
List of Affected Trust Funds:  Local funds 
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Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted a zero/negative indeterminate cash impact and a 
negative indeterminate recurring impact.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  (**)  0/(**)  (**)  

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  (**)  0/(**)  (**)  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  (**)  0/(**)  (**)  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  (**)  0/(**)  (**)  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**)  (**)  0/(**)  (**)  
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Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Mold Assessment and Remediation Licenses 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 869 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 1 
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
 
a. Current Law:   

Mold assessors and mold remediators are regulated by ch. 468, part XVI, F.S., and licensed by the Mold-Related Services 
Licensing Program1 in DBPR.  There is a standard process for licensure requiring good character, passage of an exam, possession 
of liability insurance, and specified educational requirements.   
 
In the alternative, a person who is licensed in another state is eligible for a “license by endorsement” in Florida if they:2 

 are of good moral character;  

 hold required general liability insurance; 

 hold a valid license to practice as a mold assessor or mold remediator in another state or territory of the United States 
whose educational requirements are substantially equivalent to Florida; and  

 have passed a national, regional, state, or territorial licensing examination that is substantially equivalent to the 
required Florida examination. 

 
Applicants for a mold-related license pay an initial licensure fee of $230. There are currently 3,252 licensed mold assessors and 
3,208 licensed mold remediators in the state. In the most recent fiscal year, there were 25 applicants for a license by 
endorsement.3  The renewal fee for mold-related licenses is $105 per year. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:   

The bill allows applicants to obtain a license by endorsement in Florida, if they have held a valid license to practice in another 
state or territory of the United States for at least ten years before the date of application.  Such applications for a Florida license 
by endorsement must be made either when the applicant’s license in another state or territory is active or within two years of 
when such license was last active.  No other training or exam is required, the requirements for licensure in the other state do 
not have to be substantially equivalent to Florida, and the department must certify an applicant who has held such license for 
10 years and who is of good moral character and has the required insurance coverage.  

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

HB 869 Staff Analysis 
HB 869 and SB 782 Agency Analysis from Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
Communications with DBPR staff 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

For mold assessors and mold remediators, the total number of professionals seeking licensure in Florida under the existing 
“license by endorsement” option is currently 25 individuals per year, or roughly 0.4% of the existing license holders per year.  
Even assuming twice as many new applicants file in each of the next five years using the new option, and assuming that none of 
those new applicants would have applied under exisiting law (either using the current licensure by endorsement process or by 
taking the exam in Florida), the fiscal impact to the Professional Regulation Trust Fund would be roughly $12,000 per year.  It is 
possible no new applicants will use this option, as it requires ten years of licensure in another state, within the last two years.  It 
is unknown how many individuals would qualify under this program.   

 
The low assumes that no new applicants use this option who would not have already applied for a license using one of the 
existing options.  The middle assumes that in any given year it is possible no new applicants will use this option, but it is likely 

                                                      
1 S. 468.84, F.S. 
2 S. 468.8414(3), (4), F.S. 
3 Email from Jonas Marquez, Legislative Affairs Director, Department of Business and Professional Regulation, RE: HB 869 (Feb. 28, 2023). 

X 
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that at least a few will.  The high assumes twice as many applicants will use the new option as compared to the existing “license 
by endorsement,” and that the new applicants would have not otherwise applied using the license by endorsement or standard 
licensing methods.  The high in the first year is $11,589, growing to $33,678 in FY 2027-28.  After the first year, this impact also 
includes annual renewal fees from all new applicants from previous years. Even with the growth in renewal fees for the 
cumulative new licensees from previous years, the total still does not exceed $100,000 in any year of the forecast period.   

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 
Mold Assessors and Remediators 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 * * 0/* 0/* 0 0 

2024-25 * * 0/* 0/* 0 0 

2025-26 * * 0/* 0/* 0 0 

2026-27 * * 0/* 0/* 0 0 

2027-28 * * 0/* 0/* 0 0 

 
Revenue Distribution:  Professional Regulation Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the high estimate.      
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2024-25 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2025-26 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2026-27 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  

2027-28 *  *  *  *  0.0  0.0  *  *  
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Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Insurance License Fees 
Bill Number(s):  HB 487 
 
xx   Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 9 
Sponsor(s):  Salzman 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date of Analysis:  6/14/2023. 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
Current Law:  Section 624.501, F.S. stipulates that a reinsurance intermediary is subject to a $50 application filing and license fee, as 
well as a $60 appointment and biennial renewal or continuation thereof, appointment fee.  

 
Proposed Change: Section 9 eliminates the $50 reinsurance intermediary application filing and license fee. 
 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
LBA 
House Final Bill Analysis: Email from Teri Madsen, Director of the Office of Finance and Budget, Department of Financial Services 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The revenue collections for the application filing and license fees for the past three years, as provided by DFS, are as follows: 

 
 
 
 
 

As a result of the fee elimination, the impact is expected to be negative insignificant.  
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24     (*) (*) 

2024-25     (*) (*) 

2025-26     (*) (*) 

2026-27     (*) (*) 

2027-28     (*) (*) 

 
 
Revenue Distribution:  Insurance Regulatory Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the low estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2024-25 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2025-26 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2026-27 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

2027-28 (*) (*) (*) (*) 0.0  0.0  (*) (*) 

 
 
 
 

X 

 

693



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
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xx   Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 16 
Sponsor(s):  Salzman 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date of Analysis:  6/19/2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
Current Law:  Under s. 624.501 (9) F.S., all limited license agents are subject to a $60 appointment and biennial renewal fee.  
 
Section 626.321 F.S. prohibits licensees holding a limited license in motor vehicle damage and mechanical breakdown insurance, 
industrial fire insurance, burglary insurance, or credit insurance from holding multiple licenses, unless specified.  
 
Beginning in October 2012, licenses covering credit life, credit disability, credit property, credit unemployment, involuntary 
unemployment, mortgage life, mortgage guaranty, mortgage disability, and guaranteed automobile protection insurance were 
authorized to be converted to a credit insurance license. The licensee could elect to have a new license printed by the Department 
for a $5 fee. 
 
Section 497.466 F.S. authorizes the licensure of preneed sales agents for persons who offer preneed contracts to the public, or who 
execute preneed contracts on behalf of a preneed licensee. The application for the license shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable 
fee of $150 if made through the department’s online licensing system, or $175 if made using paper forms. 
 
Proposed Change: The prohibition on multiple licenses under s. 626.321 F.S. is removed.  
 
The $5 fee for credit insurance license conversion is removed.   
 
A limited license for preneed funeral agreement insurance coverage is created. A preneed sales agent is authorized to receive this 
type of license without examination if the agent has a valid license, has been appointed and has paid the applicable fees.   
 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
LBA 
House Final Bill Analysis 
Phone and email correspondence with Austin Stowers-Director of Legislative Affairs at Department of Financial Services 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
A limited license agent who wishes to hold a license as an agent for another kind of insurance will be subject to an additional $60 
appointment and biennial renewal fee. In addition, the preneed sales agent who obtains a preneed funeral agreement insurance 
license will be subject to the $60 appointment and biennial renewal fee. 
 
