
REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Earnings on Investments 
Issue:  Moving Florida Forward 
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/CS HB 1301, HB 5003, HB 5001 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  CS/CS/CS HB 1301 Section 11/HB 5003 Section 103/HB 5001 Section 255 
Sponsor(s):  Representative Abbot, Representative Leek 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  07/01/2024 for CS/CS/CS HB 1301 Section 11 and HB 5003 Section 103, upon becoming law for HB 
5001 Section 255 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  05/22/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Section 215 of Chapter 2023-239, Laws of Florida, states that the nonrecurring sum of $4,000,000,000 is 

appropriated from the General Revenue Fund to the Department of Transportation for Fiscal Year 2022-23 for the Moving 
Florida Forward Plan.  The funds were placed in reserve and ultimately reverted and re-appropriated for fiscal 2023-24.  The 
Department submitted a budget amendment to the Legislative Budget Commission, which included a project list, 
implementation schedule, finance plan, and necessary budget authority to implement the Plan.  Upon approval of the budget 
amendment by the Legislative Budget commission, the Chief Financial Officer transferred $2,500,000,000 from the General 
Revenue Fund to the State Transportation Trust Fund and $1,500,000,000 from the General Revenue Fund to the State 
Transportation Trust Fund.  By the end of the month following each quarter, the Department of Transportation shall reconcile 
all disbursements, transfer interest earnings from the transferred funds to the General Revenue Fund, and provide an 
implementation progress report to the Executive Office of the Governor, the chair of the House Appropriations Committee and 
the chair of the Senate Committee on Appropriations. 

 
b. Proposed Change:  In CS/CS/CS HB 1301 and HB 5003, notwithstanding section 215 of Chapter 2023-239, Laws of Florida, the 

Department of Transportation is authorized to retain interest earnings on funds appropriated to implement the Moving Florida 
Forward Plan.  In HB 5003, this section expires July 1, 2025.  In CS/CS/CS HB 1301 there is no expiration date. 

 
Section 255 of HB 5001 states that the Chief Financial Officer shall transfer $370,000,000 from the General Revenue Fund to the 
State Transportation Trust Fund to implement the Moving Florida Forward Plan.  The funds shall be held in reserve.  Any interest 
earned on the transferred funds must be used by the Department to implement the plan.   

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Contact with FDOT staff 
FDOT internal calculation of Interest Earnings 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The Department of Transportation received $4,000,000,000 for the Moving Florida Forward Plan during FY 2023-24.  $37.26 million 
in interest was earned through March 31, 2024 and has been transferred into the General Revenue Fund as of May 20, 2024.  The 
requirement to transfer interest earnings on the $4,000,000,000 transfer was contained within Chapter 2023-239, Laws of Florida, 
effectively limiting the transfer requirement to FY 2023-24.  Therefore, there is no impact on General Revenue or State Trust Funds 
in regards to interest earnings on the $4,000,000,000 transfer. 
 
Section 255 of HB 5001 transfers $370,000,000 from the General Revenue Fund to the State Transportation Trust Fund.  In contrast 
to the $4,000,000,000 transfer from the prior year, interest earned on the transferred funds is to be retained by the Department.  
Since the transfer is being treated as an expenditure, the subsequent interest earnings adjustments caused by the transfer will be 
addressed in the Summer Conference Season – just as all appropriations are taken into account. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

GR 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0.0 0.0   

2025-26   0.0 0.0   

2026-27   0.0 0.0   

2027-28   0.0 0.0   

2028-29   0.0 0.0   

X 

 

499



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Earnings on Investments 
Issue:  Moving Florida Forward 
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/CS HB 1301, HB 5003, HB 5001 
 
 

Trust 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0.0 0.0   

2025-26   0.0 0.0   

2026-27   0.0 0.0   

2027-28   0.0 0.0   

2028-29   0.0 0.0   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
General Revenue, State Transportation Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Ad Valorem 
Issue: Exemption Application 
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB1285 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 4 
Sponsor(s): Representative Canady 
Month/Year Impact Begins: Indeterminate 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed: May 22, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: Section 196.1983, F.S., indicates that any facility or portion thereof used to house a charter school is fully exempt 

from ad valorem taxes. 
 
Section 196.011, F.S., indicates that, unless otherwise noted in statute, ad valorem exemptions shall be applied for each year on 
or before March 1. 
 

b. Proposed Change: Section 196.011, F.S., is amended to indicate that properties exempt under 196.1983 need not reapply every 
year and are to continue to receive the exemption unless they are no longer eligible. The property owner or lessee is 
responsible for notifying the property appraiser if they are no longer eligible. An ineligible property receiving the exemption due 
to a failure to notify the property appraiser at any time within the prior 10 years results in a liability of the taxes exempted plus 
15 percent interest per annum, as well as a penalty of 50 percent of the taxes exempted. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
2023 Millage and Taxes Levied Report, 2023 Final Data Book published by Property Tax Oversight 
2011 through 2023 Final NAL Real Property Tax Roll 
2021 CS/CS/HB597 Impact Analysis from June 14, 2021 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
There exists a possibility for a negative fiscal impact in that, under current law, taxes would be due from a charter school that 
fails to apply for the exemption despite being eligible. Under the proposed change, those charter schools would continue to 
receive the exemption. The estimated impact of this is quantified in the table below for the most recent 11 years using the 
following methodology. If a property received the exemption (exmpt_17) in year 1, did not receive the exemption in year 2, and 
received it again in year 3 without changing ownership across the three-year period, it is assumed that they would have 
received the exemption in the middle year (year 2) under the proposed language. An impact is estimated each year by 
aggregating the school and non-school taxable values for each impacted property and multiplying by the respective 2023 
aggregate millage rate. Note that this methodology simultaneously excludes the possibility that a property was legitimately 
ineligible in the middle year and the possibility of a property failing to apply for more than one year. Within the previous eleven 
years, the negative impact would have been between $0 and $185,474 depending on the year. Due to the high variance and 
unpredictable nature, the negative impact going forward is indeterminate. 
 

Middle Year – 
Did Not Apply 

Impact If Identified Taxpayers 
Had Applied for Exemption 

2012 $(22,283) 

2013 $(25,424) 

2014 $- 

2015 $(114,771) 

2016 $- 

2017 $(67,853) 

2018 $(81,164) 

2019 $(115,601) 

2020 $(185,474) 

2021 $- 

2022 $(40,096) 

 
Further, there exists a possibility for a positive fiscal impact in that, under current law, there is no mechanism for penalty and 
interest as an owner or lessee cannot fail to notify the property appraiser of ineligibility, as it is assumed by failure to apply. 

 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Ad Valorem 
Issue: Exemption Application 
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB1285 
 

Estimating this would require a count of properties failing to notify of ineligibility, an average taxable value, and an average 
duration between failure to notify of ineligibility and the property appraiser’s realization of such failure. Due to the high 
variance and unpredictable nature, the positive impact is indeterminate. 

 
A similar bill was reviewed by the conference on June 14, 2021, in which low-income seniors applying for a specific exemption 
were no longer required to apply annually. At that time, the Conference adopted a +/- indeterminate impact. The same impact 
is generally proposed here. 
 
The final complication with this analysis is that the bill goes into effect on July 1, 2024. This discussion of effective date scenarios 
is included to show that there is potentially a first-year impact, though its nature is different than the following years’ impacts. 
There exist two scenarios: 

1. The property appraisers apply the new law to the 2024 tax roll as it will be law well before tax bills are sent. 
2. The property appraisers apply the new law to the 2025 tax roll as it was not law at the time of 2024 valuations. 

 
Under scenario 1 there exists the possibility that an uninformed taxpayer who no longer qualifies for the exemption does not 
reapply, as is correct procedure under current law, but is awarded the exemption, as is correct procedure under the proposed 
change. This would likely result in that taxpayer owing back taxes, interest, and penalties. In the first year under this scenario, 
the negative indeterminate impact exists, and the positive indeterminate impact may exist depending on the timing of when 
ineligibility for the 2024 exemption is discovered. 
 
Under scenario 2 there exists the possibility that an otherwise eligible taxpayer fails to reapply, is stripped of their exemption, 
but knows of the law change and appeals to the VAB for their exemption. It is expected that the VAB appeal would be won by 
the taxpayer, in that, at the time of their appeal, statute will indicate that they should receive the exemption. In the first year 
under this scenario, the negative indeterminate impact exists, but there is no potential for a positive indeterminate impact as 
the potential for penalties would not exist until the 2025 tax roll and thus Fiscal Year 2025-26. 
 
It is expected that scenario 2 will occur. It is also expected that any eligible charter school that previously received the 
exemption, did not apply for the exemption in 2024, and appeals to the VAB for the exemption will win their appeal because 
statute at the time of the appeal will indicate that they do not need to reapply. If no such appeals occur, the impact is zero in 
the first year. 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   (0/**) +/-   

2025-26   +/- +/-   

2026-27   +/- +/-   

2027-28   +/- +/-   

2028-29   +/- +/-   

 
Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem 

 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.   

 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/(**) +/- 0/(**) +/- 

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/- +/- +/- +/- 

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/- +/- +/- +/- 

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/- +/- +/- +/- 

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  +/- +/- +/- +/- 
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CS/CS/HB1285 Section 4 2024 Legislative Session Exemption Application

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

35

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

A B C D E F G

School 5.99                 

Non-School 10.38               

Middle Year - Failed 

to Reapply
Count

School 

Taxable Value

Non-School 

Taxable Value
School Impact

Non-School 

Impact
Total Impact

2012 2 1,361,058       1,361,058       (8,156)              (14,127)           (22,283)$         

2013 1 1,552,946       1,552,946       (9,306)              (16,118)           (25,424)$         

2014 0 -                   -                   -                   -                   -$                 

2015 4 7,010,426       7,010,426       (42,009)           (72,763)           (114,771)$       

2016 0 -                   -                   -                   -                   -$                 

2017 3 4,144,555       4,144,555       (24,835)           (43,017)           (67,853)$         

2018 1 4,957,666       4,957,666       (29,708)           (51,457)           (81,164)$         

2019 5 7,697,720       6,693,590       (46,127)           (69,474)           (115,601)$       

2020 1 11,329,071     11,329,071     (67,887)           (117,587)         (185,474)$       

2021 0 -                   -                   -                   -                   -$                 

2022 1 2,449,162       2,449,162       (14,676)           (25,420)           (40,096)$         

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

2024-25 (0/**) +/-

2025-26 +/- +/-

2026-27 +/- +/-

2027-28 +/- +/-

2028-29 +/- +/-

Total Impact

High Middle Low

2023 Aggregate Millage Rates

May 22, 2024503



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:   
Issue:  Nonresident Distant Learning Fee 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 1285 (Chapter 2024-101, Laws of Florida) 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 22 
Sponsor(s):  Representative Canady 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1st 2024 (affecting the 2024-25 academic year) 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  May 22nd 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: Florida College System institutions may charge students that do not qualify for the in-state tuition rate an 

additional fee (s. 1009.01(2), F.S.). A Florida College System institution may also assess a per-credit-hour distance learning 
course user fee. “A distance learning course is a course in which at least 80 percent of the direct instruction of the course is 
delivered using some form of technology when the student and instructor are separated by time or space, or both. The amount 
of the distance learning course user fee may not exceed the additional costs of the services provided which are attributable to 
the development and delivery of the distance learning course. If a Florida College System institution assesses the distance 
learning course user fee, the institution may not assess any other fees to cover the additional costs” (s. 1009.23(16), F.S.).  
 
