
REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Insurance Premium Tax 
Issue:  Health Insurance Savings Program 
Bill Number(s):  CS/HB 1113 Enrolled 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Sections 5 - 7 
Sponsor(s):  Rep. Renner 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  March 2021 
Date of Analysis:  6/3/2019 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  No authorization to treat shared savings plans incentives in a manner that reduces direct written premiums for 

determining Insurance Premium Tax liability 
 

b.  Proposed Change:  Creates sections 627.6387, 627.6648 and 641.31076, Florida Statutes, to provide statutory criteria for the 
Shared Savings Incentive Program. Provides the program is voluntary and optional both on the part of the insurer and the 
insured.  Provides that a participating insurer must at least quarterly credit or deposit the shared savings incentive amount to 
the insured’s account as a return or reduction in premium, or credit the shared savings to the insured’s flexible spending 
account, health savings account, or health reimbursement account. Requires any shared saving incentive to be at least 25% of 
the savings amount. 
Sections 627.6387 and 627.6648, Florida Statutes, provide that the shared saving incentive amount provided as a return or 
reduction of premium reduces the health insurer’s direct written premium by the shared savings incentive dollar amount for 
purposes of the Insurance Premium Tax.   

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
Office of Insurance Regulation – 2017 Premium Summary Report for the Legislature 
Underlying Accident and Health Insurance related growth rates for Insurance Premium Tax – March 14, 2019 General Revenue 
Estimating Conference 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
Assumed base for determining savings is equal to total direct written premium amounts. Assumed combined participation rates of 
80% in the high, 50% in the middle and 20% in the low.  Assumed savings would be 10% in the high, 7% in the middle and 3% in the 
low.  Assumed the Shared Savings Incentive Payments will be 50% of the savings in the high, 35% in the middle and 25% in the low.  
Grew the output amounts by underlying Accident and Health Insurance growth rates from the 3/14/2019 General Revenue 
Estimating Conference.  As the effective date is 1/1/2020, the first-year cash is $0.  Assumed the second-year cash (first year of 
implementation) would be 50% of the recurring amount to allow for program startup. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 $0 ($13.9M) $0 ($4.3 M) $0 ($0.5 M) 

2020-21 ($7.3 M) ($14.6 M) ($2.2 M) ($4.5 M) ($0.3 M) ($0.5 M) 

2021-22 ($15.2 M) ($15.2 M) ($4.7 M) ($4.7 M) ($0.6 M) ($0.6 M) 

2022-23 ($15.8 M) ($15.8 M) ($4.8 M) ($4.8 M) ($0.6 M) ($0.6 M) 

2023-24 ($16.5 M) ($16.5 M) ($5.0 M) ($5.0 M) ($0.6 M) ($0.6 M) 

List of affected Trust Funds:  Insurance Premium Group 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/05/2019):   The Conference adopted a modified low estimate that staggered the 
participation rate from 10% FY 19-20, 15% in FY 20-21, to 20% in the out years. 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 0.0  (0.4) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.4) 

2020-21 (0.7) (0.7) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.7) (0.7) 

2021-22 (0.9) (0.9) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (0.9) (0.9) 

2022-23 (1.0) (1.0) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (1.0) (1.0) 

2023-24 (1.0) (1.0) 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (1.0) (1.0) 

 

X 
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HB 1133 - Health Insurance Savings Plans
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2015 2016 2017 High Middle Low

