
REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  General Revenue Outlook/Indian Gaming 
Issue:  Distribution of Indian Gaming Revenue 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 1638 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Senator Hutson 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  4/4/2024 (upon becoming law) 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  6/27/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  The State of Florida began receiving payments under the 2021 Compact in October of 2021.  The Seminole Tribe 

continued revenue sharing with the state through February 2022, after which time they discontinued all payments.  Section 
285.710, Florida Statutes, requires that the moneys paid by the Tribe under the Compact be deposited into the General 
Revenue Fund. 
 
During the January 2024 Revenue Estimating Conference for General Revenue, the forecast for Indian Gaming Revenues was set 
to zero throughout the forecast period.  The Tribe resumed revenue sharing with the state a few days after the meeting.  
Subsequently, the Conference adopted a new forecast for Indian Gaming revenues on February 20, 2024.  Those projections 
were added to the General Revenue Financial Outlook Statement as an item separate from the estimated revenues adopted in 
January.   

 
b.  Proposed Change:  CS/SB 1638 creates section 380.095, Florida Statutes, requiring the Department of Revenue to, upon 

receipt, deposit 96 percent of any revenue share payment received under the 2021 Compact into the Indian Gaming Revenue 
Clearing Trust Fund within the Department of Financial Services (created in SB 7080) to provide dedicated funding for 
conservation lands, resiliency, and clean water infrastructure.   
 
The bill also provides a distribution of the 96 percent from the Indian Gaming Revenue Clearing Trust Fund to various state trust 
funds for land acquisition to support the Wildlife Corridor, for land management of uplands and the removal of invasive species, 
for the Statewide Flooding and Sea Level Rise Resiliency Plan, and for the Water Quality Improvement Grant Program.  The 
remaining 4 percent continues to be deposited into the General Revenue Fund. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Revenue Estimating Conference—Indian Gaming Revenues Forecast, Adopted February 20, 2024 
Indian Gaming Revenue Distribution Worksheet 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
CS/SB 1638 was effective upon becoming law; the Governor approved the bill on April 4, 2024.  Consequently, the April and 
subsequent payments received from the Tribe are affected by the revised distribution.  Based on the February 20, 2024 Indian 
Gaming Revenue Estimating Conference, the fiscal impact to Fiscal Year 2023-24 is a reduction of $-161.2 million to the General 
Revenue Fund and an increase of $161.2 million to various state trust funds.  The fiscal impact to Fiscal Years 2024-25 through 2028-
29 are as proposed in Section 4. 
 
SB 7080 (s. 17.71(2), F.S.) exempts the revenues into and out of the Indian Gaming Revenue Clearing Trust Fund from the General 
Revenue Service Charge so there is no adjustment to state trust funds. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

GR 
Outlook 

High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   $(719.3) $(719.3)   

2025-26   $(749.4) $(749.4)   

2026-27   $(782.0) $(782.0)   

2027-28   $(817.4) $(817.4)   

2028-29   $(854.0) $(854.0)   

 
  

 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  General Revenue Outlook/Indian Gaming 
Issue:  Distribution of Indian Gaming Revenue 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 1638 
 

State 
TFs 

High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   $719.3 $719.3   

2025-26   $749.4 $749.4   

2026-27   $782.0 $782.0   

2027-28   $817.4 $817.4   

2028-29   $854.0 $854.0   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
General Revenue Fund, Indian Gaming Revenue Clearing TF, Incidental TF, Internal Improvement TF, Resilient Florida TF, State Game 
TF, State Park TF, Water Protection and Sustainability Program TF 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed cash estimate and zero for the 
recurring impact.  There is a current fiscal year impact for FY 2023-24 of $-161.2m for General Revenue and an offsetting $161.2 
positive impact to State Trust Funds.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (719.3) 0.0  719.3  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 (749.4) 0.0  749.4  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 (782.0) 0.0  782.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 (817.4) 0.0  817.4  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2028-29 (854.0) 0.0  854.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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Distribution of Indian Gaming Revenue

Fund Description 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29

General Revenue February 20, 2024 Revenue Estimating Conference 343.9 749.3       780.6       814.6       851.5       889.6       

CS/SB 1638 (Ch. 2024-58, L.O.F.)

Fund Description 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29

General Revenue January - March 2024 Forecast 176.0 -             -             -             -             -             

General Revenue Forecast Adjustment Effective April 4, 2024 - 4% 6.7 30.0         31.2         32.6         34.1         35.6         

General Revenue Difference (161.2)     (719.3)     (749.4)     (782.0)     (817.4)     (854.0)     

State Trust Funds Forecast Adjustment Effective April 4, 2024 - 96% 161.2       719.3       749.4       782.0       817.4       854.0       
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Insurance Taxes 
Issue:  Property Insurance Discount to Policyholders 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 7073, Section 56 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 56 
Sponsor(s):   
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 2024   
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  March 6th, 2024 

  June 27th, 2024 
  Revised July 12, 2024  

Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Currently exists no mandatory premium deductions for insurers.

b. Proposed Change:  Creates a mandatory deduction equal to the value of the Premium Tax and the State Fire Marshal
Assessment on coverage for a residential dwelling. Another 1.75% deduction is for flood or excess flood coverage, both personal
and commercial. The total value of deductions is allowed to be claimed as a credit with excess credit generating a refund to be
paid from the General Revenue Fund. The credit can only be generated by deductions to policies with effective dates between
October 1, 2024, and September 30, 2025.
The language also includes a provision providing for the event that an insurer refunds some or all of a written policy on which
the insurer received a credit. In this event, the insurer would repay a prorated amount of the credit claimed to the Department
of Revenue for deposit into the general revenue fund.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
National Flood Insurance Program – Policy Info by State 
[https://nfipservices.floodsmart.gov/sites/default/files/nfip_policy-information-by-state_20231130.xlsx] 
National Flood Insurance Program – 2020 Report  
[https://cdn.nar.realtor/sites/default/files/documents/2020-flood-reports-florida-11-04-2020.pdf] 
Miami Herald/The Insurance Information Institute 
[https://www.miamiherald.com/news/business/real-estate-news/article269946847.html] 
Florida Market Data available on the Florida Surplus – [https://www.fslso.com/Florida/MarketData/home] 
Write Your Own Flood Insurance Company List – [https://nfipservices.floodsmart.gov/wyo-program-list] 
DOR Return Data 
Results of the January 2024 General Revenue Estimating Conference 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Part 1: Universal Drivers 

Certain data elements are reused across multiple sections of this impact. The consistent base for these sections is the 
taxable premiums from the DR-908’s Schedule X, lines 1, 7, and 9. These lines represent premium volume in Fire Residential, 
Residential Allied Lines, and Homeowners Multiple Peril, respectively. The Fire Marshal’s assessment on these premiums is also pre-
calculated here based on the tax rate of 1% and the percent of premium volumes treated as taxable for the Fire Marshal’s tax.  

Also included in this section is the Share Up (Down) factor used to align DOR-Return data to Florida OIR data. While DOR 
Return data is necessary to drive the impact on the State Fire Marshall Assessment, the lines provided in Schedule X do not directly 
translate to OIR provided categories. As such, it is assumed the selected lines from Schedule X (1, 7, & 9) are entirely qualified and 
some amount within other lines qualify, though no one individual line can account for the entire difference. Thus, a Share Up factor 
of 108.3% is proposed. In previous impacts a $750,000 coverage cap was included as a limitation to qualified premiums. Analysis of 
the property tax roll showed 73.86% of residential parcels had a dwelling value of less than $750,000. The conference increased this 
share to 80%, which is a 108.3% increase in qualification.  

Finally, the Schedule X growth rates used to drive previous IPT Impacts are presented here. These rates underly the 
adopted IPT forecast from the January 2024 General Revenue Estimating Conference. 

Across this impact, it is assumed that the credits taken would only affect the March 1st payment with return, and not be felt 
through the quarterly installment payments. Therefore, the full impact from the CYx tax year is placed in FYx+1. 

Part 2: 1.75% Deduction 
The 1.75% deduction on under-cap coverage of a residential dwelling is first calculated for Calendar Year 2022. 
(𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿 1 𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝐿𝐿 + 𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿 7 𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝐿𝐿 + 𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿𝐿 9 𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝐿𝐿) × 108.3% × 1.75% = 𝐶𝐶𝐶𝐶22 𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝑉𝐿𝐿 𝑉𝑉𝑜𝑜 1.75% 𝑅𝑅𝐿𝐿𝑅𝑅𝑉𝑉𝑅𝑅𝑅𝑅𝐿𝐿𝑉𝑉𝐿𝐿 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Insurance Taxes 
Issue:  Property Insurance Discount to Policyholders 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 7073, Section 56 

This value is then grown to CY25 levels by the Schedule X growth rates. To account for the split effective window (Oct-1-24 to Sep-
30-25) 25% of the CY24 value and 75% of the CY25 value are taken as the direct impact. Holding the assumptions made in Part 1
unchanged, the total impact for Part 2 is $308.5 M.