According to the Department of Financial Services, the $5 credit insurance license conversion fee has not been assessed for at least 
10 years. 
 
The number of limited license agents who will capitalize on the ability to hold multiple licenses is unknown. The number of preneed 
sales agents who will obtain a limited license for preneed funeral agreement insurance coverage is also unknown. The low assumes 
there will be less than 1667 new licenses issued as a result of the changes in the bill.  
 
The high assumes there will be at least 1667 new licenses issued as a result of the changes in the bill. 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
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Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 ** **   * * 

2024-25 ** **   * * 

2025-26 ** **   * * 

2026-27 ** **   * * 

2027-28 ** **   * * 

 
 
Revenue Distribution:  Insurance Regulatory Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted a positive indeterminate impact.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2024-25 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2025-26 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2026-27 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2027-28 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Ad Valorem 
Issue: Special Assessments on Agricultural Lands 
Bill Number(s): HB7063 Section 1 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 1 
Sponsor(s): Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: Section 125.01(1)(r), F.S., states:  

“Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a county may not levy special assessments for the provision of fire 
protection services on lands classified as agricultural lands under s. 193.461 unless the land contains a residential 
dwelling or nonresidential farm building, with the exception of an agricultural pole barn, provided the nonresidential 
farm building exceeds a just value of $10,000. Such special assessments must be based solely on the special benefit 
accruing to that portion of the land consisting of the residential dwelling and curtilage, and qualifying nonresidential 
farm buildings. As used in this paragraph, the term ‘agricultural pole barn’ means a nonresidential farm building in 
which 70 percent or more of the perimeter wall are permanently open and allow free ingress and egress.” 

 
Special Assessments 
Special assessments are a home rule revenue source used to construct and maintain capital facilities and to fund certain 
services. Section 125.01(1)(r), F.S., authorizes the levy of special assessments for county governments. 
 
In order for an assessed property to derive a special benefit from the service provided, there should be a logical relationship 
between the provided service and the benefit to real property. This logical relationship to property legal test defines those 
services that can be funded by special assessments versus those that cannot. General government services, such as general law 
enforcement and indigent health care, fail to satisfy the logical relationship to property test and cannot be funded by special 
assessments. Many improvements and services have been upheld by the courts as providing a special benefit to assessed 
properties. 
 
Once the service or capital facility satisfies the special benefit test, the assessment should be fairly apportioned among the 
benefited property in a manner consistent with the logical relationship embodied in the special benefit requirement.  Whether 
imposed to fund capital projects or services, a special assessment is generally collected on the annual ad valorem tax bill. Under 
this collection procedure, the special assessment is characterized as a non-ad valorem assessment. 
 
Lands Classified as Agricultural Lands 
Section 193.461, F.S., provides that the county property appraiser shall, on an annual basis, classify for assessment purposes all 
lands within the county as either agricultural or nonagricultural. Subject to the restrictions of this section, only lands that are 
used for bona fide agricultural purposes shall be classified agricultural. The term “bona fide agricultural purposes” means good 
faith commercial agricultural use of the land. 
 
In determining whether the use of the land for agricultural purposes is bona fide, the following factors, as specified in s. 
193.461(3)(b), F.S., may be taken into consideration: 
 

• The length of time the land has been so used. 
• Whether the use has been continuous. 
• The purchase price paid. 
• Size, as it relates to specific agricultural use, but a minimum acreage may not be required for agricultural assessment. 
• Whether an indicated effort has been made to care sufficiently and adequately for the land in accordance with 

accepted commercial agricultural practices, including, without limitation, fertilizing, liming, tilling, mowing, reforesting, 
and other accepted agricultural practices. 

• Whether the land is under lease and, if so, the effective length, terms, and conditions of the lease. 
• Such other factors as may become applicable. 

 
Pursuant to s. 193.461(4), F.S., property appraisers must reclassify lands as nonagricultural when they are diverted from an 
agricultural to a nonagricultural use or the land is no longer being utilized for agricultural purposes. 

 
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For purposes of s. 193.461, F.S., the term “agricultural purposes” includes, but is not limited to: horticulture; floriculture; 
viticulture; forestry; dairy; livestock; poultry; bee; pisciculture, if the land is used principally for the production of tropical fish; 
aquaculture as defined in s. 597.0015, F.S; algaculture; sod farming; and all forms of farm products as defined in s. 823.14(3), 
F.S; and farm production. 
 

b. Proposed Change:  S. 125.01(1)(r), F.S., is amended as follows: 
“1. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a county may not levy special assessments for the provision of fire 
protection services on lands classified as agricultural lands under s. 193.461 unless the revenue from such 
assessments has been pledged for debt service and is necessary to meet obligations of bonds or certificates issued by 
the county which remain outstanding on July 1, 2023, including refundings thereof for debt service savings where the 
maturity of the debt is not extended. For bonds or certificates issued after July 1, 2023, special assessments securing 
such bonds may not be levied on lands classified as agricultural under s. 193.461. 
2. The provisions of subparagraph 1. do not apply to residential structures and their curtilage land contains a 
residential dwelling or nonresidential farm building, with the exception of an agricultural pole barn, provided the 
nonresidential farm building exceeds a just value of $10,000. Such special assessments must be based solely on the 
special benefit accruing to that portion of the land consisting of the residential dwelling and curtilage, and qualifying 
nonresidential farm buildings. As used in this paragraph, the term ‘agricultural pole barn’ means a nonresidential 
farm building in which 70 percent or more of the perimeter wall are permanently open and allow free ingress and 
egress.” 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Florida Department of Revenue, Property Tax Oversight 
 
2022 Non-ad valorem tax rolls and summary report 

• NAVN – summary of assessment by parcel 
• NAVD – individual assessment detail by parcel 
• DR-503 NA – summary of assessments by non-ad valorem function and  

2022 Ad Valorem tax roll – NAL data (only parcels that have any land classified as agricultural included) 
 
Parcels from the NAL were matched with NAVN and NAVD data to create the summary of non-ad valorem assessments against each 
parcel. There were some challenges in matching the information since, in many instances, the parcel identification data received on 
the non-ad valorem assessment rolls were in a slightly different format from the NAL. Consequently, extensive additional data 
management was needed to get a clean match. The data for two counties were not matched (Hendry and Pinellas). However, these 
two counties represent only a small number (less than 3,008) of the overall number of parcels (238,822) with lands classified as 
agricultural. 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Non-ad valorem assessments may be levied by counties, municipalities, or independent special districts. The basis of non-ad valorem 
assessments varies depending on the type and purpose, and they may be assessed as a flat rate per parcel, square foot of the 
improvement area, square foot of land area, per acre, or may vary based on property type and benefit. Based on research by 
Property Tax Oversight, several functional types were flagged as having some assessment revenue pledged to meet obligations of 
bonds or certificates. 