NAIC $162,747,840 $160,918,194 $149,617,450 80% 50% 20%

Non-NAIC $50,901,149 $68,229,701 $225,809,255 80% 50% 20%

total $213,648,989 $229,147,895 $375,426,705

DIRECT WRITTEN PREMIUMS FROM HEALTH COVERAGES 
 2015 2016 2017

2 Comprehensive (Hospital & Medical) Individual $2,838,061,962 $3,735,122,330 $4,776,990,553 80% 50% 20%

3 Comprehensive (Hospital & Medical) Group $2,847,383,529 $2,622,874,773 $2,616,565,152 80% 50% 20%

5 Vision Only $69,146,630 $81,186,507 $93,527,424 80% 50% 20%

6 Dental Only $357,991,686 $379,584,381 $417,075,045 80% 50% 20%

10 Stop Loss not applicable not applicable not applicable

11 Disability Income not applicable not applicable not applicable

12 Long-Term Care not applicable not applicable not applicable

13 Other $642,595,299 $676,838,620 $702,263,384 80% 50% 20%

total $6,755,179,106 $7,495,606,611 $8,606,421,558

2015 2016 2017

2 Comprehensive (Hospital & Medical) Individual $3,984,985,775 $4,606,465,680 $4,222,322,687

3 Comprehensive (Hospital & Medical) Group $7,064,223,681 $6,827,610,920 $7,107,419,112

13 Other $383,460,619 $390,916,469 $385,113,918

total $11,432,670,075 $11,824,993,069 $11,714,855,717

2015 2016 2017

24 Group policies $6,858,749,437 $7,167,657,896 $7,759,884,319 80% 50% 20%

24.1 Federal employees health benefits program premium $25,059,554 $29,884,378 $31,644,900 80% 50% 20%

24.2 Credit (group and individual) $33,321,575 $35,658,981 $32,850,550 80% 50% 20%

24.3 Collectively renewable policies $417,560 $395,076 $353,192 80% 50% 20%

25.1 Non-cancelable (other individual policies) $302,071,028 $311,786,557 $314,138,754 80% 50% 20%

25.2 Guaranteed renewable (other individual policies) $2,093,531,776 $1,921,691,122 $1,767,729,831 80% 50% 20%

25.3 Non-renewable for stated reasons only (other individual policies) $258,071,843 $63,916,047 $33,555,858 80% 50% 20%

25.4 Other accident only (other individual policies) $5,774,953 $6,201,536 $6,017,126 80% 50% 20%

25.5 All other (other individual policies) $39,539,078 $33,223,791 $79,948,606 80% 50% 20%

total $9,616,536,804 $9,570,415,384 $10,026,123,136

2015 2016 2017

13 Group accident and health $119,790,724 $110,967,794 $157,865,307 80% 50% 20%

14 Credit A&H (group and individual) $2,264,141 $2,089,806 $1,823,554 80% 50% 20%

15.1 Collectively renewable A&H $3,302 $2,533 $2,113 80% 50% 20%

15.2 Non-cancelable A&H $0 $246 $238 80% 50% 20%

15.3 Guaranteed renewable A&H $63,264,404 $63,914,036 $64,548,335 80% 50% 20%

15.4 Non-renewable for stated reasons only $2,083,939 $1,262,600 $1,016,956 80% 50% 20%

15.5 Other accident only $111,028 $149,545 $476,491 80% 50% 20%

15.7 All other A&H $10,713,423 $21,878,593 $24,139,256 80% 50% 20%

15.8 Federal employees health benefits program premium $0 $0 $0 80% 50% 20%

total $198,230,961 $200,265,153 $249,872,250

Total -  Unadjusted Premium Amounts -2017 High Middle Low Adopted Methodology 3-15

$15,406,274,919 $9,628,921,825 $3,851,568,730 $3,851,568,730

Amount of participation - combined provider and insured 80% 50% 20% 20% 1.75%

Amount of savings 10% 7% 3% 5%

Shared Savings incentive percent 50% 35% 25% 25%

Tax Reduction - IPT $13,480,491 $4,128,400 $505,518 $842,530.66

Accident and Health Forecasted Growth Rates 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

3/14/2019 General Revenue Conference 3.50% 4.40% 4.30% 4.20% 4.10% 4.00%

Estimates 2019-2020 2020-2021 2021-2022 2022-2023 2023-2024

High -$13,952,308 -$14,566,209 -$15,192,556 -$15,830,644 -$16,479,700

Middle -$4,272,894 -$4,460,902 -$4,652,720 -$4,848,135 -$5,046,908

Low -$523,212 -$546,233 -$569,721 -$593,649 -$617,989

Adopted Participation Rate 10% 15% 20% 20% 20%

Adopted Recurring Forecast 436,010$                      682,791$                      949,535$                      989,415$             1,029,981$            

Insurance Premium Tax Rate

Florida Office of Insurance Regulation -- Premium Summary Report for Legislature Percent Participation