Part 3: Deduction for State Fire Marshal Assessment 
The total value of the CY22 assessments is first multiplied by the 108.3% qualification rate, then grown through CY25 by the 

assumed Schedule X growth rates. To account for the split effective window (Oct-1-24 to Sep-30-25) 25% of the CY24 value and 75% 
of the CY25 value are taken as the direct impact. Holding the assumptions made in Part 1 unchanged, the total impact for Part 3 is 
$40.1 M. 

Part 5: Deduction for Flood and Excess Flood Coverage 
This impact cannot be deduced from DR-908 data and therefore rests on 3rd party data and assumptions. The impact 

process described below has been seen and adopted by conference before, most recently on February 23rd, 2023. 

There are 3 methods of acquiring flood insurance in Florida. The first method, under which most policies are written, is the 
National Flood Insurance Program’s (NFIP) “Write Your Own Program,” a cooperative of private insurance companies and FEMA. 
Applying the 1.75% tax rate that would be exempt under the proposed change, the impact of the NFIP policies alone would be -
$22,533,422.   

The second method is through Surplus Lines. These policies are subject to a different and higher tax rate than the other 2 
methods and would not be exempt under this change. The Florida Surplus Lines Service Office has data available on the number of 
properties and the premium values for flood insurance.  

The third method is private insurers writing their own flood policies. There is no data available for this method, and an 
estimate for the number of policies and cost per policy must be produced. According to a 2020 NFIP report, there are 4,110,395 
properties at high risk of flooding and 4,832,882 at high or moderate risk of flooding. For the impact, the displayed impact uses 
exclusively high-risk properties. It is assumed that 50% of these properties go without Flood Insurance. Applying this percentage to 
the at-risk properties arrives at an estimate of the total number of flood policies in the state, and subtracting the known NFIP and 
Surplus Lines policies from it arrives at an estimate of policies written by private insurers. Multiplying the estimated number of 
policies under private insurers by the estimated average cost per policy for private insurers arrives and an estimate of premiums for 
private insurers. Adding this to the NFIP premiums and multiplying by the 1.75% tax rate arrives at an impact for the first year. 

The first-year impact is grown through CY25 by the adopted total P&C growth rates driving the overall premium tax growth 
rates adopted at the January 2024 General Revenue Estimating Conference.  To account for the split effective window (Oct-1-24 to 
Sep-30-25) 25% of the CY24 value and 75% of the CY25 value are taken as the direct impact. Holding the assumptions made above 
unchanged, the total impact for Part 5 is $29.9 M. 

Part 6: Refunds and Impact 
The refund math is driven by a return-based simulation, applying the changes made by this language to returns submitted 

for the 2022 Tax Year. Via this approach, each return can be evaluated individually to see if it would have generated enough credit to 
overwhelm its premium tax due after other credits, and thus generate a refund. The sticking point here is the credit generated from 
Flood Insurance deductions. As Flood Insurance is not separately itemized on the DR-908, there is no way to measure the potential 
flood credit generated on a single return. Instead, a new set of assumptions must be made.  

First, it assumed that the only flood insurance in the state is obtained through FEMA’s Write Your Own program. The 
companies named as servicers for the program are identified on FEMA’s website and can be identified in the return data. Next, the 
Flood Insurance first-year impact is split among the WYO-servicers by the proportion of P&C premiums among the service group. For 
example, if Freedonia Flood Funding LLC services the WYO program and they have 15% of the P&C premiums among all WYO-
servicers, then they’ll receive 15% of the Part 5 first-year impact as “flood credit”. This flood credit is then added to other credits 
generated to evaluate the refund potential. Insurers not identified on the WYO company list receive “flood credit” of $0. 

The refund value is calculated with 25% of the annual credit and 75% of the annual credit (called 3mo and 9mo 
respectively) to allow for evaluation of refund magnitude in the two affected tax years. The 25%/3mo carryforward is grown to CY24 
and the 75%/9mo carryforward is grown to CY25.  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Insurance Taxes 
Issue:  Property Insurance Discount to Policyholders 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 7073, Section 56 

Final Notes: 
While it does not have an impact on state revenues, the 1.75% deduction evaluated in Part A and the Flood Deduction 

evaluated in Part 5 may apply to surplus lines. The credit can only be taken against Premium Tax liability, and no surplus lines 
providers pay Premium Tax, therefore it would be impossible for them to claim any credit.  

In accordance with the provision in which an insurer issues a refund to a policyholder for a policy on which it claimed a 
credit, a repayment to GR is mandated. For this reason, a positive indeterminate is included in FY2026-27. 

The issues evaluated in this impact have been presented to the conference before. 
Parts 2 & 6 - http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2024/_pdf/page456-458.pdf 
Parts 2 & 3 - http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2024/_pdf/page161-163.pdf 
Part 5 - http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2024/_pdf/page440-442.pdf 
With Credit Carryforward - http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2024/_pdf/page476-484.pdf 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 ($120.8) M 
2025-26 ($381.0) M 
2026-27 ** 
2027-28 
2028-29 

Revenue Distribution: Insurance Taxes 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Insurance Taxes 
Issue:  Property Insurance Discount to Policyholders 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 7073, Section 56 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. 

GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (120.8) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (120.8) 0.0 
2025-26 (381.0) 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 (381.0) 0.0 
2026-27 ** 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 ** 0.0 
2027-28 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
2028-29 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

7/12/2024: The Conference corrected the sign on the third year impact. 

712



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Sales and Use Tax/Tourist Development Taxes 
Issue: Vacation Rentals 
Bill Number(s): CS/SB 280 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Sections 1, 2, and 5 
Sponsor(s): Senator DiCeglie 
Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2025 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024; June 27, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: Section 509.013 does not include a definition of an “Advertising Platform”. 

 
Subsections 212.03 (1) and (2) indicate that the rental of living quarters for less than 6 months is an exercise of taxable privilege 
and, as such, all sales and transient rental taxes are due. It further indicates that the owner, lessor, or person receiving the rent 
shall remit the tax to the Department of Revenue. 
 
There is no Section 509.243 in Florida Statutes. 
 

b. Proposed Change:  Section 2 of the bill adds a definition of “Advertising Platform” to section 509.013. Such platforms provide a 
publicly available online marketplace in which vacation rentals available for transient occupancy in Florida can be viewed and 
the platform must provide either a reservation system or a payment system that facilitates the rental transaction. The definition 
does not require that payments be processed by the Advertising Platform. 
 
Section 1 of the bill clarifies who is responsible to remit the taxes owed in 202.03 when a vacation rental guest uses a payment 
system through an Advertising Platform. Paragraph (b) indicates that if payment is made through an Advertising Platform, the 
Advertising Platform, or operator, must collect and remit taxes. Subparagraph 1. indicates that if the Advertising Platform owns 
the vacation rental, the Advertising Platform must collect and remit. Subparagraph 2. indicates that, in all scenarios under which 
subparagraph 1. does not apply but payment is made through an Advertising Platform, the Advertising Platform must collect 
and remit, and, can further charge untaxed reservation and payment fees. 
 
Section 5 of the bill creates Section 509.243 and duplicates the language of section 1 paragraph (b), indicating that if payment is 
made through an Advertising Platform, the Advertising Platform, or operator, must collect and remit taxes. This section does not 
include the language of section 1 Subparagraphs 1. and 2. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Staff Discussion - Department of Revenue 
Impact Analysis Presented on June 17, 2024 - EDR 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Sections 2 and 5 of the bill have no stand-alone potential for impact, but are relevant to the discussion of section 1. 
 
Section 1 adds paragraph (b) to clarify who is to collect and remit the relevant taxes when guests of a vacation rental use a 
payment system through an Advertising Platform. The subparagraphs to paragraph (b) make it clear that in all such scenarios, 
the Advertising Platform is to remit the taxes. This makes clear from an audit perspective which entity to pursue for the tax. The 
paragraph does include the language “or the operator” despite the subparagraphs leaving no room for the operator to remit. 
This is understood to be granting the auditors authority to pursue the taxes owed from the operator, which is the registered 
dealer, in the instance that an Advertising Platform indicates that the tax was collected by the operator and never provided to 
the Advertising Platform for remittance. This same logic applies to the inclusion of “or the operator” in section 5 of the bill. 
 
The language does not change the requirement that that the tax be collected, the tax base, nor the tax rate. As such, there is no 
impact. It is likely that some tax dollars remitted today directly by operators will be remitted after the bill by Advertising 
Platforms. This is changing the duty to remit from one registered dealer to another. As such, no impact is expected, and this is 
represented in the middle. 
 