 
The High scenario assumes 0% of assessments on non-residential property across all functional types are pledged. In 2022, the 
estimated value of such assessments in all functional types was $9.4 million. 
 
The Middle scenario assumes 50% of assessments on non-residential property in flagged functional types are pledged. In 2022, the 
estimated value of such assessments in non-flagged functional types plus 50% of assessments in flagged functional types was $6.2 
million. 
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The Low scenario assumes 100% of assessments on non-residential property in flagged functional types are pledged. In 2022, the 
estimated value of such assessments in non-flagged functional types was $3.0 million. 
 
Using annual totals of county non-ad valorem assessments for the period of 2009-10 through 2022-23, as reported by county tax 
collectors to the Department via the Tax Collector Non-Ad Valorem Reports, a Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) of 4.8% was 
calculated and used to project the fiscal impacts into the forecast period. 
 
As noted in prior fiscal impact analyses prepared for similar proposed language, the actual impact could be higher by an 
indeterminate amount because the calculated impact does not include non-ad valorem assessments which are not collected by the 
uniform method. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 
 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2023-24 $(9.9 M) $(9.9 M) $(6.5 M) $(6.5 M) $(3.2 M) $(3.2 M) 
2024-25 $(10.3 M) $(10.3 M) $(6.8 M) $(6.8 M) $(3.3 M) $(3.3 M) 
2025-26 $(10.8 M) $(10.8 M) $(7.2 M) $(7.2 M) $(3.5 M) $(3.5 M) 
2026-27 $(11.4 M) $(11.4 M) $(7.5 M) $(7.5 M) $(3.7 M) $(3.7 M) 
2027-28 $(11.9 M) $(11.9 M) $(7.9 M) $(7.9 M) $(3.8 M) $(3.8 M) 

 
Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem 

 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the low estimates as a least as impact, but notes 
that the actual impact could be significantly higher.  Uncertainty regarding how much higher is unclear because how many of 
these assessments are actually pledged is unknown.  Further, the impact does not include the non-ad valorem assessments which 
are collected by uniform method. 
 

 
 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (3.2) (3.2) (3.2) (3.2) 
2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (3.3) (3.3) (3.3) (3.3) 
2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (3.5) (3.5) (3.5) (3.5) 
2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (3.7) (3.7) (3.7) (3.7) 
2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (3.8) (3.8) (3.8) (3.8) 

     df 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
aaa 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 aaaaaa 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  
School Non-School Total Local/Other 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2023-24 (1.2) (1.2) (2.0) (2.0) (3.2) (3.2) 
2024-25 (1.2) (1.2) (2.1) (2.1) (3.3) (3.3) 
2025-26 (1.3) (1.3) (2.2) (2.2) (3.5) (3.5) 
2026-27 (1.3) (1.3) (2.4) (2.4) (3.7) (3.7) 
2027-28 (1.4) (1.4) (2.4) (2.4) (3.8) (3.8) 
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HB7063 Section 1 2023 Legislative Session Special Assessments

on Agricultural Lands

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

A B C D E F

Function Code

Assessment Function 

Type Residential Property

Non-Residential 

Property Total Assessments

Functional Type 

Flagged as Having 

Assessment 

Revenue Pledged

1

Community 

Development or 

Redevelopment

412,395$                    1,596,043$                2,008,438$                Yes

2

Drainage and Water 

Control / 

Management

497,418$                    1,318,944$                1,816,362$                Yes

3 Fire Control 4,766,210$                2,665,510$                7,431,720$                No

4
Emergency Medical 

Services
337,849$                    214,524$                    552,374$                    No

5 Lighting 2,232$                        91,071$                      93,303$                      No

6 Mosquito Control 4,935$                        169$                           5,103$                        No

7 Water and Sewer 34,228$                      437,794$                    472,022$                    Yes

8 Solid Waste 6,996,430$                2,796,128$                9,792,557$                Yes

9 Road Improvements 31,178$                      64,819$                      95,996$                      No

10

Other (includes 

County PACE 

assessments)

84,312$                      229,632$                    313,944$                    Yes

Total 13,167,187$              9,414,633$                22,581,820$              

Source: Florida Department of Revenue, Property Tax Oversight   (April 19, 2023)

6,378,540$                

3,036,093$                

Sum of Non-Residential Assessments in Flagged Functional Types

Sum of Non-Residential Assessments in Non-Flagged Functional 

Types

Total Value of 2022 County Non-Ad Valorem Assessments by Property Type and Function 

Type
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HB7063 Section 1 2023 Legislative Session Special Assessments

on Agricultural Lands

18

19
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21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

A B C D E F

History of County Government Non-Ad Valorem Assessments

Fiscal Year

Non-Ad Valorem 

Assessments 

(millions) Growth Rate

2009-10 1,010.0$                     

2010-11 1,105.9$                     9.50%

2011-12 1,121.4$                     1.40%

2012-13 1,115.2$                     -0.55%

2013-14 1,211.6$                     8.64%

2014-15 1,177.2$                     -2.84%

2015-16 1,223.2$                     3.91%

2016-17 1,255.8$                     2.67%

2017-18 1,350.3$                     7.53%

2018-19 1,403.7$                     3.95%

2019-20 1,491.6$                     6.26%

2020-21 1,568.4$                     5.15%

2021-22 1,689.5$                     7.72%

2022-23 1,864.4$                     10.35%

Source: Florida Department of Revenue, Tax Collector Non-Ad Valorem Reports

Cumulative Annual 

Growth Rate 4.83%

 6/23/2023700700



HB7063 Section 1 2023 Legislative Session Special Assessments

on Agricultural Lands

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

A B C D E F G

2023-24 23,672,124$                       

2024-25 24,815,071$                       

2025-26 26,013,201$                       

2026-27 27,269,181$                       

2027-28 28,585,802$                       

Bill Changes Since Last Impact Adjustment

Exemption does not apply to residential 

structures and their curtilage

Use Non-Residential Total 

instead of the Total 

Assessment

Revenues for assessments pledge for 

debt service issued prior to July 1, 2023 

are not exempt

Identify potential sources of 

pledged revenue and 

estimate share pledged

Assumption High Middle Low

Percent of assessments on non-

residential properties that are 

pledged

0% 50% 100%

Growth Rate (use adopted - 

cumulative annual growth rate from 

2010-2023)

4.83% 4.83% 4.83%

2022 Resulting Base Value (9,414,633)$                        (6,225,363)$   (3,036,093)$   

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2023-24 $(9.9 M) $(9.9 M) $(6.5 M) $(6.5 M) $(3.2 M) $(3.2 M)

2024-25 $(10.3 M) $(10.3 M) $(6.8 M) $(6.8 M) $(3.3 M) $(3.3 M)