DIRECT WRITTEN PREMIUMS FROM ACCIDENT AND HEALTH COVERAGES - 

Life and Health Insurers

DIRECT WRITTEN PREMIUMS FROM ACCIDENT AND HEALTH COVERAGES 

Property and Casualty Insurers

DIRECT WRITTEN PREMIUMS FROM HEALTH COVERAGES  - HMO's

DIRECT WRITTEN PREMIUMS FROM PLHSO COVERAGES


Do not Pay Insurance Premium Tax

Do not Pay Insurance Premium Tax

Do not Pay Insurance Premium Tax

Stop loss, disability income, & long term care 

separated only before 2006, and was zero in 2005; 

excluded is Medicare Supplement, FEHBP, Title 

XVIII Medicare, Title XIX Medicaid. 

March 15, 2019 Impact Conference
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax: Sales and Use Tax   
Issue: Local Surtax Election Timing and Approval  
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 5 – Section 1 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s): Local, Federal and Veteran Affairs Subcommittee, DiCeglie   
Month/Year Impact Begins: January 1, 2020   
Date of Analysis: 05/31/2019 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: Under current law, elections for proposed discretionary sales surtaxes authorized under s. 212.055, F.S., that 

require voter approval are not restricted to a specific voting day or election. Such proposals require approval of a majority of the 
qualified electors voting on the ballot question for passage. 
 
Section 212.055(1c), F.S., states that the proposal to adopt a discretionary sales surtax as provided in this subsection and to 
create a trust fund within the county accounts shall be placed on the ballot in accordance with law at a time to be set at the 
discretion of the governing body.  
 
Section 212.055(10), F.S., requires an independent certified public accountant (CPA) to conduct a performance audit of the 
program associated with the proposed surtax. The Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability (OPPAGA) 
shall procure a CPA. A completed audit must be available on the official website of the county or school district at least 60 days 
before a referendum is held. 

 
b.  Proposed Change:  

 
The processes for Charter County and Regional Transportation Surtax are amended to require the petition sponsor to do the 
following 180 days prior to the referendum if the proposal to adopt the surtax is by initiative: 
1. Provide a copy of the ordinance to OPPAGA, who will then procure a CPA to conduct a performance audit within 60 days of 

received the ordinance in accordance with subsection (11) for the performance audit. 
2. File the initiative and its valid signatures with the supervisor of elections, who must verify and retain signatures as required 

under s. 100.371(3), F.S. 
 
The bill establishes that the referendum is void if the initiative is not filed with valid signatures and verified by the supervisor of 
elections or the provisions under Section 212.055(11), F.S. are not followed. 
 
The bill creates subsection (10), which requires that a referendum to adopt or amend a local government discretionary sales 
surtax be held at a general election as defined in s.97021. 

 
The performance audit provisions are amended to: 
1. Require a county or school district to provide a copy of the final resolution or ordinance to OPPAGA of the proposed surtax 

and do so at least 180 days before the referendum is held.  
2. Specify that OPPAGA procure a CPA within 60 days of receiving the final resolution or ordinance from a county or school 

district. 
 
The bill establishes that a referendum is void if the county or school district fails to provide a copy of the final ordinance or 
resolution to OPPAGA of the proposed surtax at least 180 days before the referendum is held or if the performance audit is not 
completed and available on the official website of the county or school district at least 60 days before the referendum is held. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
N/A 

 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
The recommended revenue impact of the bill is zero. The bill creates new requirements for a county to adopt or amend 
discretionary sales surtaxes. These requirements do not directly impact current baseline revenue forecasts because they are based 
on current law and current administration and do not contain assumptions regarding future surtax enactments. Future revenue 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax: Sales and Use Tax   
Issue: Local Surtax Election Timing and Approval  
Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 5 – Section 1 
 
impacts from proposed adoptions of other amendments to discretionary sales surtaxes that could pass under current statutory 
authority may not occur because of the existence of the changes proposed by the bill. 