It is possible that some amount of additional collection occurs simply by the expectation that Advertising Platforms may be 
more sophisticated in the business sense than the average operator and more likely to remit. This would lead to a positive 

 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Sales and Use Tax/Tourist Development Taxes 
Issue: Vacation Rentals 
Bill Number(s): CS/SB 280 
 

indeterminate impact starting in Fiscal Year 2025-26 as this section of the bill goes into effect January 1, 2025. A positive 
indeterminate impact would require an assumption that some amount of illegal activity is occurring today and would be 
attempting to quantify that theoretical but conceivable activity. As such, this is not presented as a proposed impact. 
 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   $0 $0   

2025-26   $0 $0   

2026-27   $0 $0   

2027-28   $0 $0   

2028-29   $0 $0   

 
Revenue Distribution: Sales and Use Tax, Tourist Development Taxes 

 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.  

 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Local Registration of Vacation Rentals 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 280 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 3 only 
Sponsor(s):  Senate Fiscal Policy Committee and Senator DiCeglie 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 27, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: 

 
Administration and Definitions 
The Division of Hotels and Restaurants (Division) within the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) is the 
state agency charged with enforcing the provisions of Chapter 509, F.S., relating to the regulation of public lodging 
establishments and public food service establishments for the purpose of protecting the public health, safety, and welfare. As 
defined in s. 509.013(4)(a), F.S., the term public lodging establishments includes transient and non-transient public lodging 
establishments. The principal differences between transient and non-transient public lodging establishments are the number of 
times that the establishments are rented in a calendar year and the duration of the rentals. 
 
As defined in s. 509.013(4), F.S., the term transient public lodging establishment means any unit, group of units, dwelling, 
building, or group of buildings within a single complex of buildings which is rented to guests more than three times in a calendar 
year for periods of less than 30 days or 1 calendar month, whichever is less, or which is advertised or held out to the public as a 
place regularly rented to guests. A non-transient public lodging establishment differs only that it is rented to guests for periods 
of at least 30 days or 1 calendar month, whichever is less. 
 
Section 509.241, F.S., requires each public lodging establishment to obtain a license from the Division. Section 509.242, F.S., 
classifies a public lodging establishment as a hotel, motel, vacation rental, non-transient apartment, transient apartment, bed 
and breakfast inn, or timeshare project if the establishment satisfies specified criteria. This section defines a vacation rental as 
any unit or group of units in a condominium or cooperative or any individually or collectively owned single-family, two-family, 
three-family, or four-family house or dwelling unit that is also a transient public lodging establishment but that is not a 
timeshare project. 
 
Section 509.013(2), F.S., defines the term operator to mean the owner, licensee, proprietor, lessee, manager, assistant 
manager, or appointed agent of a public lodging establishment or public food service establishment. 
 
Licensing, Preemption Authority, and Legislative History 
Section 509.241, F.S., requires each public lodging establishment, which includes vacation rentals, to obtain a license from the 
Division. The Division licenses vacation rentals as condominiums, dwellings, or timeshare projects, and classifies a vacation 
rental license as a single, group, or collective license. A single license may include one single-family house or townhouse, or a 
unit or group of units within a single building that are owned and operated by the same individual person or entity. A group 
license is a license issued by the Division to a licensed agent to cover all units within a building or group of buildings in a single 
complex. A collective license is a license issued by the division to a licensed agent who represents a collective group of houses or 
units found on separate locations not to exceed 75 houses or units per license. 
 
Section 509.032(7), F.S., provides that the regulation of public lodging establishments is preempted to the State. However, 
current law does not does not preempt the authority of a local government or a local enforcement district to conduct 
inspections of public lodging establishments for compliance with the Florida Building Code and the Florida Fire Prevention Code, 
pursuant to ss. 553.80 and 633.206, F.S., respectively. Furthermore, a local law, ordinance, or regulation may not prohibit 
vacation rentals or regulate the duration or frequency of rental of vacation rentals. However, this prohibition does not apply to 
any local law, ordinance, or regulation adopted on or before June 1, 2011. 
 
Chapter 2011-119, L.O.F., preempted certain vacation rental regulation to the State and grandfathered any local law, ordinance, 
or regulation that was enacted by a local government on or before June 1, 2011. Chapter 2014-71, L.O.F., revised the 
preemption to its current form with an effective date of July 1, 2014. 

  

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Local Registration of Vacation Rentals 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 280 
 
b. Proposed Change: 

 
Preemption Authority 
Section 3 of the bill amends s. 509.032(7)(a), F.S., to preempt the licensing of vacation rentals to the State. 
 
The grandfather provisions in s. 509.032(7)(b), F.S., which does not allow local laws, ordinances, or regulations prohibiting 
vacation rentals or regulating the duration or frequency of rental of vacation rentals, are unaffected by the bill. However, the 
grandfathered local law, ordinance, or regulation adopted on or before June 1, 2011, may be amended to be less restrictive or 
to comply with the proposed local vacation rental registration program requirements in s. 509.032(8), F.S., as discussed below. 
Additionally, the bill permits a local government that had a grandfathered regulation in effect on June 1, 2011, to pass a new, 
less restrictive ordinance that would be grandfathered as well. 
 
The bill also grandfathers any county law, ordinance, or regulation initially adopted on or before January 1, 2016, that 
established county registration requirements for rental of vacation rentals, and any amendments thereto adopted before 
January 1, 2024. However, such county law, ordinance, or regulation may not be amended or altered except to be less 
restrictive or to adopt the proposed local vacation rental registration program requirements in s. 509.032(8), F.S., as discussed 
below. 
 
Local Registration of Vacation Rentals 
Section 3 of the bill also creates s. 509.032(8), F.S., to authorize local governments, notwithstanding the preemption provisions 
of s. 509.032(7)(a), F.S., to adopt a vacation rental registration program and impose several fees and fines. Prior to the 
enactment of a proposed ordinance to implementing any vacation rental registration program, the local government must 
prepare a business impact estimate in accordance with s. 125.66(3), F.S., for county governments, or s. 166.041(4), F.S., for 
municipal governments. Such a business impact estimate must include all of the following: 

 A summary of the proposed ordinance, including a statement of the public purpose to be served by the proposed 
ordinance. 

 An estimate of the direct economic impact of the proposed ordinance on private, for-profit businesses in the county, 
including the following, if any: 
1. An estimate of direct compliance costs that businesses may reasonably incur if the ordinance is enacted; 
2. Identification of any new charge or fee on businesses subject to the proposed ordinance or for which businesses 

will be financially responsible; and 
3. An estimate of the local government’s regulatory costs, including an estimate of revenues from any new charges or 

fees that will be imposed on businesses to cover such costs. 

 A good faith estimate of the number of businesses likely to be impacted by the ordinance. 

 Any additional information the governing body determines may be useful. 
 
A local government may charge a reasonable fee per unit for processing a registration application. A local law, ordinance, or 
regulation may require annual renewal of a registration and may charge a reasonable renewal fee per unit for processing of a 
registration renewal. However, if there is a change of ownership, the new owner may be required to submit a new application 
for registration. Subsequent to the registration of a vacation rental, a local government may charge a reasonable fee to inspect 
a vacation rental after registration for compliance with the Florida Building Code and the Florida Fire Prevention Code, 
described in ss. 553.80 and 633.206, F.S., respectively. 
 
As a condition of registration or renewal of a vacation rental, a local vacation rental registration program may require the 
vacation rental operator to pay in full all recorded municipal or county code liens against the subject vacation rental premises. 
 
A local government may fine a vacation rental operator up to $500 if he or she: 

 Fails to continue to meet the registration requirements in s. 509.032(8)(b), F.S., or 

 Is operating a vacation rental without registering it with the local government as a vacation rental. 
 
Before issuing a fine to a vacation rental operator for a program violation, the local government shall issue written notice of 
such violation and provide a vacation rental operator 15 days to cure the violation. If the vacation rental operator has not cured 
the violation within the 15 days, the local government may issue a fine. 

716



REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Local Registration of Vacation Rentals 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 280 
 
 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Pursuant to 61C-1.002(4)(a), F.A.C., vacation rentals and timeshare project licenses have three different classifications.1 The Single 
License includes one single home or townhome, or a unit or group of units within a single building that are operated by the owner. 
The Group License covers all units within a building or group of buildings in a single complex that are licensed to a licensed agent. 
Multiple group licenses may be issued to different licensed agents for units located on the same property. The Collective License is 
issued to a group of houses or units found in separate locations that are represented by the same licensed agent. A collective license 
may have a maximum of 75 houses or units per license and is restricted to counties within one district. 
 
According to the Division’s most recent annual report, the following number of vacation rental license accounts existing at the end 
of the fiscal year.2  
 
Vacation Rentals - Condos 
 Single:  10,458 
 Group:  1,387 
 Collective: 1,589 
 Total:  13,434 
 
Vacation Rentals – Dwellings 
 Single:  27,496 
 Group:  597 
 Collective: 3,610 
 Total:  31,703 
 
EDR staff contacted representatives of the Florida Association of Counties (FAC) and Florida League of Cities (FLC) to request any 
available information regarding the potential impacts of this bill. FAC did not furnish any information regarding potential local 
revenue impacts. FLC provided a list of cities that it believes are subject to the ‘on or before June 1, 2011’ grandfather provision in 
current law. According to FLC, the following 69 municipalities self-reported that they had either adopted an ordinance zoning short-
term rentals into one specific area or barred them altogether. 
 