2025-26 $(10.8 M) $(10.8 M) $(7.2 M) $(7.2 M) $(3.5 M) $(3.5 M)

2026-27 $(11.4 M) $(11.4 M) $(7.5 M) $(7.5 M) $(3.7 M) $(3.7 M)

2027-28 $(11.9 M) $(11.9 M) $(7.9 M) $(7.9 M) $(3.8 M) $(3.8 M)

Total Impact

High Middle Low

Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 04/07/2023): The Conference 

adopted the high estimate but notes that the actual impact is 

higher by an indeterminate amount because the impact does 

not include the non-ad valorem assessments which are not 

collected by uniform method.
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Beverage Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Registration Fees for Malt Beverage Brands and Labels 
Bill Number(s):  HB 1459 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Yeager 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

Before doing business in Florida, manufacturers, brewers, bottlers, distributors, and importers of malt beverages must register 
with the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco (ABT) in the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) 
the brands or labels under which the malt beverages are to be sold or moved.1 Current law requires the ABT to charge a $30 fee 
per brand or label.2 

 
b.  Proposed Change:   

The bill provides that the annual registration fee of $30 for each malt beverage brand and label only applies to a brand or label 
that is sold to a distributor, not to a brand or label that is kept in-house. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

HB 1459 Staff Analysis 
DBPR Agency Bill Analysis 
Communications with DBPR 
Communication with Industry Representatives 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Over the last three years, DBPR has collected an average annual total of between $300,000 and $400,000 in initial and renewal 
brand and label fees for malt beverages.  Based on the growth rates in the three years of provided data from DBPR, the estimate for 
the forecast window increases the initial malt beverage license fee revenue by the average growth (11%) over the years provided.  
The growth of renewal fees was less stable, so a 5% general annual increase in renewal fees collected over the forecast period was 
chosen.   
 
It is unknown what percentage of the initial and renewal fees will fall under the new exemption for in-house labels.  DBPR noted that 
roughly half of the gallons sold by craft breweries were sold in-house.  Industry representatives indicated probably 30-50% of craft 
labels would stay in-house, but that larger brewers would be almost exclusively sold through distributors (and therefore would have 
no change in fees under the bill). Based on these discussions with DBPR and industry representatives, the low assumes 5% of the 
total label fees are attributable to in-house labels that will now be exempt, the middle assumes 15%, and the high assume 30%.   
 
Both the low and the middle are well below the threshold for significance.  The high is ($127,729) in the first year, growing to 
($201,032) in FY 2027-28, assuming an 11% annual increase in initial labels and a 5% annual increase in renewal labels. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (0.1) (0.1) (*) (*) (*) (*) 
2024-25 (0.2) (0.2) (*) (*) (*) (*) 
2025-26 (0.2) (0.2) (*) (*) (*) (*) 
2026-27 (0.2) (0.2) (*) (*) (*) (*) 
2027-28 (0.2) (0.2) (*) (*) (*) (*) 

 
Revenue Distribution:  Alcoholic Beverage and Tobacco Trust Fund 

                                                      
1 S. 563.045(1), F.S. 
2 S. 563.045(2), F.S. 

 
X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Beverage Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Registration Fees for Malt Beverage Brands and Labels 
Bill Number(s):  HB 1459 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted the middle estimate.    
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
2024-25 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
2025-26 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
2026-27 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
2027-28 (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 0.0  0.0  (Insignificant) (Insignificant) 
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Fiscal Year Ending 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028

Initial Malt Beverage Licenses  $        206,280  $        239,730  $        255,930 285,328$          318,103$          354,642$          395,379$          440,795$          491,428$          

Renewal Malt Beverage Licenses  $          98,580  $        130,020  $        131,820 138,411$          145,332$          152,598$          160,228$          168,239$          176,651$          

Total Fees Collected 306,880$        371,771$        389,772$        425,762$          465,458$          509,265$          557,633$          611,062$          670,107$          

Growth of Initial 16% 7% 11% Average over 2 years

Growth of Renewal 32% 1% 5% Staff Choice

% licenses exempt

Low 5% (14,266)$           (15,905)$           (17,732)$           (19,769)$           (22,040)$           (24,571)$           

Medium 15% (20,762)$           (21,800)$           (22,890)$           (24,034)$           (25,236)$           (26,498)$           

High 30% (127,729)$         (139,637)$         (152,780)$         (167,290)$         (183,318)$         (201,032)$         
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Asbestos Consultant and Contractor Licenses 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 869 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 2 
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 

Section 1: Narrative 

a. Current Law:

Asbestos consultants and contractors are regulated by ch. 469, F.S., and licensed by the Asbestos Licensing Unit in DBPR. Florida
licensing standards must also comply with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Asbestos Model Accreditation Plan for
States (MAP), which includes mandatory nationwide standards for testing and education.1

In order to be eligible to be licensed as an asbestos consultant, an applicant must meet one of the following criteria:2

• hold a current, valid, active Florida license as an architect, a professional engineer, or a professional geologist;
• be a diplomat of the American Board of Industrial Hygiene; or
• have been awarded designation as a Certified Safety Professional by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals.

An applicant for licensure as either an asbestos consultant or contractor also must:3 
• if applying for an asbestos consultant license, complete DBPR-approved courses in 4 specified topics.
• if applying for an asbestos contractor license, complete courses in 2 specified topics.
• provide evidence of satisfactory work on ten asbestos projects within the last five years,
• provide evidence of financial stability, and
• pass the DBPR-approved examination.

There is no provision which specifically allows or addresses licenses by endorsement for asbestos licensees of other states. 

Applicants for an asbestos license pay an initial licensure fee of $555, and an examination fee of $316. There are currently 136 
licensed asbestos contractors and 111 licensed asbestos consultants in the state. DBPR has received an average of 33 asbestos 
applications per year over the last three fiscal years. For FY 2021-22, 39 individuals requested to take the exam, and 17 
individuals ultimately applied for licensure.4  While not the same program, roughly 0.39% of mold remediator licenses are issued 
through an existing endorsement process that requires active licensure in another state.5  The renewal fee for asbestos licenses 
is $155. 

b. Proposed Change:

The bill allows applicants who hold an asbestos license in another state license to obtain a license by endorsement in Florida if
they have:

• passed a written examination in any state that meets the requirements of MAP,
• held a license as an asbestos consultant or asbestos contractor issued by another state or territory of the United

States for at least ten years,
• demonstrated financial stability, and
• completed the required DBPR-approved courses.

Such applicants must apply while they hold an active license in another state or territory or within 2 years after such license was 
last active. 