 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20   0 0   

2020-21   0 0   

2021-22   0 0   

2022-23   0 0   

2023-24   0 0   

 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/05/2019):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.      
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2020-21 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2021-22 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2022-23 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 

2023-24 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Other Taxes and Fees  
Issue:  Medicaid Nursing Home Overpayment Account 
Bill Number(s):  SB 2502 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 28 
Sponsor(s):   
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 1, 2020 
Date of Analysis:  May 22, 2019 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:   
400.179(2)(d), F.S. provides the following: 
As a condition of being issued a license by the Agency for Healthcare Administration (AHCA), a nursing home leasehold license 
applicant has two alternatives: 
 
Alternative (1) - Acquire, maintain, and provide proof to the agency of a bond with a term of 30 months, renewable annually, in                   
an amount not less than the total of 3 months' Medicaid payments to the facility computed on the basis of the preceding 12-month 
average Medicaid payments to the facility. 
 
Alternative (2) - Payment of a nonrefundable fee, paid at initial licensure, paid at the time of any subsequent change of ownership, 
and paid annually thereafter, in the amount of 1 percent of the total of 3 months’ Medicaid payments to the facility computed on 
the basis of the preceding 12-month average Medicaid payments to the facility. 
 
The nonrefundable lease bond alternative fee shall be deposited into the Grants and Donations Trust Fund and shall be accounted 
for separately in a Medicaid Nursing Home Overpayment Account. 
 
These fees shall be used at the sole discretion of the agency to repay nursing home Medicaid overpayments or for enhanced 
payments to nursing facilities as specified in the General Appropriations Act or other law. 
 
By March 31 of each year, the financial viability of the Medicaid Nursing Home Overpayment Account shall be determined by the 
agency assessing the cumulative fees collected, minus unpaid Medicaid overpayments and Service Charges owed to General 
Revenue. If the net cumulative collections, minus amounts utilized to repay nursing home Medicaid overpayments, exceed $25 
million, the provisions of Alternative (2) shall not apply for the subsequent fiscal year.  Basically, bonding would be required for 
licensure in the fiscal year following the calculated year. 
 
b.  Proposed Change:   
For Fiscal Year 2019-20 only, if the March 31, 2020 Medicaid Nursing Home Overpayment Account net cumulative collections, minus 
amounts utilized to repay nursing home Medicaid overpayments, exceed $10 million, the provisions of Alternative (2) shall not apply 
for the subsequent fiscal year. 

 
Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
AHCA provided all collection and disbursement data for FY 2018-19 to determine the March 31, 2019 balance of $16.5 million.  In 
addition, proviso in the General Appropriations Act (SB 2500) specifies the following:  “From the from the funds in Specific 
Appropriations 221 and 222,  $6,000,000 in nonrecurring funds from the Grants and Donations Trust Fund...are provided to fund 
nursing home rate enhancements by increased quality incentive payments pursuant to Senate Bill 2502.”  According to an email 
from AHCA, “The account balance was accessed for the upcoming fiscal year on March 31, 2019 using the $25M amount currently in 
statute.  Collection of funds from the nursing facilities will continue for FY 2019-20.  On March 31, 2020, the Agency will assess the 
Lease Bond Trust Fund with the $10 million cap for the subsequent fiscal year and determine suspension or re-implementation of 
the Lease Bond collection at that time.” 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X
x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Other Taxes and Fees  
Issue:  Medicaid Nursing Home Overpayment Account 
Bill Number(s):  SB 2502 
 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 

 The March 31st determination affects the fees for the immediately following fiscal year, beginning July 1st. 

 Forecasts $6.3 million in fees for FY 2019-20, as provided by AHCA. 

 Assumes a continued level of $5.1 million in overpayments for FY 2019-20 and FY 2020-21. 

 Although it is not clear in statute, AHCA has been assuming that any appropriations specified in proviso from this account 
are an allowable deduction to the calculated balances.  According to an email from AHCA, “The $6,000,000 in Line 221 of 
proviso will be collected from the Lease Bond trust fund and is therefore an allowable deduction from the calculated 
balance that will be assessed on March 31, 2020.”  This analysis uses that assumption. 
 