Apalachicola Fort Myers Beach Lake Worth Beach North Miami Beach Sewall’s Point 

Atlantic Beach Golf Lantana North Redington Beach South Pasadena 

Atlantis Grant-Valkaria Lauderdale-by-the-Sea Ocean Ridge St. Augustine 

Belleair Beach Haines City Layton Oldsmar St. Augustine Beach 

Belleair Bluffs Holmes Beach Longboat Key Ormond Beach St. Cloud 

Belleair Shore Hypoluxo Madeira Beach Palm Beach Shores St. Lucie Village 

Boca Raton Indialantic Manalapan Palm Coast St. Pete Beach 

Cape Canaveral Indian Creek Marathon Polk City Surfside 

Clearwater Islamorada Miami Ponce Inlet Titusville 

Dania Beach Jupiter Inlet Colony Miami Beach Redington Shores Treasure Island 

Daytona Beach Key Colony Beach Naples Safety Harbor Venice 

Delray Beach Key West Neptune Beach Sarasota Vero Beach 

Fellsmere Kissimmee New Smyrna Beach Satellite Beach Winter Park 

Flagler Beach Lake Park North Miami Seminole  

 
  

                                                      
1 Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Hotels and Restaurants, Guide to Vacation Rentals and Timeshare Projects for 

Florida’s Public Lodging Establishments, available at https://www2.myfloridalicense.com/hr/forms/documents/5025_753.pdf (last visited June 26, 
2024). 
2 Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Hotels and Restaurants, Annual Report for FY 2022-2023 at page 8, available at  
https://www2.myfloridalicense.com/hr/reports/annualreports/documents/ar2022_23.pdf (last visited June 26, 2024). The total number of 
vacation rental licenses for each classification type: single, group, and collective licenses. 
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Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Sixty-nine of 411 municipalities self-reported to FLC that they are subject to the grandfather provision in current law. How many of 
the remaining 342 municipalities, which would also be grandfathered, is unknown. Also, it is not known how many counties might be 
grandfathered by the bill’s new ‘adopted on or before January 1, 2016’ provisions. Furthermore, the authority of local governments 
to create registration programs, charge fees, and/or issue fines is permissive rather than mandatory. For these reasons, EDR staff 
recommends a zero/positive indeterminate fiscal impact. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   0/** 0/**   

2025-26   0/** 0/**   

2026-27   0/** 0/**   

2027-28   0/** 0/**   

2028-29   0/** 0/**   

 
Revenue Distribution:  Local funds only. 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0/**  0/**  0/**  0/**  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees  
Issue:  Consumer Finance Loans 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 1347 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Brackett 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024  
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 27, 2024; June 17, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   

A “consumer finance loan” is a loan of money, credit, goods, or choses in action, including, except as otherwise specifically 
indicated, provision of a line of credit, in an amount or to a value of $25,000 or less for which the lender charges, contracts for, 
collects, or receives interest at a rate greater than 18 percent per annum.1 
 
A person must not engage in the business of making consumer finance loans unless she or he is authorized to do so under this 
chapter or other statutes and unless the person first obtains a license from the Office of Financial Regulation.2 A “license” is 
defined as a permit issued under [chapter 516] to make and collect loans in accordance with [chapter 516] at a single place of 
business.3 
 
At the time of application, the applicant must pay a nonrefundable biennial license fee of $625. Applications, except for 
applications to renew or reactivate a license, must also be accompanied by a nonrefundable investigation fee of $200.4 
Investigation of the applicant’s background is made at the first application.5 
 

b. Proposed Change:   
The bill amends various statutes related to consumer finance loans. In part, it defines the term “branch,” makes conforming 
changes to incorporate the newly established “branch” model, and it amends which application is required to pay the 
nonrefundable license fee and the accompanying investigation fee. 
 
Specifically, section 3 of the bill: 

 Requires the nonrefundable license fee of $625 to be paid for the principle place of business and for each branch 
application.  

 Limits the nonrefundable investigation fee to applications for a license for the principal place of business. 

 Strikes an exception to when the investigation fee applies. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
2024 Agency Legislative Bill Analysis, Florida Office of Financial Regulation, HB 1347, Jan. 19, 2024. 
Discussion with and data provided by a representative from the Office of Financial Regulation 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Under current law, a license must be granted for each location, whether it be a principle place of business or otherwise. The law 
change requiring licensure of the principle place of business and branch locations does not affect revenue. The definition of license 
explicitly limits a license to “a single place of business.” 
 
To strike the clause that restricts the investigation fee from accompanying applications made to renew or reactive a license, likewise, 
does not affect revenue. An investigation occurs when initial application is made. 
 
Limitation of the nonrefundable investigation fee was determined by the Office of Financial Regulation to reduce revenue by 
approximately $5,000 per fiscal year. 
 

                                                      
1 Section 516.01, F.S. 
2 Section 516.02(1), F.S. 
3 Section 516.01, F.S. 
4 Section 516.03, F.S. 
5 Section 516.05(1), F.S. 

 

x 
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Example. Entrant applies for two locations: 

Fee Type Current Law Post Law Change 

Principle Place of Business  $625 $625 

Other Location $625 $625 

Investigation $400 [$200*2] $200 

Total $1,650 $1,450 

 
After the law change, the investigation fee will be limited to only the principle place of business, which results in a revenue loss of 
$200. 
 
June 27 Update 
 
Current Distribution of Licenses 
There are 342 active consumer financial loan licenses held by 163 unique business entities as of June 24, 2024. On average, one 
unique business entity holds approximately 1.99 licenses. In reality, 156 licenses (46%) are held by 3 business entities while the 
remaining 186 licenses (54%) are held by 160 business entities. Over 88 percent of businesses operate from a single licensed location 
while more than 96 percent of businesses operate through licensed locations of 2 or less. 
 

Number of Business Entities 
Holding "X" Licenses Number of Licenses Held Total Licenses 

Cumulative % of 
Entities % of Total Licenses 

145 1 145 88.96% 42% 

12 2 24 96.32% 7% 

1 3 3 96.93% 1% 

1 6 6 97.55% 2% 

1 8 8 98.16% 2% 

1 39 39 98.77% 11% 

1 43 43 99.39% 13% 

1 74 74 100.00% 22% 

163  342   
 

 
 

Analyzing 15 years of Licensing 
 
From July of 2008 there have been 1,271 applications made which were accompanied by a $200 nonrefundable investigation fee. 
The 1,271 applications were submitted by 700 unique business entities. 
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The difference between 1,271 and 700 represents the number of additional “branch” locations. These applicants remitted 571 
investigation fees totaling $114,200. (571*$200.) 
 
Assuming an even distribution across the time period under revenue, collections of an investigation fee on locations which could be 
described as “branch” locations averaged $7,613. 
 
It’s clear from the current distribution of licenses that a great number of licenses are concentrated in just 3 companies. In fact, one 
of the companies restructured their business over the course of a few years within the time period under revenue, which 
necessitated filing new applications and remitting associated fees just as though this was an entirely new business with 
establishments. Large entities restructuring their business on such a scale does not occur elsewhere in the data and so an additional 
analysis was performed to understand the effect of the law change if treating this business entity as an outlier. The resulting annual 
revenue collections drop to $4,960. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   (*) (*)   

2025-26   (*) (*)   

2026-27   (*) (*)   

2027-28   (*) (*)   

2028-29   (*) (*)   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
Office of Financial Regulation Regulatory Trust Fund (subject to GR Service Charge) 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  

2025-26 (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  

2026-27 (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  

2027-28 (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  

2028-29 (*)  (*)  (*)  (*)  0.0  0.0  (*)  (*)  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees/Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Tax collector convenience fees & charitable organization fees 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/SB 1084 
 
       Entire Bill:  
       Partial Bill:  
Sponsor(s):  Senator Collins 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:   
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   
Sections 13 & 36 
The Division of Licensing (DOL) within the Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (DACS) administers Florida's concealed 
weapon licensing program and licenses Florida's private investigative, private security, and repossession services industries. 
Currently, DOL offers 22 different types of private investigative, private security, and recovery services licenses and 4 different types 
of concealed weapon or firearm licenses.  
 
DACS is authorized under statute to appoint county tax collectors to collect applications and fees on behalf of DACS for concealed 
weapon or firearm licenses. The county tax collects can charge the applicant and retain a convenience fee of $22 for each new 
license and $12 for each renewal application. DACS is currently not authorized to appoint tax collectors to collect private 
investigative, private security, and repossession services license applications. 
 