1 40 C.F.R. § 763 Appendix C to Subpart E.  
2 S. 469.004(1), F.S. 
3 S. 469.005, F.S. 
4 Communication from DBPR June 20, 2023. 
5 Id. 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Asbestos Consultant and Contractor Licenses 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 869 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
HB 869 Staff Analysis 
HB 869 and SB 782 Agency Analysis from Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
Communications with DBPR staff 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
For asbestos consultants and contractors, the total number of individuals holding a license is 247, and DBPR received an average on 
33 license applications per year over the last three years.  Assuming an additional 33 licensees are added in each of the next five 
years under existing law, and that 5% of existing licensees will apply under the new program, and assuming that none of those 
licensees under the new program would have applied under existing law, the high is a potential increase in recurring revenues to the 
Professional Regulation Trust Fund of $6,854 in FY 2023-24.  This number is grown in subsequent years to account for new recurring 
renewal fees paid by the new licensees from prior year’s impacts, which increases the high impact to $22,115 in FY 2027-28.  5% was 
chosen as a reasonable high estimate of the participation rate for the program, given that 0.39% of licensees participate in a similar 
program related to licensure by endorsement for mold remediation.  Given that the total projected impact is less than $100,000 
throughout the forecast period, the suggested high is positive insignificant. 

If any applicant under the new program would otherwise have applied under the existing law, the impact to the state would actually 
be negative for such applicant.  In that case, the state would no longer receive the $316 examination fee, and the $555 licensure fee 
would have been received in either case and would not be considered an impact.  It is not possible to estimate the attrition rate of 
applicants who would have applied under exsiting law, but if all of the applicants under the new program assumed in the high 
scenario would have applied under the existing statutory framework, then the low is a recurring negative impact to the Trust Fund of 
($3,902.60) in FY 2023-24, growing to ($6,990.93) in FY 2027-28.  Given that the total projected low impact is less than $100,000 
throughout the forecast period, the suggested low is negative insignificant. 

Given the likely mix of applicants who would have applied under the old law and will now opt out of the exam, compared to 
applicants who would not have applied but for this option, the middle is a +/- to reflect that the mix in any given year would 
influence the impact. 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 * * +/- +/- (*) (*) 
2024-25 * * +/- +/- (*) (*) 
2025-26 * * +/- +/- (*) (*) 
2026-27 * * +/- +/- (*) (*) 
2027-28 * * +/- +/- (*) (*) 

Revenue Distribution:  Professional Regulation Trust Fund 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023):  The Conference adopted +/- insignificant. 

GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. 0.0 0.0 +/- ins. +/- ins. 
2024-25 +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. 0.0 0.0 +/- ins. +/- ins. 
2025-26 +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. 0.0 0.0 +/- ins. +/- ins. 
2026-27 +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. 0.0 0.0 +/- ins. +/- ins. 
2027-28 +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. +/- ins. 0.0 0.0 +/- ins. +/- ins. 
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High Impact for New Asbestos-Related Licensing

Existing 

Licensees

New licensees per 

year under existing 

law

Estimated New 

Licensees under s. 2 

of HB 869 License Fee

Impact of 

New License 

Fee

Percentage of New 

Licensees compare 

to base

2023-24 247 33 12 555$    6,854$    5%

2024-25 292 33 15 555$    8,113$    

2025-26 340 33 17 555$    9,434$    

2026-27 390 33 19 555$    10,822$    

2027-28 442 33 22 555$    12,278$    

High Impact for Renewal Asbestos-Related Licensing

NEW licensees 

needing 

renewal  License Fee 

 Impact of 

New License 

Fee 

2023-24 155$    -$    

2024-25 12 155$    1,914$    

2025-26 27 155$    4,180$    

2026-27 44 155$    6,815$    

2027-28 63 155$    9,837$    

High Total Impact for Asbestos-Related Licensing

New Licensee Fee Renewal License Fee Total Impact

2023-24 6,854$    -$    6,854$    

2024-25 8,113$    1,914$    10,027$    

2025-26 9,434$    4,180$    13,614$    

2026-27 10,822$     6,815$    17,636$    

2027-28 12,278$     9,837$    22,115$    

707707



Low Impact for New Asbestos-Related Licensing

Existing 

Licensees

New licensees per 

year under existing 

law

Estimated New 

Licensees under s. 2 

of HB 869

Loss of Exam 

Fee

Impact of 

New License 

Fee*

2023-24 247 33 12 (316)$           (3,903)$         5%

2024-25 292 33 15 (316)$           (4,619)$         

2025-26 340 33 17 (316)$           (5,371)$         

2026-27 390 33 19 (316)$           (6,161)$         

2027-28 442 33 22 (316)$           (6,991)$         

*No renewal impact, as this scenario assumes these applicants would have applied under existing 

law and would have paid renewal fees under existing law
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  DBPR License Fees - Two Year Waiver 
Bill Number(s):  HB 1091 
 

 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Alvarez 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 23, 2023 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

The Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) licenses and regulates businesses and professioals in Florida 
under the Divisions of Professions, Regulation, Real Estate, and Certified Public Accounting, pursuant to Chapter 455, F.S.   
Those divisions house dozens of boards and programs that in turn license hundreds of thousands of professionals. 
 
For each professional license issued by DBPR, there is an initial license fee and a license renewal fee set by statute and the 
applicable board, or by DBPR if there is no board for the profession. The licensing fees range significantly, from $5 to $600.1 

 
b.  Proposed Change:   

The bill requires DBPR to waive, for licenses subject to ch. 455, F.S., during the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 fiscal years: 

 50% of the initial licensing fee for an applicant applying for an initial license, with such waiver limited to a maximum of 
$200 per year per license.  

 50% of a licensee's license renewal fee, with such waiver limited to a maximum of $200 per year per license. 
 

The waivers do not apply to any background check fees or penalty fees for unlicensed activity. 
 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

HB 1091 Staff Analysis 
HB 1091 Department of Business and Professional Regulation Agency Analysis 
Communications with DBPR Staff 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 
Impact to Professional Regulation Trust Fund 
Using data provided by DBPR, the total amount expected to be collected under current law is compared to estimated collections 
factoring in the two-year reduction in fees. Only one category of license fees will be capped by the $200 waiver limit (the fee for 
Employee Leasing Company Controlling Persons is $600).  The impact assumes half of the revenue from all applicable fees (other 
than Employee Leasing Company Controlling Persons) is lost in each of the years affected by the waiver, plus 1/3 of the revenue 
from Employee Leasing Company Controlling Persons (as $200 of the $600) will be waived.  The cash impact for the first year is 
11/12 of the FY 2023-24 waiver estimate, with the last month shifting into FY 2024-25.  The impact for the second year is the last 
month of FY 2023-24 and 11/12 of the FY 2024-25 waiver estimate.  The impact for the third year is the last month of the FY 2024-25 
waiver estimate.  There is no recurring impact. 
 
Impact to General Revenue 
The Professional Regulation Trust Fund pays an 8% service charge to GR.2  The amounts that are not collected and deposited in the 
trust fund due to the fee waiver will also not generate a service charge to GR.  The impact to GR is 8% of the impact to the Trust 
Fund. 
 