 
 
Based on assumptions made, it appears that in FY 2019-20 the Medicaid Nursing Home Overpayment Account will exceed the $10 
million threshold; therefore, the Lease Bond Alternative will be discontinued creating a nonrecurring negative impact of $6.3 million.   
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20       

2020-21   ($6.3)    

2021-22       

2022-23       

2023-24       

 
List of affected Trust Funds:  General Revenue Service Charge; Grants and Donations Trust Fund 
 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/05/2019):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.       
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2020-21 (0.5) 0.0  (5.8) 0.0  0.0  0.0  (6.3) 0.0  

2021-22 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2022-23 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  

 

Actual Projected Projected

FY 18-19 FY 19-20 FY 20-21

20.0 March 31, 2018 Beginning Balance 16.5 March 31, 2019 Beginning Balance 11.7 March 31, 2020 Beginning Balance

5.4 FY 2018-19 Fees Collected 6.3 FY 2019-20 Fees Collected FY 2020-21 Fees Collected

-5.1 FY 2018-19 Medicaid Overpayments -5.1 FY 2019-20 Medicaid Overpayments -5.1 FY 2020-21 Medicaid Overpayments

-3.8 FY 2018-19 Proviso -6.0 FY 2019-20 Proviso FY 2020-21 Proviso

16.5 March 31, 2019 Ending Balance 11.7 March 31, 2020 Ending Balance 6.6 March 31, 2021 Ending Balance

25.0 Maximum Balance Allowed 10.0 Maximum Balance Allowed 25.0 Maximum Balance Allowed
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax: Contractor Licensing Fees – DBPR   
Issue:  Grandfathering of Registered Contractors 
Bill Number(s):  HB 763 
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:   
Sponsor(s): Rep. Watson 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  July 2019 
Date of Analysis:  6/5/2019 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law: In order provide contractor services statewide, an applicant must be certified by the Department of Business and 

Professional Regulation. See generally ch. 489, F.S. However, a contractor can provide services within a specific county or 
municipality if the county or municipality provides a local license. These “locally licensed” contractors are not certified and are 
not required to pass a statewide certification exam. They must register with the Department of Business and Professional 
Regulation (DBPR) and are referred to as “registered contractors.” Registered contractors are only authorized to provide 
contracting services in the localities for which they are registered.  
 
Section 489.514, F.S., provides a method for certain registered contractors to become certified statewide contractors without 
having to sit for the statewide certification exam. This process is known as “grandfathering.” It is available to a registered 
electrical contractor, registered alarm system contractor, or registered specialty electrical contractor who: 

 Currently holds a valid registered local license; 

 Has passed a written, proctored examination that is substantially similar to the examination required for certified 
contractors; 

 Has 5 years of experience;  

 Has never had a contractor license revoked, and has not had a contractor license suspended or been assessed a fine in 
excess of $500 within the past 5 years; and  

 Is in compliance with relevant insurance and financial responsibility requirements of certified contractors. 
 

Qualifying registered contractors must apply and pay the certification fee. The certification fee is set by rule at $200. Rule 61G6-
8.001, Florida Administrative Code.  
 
Both registered contractors and certified contractors pay annual license fees to DBPR. Registered contractors’ annual fees are 
$125. Certified contractors’ annual fees are $300.   
 
Under current law, grandfathering expired on November 1, 2015. Note that grandfathering has expired in the past and was 
renewed. The last time it expired was November 1, 2004; however, it was renewed in 2013 and given the current expiration of 
November 1, 2015. 
 

b.  Proposed Change:   
The bill authorizes grandfathering from July 1, 2019, through November 1, 2021. 
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 
 The Department of Business and Professional Regulation database of registered contractors. 
 
Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details) 
DBPR data on the number of registered contractors in 2013 and the number who took advantage of the 2013-2015 grandfathering 
window was applied to the number of current registered contractors to estimate how many registered contractors will take 
advantage of the new grandfathering window. The proposed impact assumes that the proportion of current registered contractors 
that will take advantage of the grandfathering will be the same as registered contractors that took advantage of grandfathering 
when it was extended in 2013.  
 
A state revenue impact was developed by determining the number of registered contractors that will apply for grandfathering in 
each of the fiscal years that the bill applies to (FYs 19-20, 20-21, and 21-22). The number of applicants is then applied to each of the 
3 affected fees ($200 grandfathering certification fee; $125 registered contractor license fee; and $300 certified contractor license 
fee). 
 