Section 15 
Charitable organizations that intend to solicit donations in Florida are required to register with the Division of Consumer Services 
within DACS. These organizations are required to pay an initial registration fee to DACS and an annual renewal fee every year after 
registration. The fee schedule is as follows: 
 

1. $10 – contributions received for the fiscal were less than $5,000; 
2. $10 – contributions received were no more than $50,000 and the fundraising activities of such organization are carried on by 

volunteers, members, officers, or permanent employees, who are not compensated, provided no part of the assets or income of 
such organization inures to the benefit of any officer or to any hired professional for fundraising 

3. $75 – contributions received for the fiscal year were $5,000 or more, but less than $100,000 
4. $125 – contributions received for the fiscal year were $100,000 or more, but less than $200,000 
5. $200 – contributions received for the fiscal year were $200,000 or more, but less than $500,000 
6. $300 – contributions received for last fiscal year were $500,000 or more, but less than $1 million 
7. $350 – contributions received for the fiscal year were $1 million or more, but less than $10 million 
8. $400 – contributions received for the fiscal year were $10 million or more 

 
b.  Proposed Change:   
Sections 13 & 36 
The bill authorizes DACS to appoint county tax collectors to accept new, renewal, and replacement license applications on behalf of 
DACS for private investigative, private security, and repossession services licenses. The bill allows an appointed tax collector to 
collect and retain the following convenience fees: 
 

 $22 for each new application. 

 $12 for each renewal application. 

 $12 for each replacement license. 

 $9 for fingerprinting services associated with the completion of an application submitted online or by mail. 

 $9 for photographing services associated with the completion of an application submitted online or by mail. 
 
The bill also allows the tax collectors to charge three new convenience fees associated with the collection of concealed weapon or 
firearm license applications. These fees are: $12 for each replacement license; $9 for fingerprinting services associated with the 
completion of an application submitted online or by mail; and $9 for photographing services associated with the completion of an 
application submitted online or by mail. 
 
 

 

x 
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Section 15 
The bill removes category 2 on the fee schedule, which carries a $10 fee for certain organizations receiving no more than $50,000 in 
contributions for the fiscal year and having unpaid employees and no benefit inuring to certain parties. Organizations in that 
category will now pay either the $10 fee in category 1 or the $75 fee in category 3, depending on how much they receive in 
contributions in a fiscal year. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Contact with staff at DACS 
Contact with a representative from the Florida Tax Collectors Association 
DACS Division of Licensing Statistical Reports – Applications & Dispositions: July 1, 2023-June 30, 2024, available at 
https://www.fdacs.gov/Divisions-Offices/Licensing/Statistical-Reports.  

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
 
Sections 13 & 36 
Investigative, Security, and Repossession Services Licenses 
In FY 2022-23, DACS received the following applications for private investigative, private security, and repossession services licenses: 
 
New license applications – 49,412 
Renewal applications – 55,529 
Replacement applications – 5,633 
 
All of these applications can be mailed into DACS or completed at one of DACS’s 9 field offices. Renewal applications can also be 
completed on DACS’s website. DACS is currently unable to estimate how many license applications will be transitioning to county tax 
collectors or which collectors will be appointed under the bill. 
 
16 of the 22 investigative, security, and repossession license types require fingerprinting and photos as part of the application. 
 
Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses 
For FY 2023-24, DACS received 92,768 new applications for a concealed weapon or firearm, and 196,214 renewal applications. 
 
In addition to visiting 1 of 83 participating county tax collector locations, applications for initial and renewal licenses can be made in 
person at one of DACS’s 9 field offices, online, or by mail. Applications for a replacement license can be completed at a field office or 
by mail, it appears that no county tax collector currently assists in replacements. 
 
There is no data available regarding how many applications or the amount of convenience fees tax collectors are currently collecting 
because the tax collectors enter the application data into a DACS database that can only be viewed by DACS. Therefore, the amount 
of convenience fees that will be changed by tax collectors now that there are an additional 3 convenience fees cannot be estimated. 
 
Conclusion 
Since DACS does not know how many investigative, security, and repossession services applications they will be transitioning to tax 
collectors, coupled with the fact that applicants can use DACS’s field offices, online applications, and mail to apply rather than 
visiting a tax collector, it is uncertain how much money in convenience fees will be collected by tax collectors. It would take 4,546 
new applicants (about 11% of new applicants in FY 2022-23) to pay the $22 convenience fee to tax collectors to meet the $100,000 
significance threshold. 
 
For concealed weapons and firearms, the tax collectors have not tracked how much money they have received in convenience fees. 
While total applicant data for FY 2023-34 is available, it’s unclear how many applicants applied directly to DACS rather than through 
a tax collector. Therefore, it is uncertain how many new convenience fees will be paid to tax collectors. 
 
For these reasons, the proposed high estimate is positive indeterminate and the proposed low estimate is positive insignificant. 
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Section 15 
There are 876 organizations in the removed category 2. DACS does not have data regarding which of these 876 organization will now 
be paying the $75 fee under category 3 and which will pay the $10 fee under category 1. 
 
Also, there will likely be some new registrants now paying the $75 fee when they would have paid the category 2 $10 fee under 
previous law. DACS received 3106 new organization registrations in 2023, but they do not have data regarding how many registrants 
paid which fee. 
 
For a positive indeterminate outcome, it would take 1,538 organizations (new and/or from removed category 2) who would have 
paid the $10 fee under previous law, to pay the $75 fee under the bill. 
 
For these reasons, the proposed high estimate is positive indeterminate and the proposed low estimate is positive insignificant. 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 
Sections 13 & 36 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 ** **   * * 

2025-26 ** **   * * 

2026-27 ** **   * * 

2027-28 ** **   * * 

2028-29 ** **   * * 

Revenue Distribution:  Local funds only 
 
Section 15 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 ** **   * * 

2025-26 ** **   * * 

2026-27 ** **   * * 

2027-28 ** **   * * 

2028-29 ** **   * * 

Revenue Distribution:  DACS General Inspection Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/27/2024):  The conference adopted a positive indeterminate impact for the Tax 
Collection Convenience Fees (sections 13 & 36) and a positive insignificant impact for the Charitable Organization Fees (section 
15).     
 
Sections 13 & 36: Tax Collector Convenience Fees 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  *  *  *  *  

2025-26 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  *  *  *  *  

2026-27 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  *  *  *  *  

2027-28 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  *  *  *  *  

2028-29 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  *  *  *  *  
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Section 15:  Charitable Organization Fees 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2025-26 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2026-27 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2027-28 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2028-29 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  
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a. Current Law:
The Department of Health (DOH) must review the criminal history of licensure applicants and current licensees for certain
health care professions. According to DOH, there are currently 22 “screened” professions that fall under the background
screening requirements of s. 456.0135, F.S.  New and renewing applicants for these professions must submit to a state and
national criminal history check and submit fingerprints.  According to FDLE, the initial fingerprinting cost is $61.25, of which $48
is remitted to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement’s Operating Trust Fund for the state level criminal record check ($24)
and for retention of the fingerprints for five years ($24), and the remainder is remitted to the federal government for the
national criminal history record check.  Applicants for these screened professions must also pay $43.25 into the FDLE Operating
Trust Fund to renew their fingerprint retention every five years.

All fingerprints received as part of the initial licensure process are entered into the Care Provider Background Screening
Clearinghouse, which is administered by the Agency for Health Care Administration. Licensure applications received before
January 1, 2013, are stored within FDLE’s SHIELD system, outside of the Clearinghouse.

There are also “non-screened” professions. These applicants do not have to submit to fingerprinting or Clearinghouse
fingerprint retention.

b. Proposed Change:
Beginning July 1, 2025, the bill requires almost all of the currently non-screened professions licensed by DOH to undergo the
initial fingerprinting and Clearinghouse retention requirements of screened professions under s. 456.0135, F.S., and to pay the
$61.25 ($48 to FDLE), when applying for licensure.

Further, current licensees in non-screened professions who were licensed before July 1, 2025, must submit to the fingerprinting
requirements at their next licensure renewal and pay the same $61.25 ($48 to FDLE).  This is a one-time requirement.

There is no change to requirements for further renewal of these licenses, so it does not appear these professionals will need to
pay the fee to retain their fingerprints in the Clearinghouse at five-year intervals after the initial screening required by the bill.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Florida Department of Health – Annual Report & Long-Range Plan, available at: MQA Annual Report 2022-2023 (floridahealth.gov) 
Florida Department of Health Agency Analysis for HB 975 
Florida Department of Law Enforcement Agency Analysis for HB 975 
Contact with staff at DOH (unresponsive) 
Contact with staff at AHCA 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

New Application Fees 
For FY 2022-23, DOH received 134,362 applications for initial health care practitioner licensing. Of those applicants, 91,895 were for 
screened professions and 42,467 were for non-screened professions.  Based on those numbers, DOH estimates that between 40,000 
and 45,000 additional applicants for initial licensure will need to be screened annually under this bill.   

For every initial licensure application under s. 456.0135, F.S., $48 in revenue is remitted to FDLE’s Operating Trust Fund ($24 for 
background check and $24 for fingerprint retention for an initial five-year period).   

REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Background screening for certain healthcare professions 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 975 

  x      Entire Bill 
      Partial Bill:   

Sponsor(s):  Representative Trabulsy 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2025 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 27, 2024

Section 1: Narrative 
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Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Background screening for certain healthcare professions 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 975 
 

 

Assuming roughly 40,000 new applicants each year are required to remit the $48 to FDLE, that represents an increase of almost $2 
million per year: 
 

 Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0 0 

2025-26 1.9 1.9 

2026-27 1.9 1.9 

2027-28 1.9 1.9 

 
Existing Applications Subject to Renewal 
For FY 2022-23, DOH had a total of 404,673 non-screened active licenses.  These licenses are generally renewed biennially.1  The bill 
requires licensees who were initially licensed before July 1, 2025, to submit to the same background check as a new licensee as part 
of the next renewal that occurs after July 1, 2025.   
 
Assuming the 404,673 existing non-screened licensees are on roughly even renewal schedules, that reflects approximately 200,000 
licensees paying the $48 to FDLE in FY 2025-26 and in FY 2026-27:  
 

 Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0 0 

2025-26 9.6 0 

2026-27 9.6 0 

2027-28 0 0 

2028-29 0 0 

 
Once those existing licensees have been screened, there will not be ongoing impacts from this law change. 
 
Conclusion 
The numbers provided by DOH in their agency analysis reflect only a single year’s activity, and no further information was provided 
by the agency when requested.  As such, the numbers in any given year may vary significantly from the estimated numbers in this 
analysis.  Using the best available information, the combined impact of new applicants and existing applicants who will be required 
to pay FDLE the $48 fee under the bill is the proposed low impact: 
 

 Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0 0 

2025-26 11.5 1.9 

2026-27 11.5 1.9 

2027-28 1.9 1.9 

2028-29 1.9 1.9 

 
The level of confidence in these numbers is low, however, so the proposed high estimate is positive indeterminate to reflect the 
uncertainty of the impact in any given year.  All proposed impacts begin in the 2025-26 fiscal year, as the law first applies beginning 
July 1, 2025. 

 
  

                                                      
1 See, e.g., ss. 457.107, 483.817, 491.007, 463.007, 463.008, 486.085, and 490.007, F.S. 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Background screening for certain healthcare professions 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 975 
 

 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0 0   0 0 

2025-26 ** **   11.5 1.9 

2026-27 ** **   11.5 1.9 

2027-28 ** **   1.9 1.9 

2028-29 ** **   1.9 1.9 

 
Revenue Distribution:  FDLE’s Operating Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted the high estimate, except for a positive 
indeterminate impact for the FY 2024-25 recurring impact.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  **  0.0  **  0.0  0.0  0.0  **  

2025-26 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2026-27 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2027-28 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  

2028-29 **  **  **  **  0.0  0.0  **  **  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Teacher Certification Fees 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 7002 (Chapter 2024-159, Laws of Florida) 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 26 
Sponsor(s):  Fiscal Policy; Education Pre-K -12; (Co-Introducers) Hutson; Osgood; Calatayud 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 27, 2024; July 12, 2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: The State Board of Education establishes a schedule of non-refundable fees for applications, examinations, 

certification, certification renewal, late renewal, etc. and may establish procedures for scheduling and administering an 
examination upon an applicant’s request. Each fee shall be based on Department of Education (DOE) estimates of the revenue 
required to implement the law with respect to certification of school personnel. 

 
The proceeds from the collection of certification fees, fines, penalties, and costs levied pursuant to this chapter shall be 
remitted by DOE to the Chief Financial Officer for deposit into a separate fund to be known as the “Educational Certification and 
Service Trust Fund” and disbursed for the payment of expenses incurred by the Educational Practices Commission and in the 
printing of forms and bulletins and the issuing of certificates, upon vouchers approved by the department. 
 
The State Board of Education waives initial general knowledge, professional education, and subject area examination fees and 
certification fees for: 

• A member of the United States Armed Forces or a reserve component thereof who is serving or has served on active 
duty or the spouse of such a member. 

• The surviving spouse of a member of the United States Armed Forces or a reserve component thereof who was serving 
on active duty at the time of death. 

• An honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Forces or a veteran of a reserve component thereof and 
the spouse or surviving spouse of such a veteran. 

• A retired first responder, which includes a law enforcement officer, a firefighter, or an emergency medical technician or 
paramedic. 

 
 Proposed Change:  Section 26 of CS/SB 7002 (Chapter 2024-159, Laws of Florida) amends s. 1012.59, F.S., as follows: 

1012.59 Certification fees.— 
“(4) The State Board of Education shall waive initial subject area examination fees and certification fees for a teacher who 
holds a temporary or professional certificate in:  
(a) Exceptional Student Education K–12 and who applies to add a subject coverage in Elementary Education K–6.  
(b) Elementary Education K–6 and who applies to add a subject coverage in Exceptional Student Education K–12.”  
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
• Fee and Payment Information (Effective April 22, 2019), DOE  

o https://www.fldoe.org/accountability/assessments/postsecondary-assessment/ftce/registration-information/fees-
payment.stml 

• Certification Application Fee Schedule, DOE 
o https://www.fldoe.org/teaching/certification/steps-to-certification/certification-application-fee-schedule.stml  

• Emails between EDR and DOE (June 2024) 
 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Current Program 

Currently all educators remit fees to DOE for subject area examinations and certifications. The only educators exempt from 
these fees are certain military and first responders. Subject area examination and certification fees for Elementary 
Education K-6 and Exceptional Student Education K-12 are outlined in Table 1.  

 
  

 X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Teacher Certification Fees 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 7002 (Chapter 2024-159, Laws of Florida) 
 

Table 1. Addition of Subject Examination and Certification Fee Schedule 
 Examination Fee Addition of Subject 

Certification Fee 
Elementary Education K-6 (Full Battery) $150.00 $75.00 
Exceptional Student Education K-12 $150.00 $75.00 

Source: DOE 
 
Analysis 

To estimate the magnitude of fees to be waived across the forecast horizon, examination and certification fees collected by 
DOE for educators that will now be eligible for the new waiver were requested (Table 2).  
 

Table 2. Fees Collected for Addition of Subject Area, FY 2022-FY 2024 
  FY 2022  

(July 2021-June 2022) 
FY 2023  

(July 2022-June 2023) 
Partial FY 2024  

(July 2023-June 20, 2024) 

ESE K-12 Teachers adding on Elementary 
Ed K-6 

      

K-6 Examination Fees Collected  $1,261,500.00   $1,151,775.00   $1,099,013.00  

Certification Fees Collected  $87,675.00   $54,375.00   $53,475.00  

Total Fees Collected  $1,349,175.00   $1,206,150.00   $1,152,488.00  

Elementary Ed K-6 Teachers adding on 
ESE K-12 

      

ESE Examination Fees Collected  $763,350.00   $823,800.00   $858,150.00  

Certification Fees Collected  $137,175.00   $92,925.00   $99,225.00  

Total Fees Collected  $900,525.00   $916,725.00   $957,375.00  

Fees Collected Annually  $2,249,700.00   $2,122,875.00   $2,109,863.00  

Source: Emails between DOE and EDR (June 2024) 
 

Between FY 2022 and FY 2024 fees collected by DOE for this subset of teachers has declined an average 3.1% annually.  
 
Providing additional waivers increases the pool of educators that are exempt from paying fees associated with examination 
and certification for additional subject areas. Any increase in exemptions will result in a decrease in fees collected.  

 
Model Explanation 

To forecast fees that would have been collected for this subset of educators through FY 2029, the model uses the average 
annual decline of 3.1% per year. The results are below in Table 3.  
 