Additionally, a Florida College System institution board of trustees may establish a differential out-of-state fee for a student who 
has been determined to be a nonresident for tuition purposes and is enrolled in a distance learning course offered by the 
institution. “A differential out-of-state fee established pursuant to this paragraph shall be applicable only to distance learning 
courses and must be established such that the sum of tuition and the differential out-of-state fee is sufficient to defray the full 
cost of instruction” (s. 1009.23(6)(b), F.S.). 
 

b.  Proposed Change:  “Subsection (22) is added to section 1009.23, Florida Statutes…Beginning with the 2024-2025 academic 
year, Miami Dade College, Polk State College, and Tallahassee Community College are authorized to charge an amount not to 
exceed $290 per credit hour for nonresident tuition and fees for distance learning. Such institutions may phase in this 
nonresident tuition rate by degree program.” (Chapter 2024-101, Laws of Florida) 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

 Florida College System Enrollment Education Estimating Conference, December 2023 
o http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/communitycolleges/DOEMeetingPacket.pdf 

 Florida College System Residence and Distant Learning Credit Hours 2020-21 through 2022-23, DOE 

 Student Fee Rates 2020-21 through 2023-24, DOE  
o https://www.fldoe.org/schools/higher-ed/fl-college-system/about-us/finance/student-fees.stml 

 Emails between EDR and DOE (May 2024) 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Current Program 

Currently all Florida College System institutions have the authority to assess a per credit hour distance learning fee to 
students1. Additionally, all Florida College System institutions currently have the authority to establish a differential out-of-
state fee that applies to distance learning courses2. All Florida College System institutions charge a higher rate for instate vs 
out-of-state tuition per credit hour through an additional out-of-state fee. In addition, 11 Florida College System institutions 
charge a distance learning fee per credit hour to students. This fee ranges from $8.00 (Valencia College) to $15.00 (Daytona 
State College, Florida State College at Jacksonville, Lake Sumter State College, and Miami Dade College). In all 11 institutions 
the distance learning fee is applied equally to all students regardless of residency.  

 
Of the three institutions in this pilot program, Polk State College does not currently charge a distance learning fee to 
students regardless of residency. Miami Dade College currently charges $15.00 per credit hour and Tallahassee Community 
College charges $10.00 per credit hour3. 

 

                                                      
1 Florida Statute s. 1009.23(16), F.S. 
2 Florida Statute s. 1009.23(6) (b), F.S. 
3 Florida College System Residence and Distant Learning Credit Hours 2020-21 through 2022-23, DOE 

 

 X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:   
Issue:  Nonresident Distant Learning Fee 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 1285 (Chapter 2024-101, Laws of Florida) 
 
Analysis 

Section 22 of CS/CS/HB 1285 authorizes Miami Dade College, Polk State College, and Tallahassee Community College to 
charge up to $290 per credit hour for nonresident tuition and fees for distance learning. These institutions are authorized to 
phase in this nonresident tuition rate by degree program. DOE is currently working with the three colleges to identify at 
least one degree program that can be offered by each institution at the maximum of the proposed rate by July 1st 2024. 
These programs will most likely be already in operation4.  
 
The bill language caps all tuition and fees at $290 per credit hour for nonresident distance learners. In total, all three 
institutions are above this level, meaning a reduction in all tuition and fees is needed to accommodate the new cap.  
 

Model Explanation 
Florida College System institutions do not create 5-year projections broken out by distance learning and residency. To 
create these projections, the ratio of non-Florida residents to total FTE for FY 2022-23 was applied to the adopted FTE 
projections from the December 4, 2023 Florida College System Enrollment Education Estimating Conference. The model is 
structured to allow this percentage to change. This projected FTE for non-Florida residents includes a portion of distance 
learning students whose residency is unknown. This portion was determined by the ratio of non-Florida resident distance 
learning FTE to the sum of the Florida and non-Florida resident distance learning FTE. 
 
The next step in the model is the conversion of FTE to credit hours. For Florida College System institutions, 1 FTE is 
equivalent to 30 credit hours. To accurately assess the cost differential between the current cost and the $290 maximum, 
the model then splits credit hours into upper and lower level using the FY 2022-23 history. With upper level referring to 
baccalaureate degree programs and lower level referring to credit programs. 
 
Since the College System institutions plan on phasing in the $290 per credit hour maximum for nonresident Florida 
students, a participation rate is applied to all projection years. After discussions with DOE, a first year participation rate of 
5% for all institutions was chosen. The speed at which each institution plans to phase in the $290 per credit rate over the 
next five years is unknown at this time. However, this analysis has the participation increasing to 25% by FY 2028-29. 
 
The final step of the model is to determine the cost differential between the current cost per credit hour and the new $290 
maximum cost per credit hour for nonresident distance learning. The cost per credit hour has minimally changed for Florida 
College System institutions for the past nine years. To determine the differential the model assumes the cost would have 
stayed the same as FY 2023-24 in all projection years. The current cost per credit hour is then subtracted from the new 
$290 per credit hour maximum. This cost differential is then multiplied by the projected credit hours of non-Florida resident 
distant learning students split by upper and lower level. 
 
 

Impact 
If Miami Dade College, Polk State College, and Tallahassee Community College implemented the new $290 per credit hour 
maximum immediately, the total fiscal impact for FY 2024-25 would have been a loss of $4,697,942.84. However, due to the 
tight turnaround between now and July 1st 2024 each institution plans on phasing in the pilot program by degree program. 
Currently each institution is deciding which degree program will be offered at the $290 per credit hour rate. If it is assumed 
that 5% of non-Florida residents participate in the pilot program, the total fiscal impact for FY 2024-25 will be a reduction of 
$234,897.18. 

  
 

  

                                                      
4 Emails between EDR and DOE 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:   
Issue:  Nonresident Distant Learning Fee 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 1285 (Chapter 2024-101, Laws of Florida) 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   $(234,897.18) $(234,897.18)   

2025-26   $(478,710.16) $(478,710.16)   

2026-27   $(732,781.94) $(732,781.94)   

2027-28   $ (994,751.21) $ (994,751.21)   

2028-29   $(1,266,917.36) $(1,266,917.36)   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted a negative indeterminate impact.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  
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Fiscal Year

Adjustment 

Factors for Ratios 

of Distance 

Learning to 

Projections

Participation 

Rates for Non-

Florida Resident 

Distance Learning 

Pool FTE Fiscal Year Sum of all Colleges

2023-24 1.00 2023-24

2024-25 1.00 5.00% 2024-25 (234,897.18)$      

2025-26 1.00 10.00% 2025-26 (478,710.16)$      

2026-27 1.00 15.00% 2026-27 (732,781.94)$      

2027-28 1.00 20.00% 2027-28 (994,751.21)$      

2028-29 1.00 25.00% 2028-29 (1,266,917.36)$   

Fiscal Year

Adjustment 

Factors for Ratios 

of Distance 

Learning to 

Projections

Participation 

Rates for Non-

Florida Resident 

Distance Learning 

Pool FTE Fiscal Year Sum of all Colleges

2023-24 1.00 2023-24

2024-25 1.00 5.00% 2024-25 (234,897.18)$      

2025-26 1.00 10.00% 2025-26 (478,710.16)$      

2026-27 1.00 15.00% 2026-27 (732,781.94)$      

2027-28 1.00 20.00% 2027-28 (994,751.21)$      

2028-29 1.00 25.00% 2028-29 (1,266,917.36)$   

Impact

Conference

Assumptions

Middle 
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Miami Dade College

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL FTE-1A FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

Number of Total FTE Students 41,112.60   40,272.80    39,745.20                   39,945.00   40,344.00           40,950.00           41,769.00             42,604.00             43,454.00             

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 19,965.73   17,600.47    13,889.73                   

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 1,300.70     1,307.23      846.33                        

Sum of Florida and Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 21,266.43   18,907.70    14,736.07                   

Unknown Distance Learning FTE 1,251.93     1,219.17      1,054.53                     

Ratio of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning to Sum of Florida and Non-Florida FTE 6.12% 6.91% 5.74%

Percentage of Unknown Distance Learning Assumed to be Non-Florida Residents 6.12% 6.91% 5.74%

Unknown Distance Learning Assumed to be Non-Florida Residents FTE 76.57           84.29            60.56                           

Assumed Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool 1,377.27     1,391.52      906.89                        

Ratio of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool to FTE Students 3.35% 3.46% 2.28%

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

2.28% 2.28% 2.28% 2.28% 2.28% 2.28%

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

911.45        920.55                 934.38                 953.07                  972.12                  991.52                  

1 FTE = 30 Credit Hours

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

27,616.50           28,031.40           28,592.10             29,163.60             29,745.60             

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Percent of Lower Level Non-Florida Residents Distance Learning Pool 94.15% 95.10% 93.10%

Percent of Upper Level Non-Florida Residents Distance Learning Pool 5.90% 4.90% 6.90%

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

27,616.50           28,031.40           28,592.10             29,163.60             29,745.60             

25,710.08           26,096.34           26,618.33             27,150.38             27,692.20             

1,906.42              1,935.06              1,973.77               2,013.22               2,053.40               

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

5.0% 10.0% 15.0% 20.0% 25.0%

5.0% 10.0% 15.0% 20.0% 25.0%

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

1,380.82              2,803.14              4,288.82               5,832.72               7,436.40               

1,285.50              2,609.63              3,992.75               5,430.08               6,923.05               

95.32                   193.51                 296.07                  402.64                  513.35                  

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Tuition  $        82.78  $         82.78  $                        82.78  $        82.78 

Out of State Fee  $      248.33  $       248.33  $                      248.33  $      248.33 

Student Financial Aid Fee  $        16.56  $         16.56  $                        16.56  $        16.56 

Student Activity Fee  $          8.28  $            8.28  $                          8.28  $          8.28 

Capital Improvement Fee  $        27.00  $         27.00  $                        27.00  $        27.00 

Technology Fee  $        16.56  $         16.56  $                        16.56  $        16.56 

Distance Learning Fee  $        15.00  $         15.00  $                        15.00  $        15.00 

Total 414.51$      414.51$       414.51$                      414.51$      

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Tuition 91.79$        91.79$          91.79$                        91.79$        

Out of State Fee 357.00$      357.00$       357.00$                      357.00$      

Student Financial Aid Fee 22.44$        22.44$          22.44$                        22.44$        

Student Activity Fee 9.18$           9.18$            9.18$                           9.18$           