 

X 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax: Contractor Licensing Fees – DBPR 
Issue:  Grandfathering of Registered Contractors 
Bill Number(s):  HB 763 

The magnitude of local impact was estimated by sampling county contractor license information, averaging those fees and applying 
that average to the number of estimated registered contractors that will apply for grandfathering.  

Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
State licensing Revenue 

High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 $0.1 M $0.2 M 

2020-21 $0.1 M $0.2 M 

2021-22 $0.2 M $0.2 M 

2022-23 $0.2 M $0.2 M 

2023-24 $0.2 M $0.2 M 

Local Licensing Revenue 

High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 (**) (**) 
2020-21 (**) (**) 
2021-22 (**) (**) 
2022-23 (**) (**) 
2023-24 (**) (**) 

List of affected Trust Funds:   
Professional Regulation Trust Fund -  DBPR 

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/05/2019):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.  

GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 Insignificant Insignificant 0.1 0.2 (**) (**) 0.1 0.2 

2020-21 Insignificant Insignificant 0.1 0.2 (**) (**) 0.1 0.2 

2021-22 Insignificant Insignificant 0.2 0.2 (**) (**) 0.2 0.2 

2022-23 Insignificant Insignificant 0.2 0.2 (**) (**) 0.2 0.2 

2023-24 Insignificant Insignificant 0.2 0.2 (**) (**) 0.2 0.2 
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Pool of Registered Contractors 3590 $200 $125 $300 Total

Applicants 1452 FY 19-20 $95,352 $95,352

Percent 40.45% FY 20-21 $41,512 ($59,595) $143,028 $124,945

FY 13-14 758 52.20% FY 21-22 $45,789 ($85,540) $205,295.60 $165,545

FY 14-15 330 22.73% FY 22-23 ($114,158) $273,979.05 $159,821

FY 15-16 364 25.07% FY 23-24 ($114,158) $273,979.05 $159,821

Pool of Registered Contractors 2258

Applicants 913 Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

Percent 40.45% 2019-20 $95,352 $159,821

FY 19-20 477 52.20% 2020-21 $124,945 $159,821

FY 20-21 208 22.73% 2021-22 $165,545 $159,821

FY 21-22 229 25.07% 2022-23 $159,821 $159,821

2023-24 $159,821 $159,821

Grandfathering Certification Fee $200

Registered Contractor Annual Fee $125

Certified Contractor Annual Fee $300

Application

Escambia $150 $125 Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring

Duval $75 $50 2019-20 (**) (**)

Hillsborough $280 $70 2020-21 (**) (**)

Orange $69 $38 2021-22 (**) (**)

Pinellas $250 $150 2022-23 (**) (**)

Gadsden $143 $72 2023-24 (**) (**)

Monroe $155 $150

Average $160 $94

2019-20 $76,418 $44,611

2020-21 $33,269 $64,033

2021-22 $36,697 $85,455

2022-23 0 $85,455

2023-24 0 $85,455

Magnitude of Impact on Local Licensing Revenues

LOCAL REVENUE IMPACT

STATE REVENUE IMPACT

HB 763 - Contractor Grandfathering

Relevant Fees

2013 Extension - July 1, 2013 - Nov 1, 2015 (28 Months)

As of Jul 1, 2013

During 28 Months

2019 Extension - July 1, 2019 - Nov 1, 2021 (28 Months)

As of Jul 1, 2019

During 28 Months

Effect on Relevant Fees

High Middle Low

Fiscal Impact on Professional Regulation Trust Fund

Annual License Fees High Middle Low

County Registered Contractor Fees Fiscal Impact on Local Contractor Licensing Revenues
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Tuition and Fees 
Issue:  Excess Credit Hours Surcharge  
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 190  
 
       Entire Bill 
       Partial Bill:  Section 10 
Sponsor(s):  Senator Stargel 
Month/Year Impact Begins:  The bill takes effect July 1, 2019; however, the bill also provides that the new excess credit hours 
threshold takes effect beginning with summer term 2019, which would affect the current fiscal year. 
Date of Analysis:  June 5, 2019 
 
