Revenue Source: Counties' Medicaid Share Issue: County Contributions to Medicaid Bill Number(s): HB5003 - Section 30

□ Entire Bill
 □ Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Leek
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 05/22/2024; 06/17/2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Per s. 409.915 (1), F.S., the term "state Medicaid expenditures" means those expenditures used as matching funds for the federal Medicaid program. Section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida redefined "state Medicaid expenditures" to "not include funds specifically assessed by any local governmental entity and used as the nonfederal share for the hospital directed payment program after July 1, 2021. This paragraph expires July 1, 2024.
- **b. Proposed Change**: Section 30 of HB 5003 extends the expiration date of section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida by one year to July 1, 2025.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

January 8, 2024 Social Services Estimating Conference Long-term Medicaid Services and Expenditures Forecast January 16, 2024 Revenue Estimating Conference General revenue Fund: Table 24 Counties' Medicaid Share FY 2021-2022 AHCA Medicaid Reconciliation-July 2021 - June 2022 INCLUDING CF as of 09312022 report FY 2022-2023 AHCA Medicaid Reconciliation - July 2022 - June 2023 Including CF - 10-26-2023 FY 2023-24 Appropriation Ledger Detail Report by Fund/Category

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

By subtracting the FY 2021-22 and FY 2022-23 Hospital Direct Payment Program state expenditures in the AHCA Reconciliation report from the total state Medicaid expenditures for those fiscal years, the new FY 2024-25 Counties' Medicaid Share is calculated using this revised state Medicaid expenditures definition under HB 5003 S. 30. (See attached)

	High		Mic	ddle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	\$(0.3)	\$(0.3)					
2025-26	\$(0.3)	\$(0.3)					
2026-27	\$(0.3)	\$(0.3)					
2027-28	\$(0.4)	\$(0.4)					
2028-29	\$(0.4)	\$(0.4)					

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

#### Revenue Distribution: General Revenue

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local	/Other	Total		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	(0.3)	(0.3)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(0.3)	(0.3)	
2025-26	(0.3)	(0.3)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(0.3)	(0.3)	
2026-27	(0.3)	(0.3)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(0.3)	(0.3)	
2027-28	(0.4)	(0.4)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(0.4)	(0.4)	
2028-29	(0.4)	(0.4)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(0.4)	(0.4)	

Section 30 HB 5003 Change to County Contributions to Medicaid

SSEC CalculationJanuary 2024		
FY 2021-22	\$ 1	1,061.1
FY 2022-23	\$ 1	3,038.1
Percent Change		17.9%
PREPAID HEALTH PLANS and CMS- HDPP (State Share)		
FY 2021-22	\$	622.2
FY 2022-23	\$	743.1
Change per Section 30 HB 5003		
FY 2020-21	\$ 1	0,438.8
FY 2021-22	\$ 1	2,295.0
Percent Change		17.8%
EV 22.24 Contribution	¢	211.0
FY 23-24 Contribution	\$	311.9
FY 24-25 Contribution	\$	367.7
FY 24-25 Revised Contribution per Section 30 SB 5003	\$	367.4
Change	\$	(0.3)

	SOCIAL SERVICES ESTIMATING CONFERENCE OF January 18, 2024													
	County Contributions to Medicaid per s. 409.915, F.S.													
	S30.HB5003													IPACT
	January 2024 Completed SFY 1 Completed SFY 2 County													
		REC	% Change	State Med	icaid Exp	State Medi	State Medicaid Exp % Chg Contribution				May 2024 REC	% Change		
2024-25	\$	367.7	17.9%	2021-22**	\$10,438.8	2022-23**	\$12,295.0	17.8%	\$367.4	2024-25	\$ 367.4	17.8%	\$	(0.3)
2025-26	\$	413.8	12.6%	2022-23	\$13,038.1	2023-24	\$14,675.2	12.6%	\$413.5	2025-26	\$ 413.5	12.6%	\$	(0.3)
2026-27	\$	439.7	6.3%	2023-24	\$14,675.2	2024-25	\$15,594.2	6.3%	\$439.4	2026-27	\$ 439.4	6.3%	\$	(0.3)
2027-28	\$	458.2	4.2%	2024-25	\$15,594.2	2025-26	\$16,248.3	4.2%	\$457.8	2027-28	\$ 457.8	4.2%	\$	(0.4)
2028-29	\$	474.5	3.6%	2025-26	\$16,248.3	2026-27	\$16,827.7	3.6%	\$474.1	2028-29	\$ 474.1	3.6%	\$	(0.4)

#### 409.915 County contributions to Medicaid

(2)(a) For the 2013-2014 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties' annual contribution is \$269.6 million.