Capital Improvement Fee 30.12$        30.12$          30.12$                        30.12$        

Technology Fee 22.44$        22.44$          22.44$                        22.44$        

Distance Learning Fee  $        15.00  $         15.00  $                        15.00  $        15.00 

Total 547.97$      547.97$       547.97$                      547.97$      

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

414.51$               414.51$               414.51$                414.51$                414.51$                

547.97$               547.97$               547.97$                547.97$                547.97$                

Maximum Cost per Credit Hour of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning = $290

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

(124.51)$             (124.51)$             (124.51)$               (124.51)$               (124.51)$               

(257.97)$             (257.97)$             (257.97)$               (257.97)$               (257.97)$               

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

(184,647.31)$     (374,844.80)$     (573,514.48)$       (779,968.30)$       (994,417.86)$       

(160,057.61)$     (324,925.03)$     (497,137.30)$       (676,099.26)$       (861,988.96)$       

(24,589.70)$        (49,919.77)$        (76,377.18)$         (103,869.04)$       (132,428.90)$       

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Projected FTE

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Upper Level Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Upper

Credit Hours in Pilot Distance Learning Program by Lower and Upper

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning

Lower

Upper

Upper

Estimation of FTE Participation

Participation Rates in Pilot Distance Learning Program by Lower and Upper

Lower

Calculation of Credit Hours

Conversion of FTE to Credit Hours

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Estimation of Non-Florida Distance Learning Pool FTE Projections

DOE FTE Projections with College Adjustments

Adjustment Factors for Ratios of Distance Learning to Projections

Adjustment Factors

Assumed Ratio for Projections

Split of Credit Hours by Level

Split of Credit Hours by Lower and Upper

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Lower

Upper

Impact of $290 Maximum Cost per Credit Hours by Upper and Lower

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pilot

Lower

Upper

Pilot Distance Learning Program Cost

Lower Level Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Lower

Cost Differential of Distance Learning per Credit Hour and $290 Maximum

Lower

Upper
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Polk State College

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL FTE-1A FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

Number of Total FTE Students 6,081.70     5,473.60      5,190.40                     5,001.00     5,528.00              5,781.00              5,933.00               5,958.00               6,028.00               

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 3,372.13     2,415.33      2,237.43                     

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 93.63           114.27          99.97                           

Sum of Florida and Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 3,465.77     2,529.60      2,337.40                     

Unknown Distance Learning FTE 1,043.70     649.63          584.10                        

Ratio of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning to Sum of Florida and Non-Florida FTE 2.70% 4.52% 4.28%

Percentage of Unknown Distance Learning Assumed to be Non-Florida Residents 2.70% 4.52% 4.28%

Unknown Distance Learning Assumed to be Non-Florida Residents FTE 28.20           29.35            24.98                           

Assumed Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool 121.83        143.62          124.95                        

Ratio of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool to FTE Students 2.00% 2.62% 2.41%

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

2.41% 2.41% 2.41% 2.41% 2.41% 2.41%

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

120.39        133.08                 139.17                 142.83                  143.43                  145.11                  

1 FTE = 30 Credit Hours

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

3,992.40              4,175.10              4,284.90               4,302.90               4,353.30               

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Percent of Lower Level Non-Florida Residents Distance Learning Pool 85.11% 83.30% 81.90%

Percent of Upper Level Non-Florida Residents Distance Learning Pool 14.90% 16.70% 18.10%

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

3,992.40              4,175.10              4,284.90               4,302.90               4,353.30               

3,269.92              3,419.56              3,509.49               3,524.23               3,565.51               

722.48                 755.54                 775.41                  778.67                  787.79                  

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

5.0% 10.0% 15.0% 20.0% 25.0%

5.0% 10.0% 15.0% 20.0% 25.0%

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

199.62                 417.51                 642.73                  860.58                  1,088.33               

163.50                 341.96                 526.42                  704.85                  891.38                  

36.12                   75.55                   116.31                  155.73                  196.95                  

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Tuition  $        82.78  $         82.78  $                        82.78  $        82.78 

Out of State Fee  $      248.33  $       248.33  $                      248.33  $      248.33 

Student Financial Aid Fee  $        16.56  $         16.56  $                        16.56  $        16.56 

Student Activity Fee  $          8.28  $            8.28  $                          8.28  $          8.28 

Capital Improvement Fee  $        35.55  $         35.55  $                        35.55  $        35.55 

Technology Fee  $        16.56  $         16.56  $                        16.56  $        16.56 

Distance Learning Fee  $               -    $                -    $                               -    $               -   

Total 408.06$      408.06$       408.06$                      408.06$      

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Tuition 91.79$        91.79$          91.79$                        91.79$        

Out of State Fee 289.31$      289.31$       289.31$                      289.31$      

Student Financial Aid Fee 19.06$        19.06$          19.06$                        19.06$        

Student Activity Fee 9.18$           9.18$            9.18$                           9.18$           

Capital Improvement Fee 40.30$        40.30$          40.30$                        40.30$        

Technology Fee 19.06$        19.06$          19.06$                        19.06$        

Distance Learning Fee  $               -    $                -    $                               -    $               -   

Total 468.70$      468.70$       468.70$                      468.70$      

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

408.06$               408.06$               408.06$                408.06$                408.06$                

468.70$               468.70$               468.70$                468.70$                468.70$                

Maximum Cost per Credit Hour of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning = $290

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

(118.06)$             (118.06)$             (118.06)$               (118.06)$               (118.06)$               

(178.70)$             (178.70)$             (178.70)$               (178.70)$               (178.70)$               

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

(25,757.45)$        (53,872.59)$        (82,933.75)$         (111,043.54)$       (140,431.29)$       

(19,302.81)$        (40,371.80)$        (62,149.15)$         (83,214.59)$         (105,236.32)$       

(6,454.64)$          (13,500.79)$        (20,784.60)$         (27,828.95)$         (35,194.97)$         

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Estimation of Non-Florida Distance Learning Pool FTE Projections

DOE FTE Projections with College Adjustments

Adjustment Factors for Ratios of Distance Learning to Projections

Adjustment Factors

Assumed Ratio for Projections

Participation Rates in Pilot Distance Learning Program by Lower and Upper

Projected FTE

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Calculation of Credit Hours

Conversion of FTE to Credit Hours

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Split of Credit Hours by Level

Split of Credit Hours by Lower and Upper

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Lower

Upper

Estimation of FTE Participation

Upper

Lower

Upper

Credit Hours in Pilot Distance Learning Program by Lower and Upper

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning

Lower

Upper

Pilot Distance Learning Program Cost

Lower Level Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Upper Level Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Lower

Upper

Cost Differential of Distance Learning per Credit Hour and $290 Maximum

Lower

Upper

Impact of $290 Maximum Cost per Credit Hours by Upper and Lower

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pilot

Lower
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Tallahassee Community College

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL FTE-1A FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

Number of Total FTE Students 8,596.40     9,043.70      8,985.60                     9,778.00     10,142.00           10,351.00           10,537.00             10,740.00             10,938.00             

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 4,806.70     3,432.13      3,427.20                     

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 274.03        182.50          126.53                        

Sum of Florida and Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning FTE 5,080.73     3,614.63      3,553.73                     

Unknown Distance Learning FTE 237.43        189.80          212.30                        

Ratio of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning to Sum of Florida and Non-Florida FTE 5.39% 5.05% 3.56%

Percentage of Unknown Distance Learning Assumed to be Non-Florida Residents 5.39% 5.05% 3.56%

Unknown Distance Learning Assumed to be Non-Florida Residents FTE 12.81           9.58              7.56                             

Assumed Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool 286.84        192.08          134.09                        

Ratio of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool to FTE Students 3.34% 2.12% 1.49%

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

1.49% 1.49% 1.49% 1.49% 1.49% 1.49%

FY 2023-24 FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

145.91        151.35                 154.47                 157.24                  160.27                  163.23                  

1 FTE = 30 Credit Hours

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

4,540.50              4,634.10              4,717.20               4,808.10               4,896.90               

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Percent of Lower Level Non-Florida Residents Distance Learning Pool 99.51% 99.30% 99.39%

Percent of Upper Level Non-Florida Residents Distance Learning Pool 0.50% 0.70% 0.61%

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

4,540.50              4,634.10              4,717.20               4,808.10               4,896.90               

4,512.60              4,605.63              4,688.21               4,778.56               4,866.81               

27.90                   28.47                   28.99                     29.54                     30.09                     

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

5.0% 10.0% 15.0% 20.0% 25.0%

5.0% 10.0% 15.0% 20.0% 25.0%

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

227.03                 463.41                 707.58                  961.62                  1,224.22               

225.63                 460.56                 703.23                  955.71                  1,216.70               

1.40                     2.85                     4.35                       5.91                       7.52                       

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Tuition  $        76.80  $         76.80  $                        76.80  $        76.80 

Out of State Fee  $      230.40  $       230.40  $                      230.40  $      230.40 

Student Financial Aid Fee  $        15.36  $         15.36  $                        15.36  $        15.36 

Student Activity Fee  $          5.35  $            5.35  $                          5.35  $          5.35 

Capital Improvement Fee  $        44.00  $         44.00  $                        44.00  $        44.00 

Technology Fee  $        15.36  $         15.36  $                        15.36  $        15.36 

Distance Learning Fee  $        10.00  $         10.00  $                        10.00  $        10.00 

Total 397.27$      397.27$       397.27$                      397.27$      

FY 2020-21 FY 2021-22 FY 2022-23 FY 2023-24

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

Tuition 91.79$        91.79$          91.79$                        91.79$        

Out of State Fee 275.37$      275.37$       275.37$                      275.37$      

Student Financial Aid Fee 18.36$        18.36$          18.36$                        18.36$        

Student Activity Fee 9.18$           9.18$            9.18$                           9.18$           

Capital Improvement Fee 73.43$        73.43$          73.43$                        73.43$        

Technology Fee 18.36$        18.36$          18.36$                        18.36$        

Distance Learning Fee  $        10.00  $         10.00  $                        10.00  $        10.00 

Total 496.49$      496.49$       496.49$                      496.49$      

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

397.27$               397.27$               397.27$                397.27$                397.27$                

496.49$               496.49$               496.49$                496.49$                496.49$                

Maximum Cost per Credit Hour of Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning = $290

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

(107.27)$             (107.27)$             (107.27)$               (107.27)$               (107.27)$               

(206.49)$             (206.49)$             (206.49)$               (206.49)$               (206.49)$               

FY 2024-25 FY 2025-26 FY 2026-27 FY 2027-28 FY 2028-29

(24,492.42)$        (49,992.77)$        (76,333.71)$         (103,739.37)$       (132,068.21)$       

(24,203.33)$        (49,404.27)$        (75,435.48)$         (102,519.01)$       (130,515.41)$       

(289.09)$             (588.50)$             (898.23)$               (1,220.36)$           (1,552.80)$           

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Estimation of Non-Florida Distance Learning Pool FTE Projections