Section 1: Narrative 
a. Current Law:  Pursuant to section 1009.286, F.S., a student enrolled in a state university must pay a surcharge for taking credit 

hours in excess of those required to complete his or her baccalaureate degree program. For students who entered a state 
university for the first time beginning with the 2012-13 academic year, the excess credit hour surcharge is equal to 100 percent 
of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 110 percent of degree requirements. First-time-in-college students are 
eligible for a refund of the excess credit hour surcharge for up to 12 hours if the student completes his or her baccalaureate 
degree within four years. 

 
Pursuant to section 1007.25(9), F.S., baccalaureate programs must require no more than 120 semester hours of college credit 
unless prior approval has been granted by the Board of Governors. Based on the most recent Academic Program Inventory, 
there are 269 different baccalaureate degree programs offered by the State University System. There are 51 programs (19% of 
the total) for which at least one university requires more than 120 credit hours to complete the degree. Of these 51 programs, 
approximately half of them have requirements in excess of 120 credit hours at two or more universities. These are mostly 
programs in architecture, education, and engineering. Based on the 120 credit hours standard, students can take up to 132 
credit hours (equivalent to four additional courses) before the surcharge is assessed. The FY 2018-19 tuition rate is $105.07 per 
credit hour.  
 

b. Proposed Change:  The bill requires state universities to calculate an excess hour threshold for each student based on the 
number of hours required for the student’s degree program. The bill requires this threshold to be recalculated if the student 
changes degree programs to one that requires a higher number of credit hours. The bill increases the excess credit hours 
threshold from 110 percent to 120 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate program in 
which the student is enrolled. For a 120 credit hour degree program, this allows the student to take up to 144 credit hours 
(approximately 8 additional courses) before paying an excess hour surcharge.  
 

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources 

 Enrollment and Excess Credit Hours Data provided by Florida Board of Governors Staff. 

 Excess Credit Hours Revenue for FY 2016-17 and FY 2017-18, State University System Operating Budgets.  

 State University System Tuition and Required Fees for 2018-19, available at 
https://www.flbog.edu/board/office/budget/_doc/tuition/2018-19-SUS-Tuition-and-Fee-for-New-Students-by-level.pdf.  

 2018 University Work Plan Reports, available at http://www.flbog.edu/board/workplan/2018_workplan.php.  

 State University System Academic Program Inventory, Baccalaureate Program Length. Available at 
https://prod.flbog.net:4445/pls/apex/f?p=136:48:14246605019039::NO:::. 
 

Section 3: Methodology (see attached) 
The Board of Governors staff provided excess credit hours data for FY 2017-18. For that year, approximately 12,575 graduating 
students took excess credit hours above the current 110% threshold and paid surcharges totaling approximately $10.8 million. These 
students made up approximately 19% of the total graduating students and took an average of 8 excess credit hours. Of that group, 
there were 5,343 students who took excess credit hours above the 120% threshold. This represents approximately 8% of total 
graduates.  
 
To construct the estimate, the number of graduating students for each year is projected using the 2018 university accountability 
plans. The FY 2017-18 data provided by the BOG is used to project the number of future graduates who would have excess hours.  
To calculate the fiscal impact, the assumed number of graduates with excess hours is multiplied by the surcharge amount per credit 
hour (= $105.07) and the average number of excess hours (= 8.2 credit hours). The excess hours surcharge amount is assumed to 
remain at the same level for each year of the forecast (i.e., no tuition increases are assumed). 
 

x 
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REVENUE ESTIMATING CONFERENCE 
Tax:  Tuition and Fees 
Issue:  Excess Credit Hours Surcharge  
Bill Number(s):  CS/SB 190  
 
Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact 
The cash impact for FY 2018-19 assumes that provisions of the bill will affect all summer 2019 terms, which run mid-May through 
mid-August. Using summer enrollment data from the Board of Governors, it is assumed that half of the FY 2018-19 students with 
excess credit hours would enroll during the summer and pay an excess credit hours surcharge for 2 credit hours. 
 