Table 3. Forecast of Fees Collected by DOE 
 FY 2025  

(July 2024-June 2025) 
FY 2026  

(July 2025-June 2026) 
FY 2027  

(July 2026-June 2027) 
FY 2028  

(July 2027-June 2028) 
FY 2029  

(July 2028-June 2029) 
Forecasted Fees, 

Collected Annually  $2,043,925.98   $1,980,049.60   $1,918,169.48   $1,858,223.23   $1,800,150.40  
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Teacher Certification Fees 
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 7002 (Chapter 2024-159, Laws of Florida) 
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

State 
Trust 

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25   (2.0) (2.0)   
2025-26   (2.0) (2.0)   
2026-27   (1.9) (1.9)   
2027-28   (1.9) (1.9)   
2028-29   (1.8) (1.8)   

 
Revenue Distribution:   
The “Educational Certification and Service Trust Fund” is subject the General Revenue Service Charge.  
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (0.2) (0.2) (1.8) (1.8) 0.0 0.0 (2.0) (2.0) 
2025-26 (0.2) (0.2) (1.8) (1.8) 0.0 0.0 (2.0) (2.0) 
2026-27 (0.2) (0.2) (1.7) (1.7) 0.0 0.0 (1.9) (1.9) 
2027-28 (0.2) (0.2) (1.7) (1.7) 0.0 0.0 (1.9) (1.9) 
2028-29 (0.1) (0.1) (1.7) (1.7) 0.0 0.0 (1.8) (1.8) 

 
7/12/2024: The Conference corrected the allocation between the General Revenue Service Charge and the Educational Certification 
and Service Trust Fund.  
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FY 2022 (July

2021-June 2022)

FY 2023 (July

2022-June 2023)

FY 2024 (July

2023-June 20,

ESE K-12 Teachers adding on Elementary Ed K-6

K-6 Examination Fees Collected $ 1,261,500 $ 1,151,775 $ 1,099,013

Certification Fees Collected $ 87,675 $ 54,375 $ 53,475

Total Fees Collected $ 1,349,175 $ 1,206,150 $ 1,152,488

Elementary Ed K-6 Teachers adding on ESE K-12

ESE Examination Fees Collected $ 763,350 $ 823,800 $ 858,150

Certification Fees Collected $ 137,175 $ 92,925 $ 99,225

Total Fees Collected $ 900,525 $ 916,725 $ 957,375

Fees Collected Annually $ 2,249,700 $ 2,122,875 $ 2,109,863

Percent Change -5.6% -0.6%

Average Annual Change -3.1%

FY 2025 FY 2026 FY 2027 FY 2028 FY 2029 

(July 2024-June 2025) (July 2025-June 2026) (July 2026-June 2027) (July 2027-June 2028) (July 2028-June 2029)

2,043,925.98$    1,980,049.60$      1,918,169.48$    1,858,223.23$    1,800,150.40$      

(2.0) (2.0) (1.9) (1.9) (1.8)
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees/Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Building Permit Fees and Surcharges 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/CS/HB 267 

       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s):  Representative Esposito 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  January 1, 2025 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  June 27, 2024 

Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:

Local Building Permits

A local government may charge reasonable fees as set forth in a schedule of fees adopted by the enforcing agency for the
issuance of a building permit.1 Current law requires local governments to review certain building permit applications within a
specified period of receiving the applications. If a local government fails to meet these deadlines it must reduce the building
permit fee by 10% for each business day that it fails to meet the deadline. However, these time limitations do not apply when a
law, agency rule, or local ordinance specifies different timeframes for review of local building permit applications, for permits
for wireless communication facilities, or when both parties agree to an extension.

DBPR Surcharges

Current law requires all local governments to assess and collect two surcharges calculated on the building permit fees.  The
surcharges are on any building permit issued by their enforcement agency for the purpose of enforcing the Building Code:

1. A 1% surcharge that is remitted to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) to fund the
activities of the Florida Building Commission, DBPR’s Building Code Compliance and Mitigation Program, and the
Florida Fire Prevention Code informal interpretations.2

2. A 1.5% surcharge remitted to DBPR, where it is divided equally to fund the activities of the Building Code
Administrators and Inspectors Board and the Florida Homeowners’ Construction Recovery Fund.3

Local government building departments are permitted to retain 10% of the amount of the surcharges they collect to fund 
participation by their agencies in the national and state building code adoption processes and to provide education related to 
enforcement of the Building Code.4 

If any permit fees are refunded because a local government fails to meet an established deadline for reviewing a building permit 
application, the DBPR surcharges must be recalculated based on the amount of the permit fees after the refund.5 

b. Proposed Change:

The bill makes two primary changes that may affect local building permit fees and the related DBPR surcharges:
1. The bill reduces current timelines and revises procedures for applying for and obtaining a building permit, which may

increase the number of cases in which the building permit fee reduction provisions apply.
2. The mandatory reduction in building permit fees will not apply if the delay in issuing the permit is caused by the applicant

or if there is a natural disaster or other force majeure which causes the delay, which may decrease the number of cases in
which the building permit fee reduction provisions apply.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Department of Business and Professional Regulation Agency Analysis for HB 267 dated April 26, 2024 

1 S. 553.80 F.S.  
2 S. 553.721, F.S. 
3 S. 468.631, F.S.; The Florida Homeowners’ Construction Recovery Fund is used to compensate homeowners who have suffered a covered financial 
loss at the hands of state-licensed general, building and residential contractors. Claims are filed with the DBPR, who reviews for completeness and 
statutory eligibility. The DBPR then presents the claim to the Construction Industry Licensing Board for review. s. 489.1401(2), F.S. 
4 Ss. 468.631, and 553.721, F.S. 
5 S. 553.79(16)(d), F.S. 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees/Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Building Permit Fees and Surcharges 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/CS/HB 267 

Contact with DBPR Staff 
Communication with Florida League of Cities and Florida Association of Counties 
House Final Bill Analysis of HB 267 
EDR Local Government Reports on Building Permit Fees: County Revenues: LFY 1993-2022; Municipal Revenues: LFY 1993-2022 

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

Local Building Permits 
Per data from EDR, the most recent five-year average of total municipal and county local building permit revenue is $941 million 
per year, with growth in each year except 2020: 

FYE Municipalities Counties Total 
2018  $ 551,087,846  $ 315,074,704  $ 866,162,550 
2019  $ 582,070,773  $ 324,670,767  $ 906,741,540 
2020  $ 507,236,855  $ 320,513,313  $ 827,750,168 
2021  $ 602,799,781  $ 385,620,585  $ 988,420,366 
2022  $ 714,661,979  $ 399,574,753  $ 1,114,236,732 
Average  $ 591,571,447  $ 349,090,824  $ 940,662,271 

Assuming modest growth moving forward, the average total statewide local building permit fee revenue is likely to be more 
than $1 billion per year.  As such, even a very small impact from this bill would likely have an impact that exceeds the threshold 
for significance. 

The two possible impacts from this bill work in opposite directions.  

1. The first impact potentially decreases revenue by making the required permit fee reduction more likely.  This would
occur if a local government is unable to issue a permit within the narrower timelines provided by the bill.  Contact with
the Association of Counties indicates this is likely to impact their members, but they do not know to what extent.
Contact with the League of Cities indicates they believe most cities can likely comply with these timelines within
existing resources, so the impact to their members is likely to be smaller, if any.

2. The second impact would not raise revenue above allowable existing building permit fee revenue, but could potentially
increase the amount of building permit fees retained.  Under existing law, the building permit fee must be reduced by
10% per day if the statutory timeline for issuing the permit is not met, unless a local ordinance provides for a different
timeline or both parties agree to an extension.  The new law also exempts the local government from the fee reduction
if the delay is caused by the applicant or is caused by a force majeure outside the control of the local government.  As
such, fee revenue could increase if most of the current reductions are caused by delay of the applicants or natural
disasters.  Contact with the Association indicates this may happen, but they are not sure as to scope.  The League of
Cities indicated they believe most cities are already issuing permits within current timelines. As such, there would be
no change to permit fees collected by cities as the fee reductions are not currently occurring in large numbers.

The possible impacts here depend on which of these scenarios is more likely, and which change has a larger impact in any given 
year.  Given the size of the total base ($1 billion), a significant impact (more than $100,000) in one direction or the other is 
likely, but directionality is unknown.   

• The low assumes the changes to the application timeline will cause local governments to miss deadlines to issue
permits and therefore impose the 10% daily fee reduction and consequently reduce the total collected building permit
fees.  This also assumes that the reduction in fees due to this change will outweigh any increase from local
governments that previously had to reduce building permit fees significantly due to natural disasters or delays of the
applicant and will instead be able to charge the full fee moving forward.

• The middle assumes in any given year the impact could be negative or positive.
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees/Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Building Permit Fees and Surcharges 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/CS/HB 267 

• The high assumes local governments that have had to reduce building permit fees significantly due to natural disasters
or delays of the applicant will instead be able to charge the full fee moving forward, and that those increases outweigh
any new fee reductions under the revised building permit timelines.

DBPR Surcharges 

There are two surcharges remitted to DBPR by local governments related to local building permit fees.  Per DBPR, collections in 
the last three years have been as follows: 

Surcharge Collection 2021-2022 2022-2023 2023-2024 3-Year Average
Building Code 
Administrators & Inspectors 
Board (468.631, F.S.) 

$ 10,494,556  $ 13,166,194  $ 13,050,225 $12,236,992 

Florida Building Commission 
(553.721, F.S.) 

$ 6,981,826  $ 9,451,188  $ 9,807,940 $8,746,985 

Total Surcharge Per Fiscal 
Year 

$ 17,476,382  $ 22,617,381  $ 22,858,164 $20,983,976 

A shift in the surcharges of just half a percent would exceed the threshold for significance ($20,983,976*0.005= $104,920).  
Because the surcharges are calculated based on the building permit fees, the proposed impact to state trust funds aligns with 
the proposed impact to local governments, and ranges from negative indeterminate (low) to positive indeterminate (high). 

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

Local 
Gov. 