DOE FTE Projections with College Adjustments

Adjustment Factors for Ratios of Distance Learning to Projections

Adjustment Factors

Assumed Ratio for Projections

Participation Rates in Pilot Distance Learning Program by Lower and Upper

Projected FTE

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Calculation of Credit Hours

Conversion of FTE to Credit Hours

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Split of Credit Hours by Level

Split of Credit Hours by Lower and Upper

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pool

Lower

Upper

Estimation of FTE Participation

Upper

Lower

Upper

Credit Hours in Pilot Distance Learning Program by Lower and Upper

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning

Lower

Upper

Pilot Distance Learning Program Cost

Lower Level Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Upper Level Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Distance Learning Cost per Credit Hour

Lower

Upper

Cost Differential of Distance Learning per Credit Hour and $290 Maximum

Lower

Upper

Impact of $290 Maximum Cost per Credit Hours by Upper and Lower

Non-Florida Resident Distance Learning Pilot

Lower
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Counties’ Medicaid Share  
Issue:  County Contributions to Medicaid 
Bill Number(s):  HB5003 - Section 30 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Leek  
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  05/22/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Per s. 409.915 (1), F.S., the term “state Medicaid expenditures” means those expenditures used as matching 

funds for the federal Medicaid program. Section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida redefined "state Medicaid 
expenditures" to "not include funds specifically assessed by any local governmental entity and used as the nonfederal share for 
the hospital directed payment program after July 1, 2021. This paragraph expires July 1, 2024. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  Section 30 of HB 5003 extends the expiration date of section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida by one 

year to July 1, 2025. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
January 8, 2024 Social Services Estimating Conference Long-term Medicaid Services and Expenditures Forecast 
January 16, 2024 Revenue Estimating Conference General revenue Fund: Table 24 Counties’ Medicaid Share 
FY 2021-2022 AHCA Medicaid Reconciliation-July 2021 - June 2022 INCLUDING CF as of 09312022 report 
FY 2022-2023 AHCA Medicaid Reconciliation - July 2022 - June 2023 Including CF - 10-26-2023 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
By subtracting the FY 2021-22 and FY 2022-23  Hospital Direct Payment Program state expenditures in the AHCA Reconciliation 
report from the total state Medicaid expenditures for those fiscal years, the new FY 2024-25 Counties’ Medicaid Share is calculated 
using this revised state Medicaid expenditures definition under HB 5003 S. 30. (See attached) 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   $(0.5) $0   

2025-26   $(0.6) $0   

2026-27   $(0.6) $0   

2027-28   $(0.6) $0   

2028-29   $(0.6) $0   

 
Revenue Distribution:  General Revenue 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed cash estimate and a recurring 
impact that is equal to cash for each year.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (0.5) (0.5) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.5) (0.5) 

2025-26 (0.6) (0.6) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.6) (0.6) 

2026-27 (0.6) (0.6) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.6) (0.6) 

2027-28 (0.6) (0.6) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.6) (0.6) 

2028-29 (0.6) (0.6) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.6) (0.6) 

 

x 
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SOCIAL SERVICES ESTIMATING CONFERENCE OF January 18, 2024

County Contributions to Medicaid per s. 409.915, F.S.

August 2023 

REC % Change % Chg

County 

Contribution FY January 2024 REC % Change

2023-24 311.9$          9.2% 2020-21 $9,589.7 2021-22* $10,474.4 9.2% $311.9 2023-24 311.9$                       9.2%

2024-25 369.2$          18.4% 2021-22 $11,061.1 2022-23 $13,038.1 17.9% $367.7 2024-25 367.7$                       17.9%

2025-26 413.2$          11.9% 2022-23 $13,038.1 2023-24 $14,675.2 12.6% $413.8 2025-26 413.8$                       12.6%

2026-27 433.8$          5.0% 2023-24 $14,675.2 2024-25 $15,594.2 6.3% $439.7 2026-27 439.7$                       6.3%

2027-28 445.7$          2.7% 2024-25 $15,594.2 2025-26 $16,248.3 4.2% $458.2 2027-28 458.2$                       4.2%

2028-29 456.6$          2.4% 2025-26 $16,248.3 2026-27 $16,827.7 3.6% $474.5 2028-29 474.5$                       3.6%

409.915 County contributions to Medicaid

(2)(a) For the 2013-2014 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution is $269.6 million.

(b) For the 2014-2015 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution is $277 million.

(c) By March 15, 2015, and each year thereafter, the Social Services Estimating Conference shall determine the percentage change in state Medicaid expenditures by

comparing expenditures for the 2 most recent completed state fiscal years.

(d) For the 2015-2016 state fiscal year through the 2019-2020 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution shall be the total contribution

for the prior fiscal year adjusted by 50 percent of the percentage change in the state Medicaid expenditures as determined by the SSEC.

(e) For each fiscal year after the 2019-2020 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution shall be the total contribution for the prior fiscal year 

adjusted by the percentage change in the state Medicaid expenditures as determined by the Social Services Estimating Conference.

* Section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida redefined "state Mediciad expenditures" to "not include funds specifically assessed by any local governmental entity

 and used as the nonfederal share for the hospital directed payment program after July 1, 2021. This paragraph expires July 1, 2024”

NEW FORECAST

Completed SFY 1 

State Medicaid Exp

Completed SFY 2

State Medicaid Exp
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Budget Entity Category Title Sum of FY 20-21 Total FLAIR Expenditures including CF

PREPAID HEALTH PLANS - HDPP 586,637,349.44

1,168,474,273.00

Agency for Health Care Administration

Fiscal Year 2021 - 2022 Monthly Medicaid Reconciliation

July 2021 - September 2022 Expenditures by Fund from FLAIR
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Agency for Health Care Administration

Fiscal Year 2022 - 2023 Monthly Medicaid Reconciliation

July 2022 - September 2023 Expenditures by Fund from FLAIR Including CF

Budget Entity Category Title Category FID

FY 22-23 Total FLAIR 

Expenditures Including CF

PREPAID HP - HDPP 102675 339094 708,105,942.35

474001 1,346,918,699.63

FLAIR Exp by Category-Fund FY23 Page 3 of 5

Agency for Health Care Administration

Bureau of Financial Services

October 26, 2023
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Section 30 HB 5003  Change to County Contributions to Medicaid

SSEC CalculationJanuary 2024

FY 2021-22 11,061.1$  

FY 2022-23 13,038.1$  

Percent Change 17.9%

FY 2021-22 PREPAID HEALTH PLANS - HDPP (State Share) 586.6$       

FY 2022-23 PREPAID HEALTH PLANS - HDPP (State Share) 708.1$       

Change per Section 27 SB 2502

FY 2020-21 10,474.4$  

FY 2021-22 12,330.0$  

Percent Change 17.7%

FY 23-24 Contribution 311.9$       

FY 24-25 Contribution 367.7$       

FY 24-25 Revised Contribution per Section 30 SB 5003 367.2$       

Change (0.5)$          

515



SOCIAL SERVICES ESTIMATING CONFERENCE OF January 18, 2024

County Contributions to Medicaid per s. 409.915, F.S.

IMPACT

January 2024 

REC % Change % Chg

County 

Contribution FY May 2024 REC % Change

2023-24 311.9$          9.2% 2020-21 $9,589.7 2021-22* $10,474.4 9.2% $311.9 2023-24 311.9$                  9.2% -$                      

2024-25 367.7$          10.5% 2021-22** $10,474.4 2022-23** $12,330.0 17.7% $367.2 2024-25 367.2$                  17.7% (0.5)$                     

2025-26 413.8$          20.1% 2022-23 $13,038.1 2023-24 $14,675.2 12.6% $413.3 2025-26 413.3$                  12.6% (0.6)$                     

2026-27 439.7$          6.3% 2023-24 $14,675.2 2024-25 $15,594.2 6.3% $439.1 2026-27 439.1$                  6.3% (0.6)$                     

2027-28 458.2$          4.2% 2024-25 $15,594.2 2025-26 $16,248.3 4.2% $457.6 2027-28 457.6$                  4.2% (0.6)$                     

2028-29 474.5$          3.6% 2025-26 $16,248.3 2026-27 $16,827.7 3.6% $473.9 2028-29 473.9$                  3.6% (0.6)$                     

409.915 County contributions to Medicaid

(2)(a) For the 2013-2014 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution is $269.6 million.

(b) For the 2014-2015 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution is $277 million.

(c) By March 15, 2015, and each year thereafter, the Social Services Estimating Conference shall determine the percentage change in state Medicaid expenditures by

comparing expenditures for the 2 most recent completed state fiscal years.

(d) For the 2015-2016 state fiscal year through the 2019-2020 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution shall be the total contribution

for the prior fiscal year adjusted by 50 percent of the percentage change in the state Medicaid expenditures as determined by the SSEC.

(e) For each fiscal year after the 2019-2020 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties’ annual contribution shall be the total contribution for the prior fiscal year 

adjusted by the percentage change in the state Medicaid expenditures as determined by the Social Services Estimating Conference.

** Section 30 of HB 5003 extends the expiration date of section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida by one year to July 1, 2025.

S30.HB5003 

Completed SFY 1 

State Medicaid Exp

Completed SFY 2

State Medicaid Exp

* Section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida redefined "state Mediciad expenditures" to "not include funds specifically assessed by any local governmental entity

 and used as the nonfederal share for the hospital directed payment program after July 1, 2021. This paragraph expires July 1, 2024”

516



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Discretionary Sales Surtax 
Issue:  Hillsborough County Local Option Surtax 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 7073; HB 5001; HB 5003 
 

 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  CS/HB 7073 Section 29; HB 5001 Sections 281-284; HB 5003 Section 102 
Sponsor(s):  Representative Leek, Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  7/1/2024 for CS/HB 7073; upon becoming law for HB 5001 Sections 281-284 and HB 5003 Section 102 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  05/22/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  In March 2021, the Florida Supreme Court held that a Hillsborough County voter-approved one-cent sales tax in a 

charter amendment under section 212.055(1), Florida Statutes, for a variety of specific transportation projects was 
unconstitutional.1  No remedy was provided by the Court for the disposition of the previously collected surtax.  Hillsborough 
County filed a motion for supplemental relief in Hillsborough County Circuit Court.  The request was denied in March 2022, 
noting “avenues for distributing or using those funds is under consideration in the Legislature.”2  Section 155 of Chapter 2022-
156, Laws of Florida, specified that any funds associated with the lawsuit were to be transferred to Department of Revenue 
(DOR) to be deposited in a separate account in the Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing Trust Fund.  On July 7, 2022, the 
Hillsborough County Circuit Court issued a final judgement that ordered the Hillsborough County Clerk of the Court to collect 
and transfer all surtax revenues received under the invalid surtax to DOR.3  The Clerk of the Court for Hillsborough County 
transferred a total of $569,782,843.94 to DOR by August 2022.  A class action lawsuit was filed in Leon County shortly after the 
Supreme Court’s decision in 2021,4 which is pending final adjudication. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  Section 29 of CS/HB 7073 specifies that if a discretionary sales surtax has been collected, but not expended, 

any county, municipality, school board, or other entity that received funds from such surtax must transfer the surtax proceeds, 
along with any interest earned upon such proceeds, to DOR within 60 days from the date of the final adjudication.  DOR must 
deposit all amounts received in a separate account in the Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing Trust Fund to be held in reserve for 
appropriation in the General Appropriations Act that takes effect on the July 1 immediately following the transfer of such funds 
to DOR. 
 