 High Middle Low 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2018-19   (0.8) (6.4)   

2019-20   (6.5) (6.5)   

2020-21   (6.6) (6.6)   

2021-22   (6.7) (6.7)   

2022-23   (6.8) (6.8)   

2023-24   (6.9) (6.9)   

 
List of affected Trust Funds:   
None. Tuition and fee revenue is maintained locally by each state university and is not included in a state trust fund. 
 
Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted:  06/05/2019):  The Conference adopted the proposed estimate for Fiscal Years 2019-20 
through 2023-24.  
 

 GR Trust Local/Other Total 

Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring Cash Recurring 

2019-20 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (6.5) (6.5) (6.5) (6.5) 

2020-21 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (6.6) (6.6) (6.6) (6.6) 

2021-22 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (6.7) (6.7) (6.7) (6.7) 

2022-23 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (6.8) (6.8) (6.8) (6.8) 

2023-24 0.0  0.0  0.0  0.0  (6.9) (6.9) (6.9) (6.9) 
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CS/SB 190 -- Excess Credit Hours Surcharge

1 Projected Revenue from CURRENT Excess Hours Surcharge = 110% Threshold

2

 Total Bachelor's 

Degrees 

Awarded  Growth Rate 

 # With Excess 

Credit Hours 

Above 110% 

 % of Total 

Bachelor's 

Degrees 

 Average # 

Excess Hours 

 Surchage per 

Hour Total Revenue

3 FY 2017-18 65,370                 1.3% 12,575                 19.2% 8.2                        105.07                 10,821,570          

4 FY 2018-19 66,886                 2.3% 12,867                 19.2% 8.2                        105.07                 11,072,854          

5 FY 2019-20 68,052                 1.7% 13,091                 19.2% 8.2                        105.07                 11,265,620          

6 FY 2020-21 69,127                 1.6% 13,298                 19.2% 8.2                        105.07                 11,443,756          

7 FY 2021-22 70,276                 1.7% 13,519                 19.2% 8.2                        105.07                 11,633,941          

8 FY 2022-23 71,415                 1.6% 13,738                 19.2% 8.2                        105.07                 11,822,404          

9 FY 2023-24 72,587                 1.6% 13,963                 19.2% 8.2                        105.07                 12,016,030          

10

11

12 Projected Revenue from NEW Excess Hours Surcharge = 120% Threshold

13

 Total Bachelor's 

Degrees 

Awarded  Growth Rate 

 # With Excess 

Credit Hours 

Above 120% 

 % of Total 

Bachelor's 

Degrees 

 Average # 

Excess Hours 

 Surcharge per 

Hour Total Revenue

14 FY 2017-18 65,370                 1.3% 5,343                   8.2% 8.2                        105.07                 4,597,984            

15 FY 2018-19 66,886                 2.3% 5,467                   8.2% 8.2                        105.07                 4,704,694            

16 FY 2019-20 68,052                 1.7% 5,562                   8.2% 8.2                        105.07                 4,786,447            

17 FY 2020-21 69,127                 1.6% 5,650                   8.2% 8.2                        105.07                 4,862,177            

18 FY 2021-22 70,276                 1.7% 5,744                   8.2% 8.2                        105.07                 4,943,069            

19 FY 2022-23 71,415                 1.6% 5,837                   8.2% 8.2                        105.07                 5,023,102            

20 FY 2023-24 72,587                 1.6% 5,933                   8.2% 8.2                        105.07                 5,105,716            

21

22 FY 2018-19 EST. SUMMER - OLD THRESHOLD 6,434                   2.0                        105.07                 1,384,214            

23 FY 2018-19 EST. SUMMER - NEW THRESHOLD 2,734                   2.0                        105.07                 588,194               

24

25 IMPACT High Cash High Recur Middle Cash Middle Recur Low Cash Low Recur

26 FY 2018-19 (0.8)                      (6.4)

27 FY 2019-20 (6.5)                      (6.5)

28 FY 2020-21 (6.6)                      (6.6)

29 FY 2021-22 (6.7)                      (6.7)

30 FY 2022-23 (6.8)                      (6.8)

31 FY 2023-24 (6.9)                      (6.9)
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