(b) For the 2014-2015 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties' annual contribution is \$277 million.

(c) By March 15, 2015, and each year thereafter, the Social Services Estimating Conference shall determine the percentage change in state Medicaid expenditures by comparing expenditures for the 2 most recent completed state fiscal years.

(d) For the 2015-2016 state fiscal year through the 2019-2020 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties' annual contribution shall be the total contribution for the prior fiscal year adjusted by 50 percent of the percentage change in the state Medicaid expenditures as determined by the SSEC.

(e) For each fiscal year after the 2019-2020 state fiscal year, the total amount of the counties' annual contribution shall be the total contribution for the prior fiscal year adjusted by the percentage change in the state Medicaid expenditures as determined by the Social Services Estimating Conference.

\* Section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida redefined "state Mediciad expenditures" to "not include funds specifically assessed by any local governmental entity

and used as the nonfederal share for the hospital directed payment program after July 1, 2021. This paragraph expires July 1, 2024"

\*\* Section 30 of HB 5003 extends the expiration date of section 27 of chapter 2023-240, Laws of Florida by one year to July 1, 2025.

Revenue Source: Highway Safety Fees Issue: CDL Downgrade Bill Number(s): CS/HB 405

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Melo
 Month/Year Impact Begins: 07/01/2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 06/17/2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Section 316.302, F.S. lists federal regulations which apply to owners and drivers of commercial motor vehicles in Florida. Section 322.01, F.S. defines terms in chapter 322. Section 322.02, F.S. lists federal regulations for which the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) is responsible for administration and enforcement. Section 322.05, F.S. lists persons to whom HSMV may not issue a driver license. Section 322.07, F.S. describes who is eligible to obtain a commercial driver license (CDL). Section 322.21, F.S. charges a \$75 fee for each commercial driver license reinstatement to be paid as follows: if processed by HSMV, \$35 to GR and \$40 to Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund; if processed by tax collectors, \$20 less general revenue service charge is retained by tax collector, \$20 is deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and \$35 deposited into GR. When requesting an administrative review, there is a \$25 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. Section 322.31, F.S. states that final order and rulings of the department where a person's license is cancelled, suspended, or revoked shall be reviewable per the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. Sections 322.34 and 322.61, F.S. make reference to laws impacted by this bill.
- Proposed Change: Section 316.302, F.S. is revised to update the list of federal regulations which apply to owners and drivers of b. commercial motor vehicles in Florida. Section 322.01, F.S. is updated to define downgrade as the same meaning as "CDL downgrade" as defined in 49 C.F.R. s. 383.5(4) - A State removes the CLP or CDL privilege from the driver's license. Section 322.02, F.S. is revised to update the list of federal regulations for which HSMV is responsible for administration and enforcement. Section 322.05, F.S. adds any person who is ineligible to operate a commercial motor vehicle per 49 C.F.R. part 383 to the list of persons who HSMV may not issue a driver license. Section 322.07, F.S. is revised so that if HSMV has been notified that under 49 C.F.R. s. 382.501(a) an applicant is prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle, that person is ineligible to obtain a commercial driver license. Section 322.21, F.S. is revised so that the \$75 fee for each commercial driver license reinstatement applies to licenses reinstated after a downgrade. The \$25 fee for requesting an administrative review is charged when requesting a review of a CDL downgrade. Section 322.31, F.S. is revised to add CDL downgrades to final orders and rulings of the department which are reviewable per the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. Section 322.59, F.S. beginning November 18, 2024, when a person applies for or seeks to renew, transfer, or make any other change to a CDL, HSMV must obtain the person's driving record from the Commercial Driver's License Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse established pursuant to 49 C.F.R. part 382. The department may not issue, renew, or transfer a CDL for any person whom the department receives notification that the person is prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to 49 C.F.R. s. 382.501(a) - no driver shall perform safety-sensitive functions, including driving a commercial motor vehicle, if the driver has engaged in conduct prohibited by subpart B of this part or an alcohol or controlled substances rule of another DOT agency. The department shall downgrade the CDL of a person for whom the department receives notification that the person is prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to 49 C.F.R. s. 382.501(a). Upon receipt of such notification, the department shall immediately notify the individual and afford him or her an opportunity for an informal hearing no later than 30 days after receipt of the request. Sections 322.34 and 322.61, F.S. are revised to update cross references.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Highway Safety Revenue Estimating Conference held 01/03/2024 HSMV Revenue Report for FY 2021-22 HSMV Agency Bill Review for HB 405 prepared 12/12/2023 https://clearinghouse.fmcsa.dot.gov/content/resources/Clearinghouse\_MonthlyReport\_Dec2023.pdf