Contingent upon CS/HB 7073 becoming law and final approval of a settlement agreement by a court of competent jurisdiction, 
sections 281 through 284 of HB 5001 (Fiscal Year 2024-25 General Appropriations Act) specify a disposition of the funds held in 
reserve in the Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing Trust Fund, along with any interest earned from such funds.  Section 281 
requires DOR to transfer $256,402,280 to the State Transportation Trust Fund in Fiscal Year 2023-24 for the purposes of 
resurfacing the county road system or the city street system within Hillsborough County.  Section 282 requires DOR to transfer 
$170,934,853 to a Qualified Settlement Fund with a claims administrator specifically appointed by a court of competent 
jurisdiction 1) to reimburse for legal fees and expenses and other allowable costs; 2) to reimburse for costs related to providing 
notice of the settlement, including a website, to persons who paid the discretionary sales surtax that was found to be invalid; 3) 
for processing valid refund claims related to the discretionary sales surtax that was found to be invalid on or before December 
31, 2024.  Any unused funds remaining in the Qualified Settlement Fund after all authorized purposes are complete must be 
returned to DOR as provided in the settlement agreement. DOR shall deposit such funds in the separate account for 
Hillsborough County within the Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing Trust Fund to implement the temporary suspension of 
surtaxes authorized in section 212.054(9)(b), Florida Statutes.  Section 283 requires the Chief Financial Officer to transfer 
$19,465,394 from the interest earnings in the General Revenue Fund associated with the Hillsborough County discretionary 
sales surtax proceeds to the separate account for Hillsborough County established within the Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing 
Trust Fund.  Section 284 provides an appropriation of $161,911,105 in Fiscal Year 2024-25 for DOR to implement the temporary 
suspension of surtaxes authorized in section 212.054(9)(b), Florida Statutes. 
 
To implement section 284 of HB 5001, section 102 of HB 5003 specifies that DOR shall retain interest earnings associated with 

                                                      
1 Robert Emerson, et al. vs. Hillsborough County, Florida, etc., et al., No. SC2019-1250 (Fla.) and Stacy White vs. Hillsborough 
County, Florida, etc., et al., No. SC2019-1343 (Fla.). 
2 Stacy White v. Hillsborough County, Case No. 18-CA-011749 (13th Cir. 2018); Final Order Denying Defendants’ Post-Judgment 
Motion for Supplemental Relief; March 25, 2022. 
3 Stacy White v. Hillsborough County, Case No. 18-CA-011749 (13th Cir. 2018); Final Judgment on Supplemental Relief Claim; July 7, 
2022. 
4 Robert Emerson vs. Florida Department of Revenue and Hillsborough County (2021 CA 000487, 2nd Cir. 2021). 

X 

 

517



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Discretionary Sales Surtax 
Issue:  Hillsborough County Local Option Surtax 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 7073; HB 5001; HB 5003 
 

 

the funds held in the separate account for Hillsborough County established within the Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing Trust 
Fund to be used to implement the temporary suspension of surtaxes authorized in s. 212.054(9)(b), Florida Statutes. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
CS/HB 7073 Staff Bill Analysis 
DFS Division of Treasury calculation of Interest Earnings 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Sections 281 through 284 of the Fiscal Year 2024-25 General Appropriations Act appropriate all $589.2 million of the surtax revenues 
in the Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing Trust Fund, including the $19.5 million in interest earnings to be transferred from the 
unallocated General Revenue Fund, and as such, are considered to be expenditures rather than revenue adjustments. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 
GR 

High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0.0 0.0   

2025-26   0.0 0.0   

2026-27   0.0 0.0   

2027-28   0.0 0.0   

2028-29   0.0 0.0   

 

 
TFs 

High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0.0 0.0   

2025-26   0.0 0.0   

2026-27   0.0 0.0   

2027-28   0.0 0.0   

2028-29   0.0 0.0   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
General Revenue Fund, State Transportation Trust Fund, Discretionary Sales Surtax Clearing Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.   
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Documentary Stamp Tax 
Issue:  Exemption for Alarm System Contractors 
Bill Number(s): CS/HB7073, Sections 20 and 21 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Sections 20 and 21 
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1st, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  January 26th, 2024 
                                                         May 22nd, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Notes given as payment for alarm systems are taxable at the Documentary Stamp Notes Tax Rate of 35¢ per $100 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  The proposed language exempts non-interest-bearing notes from the documentary stamp tax so long as 

they are less than $3,500 and made as payment to an alarm systems contractor in connection with the sale of an alarm system, 
using the definitions of “alarm system contractor” and “alarm system” from s.489.505 F.S. This language repeals itself on June 
30th, 2027 unless reenacted by the legislature. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Department of Revenue Tax Return Data 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The impact to this bill from the 2023 session incorrectly states the Documentary Stamp Notes Tax Rate as being 35¢ per $1,000 
instead of per $100. Correcting for this necessitates some change in methodology, especially given the overall confidence in the 
adopted impact (based on confidential discussions with industry members). 
 
Assumptions:  

 NAICS 561621: Security System Services (except Locksmiths) will contain the bulk of eligible entities. 

 NAICS 238210: Electrical and Other Wiring Installation Contractions will contain a small number of eligible entities. 

 The $3,500 cap is irrelevant as there is no limit to the number of such notes that can be used to finance a single alarm 
system project. 

 This payment system is in effect in all the major industry players and is assumed to be mirrored by the smaller players. 
 
For the Middle, the estimate begins by pulling all entities in the two given NAICS (561621 and 238210) from the DOR tax return 
database.  

1. It then takes all entities (by business partner, a unique registration identifier) in that pool and include all their other 
locations from the sales tax data. This is how it estimates alarm system installation from “non-primary” entities.  

2. Using this new expanded pool of businesses, it sums reported gross sales by pool section, one section for each given NAICS 
and one section for all the estimated non-primary activity.  

3. It assigns Qualification Rates to each section, for each impact. Qualification Rates are the percent of sales in each section 
capable of being packaged into a note. For the 2023 impact, much discussion was given to the qualification rates. The 
overall sentiment was that they were too high but produced a reasonable estimate. After correcting for the erroneous rate, 
this estimate can lower the qualification rates while keeping the impact within the analyst’s expected range. 

a. The qualification rate in the middle is derived in last years impact. Keeping the 2023 adopted impact constant, 
while correcting the tax rate, creates the proposed qualification rates. 

4. Arriving at the impact from here is arithmetic: 
a. Dividing by the $3,500 cap gives up the number of notes equivalent to the qualifying gross sales. 
b. $12.25 is the Notes Tax due on a $3,500 note. 

𝑌𝑒𝑎𝑟 1 𝐼𝑚𝑝𝑎𝑐𝑡 =  
𝐹𝑌23 𝐺𝑟𝑜𝑠𝑠 𝑆𝑎𝑙𝑒𝑠 × 𝑄𝑢𝑎𝑙𝑖𝑓𝑖𝑐𝑎𝑡𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝑅𝑎𝑡𝑒

$3,500 𝐶𝑎𝑝
× $12.25 

5. The year 1 impact is grown by the Forecasted Docstamp growth rate from the January 2024 GR Conference. 

6. First year cash is 51
52⁄  recurring to account for the 1-week lag in collection.  

7. The impact ends in FY2026-27 due to the repeal date in Section 21. 
8. When this impact was discussed during session, alternative high and low estimates were presented. The conference 

adopted the middle without modification, so for simplicity of presentation, only that methodology is considered here.  
 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Documentary Stamp Tax 
Issue:  Exemption for Alarm System Contractors 
Bill Number(s): CS/HB7073, Sections 20 and 21 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   $(1.72) M    

2025-26   $(1.83) M    

2026-27   $(1.89) M    

2027-28       

2028-29       

 
Revenue Distribution: Documentary Stamp Tax 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2023-24 (0.7) 0.0  (1.0) 0.0  0.0  0.0  (1.7) 0.0  

2024-25 (1.0) 0.0  (0.8) 0.0  0.0  0.0  (1.8) 0.0  

2025-26 (1.0) 0.0  (0.9) 0.0  0.0  0.0  (1.9) 0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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CS/HB7073, Sections 20 and 21 Measures Analysis Exemption for Alarm System Contractors

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

A B C D E F G H

2023 Entities

1,379                  

1,192                  

81                       

Cash Recurring

2024-25 6.3%  $                   (1.72)

2025-26 4.3%  $                   (1.83)

2026-27 3.2%  $                   (1.89)

2027-28 3.1%

2028-29 3.0%

Number of Equivalent Notes * $12.25

MiddleNAICS

1,363,659.40$                                 

65,418.00$                                       

Middle

389,616,972.14$                             

2023 Gross Sales * Qualification Rates

Other

NAICS

561621

238210

Other

Other 26,644.78                                         

5,340.24                                           238210

561621

93,256,736.06$                               

NAICS

Sales Pulled in by Qualification Rates / $3,500

Middle

Qualification Rate 

9.04%

Rate: 35¢ per $100

Sales Pulled in by Qualification Rates

Middle

18,690,857.50$                               

Number of Equivalent Notes

561621

238210

Other

NAICS

Other

Jan GR Adopted 

Docstamp Rates

Year 1 Docstamp Impact

326,398.58$                                     

1,755,475.98$                                 

561621

238210

111,319.13                                       

Impact of one $3,500 Note
100's in 3500: 35 Notes tax due: $12.25

Other Associated NAICS Dragged into the Analysis 1,308,135,815$                               

0.70%

7.13%

Middle

Inputs From Sales Tax Data
Description 2023 Gross Sales

Security Systems Services (except Locksmiths) 4,311,479,592$                               
Electrical and Other Wiring Installation Contractors 2,659,268,503$                               

NAICS

561621

238210
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CS/HB7073, Sections 20 and 21 Measures Analysis Exemption for Alarm System Contractors

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

I J K L M N O P

2021 Entities

1,286                 

711                     

312                     

Cash Recurring

 $                   (1.47)  $                   (1.47)

This section is necessary to correct an error in tax rate from last year's impact. After correcting the rate, the below qulification rates 

arrive at the adopted impact. 