  

                                                      
1 See, e.g., Rule 61G19-10.001(a), F.A.C., setting initial and renewal license fees for building code inspectors at $5, and Rule 61G7-5.001, F.A.C., 
setting initial and renewal license fees for employee leasing company controlling persons at $600. 
2 S. 215.20(1), F.S. 

 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  DBPR License Fees - Two Year Waiver 
Bill Number(s):  HB 1091 
 

 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 
Impact to Professional Regulation Trust Fund 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   (14.1) 0   

2024-25   (30.3) 0   

2025-26   (2.6) 0   

2026-27   0 0   

2027-28   0 0   

 
Impact to General Revenue 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24   (1.1) 0   

2024-25   (2.4) 0   

2025-26   (0.2) 0   

2026-27   0 0   

2027-28   0 0   

 
Revenue Distribution:  Professional Regulation Trust Fund; General Revenue 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/2023)    The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (1.1) 0.0  (14.1) 0.0  0.0  0.0  (15.2) 0.0  

2024-25 (2.4) 0.0  (30.3) 0.0  0.0  0.0  (32.7) 0.0  

2025-26 (0.2) 0.0  (2.6) 0.0  0.0  0.0  (2.8) 0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
License Fees
Show Revenue Decreases as a negative (put number of licenses or applications in as a negative number) and revenue increases as a positive

Number of Licenses or Applications * Fee Per License 

DESCRIPTION FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26

Revenue After 

Discount FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26 FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26 Comment

INITIAL LICENSE
Architect 23,640 23,640 23,640 788 788             788             30.00 30.00 30.00

Asbestos Consultant 1,500 1,500 1,500 6 6 6 250.00 250.00 250.00

Asbestos Contractor 1,500 1,500 1,500 6 6 6 250.00 250.00 250.00

Asbestos Business 1,250 1,250 1,250 5 5 5 250.00 250.00 250.00

Athlete Agent 51,000 51,000 51,000 136 136 136 375.00 375.00 375.00

Auctioneer Apprentice 1,350 1,350 1,350 9 9 9 150.00 150.00 150.00 DEFICIT

Auctioneer 13,500 13,500 13,500 90 90 90 150.00 150.00 150.00

Auctioneer - Business 5,250 5,250 5,250 35 35 35 150.00 150.00 150.00

Barber 124,800 124,800 124,800 1,248 1,248 1,248 100.00 100.00 100.00

Restricted Barber 95,200 95,200 95,200 952 952 952 100.00 100.00 100.00

Barbershop 25,500 25,500 25,500 510 510 510 50.00 50.00 50.00

Building Code Inspector/Administrator/Examiner 22,450 22,450 22,450 898 898 898 25.00 25.00 25.00

Community Association Manager 193,100 193,100 193,100 1,931 1,931 1,931 100.00 100.00 100.00

Certified Contractor 1,121,600 1,121,600 1,121,600 5,608 5,608 5,608 200.00 200.00 200.00

Registered Contractors 43,000 43,000 43,000 215 215 215 200.00 200.00 200.00

Cosmetologist 254,760 254,760 254,760 6,369 6,369 6,369 40.00 40.00 40.00

Cosmetology Specialists -Nail Specialist 301,800 301,800 301,800 7,545 7,545 7,545 40.00 40.00 40.00

Cosmetology Specialists -Facial Specialist 317,520 317,520 317,520 7,938 7,938 7,938 40.00 40.00 40.00

Cosmetology Specialists -Full Specialist 226,360 226,360 226,360 5,659 5,659 5,659 40.00 40.00 40.00

Cosmetology Salon 124,000 124,000 124,000 3,100 3,100 3,100 40.00 40.00 40.00

Certified Electrical Contractor 299,439 299,439 299,439 1,029 1,029 1,029 291.00 291.00 291.00

Certified Alarm System Contractor I 29,973 29,973 29,973 103 103 103 291.00 291.00 291.00

Certified Alarm System Contractor II 11,931 11,931 11,931 41 41 41 291.00 291.00 291.00

Certified Specialty Contractor 38,994 38,994 38,994 134 134 134 291.00 291.00 291.00

Registered Alarm Contractor I 1,168 1,168 1,168 8 8 8 146.00 146.00 146.00

Registered Electrical Contractor 23,506 23,506 23,506 161 161 161 146.00 146.00 146.00

Registered Specialty Contractor 1,606 1,606 1,606 11 11 11 146.00 146.00 146.00

Employee Leasing Company Controlling Person 18,000 18,000 18,000 12,000                30 30 30 600.00 600.00 600.00 DEFICIT

Professional Engineer 352,800 352,800 352,800 3,528 3,528 3,528 100.00 100.00 100.00

Professional Geologist 5,200 5,200 5,200 52 52 52 100.00 100.00 100.00 DEFICIT

Home Inspector 131,000 131,000 131,000 1,310 1,310 1,310 100.00 100.00 100.00

Interior Design 3,075 3,075 3,075 123 123 123 25.00 25.00 25.00

Landscape Architect 6,638 6,638 6,638 59 59 59 112.50 112.50 112.50

Mold Assessor 37,500 37,500 37,500 375 375 375 100.00 100.00 100.00

Mold Remediator 31,500 31,500 31,500 315 315 315 100.00 100.00 100.00

Harbor Pilot - State 975 975 975 5 5 5 195.00 195.00 195.00 DEFICIT

Deputy Harbor Pilot 760 760 760 8 8 8 95.00 95.00 95.00 DEFICIT

Talent Agents 22,000 22,000 22,000 55 55 55 400.00 400.00 400.00 DEFICIT

Veterinarian 67,000 67,000 67,000 670 670 670 100.00 100.00 100.00

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Initial License Sales Associate/Broker 1,579,986 1,579,986 1,579,986 29,259 29,259 29,259 54.00 54.00 54.00

Initial License Broker Corp or Temp 432 432 432 8 8 8 54.00 54.00 54.00

Initial License for School Instructor 3,927 3,927 3,927 84 84 84 46.75 46.75 46.75

REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL BOARD

Registered Trainee Appraiser License 54,950 54,950 54,950 314 314 314 175.00 175.00 175.00

Certified Residential Appraiser License 21,350 21,350 21,350 122 122 122 175.00 175.00 175.00

Certified General Appraiser License 11,200 11,200 11,200 64 64 64 175.00 175.00 175.00

Appraisal Management Company License 0 0 0 300.00 300.00 300.00

ACCOUNTANCY

Individual 8,750 8,750 8,750 175 175 175 50.00 50.00 50.00

Individual Endorsement 275,700 275,700 275,700 919 919 919 300.00 300.00 300.00

PartnerShips, Corps, LLC CPA Firms 17,400 17,400 17,400 120 120 120 145.00 145.00 145.00