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

The new CDL downgrade will create a negative impact to GR from those individuals paying the \$48 class E license fee instead of the \$75 CDL fee. There will be offsetting positive impacts from the \$75 reinstatement fee and \$25 administrative hearing fee. The total US CDL holders in prohibited status, return to duty status, US violations since January 2020, and Florida violations since January 2020 came from the December 2023 Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse Monthly Summary Report. The percentage Florida violations represents of US violations was used to estimate Florida CDL holders in prohibited status. To calculate the

Revenue Source: Highway Safety Fees Issue: CDL Downgrade Bill Number(s): CS/HB 405

negative impact to DL fees, it is assumed that one fourth of the current inventory represents new entries, which will decrease each year of the horizon. It is also assumed that one fifth of the prohibited licenses will be up for renewal. To calculate the positive impact to reinstatement fees, the fee was applied to the estimated Florida share of new return to duty status CDL holders. To estimate the revenue gain from the additional \$25 administrative filing fees, the CDL license share of all driver licenses was applied to the existing forecast of \$25 administrative filing fees. The net result of all three changes is negative insignificant to GR and positive insignificant to Trust and Local.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

CD	F	ligh	Mic	ldle	Low		
GR	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			(*)	(*)			
2025-26			(*)	(*)			
2026-27			(*)	(*)			
2027-28			(*)	(*)			
2028-29			(*)	(*)			

Truct	Н	ligh	Mic	ldle	Low		
Trust	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			*	*			
2025-26			*	*			
2026-27			*	*			
2027-28			*	*			
2028-29			*	*			

Local	Н	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
Local	Cash	Cash Recurring		Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			*	*			
2025-26			*	*			
2026-27			*	*			
2027-28			*	*			
2028-29			*	*			

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

GR, HSOTF, Tax Collectors

## Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted +/- for the GR impact and the proposed estimates for trust and local.

	GR		Trust		Local	/Other	Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	+/-	+/-	*	*	*	*	*	*
2025-26	+/-	+/-	*	*	*	*	*	*
2026-27	+/-	+/-	*	*	*	*	*	*
2027-28	+/-	+/-	*	*	*	*	*	*
2028-29	+/-	+/-	*	*	*	*	*	*