1,469,878.94$                                 

Adopted First Year Feb 2023

238210 48,394.82$                                      

Other 298,116.87$                                    

NAICS Feb 2023 Adopted

561621 1,123,367.25$                                 

Number of Equivalent Notes * $12.25

Year 1 Docstamp Impact

238210 3,950.60                                           

Other 24,336.07                                         

NAICS Adopted Equivalent

561621 91,703.45                                         

Other 85,176,248.57$                               

Number of Equivalent Notes
Sales Pulled in by Qualification Rates / $3,500

561621 320,962,071.43$                            

238210 13,827,091.43$                               

NAICS Adopted Equivalent

Sales Pulled in by Qualification Rates
2021 Gross Sales * Qualification Rates

238210 0.70%

Other 7.13%

NAICS

Inputs From Sales Tax Data
NAICS Description 2021 Gross Sales

3,551,748,306$                               

Adopted Equivalent

561621 9.04%

Qualification Rate 

238210 Electrical and Other Wiring Installation Contractors 1,967,269,224$                               

Other Other Associated NAICS Dragged into the Analysis 1,194,788,774$                               

561621 Security Systems Services (except Locksmiths)

522



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Highway Safety Fees 
Issue:  Salvaged Vessels 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 1350 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 1 
Sponsor(s):  Senator DeCeglie 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  07/01/2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  05/22/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Section 319.30, F.S. defines terms and sets rules for the salvage (dismantling or destruction) of motor vehicles and 

motor homes. Section 319.32, F.S. charges a $2 fee for each salvage certificate of title to be deposited into the General Revenue 
Fund. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  Section 319.30, F.S. is revised to include vessels in definitions and rules for the salvage titles. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Highway Safety Revenue Estimating Conference held 01/03/2024 and Conference History 
Email contact with HSMV staff. 
HSMV Revenue Report for FY 2021-22 
HSMV Agency Bill Review for CS SB 1350 prepared 01/11/2024 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
There will be a positive impact to GR from vessels now paying the $2 salvage title fee.  The FY 2022-23 $2 salvage title fee on 
automobiles was emailed from HSMV staff.  This amount was grown by the title fees growth rate from the most recent Highway 
Safety REC.  The FY 2022-23 percent vessels represent of automobiles was then used to project the $2 salvage title fee collections 
from vessels.  The first year cash is adjusted for a half month lag. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

GR 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0.6 0.6   

2025-26   0.6 0.6   

2026-27   0.6 0.6   

2027-28   0.6 0.6   

2028-29   0.6 0.6   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
GR 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.6  0.6  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.6  0.6  

2025-26 0.6  0.6  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.6  0.6  

2026-27 0.6  0.6  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.6  0.6  

2027-28 0.6  0.6  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.6  0.6  

2028-29 0.6  0.6  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.6  0.6  

 

X 
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1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

A B C D E

FY 2022-23 Data (HSMV History File)

Private Autos 13,114,136       

Trucks , 10,000 lbs 1,238,799         

For-Hire Autos 1,630,563         

Other Less Vessels & Trailers 1,192,414         

Total Autos 17,175,912       

Vessels 1,446,048         

% Vessels of Autos 8.4%

Impact Calcs

$2 Salvage 

Titles on Autos

Title Growth 

Rates

Projected $2 

Salvage Titles 

on Vessels

First Year Cash

2022-2023  $      6,849,749 

2023-2024  $      6,875,457 0.4%

2024-2025  $      6,944,867 1.0% 584,692$          560,329$          

2025-2026  $      7,015,562 1.0% 590,643$          

2026-2027  $      7,070,833 0.8% 595,297$          

2027-2028  $      7,110,680 0.6% 598,651$          

2028-2029  $      7,144,099 0.5% 601,465$          
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  School Bus Traffic Violations 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS SB994 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 2 
Sponsor(s):  Senator Burgess 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  Upon Becoming Law 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  05/22/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Section 318.18(5)(c), F.S. charges a $65 penalty for a violation of section 316.172(1)(a) or (b), F.S. to be deposited 

into the Emergency Medical Services Trust Fund of the department of Health.  If the violation is enforced by a school bus 
infraction detection system, the $65 fine is reduced to $25. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  Section 318.18(5)(c), F.S. is revised so that if a violation of 316.172(1)(a) or (b), F.S. is enforced by a school 

bus infraction detection system, the $25 fine is instead remitted to the participating school district. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Email contact with staff from DOR 
CS/CS SB 994 Staff Analysis prepared by Committee on Fiscal Policy on 02/20/2024 
Clerks 2023 Distribution Schedule of Fees, Charges, Costs, and Fines 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The bill redirects a $25 penalty from the DOH EMS Trust Fund to local school funds.  The redirection only occurs when the violation 
of failure to stop for a school bus is enforced by a school bus infraction detection system.  There is no explicit forecast of the $25 
penalty in any revenue estimating conference.  According to DOR staff, at this time no fines have been collected via enforcement by 
a school bus infraction detection system.  Therefore, the impact to state trust is zero/negative indeterminate while the impact to 
local fund is zero/positive indeterminate. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

Trust 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2025-26   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2026-27   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2027-28   0/(**) 0/(**)   

2028-29   0/(**) 0/(**)   

 

Local 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0/** 0/**   

2025-26   0/** 0/**   

2026-27   0/** 0/**   

2027-28   0/** 0/**   

2028-29   0/** 0/**   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
Emergency Medical Services Trust Fund 
Local School District Funds 
  

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  School Bus Traffic Violations 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS SB994 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted a negative indeterminate to state trust fund and 
positive indeterminate to local.        
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  **  **  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  **  **  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  **  **  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  **  **  0.0  0.0  

2028-29 (**)  (**)  (**)  (**)  **  **  0.0  0.0  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  State School Trust Fund  
Issue:  Unclaimed Property – Virtual Currency 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/CS/HB 989 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Sections 39, 40, 42 
Sponsor(s):  Representative Mooney 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  5/22/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  There is no definition of virtual currency in the unclaimed property chapter. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  (4) The bill adds a definition of virtual currency to unclaimed property law.  

 
 Defines virtual currency as digital units of exchange that: 

1. Have a centralized repository or administrator; 
2. Are decentralized and have no centralized repository or administrator; or  
3. May be created or obtained by computing or manufacturing effort. 

 
Does not include: 

1. Digital units that: 
a. Are used solely within online gaming platforms; 
b. Have no market or application outside of the online gaming platforms mentioned above; 
c. Can’t be converted into or redeemed for fiat currency or virtual currency; and  
d. Can’t be redeemed for real-world goods, services, discounts, or purchases. 

2. Digital units that can be redeemed for: 
a. Real-world goods, services, discounts, or purchase as part of a customer affinity or rewards program with the 

issuer or other designated merchants; or 
b. Digital units in another customer affinity or rewards program, but cannot be converted into, or redeemed for, 

fiat currency or virtual currency 
3. Digital units used as part of prepaid cards.  
 

All virtual currency reported under this chapter on the annual report filing required in s. 717.117 shall be remitted to the 
department with the report. The holder shall liquidate the virtual currency and remit the proceeds to the department. The 
liquidation must occur within 30 days before the filing of the report. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources:  
Unclaimed Property Department (Department) Data and Discussion 
 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
CS/CS/CS/HB 989 changes several sections of s.717.117. Most of the section changes are administrative and cover how unclaimed 
property is reported, collected, enforced, and distributed. Examples: include the dollar amount that must be reported with 
identifying information, when a stock or other equity interest is deemed unclaimed, removing the paper option for reporting, etc. 
After discussion with the Department, it appears that the only impact will come from the inclusion of virtual currency as unclaimed 
and the requirement that now financial firms must report them to the department. Currently, some financial institutions, but not all, 
report virtual currency to the Department. In 2022, $42,368 was reported to the Department. In 2023, $474,448.97 was reported to 
the Department. One firm, Coinbase, was responsible for 99% of the reported unclaimed property. It is likely with the increasing 
popularity of virtual currency that the amount of reported will increase and be a significant. However, the exact amount is difficult 
to estimate due to the newness of virtual currency and the limited data from the Department.   
 
 
 
 
 

 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  State School Trust Fund  
Issue:  Unclaimed Property – Virtual Currency 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/CS/HB 989 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25    **   

2025-26    **   

2026-27    **   

2027-28    **   

2028-29    **   

 
Revenue Distribution:  State School Trust Fund 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted a positive indeterminate impact.    
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Juvenile Justice Cost of Care Fee 
Issue:  Cost of Care Fee  
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 1425/Chapter No. 2024-133 
 
        Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 10  
Sponsor(s): House Judiciary Committee and Representative Yarkosky 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024  
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:   
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: The Florida Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) has four restrictiveness levels for youth based on assessed risk to 

public safety. Three of the four levels result in a residential placement in a facility and fall under DJJ’s Residential Services unit. 
The fourth, called minimum-risk nonresidential, is the least restrictive and falls under DJJ’s Probation and Community 
Intervention unit.  
 
The minimum-risk nonresidential level operates differently than the other three levels. While the three levels under the 
Residential Services unit result in a commitment to a facility, the minimum-risk nonresidential commitment level allows youth to 
stay at home in the community under supervision.    
 
When a child is placed under minimum-risk nonresidential, the court must order the parent to pay a cost of care fee of $1 per 
day. The $1 fee also applies for other types of community supervision, including probation. 
 

b.  Proposed Change:  The bill eliminates the minimum-risk nonresidential commitment level for youth.  
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources: 

 Email correspondence with the DJJ. 

 DJJ, Residential Services, available at: https://www.djj.state.fl.us/services/residential-services (last visited May 6, 2024).  

 DJJ, Probation Services Comprehensive Accountability Report 2022-23, available at: 
https://www.djj.state.fl.us/research/reports-and-data/research-reports/comprehensive-accountability-report (last visited 
May, 6, 2024).  

 Florida Senate, Bill Analysis and Impact Statement for CS/CS/SB 1352, available at: 
https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2024/1352/?Tab=Analyses (last visited May 21, 2024). 
 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details):  
Each year, there is a small number of youth under minimum-risk nonresidential (see summary statistics below). DJJ reported that the 
courts will likely order probation in almost all cases for youth who would have previously been under minimum-risk nonresidential. 
Probation has the same $1 fee as minimum-risk nonresidential, resulting in no anticipated revenue impact.  
 
There is a possibility that courts may classify these youth under a residential setting in a facility, which has a $5 fee per day. This 
could result in a positive insignificant impact.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

 

Min Max Mean Median

FY 2020-21 61 1 349 98.6 83.5

FY 2021-22 71 1 365 104.0 90.5

FY 2022-23 54 1 365 107.9 79.0

Days Served During FY

Minimum Risk Commitment

Fiscal Year Youth Served
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Juvenile Justice Cost of Care Fee 
Issue:  Cost of Care Fee  
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 1425/Chapter No. 2024-133 
 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 * * 0 0   

2025-26 * * 0 0   

2026-27 * * 0 0   

2027-28 * * 0 0   

2028-29 * * 0 0   

 
Revenue Distribution:  
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the middle estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue: Reciprocal Insurer 
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 1611 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Rep. Stevenson 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024  
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  May 22, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  “Reciprocal insurance” by definition is that resulting from an interexchange among persons, known as 

“subscribers,” of reciprocal agreements of indemnity, the interexchange being effectuated through an “attorney in fact” 
common to all such persons.1  
 
In other words, reciprocal insurance is an unincorporated organizational structure owned by its subscribers (policyholders) and 
managed by a third-party known as an attorney in fact.2 “The subscribers then assume one another’s risks by exchanging 
insurance contracts, so they are basically both the insurers and the insureds.”3 Common examples include Farmers Insurance 
and USAA. 
 