INITIAL LICENSE FEES 6,005,839.50 6,005,839.50 6,005,839.50 82,130
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DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
License Fees
Show Revenue Decreases as a negative (put number of licenses or applications in as a negative number) and revenue increases as a positive

Number of Licenses or Applications * Fee Per License 

DESCRIPTION FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26

Revenue After 

Discount FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26 FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26 Comment

LICENSE RENEWAL:
Architect 0 1,248,205 0 13,139 95.00 95.00 95.00 February odd yearOdd

Asbestos Consultant 0 12,600 0 84 150.00 150.00 150.00 November even yearEven

Asbestos Contractor 0 20,400 0 136 150.00 150.00 150.00 November even yearEven

Asbestos Business 0 60,000 240 250.00 250.00 250.00

Athlete Agent 127,380 0 187,220 579 851 220.00 220.00 220.00 May even year Even

Auctioneer Apprentice 9,450 0 12,150 63 81 150.00 150.00 150.00 November odd yearOdd

Auctioneer 260,100 0 287,100 1,734 1,914 150.00 150.00 150.00 November odd yearOdd

Barber 0 1,125,740 0 16,082 70.00 70.00 70.00 July even year Even

Restricted Barber 0 569,730 0 8,139 70.00 70.00 70.00 July even year Even

Barbershop 43,050 410 105.00 105.00 105.00

Building Code Inspector/Administrator/Examiner 46,930 0 46,930 9,386 9,386 5.00 5.00 5.00 November odd yearOdd

Community Association Manager 0 2,410,200 0 24,102 100.00 100.00 100.00 September even yearEven

Certified Contractor 0 15,987,600 0 79,938 200.00 200.00 200.00 August even yearEven

Registered Contractors 0 847,000 0 4,235 200.00 200.00 200.00 August even yearEven

Cosmetologist 2,654,040 2,654,040 2,654,040 66,351 66,351 66,351 40.00 40.00 40.00 Biennial: Half each yearBiennial

Cosmetology Specialists -Nail Specialist 1,196,960 1,196,960 1,196,960 29,924 29,924 29,924 40.00 40.00 40.00 Biennial: Half each yearBiennial

Cosmetology Specialists -Facial Specialist 962,400 962,400 962,400 24,060 24,060 24,060 40.00 40.00 40.00 Biennial: Half each yearBiennial

Cosmetology Specialists -Full Specialist 944,760 944,760 944,760 23,619 23,619 23,619 40.00 40.00 40.00 Biennial: Half each yearBiennial

Cosmetology Salon 764,000 764,000 764,000 19,100 19,100 19,100 40.00 40.00 40.00

Certified Electrical Contractor 0 3,064,812 0 10,532 291.00 291.00 291.00 August even yearEven

Certified Alarm System Contractor I 0 476,949 0 1,639 291.00 291.00 291.00

Certified Alarm System Contractor II 0 169,362 0 582 291.00 291.00 291.00

Certified Specialty Contractor 0 533,112 0 1,832 291.00 291.00 291.00

Registered Alarm Contractor I 0 9,512 0 82 116.00 116.00 116.00

Registered Alarm Contractor II 0 3,712 0 32 116.00 116.00 116.00

Registered Electrical Contractor 0 237,452 0 2,047 116.00 116.00 116.00

Registered Specialty Contractor 0 23,548 0 203 116.00 116.00 116.00

Employee Leasing Company Controlling Person 211,800 0 211,800 141,200              353 353 600.00 600.00 600.00 April even year Even

Professional Engineer 0 4,196,438 0 44,762 93.75 93.75 93.75 November even yearEven

Professional Geologist 0 240,480 0 2,004 120.00 120.00 120.00 July even year Even

Home Inspector 0 1,104,700 0 11,047 100.00 100.00 100.00 July even year Even

Interior Design 0 223,510 0 3,193 70.00 70.00 70.00 February odd yearOdd

Landscape Architect 326,025 0 326,025 1,449 1,449 225.00 225.00 225.00 November odd yearOdd

Mold Assessor 0 350,900 0 3,509 100.00 100.00 100.00 July even year Even

Mold Remediator 0 346,700 0 3,467 100.00 100.00 100.00 July even year Even

Harbor Pilot - State 0 17,550 0 90 195.00 195.00 195.00 January odd yearOdd

Deputy Harbor Pilot 0 3,800 0 40 95.00 95.00 95.00 January odd yearOdd

Talent Agents 197,200 0 197,200 493 493 400.00 400.00 400.00 May even year Even

Veterinarian 2,637,700 0 2,637,700 10,145 10,145 260.00 260.00 260.00 May even year Even

Veterinarian Limited Service Medical Practice 750 750 750 3 3 3 250.00 250.00 250.00

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Renewal License Sales Associate 11,055,616 11,055,616 11,055,616 172,744 172,744 172,744 64.00 64.00 64.00 Biennial: Half each year

Renewal License Broker 2,832,840 2,832,840 2,832,840 39,345 39,345 39,345 72.00 72.00 72.00 Biennial: Half each year

Real Estate Instructor 97,792 0 97,792 1,528 1,528 64.00 64.00 64.00 September odd year

REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL BOARD

Renewal Registered Trainee Appraiser License 0 289,975 0 1,657 175.00 175.00 175.00 November even yearEven

Renewal Licensed Appraiser License 0 2,275 0 13 175.00 175.00 175.00 November even yearEven

Renewal Certified Residential Appraiser License 0 784,525 0 4,483 175.00 175.00 175.00 November even yearEven

Renewal Certified General Appraiser License 0 464,100 0 2,652 175.00 175.00 175.00 November even yearEven

ACCOUNTANCY

Individual 1,944,500 1,944,500 1,944,500 19,445 19,445 19,445 100.00 100.00 100.00 Biennial December: Half each yearGroup 2: odd Group 1: even

Firm 0 0 0 145.00 145.00 145.00 December odd yearOdd 5,892

RENEWAL LICENSE FEES 26,270,243.00 57,223,802.50 26,359,783.00

32,276,082.50 63,229,642.00 32,365,622.50
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DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
License Fees
Show Revenue Decreases as a negative (put number of licenses or applications in as a negative number) and revenue increases as a positive

Number of Licenses or Applications * Fee Per License 

DESCRIPTION FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26

Revenue After 

Discount FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26 FY 23-24 FY 24-25 FY 25-26 Comment