	А	В	С		D		E		F	G	Н
1			use December 20	)23	-	ımn		rt		0	
2	-	ers in Prohibited				· · · · ·	158,330	-			
3	US CDL Holde	ers Return to Dut	y Status				68,268				
4		Violations since					251,438				
5	Fl Reported V	/iolations since Ja	an 2020				13,332				
6	Fl % of Violati	ions					5.30%				
7	FL Estimated	CDL Holders in P	rohibited Status				8,395				
8	New each y	/ear					2,099				
9	FL Estimated	CDL Holders Ret	urn to Duty Statu	IS			3,620				
10	New each y	year					905				
11											
12	Revenue Lost	t from CDL Dowi	-								
13		Prohibited	Up For Renewal	С	DL @ \$75	D	L@\$48		GR Loss		Growth Rate
14	2024-2025	8,395	1,679	\$	125,927	\$	80,593	\$	(45,334)		
	2025-2026	10,494	2,099	\$	157,409		100,742	\$	(56,667)		25%
	2026-2027	12,383	2,477	\$	185,742		118,875	\$	(66,867)		18%
17	2027-2028	14,062	2,812	\$	210,928		134,994	\$	(75,934)		14%
_	2028-2029	15,531	3,106	\$	232,965	\$	149,098	\$	(83,867)		10%
19		•									
20	Revenue Gai	n from Downgra	de Reinstateme	nt							
		Detune to Duty	Total		CD		UCOTE	та			
21		Return to Duty	Reinstatement		GR		HSOTF	1a	x Collector		
21	2024-2025	905	Fees \$ 67,871	\$	31,673	\$	18,859	\$	17,339		
	2024-2025	1,131	\$ 84,838	ې \$	39,591	\$	23,574	<del>ې</del> \$	21,673		
	2025 2020	1,335	\$ 100,109	\$	46,718	\$	27,817	\$	25,575		
	2027-2028	1,516	\$ 113,684	\$	53,052	\$	31,589	\$	29,042		
_	2028-2029	1,674	\$ 125,561	\$	58,595	\$	34,889	\$	32,077		
27		,	, ,		,		,		,		
28	Revenue Gai	n from \$25 Adm	in Filing Fee to H	ISO <sup>.</sup>	TF						
29		Current FCST	2022-23 CDL % of DL	Ne	w \$25 Fees						
	2024-2025	\$ 392,129	3.5%	\$	13,725						
-	2025-2026	\$ 393,484	3.5%		13,772						
_	2026-2027	\$ 394,844	3.5%		13,820						
33	2027-2028	\$ 396,208	3.5%	\$	13,867						
34	2028-2029	\$ 397,578	3.5%	\$	13,915						
35											
	Net Impact										
37		GR	Trust		Local						
_	2024-2025	\$ (13,661)			17,339						
-	2025-2026	\$ (17,076)			21,673						
_	2026-2027	\$ (20,150)			25,575						
	2027-2028	\$ (22,882) \$ (25,272)			29,042						
42	2028-2029	<mark>\$ (25,272)</mark>	<mark>\$ 48,804</mark>	Ş	32,077						

Revenue Source: Article V Fees/ Highway Safety Fees Issue: Clerk of Courts Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 1077

x Entire Bill

# Partial Bill: Sponsor(s): Representative Botana Month/Year Impact Begins: Upon Becoming Law Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 06/17/2024; revised 07/12/2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

#### Justice Administrative Commission (Sections 1, 2, 3, 6, and 12)

Section 27.52, F.S directs 25% of amounts recovered by the state attorney as reasonable value for services rendered under certain circumstances to the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the Justice Administrative Commission (JAC). Section 27.54, F.S. directs payments received when a county or municipality contracts with a public defender or regional council to the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the JAC. Section 27.703, F.S. requires a payment be appropriated from the JAC. Section 57.082, F.S. sets aside 25% of amounts collected from applicants improperly determined to be indigent into the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the JAC. Section 501.2101, F.S. deposits amounts received for attorney fees into Consumer Frauds Trust Fund of the JAC.

#### GR Fees Redirect to Clerks and County (Sections 5, 8, and 10)

Section 34.041(1)(d), F.S. charges a \$10 fee for issuing summons in County Court to be deposited into GR. Section 142.01, F.S. creates the Clerk's fine and Forfeiture Funds. Section 318.18(18), F.S. states that in addition to any other penalties imposed, an administrative fee of \$12.50 must be paid for all noncriminal moving and nonmoving violations under chapter 316, 320, and 322. The fee is to be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.

#### Miami-Dade Pilot Program (Section 11)

When a driver fails to comply with the requirements to resolve a sanction resulting from a uniform traffic citation, the clerk of the court shall notify the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles of the driver's non-compliance. The Department will then send notice to the individual of intent to suspend his or her driver license unless the matter is resolved within a given timeframe. After the license is suspended, the driver must work with the clerk of court to come into compliance. This may include payment in full, entering a payment plan, completing community service, or otherwise correcting whatever issue led the court to send notice to the Department. Once the person is compliant, the clerk of court will send notice to the Department. Before having his or her license returned, the driver must pay the \$60 reinstatement fee per section 322.29, F.S. When the license is reinstated by the Department, \$37.50 shall be deposited into General Revenue and \$22.50 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. When the license is reinstated by the clerk of court or tax collector, \$37.50 shall be retained and \$22.50 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.