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2025-26 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2026-27 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2027-28 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2028-29 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 

State 
Trust  

High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2025-26 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2026-27 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2027-28 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 
2028-29 ** ** +/- +/- (**) (**) 

Revenue Distribution:   
Local Government (Building Permit Fees) 
Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Fund (s. 468.631, F.S., surcharge) 
Professional Regulation Trust Fund (s. 553.721, F.S., surcharge) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  Other Taxes and Fees/Local Taxes and Fees 
Issue:  Building Permit Fees and Surcharges 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/CS/HB 267 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/27/2024): The Conference adopted a +/- indeterminate impact. 

GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0 0.0 +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- 
2025-26 0.0 0.0 +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- 
2026-27 0.0 0.0 +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- 
2027-28 0.0 0.0 +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- 
2028-29 0.0 0.0 +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- +/- 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source:  State School Trust Fund  
Issue:  Unclaimed Property – Toll Roads 
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/CS/HB 1301  
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 6 
Sponsor(s):  Representative Abbott 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed:  6/27/2024 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Per Section 338.231, F.S., any prepaid toll account of any kind which has remained inactive for 3 years shall be 

presumed unclaimed and its disposition shall be handled by the Department of Financial Services.  
 

b.  Proposed Change:  The bill changes the number of inactive years which causes a prepaid toll account to be presumed as 
unclaimed property from 3 to 10. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources:  
Unclaimed Property Department (Department) Data and Discussion 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The Unclaimed Property Department provided the analysis with last 10 years of unclaimed prepaid tolls collected by the department 
(see below). The analysis assumed that the Department will not be able to collect any unclaimed prepaid tolls for the next 7 years 
due to the law change. The middle methodology is a 3-year average of the last 3 years and applied to our fiscal window. The high 
methodology applies the last year amount (2022) to our fiscal window.   

Year Amount 
2022 $5,591,092.55 
2021 $3,088,536.21 
2020 $3,173,997.62 
2019 $2,978,268.42 
2018 $3,074,473.01 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 ($5,591,092) ($5,591,092) ($3,951,209) ($3,951,209)   
2025-26 ($5,591,092) ($5,591,092) ($3,951,209) ($3,951,209)   
2026-27 ($5,591,092) ($5,591,092) ($3,951,209) ($3,951,209)   
2027-28 ($5,591,092) ($5,591,092) ($3,951,209) ($3,951,209)   
2028-29 ($5,591,092) ($5,591,092) ($3,951,209) ($3,951,209)   

 
Revenue Distribution:  State School Trust Fund 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/27/2024):  The Conference adopted ($3.05), the average of four years excluding 
2022.     
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 
2025-26 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 
2026-27 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 
2027-28 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 
2028-29 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 0.0  0.0  (3.1) (3.1) 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees/Local Taxes and Fees  
Issue: Hunting and Fishing License Fee Exemption for Disabled Veterans  
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 1329 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill: Section 4 
Sponsor(s): House State Affairs Committee, House Local Administration, Federal Affairs & Special Districts Subcommittee, and 
Representatives Redondo and Alvarez 
Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024 
Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 27, 2024  

Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) issues hunting, freshwater fishing, and saltwater fishing licenses
and permits (hereinafter referred to as licenses). License fees are exempt, under section 379.353(1), F.S., for certain Florida
residents who are disabled. In order to qualify for the fee exemption, a person must be determined to be:

• totally and permanently disabled for purposes of workers' compensation,
• totally and permanently disabled by the Railroad Retirement Board, by the United States Department of Veterans

Affairs, or by any branch of the United States Armed Forces, or
• disabled by the United States Social Security Administration.

FWC reported that there were 22,770 active exemptions under section 379.353(1), F.S., in Fiscal Year 2023. Additionally, section 
379.353(2), F.S., does not require licenses for Florida residents who are 65 years of age or older.  

FWC provided the tables below that show fees that are currently exempt under s. 379.353(1), F.S. (see gray highlighted 
columns). The Military Gold Sportsman’s License has an annual cost of $18.50 for Florida residents who are active duty or 
retired military members and covers hunting, freshwater fishing, and saltwater fishing. The tables below also show units sold 
and sales to non-exempt persons (see blue highlighted columns).  

An additional license charge provides funding for tax collectors to cover the cost of issuing licenses. Section 379.352, F.S., 
requires that the amount of $1.50 must be charged for each new license in addition to any other license fee. The $1.50 charge is 
added to the fees in the tables above. For example, the Military Gold Sportsman’s License would be a total of $20 per license. 
After the tax collector retains their share of the $1.50 charge, any remaining revenue must be deposited in the State Game Trust 
Fund. The tax collector may retain:  

• $1 for each hunting license and freshwater fishing license sold by a tax collector, including the combination freshwater
fishing and hunting license, the sportsman’s license, and the gold sportsman’s license.

• $1.50 for each saltwater fishing tag and saltwater fishing license sold by a tax collector, including the combination
saltwater fishing and freshwater fishing license and the combination saltwater fishing, freshwater fishing, and hunting
license.

• $0.50 from other license proceeds otherwise due the commission to cover the cost of issuing shoreline fishing licenses.
(The $1.50 charge does not apply to shoreline fishing licenses.)

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees/Local Taxes and Fees  
Issue: Hunting and Fishing License Fee Exemption for Disabled Veterans  
Bill Number(s):  CS/CS/HB 1329 

Finally, the federal government uses the number of paid licenses in each state to distribute revenue from the Wildlife 
Restoration Act (WR) and the Sport Fish Restoration Act (SFR). States must annually certify the number of hunting and fishing 
licenses sold. Licenses only count in the certification and distribution formula if the state fish and wildlife agency receives at 
least $2 in gross revenue for either the privilege to hunt or fish, or $4 for the privilege to both hunt and fish.  

b. Proposed Change: Section 4 expands the fee exemption for licenses to additional veterans who are disabled. In order to qualify
for the exemption under the bill, a veteran must be a Florida resident, honorably discharged, and certified by the United States
Department of Veterans Affairs or by any branch of the United States Armed Forces as having a service-connected disability
percentage rating of 50 percent or greater. Any license issued under this expanded fee exemption expires after five years and
must be reissued, upon request, every five years thereafter.

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources: 
• FWC, 2024 Agency Legislative Bill Analysis for SB 1666.
• Email and phone call correspondence with FWC.
• Email correspondence with Florida Department of Veterans Affairs.

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details): 

The Florida Department of Veterans’ Affairs estimates that 92,820 Florida veterans would qualify for the fee exemption under 
the bill. This is out of 714,000 Florida veterans under 65 years of age as of Fiscal Year 2023. The estimate excludes veterans who 
are 100% disabled because they are already exempt from license fees. Due to data limitations, it does not take into account if a 
veteran received an honorable discharge. Assuming that veterans take advantage of the Military Gold Sportsman’s License at a 
cost of $18.50, it would take 5,406 (5.8%) veterans to reach a significant negative effect on state trust funds. For the additional 
$1.50 or $1 charge to cover the cost of issuance by tax collectors, it would take 66,667 (71.8%) or 100,000 (108%) veterans to 
reach a significant negative effect.  

FWC provided an estimated annual loss of $136,000 in federal SFR funding and $1.36 million in WR funding. FWC arrived at 
these numbers by estimating a potential pool of 116,000 eligible veterans (higher than the 92,820 pool in the above analysis). 
Then estimated that 23,000 (almost 20%) of the eligible pool of veterans would hunt or fish and ran a hypothetical scenario to 
reduce their 2023 license certification by 23,000 licenses to estimate the funding decrease. FWC noted that the actual amount 
would depend on license certifications in other states, how much federal funding is available to all states, and the actual 
number of Florida veterans who use the fee exemption under the bill.  

The proposed impact is indeterminate negative for trust funds and insignificant negative for local funds due to the uncertainty 
about the number of eligible veterans and how many would hunt or fish.  

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 Trust Funds 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2024-25 (**) (**) 
2025-26 (**) (**) 
2026-27 (**) (**) 
2027-28 (**) (**) 
2028-29 (**) (**) 
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Local 
High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 
2024-25 (*) (*) 
2025-26 (*) (*) 
2026-27 (*) (*) 
2027-28 (*) (*) 
2028-29 (*) (*) 

Revenue Distribution:  
State Game Trust Fund for hunting and freshwater fishing license fees.  
Marine Resources Conservation Trust Fund for saltwater fishing license fees. 
Federal Grants Trust Fund for federal funding from WR and SFR.   
Local funds for tax collectors.  

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/27/2024) The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. 

GR Trust Local/Other Total 
Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2024-25 (**) (**) (**) (**) (*) (*) (**) (**) 
2025-26 (**) (**) (**) (**) (*) (*) (**) (**) 
2026-27 (**) (**) (**) (**) (*) (*) (**) (**) 
2027-28 (**) (**) (**) (**) (*) (*) (**) (**) 
2028-29 (**) (**) (**) (**) (*) (*) (**) (**) 
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