Total Revenue 32,276,082.50 63,229,642.00 32,365,622.50

Professions 14,371,639.50 43,882,116.00 14,461,179.50

Real Estate 15,658,093.00 17,101,176.00 15,658,093.00

Accountancy 2,246,350.00 2,246,350.00 2,246,350.00

Total 32,276,082.50 63,229,642.00 32,365,622.50

Service Charge to General Revenue (8%) 2,582,087.00 5,058,371.00 2,589,250.00

Professions SC to GR 1,149,731 3,510,569 1,156,894

Real Estate 1,252,647 1,368,094 1,252,647

Accountancy 179,708 179,708 179,708

Total 2,582,087 5,058,371 2,589,250

2,582,087 5,058,371 2,589,250

Total Revenue after 50% discount 16,934,468.00 31,614,821.00 16,934,468.00

Professions 7,982,246.50 21,941,058.00 7,982,246.50

Real Estate 7,829,046.50 8,550,588.00 7,829,046.50

Accountancy 1,123,175.00 1,123,175.00 1,123,175.00

Total 16,934,468.00 31,614,821.00 16,934,468.00

Service Charge to General Revenue (8%) after 50% discount 1,354,757.00 2,529,186.00 1,354,757.00

Professions SC to GR 638,580 1,755,285 638,580

Real Estate 626,324 684,047 626,324

Accountancy 89,854 89,854 89,854

Total 1,354,757 2,529,186 1,354,757

1,354,757 2,529,186 1,354,757

Total Revenue 32,276,083 63,229,642

Total Revenue after 50% discount 16,934,468 31,614,821

Difference 15,341,615 31,614,821

Total Difference 46,956,436

Service Charge to General Revenue (8%) 2,582,087 5,058,371

Service Charge to General Revenue (8%) after 50% discount 1,354,757 2,529,186

Difference 1,227,330 2,529,185

Total Difference 3,756,515

Total

Gross Impact to Trust Fund (14,063,147)$          (30,258,720)$          (2,634,568)$          (46,956,436)$    

Impact to GR (1,125,053)$            (2,420,697)$            (210,765)$             (3,756,515)$      

Impact to Trust Fund if GR Service Charge Deducted (12,938,094)$            (27,838,023)$            (2,423,803)$            (43,199,921)$      
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Fees and Taxes 
Issue:  Background Screening Fees 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 391 
xx   Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Rep. Tramont 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  June 2, 2023 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  6/23/2023. 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
Current Law:   
The Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) is the single state agency responsible for the administration of the Florida 
Medicaid program, authorized under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. The Medicaid state plan is an agreement between a state 
and the federal government describing how that state administers its Medicaid programs. The state plan establishes groups of 
individuals covered under the Medicaid program, services that are provided, payment methodologies and other administrative and 
organizational requirements. The State of Florida has over 5.5 million individuals enrolled in the Medicaid program. In Florida, most 
Medicaid recipients receive their services through a managed care plan contracted with the Agency under the Statewide Medicaid 
Managed Care (SMMC) program.   
 
The SMMC program has three components: the integrated Managed Medical Assistance (MMA) program, the Long-Term Care (LTC) 
component and the Dental component. The SMMC benefits are a robust health care package covering both acute and long-term 
care services. The services provided are delivered to recipients by either managed care or fee-for-service through the Medicaid 
managed care plan.  
 
AHCA is also responsible for the licensure and certification and exemption applications for about 37 provider types. Regulatory 
oversight is provided to hospitals, ambulatory surgery centers, assisted living facilities and nursing homes. There are over 50,000 
providers that the agency regulates, which includes 23,326 licensed and certified providers and 27,063 federally certified 
laboratories.  
 
A home health service agency (HHA) falls under the purview of AHCA requiring a license or registration issued to operate. HHAs 
provides home health services comprised of health and medical services and supplies furnished to an individual in their home or 
place of residence. The SMMC program covers home health services that are medically necessary and can be provided via home 
health visits (skilled nursing and home health aide services), private duty nursing (PDN) services, and personal care services. 
Medicaid only covers up to four hours per day in home health aide visits for enrollees under the age of 21 who have a medical 
condition that limits their daily living. A home health aide provides basic health related services to the disabled, elderly, or ill by 
traveling to the nursing care facility or a person’s home. 
 
Proposed Change::   
The bill creates the Home Health Aide for Medically Fragile Children Program for family caregivers to receive training and gainful 
employment. The bill allows a family caregiver to be reimbursed by Medicaid, as a home health aide for medically fragile children 
(HHAMFC), for care provided to a relative who is 21 years old or younger with an underlying physical, mental, or cognitive 
impairment, and is eligible to receive skilled care or respite care services under the Medicaid program.  
The bill requires AHCA to establish a fee schedule with a family caregiver reimbursement rate of $25 per hour for up to 8 hours per 
day. 
The bill authorizes a HHAMFC to perform certain tasks if delegated by a registered nurse, such as medication administration, tasks 
associated with activities of daily living, maintaining mobility, nutrition and hydration, and safety and cleanliness.  
The bill requires services provided by a HHAMFC to result in a reduction in the number of private duty nursing service hours 
provided to an eligible recipient.  
Further, the bill prohibits services provided by a HHAMFC from duplicating private duty nursing services provided to an eligible 
recipient.  
The bill requires AHCA, in consultation with the Board of Nursing, to approve HHAMFC training programs developed by home health 
agencies which meet certain criteria.  
The bill provides civil liability protections for a home health agency that terminates or denies employment to a home health aide for 
medically fragile children for failure to comply with HHAMFC regulations or whose name appears on a criminal screening report of 
the Department of Law Enforcement. 
 

   
 

 
x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Fees and Taxes 
Issue:  Background Screening Fees 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 391 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Correspondence with AHCA 
2023 FDLE Legislative Bill Analysis 
2023 AHCA Agency Analysis 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The changes made to these statutes and the creation of the Home Health Aide for Medically Fragile Children Program will have an 
impact on revenue due to the increase in background checks for potential new home health aides. The total fiscal revenue for the 
state portion of a state and national criminal history record check with five (5) years of fingerprint retention within Care Provider 
Background Screening Clearinghouse generates $48 of fiscal revenue, which will go into the FDLE's Operating Trust Fund. According 
to research by AHCA, there are 5,072 potential participants suited for this program. Implementation delays from program 
development at the state level and its subsequent federal approval could take up to a year. Hence, for FY 23-24 the proposed impact 
is positive insignificant/0. From FY 24-25 onwards, the low impact is based on assuming 10 percent of the eligible participants will 
apply to be a home health aide (507 home health aides, yearly collections of $24,336), and the high impact is based on 25 percent of 
the eligible participants will apply (1,268 home health aides, yearly collections of $60,864).  

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0/* 0/* 0/* 0/* 0/* 0/* 
2024-25 ** ** * * 
2025-26 ** ** * * 
2026-27 ** ** * * 
2027-28 ** ** * * 

Revenue Distribution:  FDLE Operating Trust Fund 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/23/23) The Conference adopted the low estimate with a positive insignificant 
recurring the first year.  

GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 0/* * 0/* * 0.0 0.0 0/* * 
2024-25 * * * * 0.0 0.0 * * 
2025-26 * * * * 0.0 0.0 * * 
2026-27 * * * * 0.0 0.0 * * 
2027-28 * * * * 0.0 0.0 * * 
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