Under Florida’s reciprocal insurance law, an “attorney” or “attorney in fact” may be an individual, corporation, or other person.4 
 
Twenty-five or more persons domiciled in this state may organize a domestic reciprocal insurer and make application to the 
Office of Insurance Regulation for a certificate of authority to transact insurance.5 The application fee for a certificate of 
authority is $1,500.6 In addition, there is an annual license fee of $1,000 and a one-time permit fee of $25.7 
 
Florida law does not specifically address acquisitions of reciprocal insurers. However, since 2015 there have been 8 
acquisitions.8 The application fee is $1,500. 
 

b.  Proposed Change:  Sections 15, 16, and 19 of CS/CS/HB 1611 amend portions of Florida’s insurance code regarding reciprocal 
insurers. 

 
Section 15, Organization of Reciprocal Insurers, amends section 629.081, F.S., to specify the process in which a prospective 
reciprocal insurer follows to organize. It codifies how a permit must be obtained prior to application for a certificate of authority 
as well as necessary information to accompany the application, including articles of incorporation and background checks, for 
example.  
 
Section 16, Reciprocal Certificate of Authority, amends section 629.091, F.S., to specify what information must be submitted to 
the Office of Insurance Regulation by an attorney in fact as well as its subscribers during the application for a certificate of 
authority. 
 
Section 19, Acquisitions, creates section 629.225, F.S, to codify a process in which a reciprocal insurer may be acquired in 
Florida.  

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

Data was provided during a conversation with representatives from the Office of Insurance Regulation. 
 

                                                      
1 Section 629.011, F.S. 
2 Yates, Natalie Varnay, Reciprocal Insurance Exchange, U.S. News and World Report, Feb. 15, 2024, 
https://www.usnews.com/insurance/glossary/reciprocal-insurance-exchange (last visited May 9, 2024) 
3 Id. 
4 Section 629.061, F.S. 
5 Section 629.081, F.S. 
6 Section 624.501(1)(a), F.S. 
7 Section 624.501(3), F.S. 
8 Discussion with the Office of Insurance Regulation. 

 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue: Reciprocal Insurer 
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 1611 
 

 
Florida has experienced a significant increase in the reciprocal insurance market since 2021. Prior to 2021, there were 5 
reciprocal insurers in Florida. Since 2021, that number more than doubled to 11. 
 
Likewise, acquisitions of reciprocal insurers has substantially increased in recent years. There was one acquisition in 2015 
and one in 2016. Since 2020, there have been 6.  
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 

Based on discussions with the Office of Insurance Regulation changes made by the bill, including reference to fees (see line 
723 or 919), are codifying current law/current administration.  
 
Consequently, new entrants or entrants through acquisition will be subject to the same fees as those in effect prior to the 
law change. As a result, the proposed fiscal impact is zero. 
 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   $0 $0   

2025-26   $0 $0   

2026-27   $0 $0   

2027-28   $0 $0   

2028-29   $0 $0   

 
Revenue Distribution:  Insurance Regulatory Trust Fund 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Water Well Contractor License Application 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/SB 1136 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Sen. Trumbull 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  May 22, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

Section 373.323, F.S., requires that every person engaged in the construction, repair, or abandonment of water wells in the 
state first obtain a water well contractor license from a water management district (WMD). The applicant must apply to the 
WMD in which he or she resides or in which his or her principal place of business is located. Included with the application 
must be proof that the aspiring contractor has at least 2 years’ experience, as evidenced by a list of at least 10 water wells 
that the applicant has constructed, repaired, or abandoned within the last 5 years. A $150 fee must also be submitted with 
the initial licensure application. 
 

b.  Proposed Change:   
SB 1136 will change the proof of experience requirement for initial licensure such that applicants must demonstrate their 
experience in working on wells permitted in this state by submitting with the application a list of at least 10 water wells 
permitted in this state that the applicant has constructed, repaired, or abandoned within the last 5 years. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Correspondence and data from the Department of Environmental Protection 
Correspondence and data from the Northwest WMD 
Correspondence and data from the Southwest WMD 
Correspondence and data from the Suwannee River WMD 
Correspondence and data from the South Florida WMD 
Correspondence and data from the St. John’s WMD 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Since a list of wells is only required upon application for initial licensure, those renewing their licensure will not be affected 
by the changes made by the bill. The impact from this bill therefore will come from initial applicants no longer being able to 
qualify because they are only able to demonstrate their experience based on out-of-state wells. It is unknown how many 
future applicants who would have relied on their out-of-state experience may now be able to gain, or may now seek, 
experience in working on Florida wells to meet the required qualification standards. Based on conversations with WMD 
staff, it appears that the districts may currently be experiencing an atypical increase in the number of applicants with only 
out-of-state experience seeking licensure before the statutory changes take effect. 
 
The WMDs indicated that the number of applications vary slightly from year to year, without a distinct trend. Therefore, the 
proposed impact was calculated by averaging the number of licenses granted annually to applicants with out-of-state 
experience. Given the historical data (the highest number of licenses granted statewide based on out-of-state experience in 
any year within the last 3 years was 7), it is likely that the impact of applicants no longer being able to qualify will be 
negative insignificant. 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   (*) (*)   

2025-26   (*) (*)   

2026-27   (*) (*)   

2027-28   (*) (*)   

2028-29   (*) (*)   

 

 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Water Well Contractor License Application 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/SB 1136 
 
Revenue Distribution:   
Respective WMD general operating funds 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024):  The Conference adopted      
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  
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Initial license fee $150

Northwest WMD Applications submitted Licenses granted

Licenses granted based 

on out of state wells

2023 11 6 4

2022 3 2 1

2021 5 3 2

Southwest WMD (*data based on May 1 - April 30 cycle)

2023 6 10 0

2022 9 8 0

2021 12 9 0

Suwannee River WMD

2023 2 2 1

2022 4 4 0

2021 0 0 0

South Florida WMD

2023 8 8 1

2022 9 9 2

2021 12 11 1

St. John’s WMD

2023 12 8 1

2022 3 3 0

2021 6 5 1

Total

2023 39 34 7

2022 28 26 3

2021 35 28 4

Average 34 29 5

Estimated fees lost 

annually from applicants 

with out-of-state 

experience $750
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue: Vendor Transaction Fee  
Bill Number(s): HB 5003  

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 55 
Sponsor(s):  Representative Leek 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 2024   
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  May 22, 2024 

Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  MyFLoridaMarketplace is Florida’s online procurement system operated by Department of Management Services

(DMS). At the Marketplace, a vendor can register, receive solicitations by customers (i.e. a state agency or eligible user1),
manage their offerings, access invoices, etc.

Florida’s law allows DMS to impose and collect a fee for the use of the system in an amount sufficient to cover the projected
costs of the services, including administrative and project service costs in accordance with the policies of the DMS.2 The fee
established by rule is 1 percent.3

Payments to vendors by an agency are subject to the fee, unless otherwise exempted or excluded. An example of an exempt
transaction is one where a law requires the commodity or service be provided by a sole provider. An example of an exclusion is
when payment is made utilizing the State’s Purchasing Card program.

The legislature has regularly, as part of implementing an annual budget, reduced the transaction fee. In 8 of the last 9 years, the
transaction fee was set to 0.7 percent. See the table below.

FYE Chapter Law Section Rate Effective Period 

2024 2023-240 45 0.7 23-24
2023 2022-175 56 0.7 22-23
2022 N/A, Left at 1% 
2021 2020-101 125 0.7 20-21
2020 2019-101 66 0.7 19-20
2019 2018-25 48 0.7 18-19
2018 2017-75 27 0.7 17-18
2017 2016-51 73 0.7 16-17
2016 2015-225 44 0.7 Nov. 2015-July 2016 

b. Proposed Change:  The rate imposed on vendors is reduced from 1 percent to 0.7 percent for the 2024-2025 Fiscal Year.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
MyFloridaMarketPlace: https://www.dms.myflorida.com/business_operations/state_purchasing/myfloridamarketplace 
DMS Schedule I; DMS Rules; Discussion with Senate Staff 

1 Chapter 60A-1.001, F.A.C. Eligible User means: United States government departments, commissions, agencies, and 
instrumentalities thereof, having a physical presence within the State of Florida; This state’s constitutional, judicial branch, and 
legislative branch entities, and instrumentalities thereof; Instrumentalities of this state’s executive branch agencies; State 
universities and colleges, their boards of trustees, and the board of governors, as described by Sections 1000.21, 1001.60 and 
1001.71, F.S., and instrumentalities thereof. Political subdivisions, including counties, cities, towns, villages and districts, as 
described by Section 1.01(8), F.S., and instrumentalities thereof; School districts, as described by Section 1001.30, F.S., and 
instrumentalities thereof; Independent, nonprofit colleges or universities located within the State of Florida and accredited by the 
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; For purposes of insurance contracts procured pursuant to Section 287.022, F.S., only 
state universities, as described by Section 1000.21, F.S., are eligible users. 
2 Section 287.057(24), F.S. 
3 60A-1.031 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue: Vendor Transaction Fee  
Bill Number(s): HB 5003  

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
To determine the amount of revenue at 1 percent, an estimate is derived from DMS’ Schedule I where, for each year other than 
2021-2022, the revenue presented is at 0.7 percent. The difference between 0.7 percent and 1 percent is the impact of the 
provision. The reduction is considered nonrecurring since the provision expires July 1, 2025. 

FYE @1% @0.7% Difference 
GR Service 

Charge 

2025   38,090,699   26,663,489   (11,427,210)    (914,177) 

2024   37,343,821   26,140,675   (11,203,146)    (896,252) 

2023   28,311,876   19,818,313     (8,493,563)    (679,485) 

2022   37,834,133   37,834,133  - -   

2021   45,459,709   31,821,796   (13,637,913)    (1,091,033) 

2020   29,764,951   20,835,466     (8,929,485)    (714,359) 

2019   25,538,954   17,877,268     (7,661,686)    (612,935) 

2018   26,986,851   18,890,796     (8,096,055)    (647,684) 

2017   26,856,669   18,799,668     (8,057,001)    (644,560) 

2016   35,732,827   25,012,979   (10,719,848)    (857,588) 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 $(11.4) $0 
2025-26 $0 $0 
2026-27 $0 $0 
2027-28 $0 $0 
2028-29 $0 $0 

Revenue Distribution:   
DMS Operating Trust Fund 
GR Service Charge 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 05/22/2024) The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. 

GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (0.9) 0.0 (10.5) 0.0 0.0 0.0 (11.4) 0.0 
2025-26 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2026-27 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2027-28 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2028-29 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Beverage, Corporate Income, Direct Sales, IPT and Severance 
Issue:  Strong Families Tax Credit Cap Increase 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB7073-Sections 45 - 46 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Sections 45-46 
Sponsor(s):  Representative McClain 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  May 22, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
 
a. Current Law:   

The Florida Tax Credit Scholarship Program (FTC) was established in 2001 through the provision of tax credits to corporate 
income taxpayers that contribute money to nonprofit Scholarship-Funding Organizations (SFOs). The SFOs award 
scholarships to students, with the greatest benefit going to families with limited financial resources. In 2009, the program 
was expanded to provide credits against the insurance premium tax. In 2010, the program was expanded again to provide 
tax credits against severance taxes on oil and gas production, self-accrued sales tax liabilities of direct pay permit holders, 
and alcoholic beverage taxes on beer, wine, and spirits. The applicable authorizing statutes are: 
 

• s. 211.0251, F.S., for Severance Taxes on oil and gas 
• s. 212.1831, F.S., for Sales and Use Taxes due from direct pay permit holders 
• s. 220.1875, F.S., for Corporate Income Tax 
• s. 561.1211, F.S., for Beverage Taxes on malt, wine, and liquor 
• s. 624.51055, F.S., for Insurance Premium Tax 

 
More recently, CS/HB 7055 became law on March 12, 2018 (Ch. 2018-6, L.O.F.). Section 3 of the bill created s. 212.1832, 
Florida Statutes, entitled “Credit for Contributions to the Hope Scholarship Program.” The program’s intent is to give the 
purchaser of a motor vehicle “…a credit of 100 percent of an eligible contribution made to an eligible nonprofit scholarship-
funding organization under s. 1002.40 against any tax imposed by the state and collected from the purchaser by a dealer, 
designated agent, or private tag agent as a result of the purchase or acquisition of a motor vehicle on or after October 1, 
2018.” The credit may not exceed the state tax that is actually imposed and is further limited to a maximum of $105 per 
motor vehicle. On behalf of the purchaser, the dealer, designated agent, or private tag agent makes the actual contribution 
to the SFO and applies the credit as part of its submission of taxes to the state. 
 
In addition, CS/HB 7055 established a second new program designated as the “Credit for Contributions to Eligible Nonprofit 
Scholarship Funding Organizations.” Any tenant or person occupying, using, or entitled to the use of any property for which 
the rental or license fee is subject to taxation under s. 212.031, F.S., may receive a credit against the tax imposed under that 
section that is equal to his or her monetary contribution to an SFO. Total credits are capped at $57.5 million per year on a 
first come, first-served basis. The tenant must apply to the Department of Revenue for the desired allocation of credits, by 
dealer if multiple locations and landlords are involved. The program has had low participation, with comments by 
interested parties indicating that the program is cumbersome to use.  
 
Finally, the associated reduction in tax revenue caused by the application of any of the credits described above must be 
apportioned in its entirety to the General Revenue Fund. 
 
In 2021, Ch. 2021-31, L.O.F. created the Strong Families Tax Credit, which provides a credit for 100% of an eligible 
contribution to an eligible charitable organization under s. 402.62, F.S., beginning January 1, 2022.  The eligible 
organizations provide services focused on child welfare and well-being.  It authorized tax credits dollar-for-dollar up to $5 
million annually against certain tax liabilities: 
 
• s. 211.02 or s. 211.025 F.S., for Severance Taxes on oil and gas 
• s. 212.183, F.S., for Sales and Use Taxes due from direct pay permit holders 
• s. 220.13, F.S., for Corporate Income Tax 
• s. 561.1211, F.S., for Beverage Taxes on malt, wine, and liquor 
• s. 624.51055, F.S., for Insurance Premium Tax 
 

x 
 

538

http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2024/Agenda/0216_Issue5.pdf#page=43


REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Beverage, Corporate Income, Direct Sales, IPT and Severance 
Issue:  Strong Families Tax Credit Cap Increase 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB7073-Sections 45 - 46 
 

Businesses applied to DOR beginning October 1, 2021, for an allocation of tax credit. The taxpayer must specify in the 
application each tax, a taxpayer may apply for a credit to be used for a prior taxable year before the date the taxpayer is 
required to file a return for that year pursuant to s. 220.222, F.S. For purposes of s. 624.51056, F.S., a taxpayer may apply 
for a credit to be used for a prior taxable year before the date the taxpayer is required to file a return for that year pursuant 
to s. 624.509, F.S., or s. 624.5092, F.S. The DOR is required to approve the tax credits on a first-come, first serve basis and 
must obtain the approval of the Division prior to approving an alcoholic beverage tax credit under s. 561.1212, F.S. 
 
In 2022, Ch. 2022-97, L.O.F. increased the cap from $5 million to $10 million beginning in FY 2022-23. 
 
In 2023, Ch. 2023-157, L.O.F. increased the cap from $10 million to $20 million beginning in FY 2023-24. 
 

b.  Proposed Change:  Amends s.402.62 (5), F.S.  The bill changes the requirements for an eligible charitable organization.  The bill 
adds organizations who provide services to at-risk families, removes those who provide books to certain families, and prohibits 
those who receive more than 50% of their revenue from a federal, state or local governmental agency (previously this 
requirement was limited to funding from DCF).  Finally, the bill increases the annual cap from $20 million to $40 million 
beginning in FY 2024-25. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
 
Scholarship Data from DOR – February 2024 
January 2024 General Revenue Conference 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 
The current forecast for the program from the General Revenue Conference is: 
 

 
 
The program reached its allocation caps in January of 2024 for both FY 2023-24 and FY 2024-25.  The analysis assumes the increased 
cap can be fully met within the first year of implementation.  
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   ($20m) ($20m)   
2025-26   ($20m) ($20m)   
2026-27   ($20m) ($20m)   
2027-28   ($20m) ($20m)   
2028-29   ($20m) ($20m)   

 
 
Revenue Distribution:  General Revenue only, with the same revenue forecast breakout as the January 2024 GR conference. 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Beverage, Corporate Income, Direct Sales, IPT and Severance 
Issue:  Strong Families Tax Credit Cap Increase 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB7073-Sections 45 - 46 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024)  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. 

GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (20.0) (20.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (20.0) (20.0) 
2025-26 (20.0) (20.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (20.0) (20.0) 
2026-27 (20.0) (20.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (20.0) (20.0) 
2027-28 (20.0) (20.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (20.0) (20.0) 
2028-29 (20.0) (20.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (20.0) (20.0) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Pari-Mutuel Taxes and Daily License Fees 
Issue:  Gaming – Thoroughbred Permitholders  
Bill Number(s): CS/CS SB804  

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 10  
Sponsor(s):  Senator Hutson 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  Section 10; 550.3551, F.S., effective Upon becoming law (with a one-month collection lag), Signed by 
governor 4/26/2024.  The other sections within the bill effective July 1, 2024. 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  5/22/2024 

Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Section 550.3551(3), Florida Statutes (F.S.), authorizes that any horse track licensed under chapter 550 may

receive broadcast of horseraces conducted at other horse racetracks located outside this state at the racetrack enclosure of the
licensee during its racing meet.

Section 550.01215, F.S., authorizes that a harness horse racing permitholder that does not conduct live racing or games retains
its permit and is eligible, but not required to be a host track for the purpose of intertrack and simulcast wagering pursuant to ss.
550.3551, 550.615, 550.625, and 550.6305, F.S.

Thoroughbred permitholders are required to pay taxes and daily license fees associated with live, intertrack, and simulcast, and
intertrack simulcast handle.

Section 550.0951(1)(a), F.S., requires Thoroughbred permitholders to pay daily license fees of:
• $100 per live race they conduct.
• $100 per simulcast race, but not to exceed $500 per day on such races.

Varies sections within Chapter 550. F.S., are associated with applicable tax rates that apply to Thoroughbred permitholder races.  
Applicable tax rates range from 0.5% to 2.4% depending on the handle type.  These statutes include but are not limited to: 

• Section 550.09515 (2)(a) – Live Handle taxed at 0.5%.
• Sections 550.0951, 550.09512, 550.09515, 550.3551(3), and 550.3551(3)(c) – Simulcast handle taxed at rates between

0.5% and 2.4%.
• Sections 550.0951 (3)(c)1., 550.09515(5) -Intertrack and Intertrack Simulcast handle taxed at rates between 0.5% and

2.4%.

Section 550.09516, F.S., authorized thoroughbred permitholders that conduct pari-mutuel meet to be eligible for a credit equal 
to the amount paid by such permitholders in the prior state fiscal year to the federal Horseracing Integrity and Safety Authority 
(HISA), applicable to state taxes and fees and inclusive of any true-up calculations or credits made, granted, or applied to the 
assessment.  This credit reduces the payment of taxes and daily license fees due to the state. 

b. Proposed Change:  Section 10- Amends Section 550.3551(3), F.S., removing the requirement that a licensed horsetrack may
only receive broadcast during their racing meet.  Section 550.3551(3), F.S., now authorizes any horse track licensed under
chapter 550, to receive broadcast of horseraces conducted at other horse racetracks located outside this state at the race track
enclosure of the licensee, if the horse track conducted a full schedule of live racing during the preceding state fiscal year. Those
horse tracks that do not conduct live racing authorized under s. 550.01215, F.S., continue to be eligible to receive broadcast of
horseraces conducted outside this state.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Chapter 550 
Pari-mutuel Revenue Estimating Conference adopted forecast January 2024 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Pari-Mutuel Taxes and Daily License Fees 
Issue:  Gaming – Thoroughbred Permitholders  
Bill Number(s): CS/CS SB804  
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Section 10: 
Currently, both Gulfstream and Tampa Bay Downs horse tracks are licensed to conduct race meets July 1 – June 30, therefore both 
racetracks currently receive broadcast on horseraces conducted at other horse racetracks located outside the state throughout the 
entire fiscal year. Both horse tracks are also currently conducting more performances than a full schedule of live racing. Additionally, 
those licensed horse track that are not required to conduct live racing under s. 550.01215, F.S., are already authorized to receive 
broadcast of horseraces outside this state without conducting a racing meet. 
 
It is assumed that Gulfstream and Tampa Bay Downs licensed horse tracks will continue to conduct more than a full schedule of live 
racing and continue to receive broadcast on horseraces conducted at other horse racetracks located outside this state, and that 
those authorized under s. 550.01215, F.S., that are not required to conduct a race meet, will continue to act as a host for the 
purpose of intertrack and simulcast wagering.  Current estimates adopted by the conference incorporate those assumptions, 
therefore there is no fiscal impact associated with this bill. 

 
 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0 0 0 0 0 0 
2025-26 0 0 0 0 0 0 
2026-27 0 0 0 0 0 0 
2027-28 0 0 0 0 0 0 
2028-29 0 0 0 0 0 0 

 
Revenue Distribution:   
N/A – no revenue impact 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  05/22/2024)    The Conference adopted the middle estimate.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2025-26 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2026-27 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2027-28 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2028-29 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
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