#### b. Proposed Change:

#### Justice Administrative Commission (Sections 1, 2, 3, 6, and 12)

Section 27.52, F.S is revised to redirect 25% of amounts recovered by the state attorney as reasonable value for services rendered under certain circumstances from the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the Justice Administrative Commission (JAC) to the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the applicable state attorney. Section 27.54, F.S. is revised to redirect payments received when a county or municipality contracts with a public defender or regional council from the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the JAC to the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the public defender or regional council. Section 27.703, F.S. requires a payment be appropriated from the Chief Financial Officer instead of the JAC. Section 57.082, F.S. is revised to redirect 25% of amounts collected from applicants improperly determined to be indigent from the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the JAC to applicable state attorney. Section 501.2101, F.S. is revised so that amounts received for attorney fees are deposited into the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the state attorney instead of the Consumer Frauds Trust Fund of the JAC.

#### GR Fees Redirect to Clerks and County (Sections 5, 8, and 10)

Section 34.041(1)(d), F.S. is revised so that the \$10 fee for issuing summons in County Court is deposited into the Clerk's F&FF. Section 142.01, F.S. is revised so that interest earned in the Clerk's Fine and Forfeiture Funds must be deposited into the Public Records Modernization Trust Fund of the county. Section 318.18(18), F.S. is revised so that the \$12.50 fee is redirected from the General Revenue Fund to split \$6.25 to the Public Records Modernization Trust Fund of the county and \$6.25 to the Clerk's Fine and Forfeiture Funds.

Revenue Source: Article V Fees/ Highway Safety Fees Issue: Clerk of Courts Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 1077

#### Miami-Dade Pilot Program (Section 11)

Section 322.76, F.S. is created to establish in Miami-Dade County the Clerk of Court Driver License Reinstatement Pilot Program. Notwithstanding any other provisions to the contrary within chapter 322, the clerk may reinstate or provide affidavit to the department to reinstate a suspended driver license for a person's failure to fulfill a court ordered child support obligation, as a result of the end of a suspension due to points per 322.37, F.S., or failure to comply with provisions of chapters 318 or 322. The \$60 reinstatement fee must be paid. The Pilot Program ends on July 1, 2026.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Highway Safety REC held 01/03/2024

Article V REC held 12/20/2023

Email and phone contact with staff from Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Florida Clerks of Court Operations Corporation, and Florida Court Clerks and Comptrollers

Florida Senate Criminal and Civil Justice Appropriations Summary of Clerk Conforming Bill, 2017 Session

Impact REC for SB 1130 and HB 977 on 03/24/2023

Impact REC for CS/HB 977 on 06/13/2023

DRAFT Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 2024 Agency Bill Analysis for HB 1077 prepared 01/05/2024 April 2023 Population estimates per <u>http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/population-demographics/data/index-floridaproducts.cfm</u>

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

#### Justice Administrative Commission (Sections 1, 2, 3, 6, and 12)

Language in the bill specifies that amounts recovered by the state attorney as reasonable value for services rendered, payments received when a county or municipality contracts with a public defender or regional council, 25% of amounts collected from applicants improperly determined to be indigent, and amounts received for attorney fees which currently read as being deposited into the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the JAC be instead deposited elsewhere. According to CCOC staff, JAC staff, and the CCOC October 23, 2023 Executive Committee Meeting Minutes, these sections of the bill are codifying current practice. Therefore, there is zero impact to Gr, Trust and Local Funds resulting from these sections.

#### GR Fees Redirect to Clerks and County (Sections 5, 8, and 10)

The bill redirects the county court summons fee and \$12.50 traffic fines from GR to either the Public Records Modernization Trust Fund of the county or the Clerk's Fine and Forfeiture Funds. The county court summons and \$12.50 traffic fee are currently forecasted as part of the chapter 2008-111 fees grouping. For county court summons, the Impact Revenue Estimating Conferences from 2023 session were used to estimate a FY 2024-25 actual. For the \$12.50 traffic fine, a document from the 2017 Session estimated the amount of the \$12.50 fee to be \$18.8 million. The most recent Article V REC was used to scale up the fee to a FY 2024-25 estimated amount. The FY 2024-25 estimated amounts for both county court summons and the \$12.50 fines were then grown by chapter 2008-111 fees growth rates from the Article V REC. The bill also redirects interest earned on the Clerk's Fine and Forfeiture Funds to the Public Records Modernization Trust Fund of the county. CCOC staff provided five years of county fiscal year interest earned. The conference assumed the average of this time period excluding the highest and lowest years for every forecasted year. For all fee redirects, the current estimated fund distributions were compared to the proposed distributions to show the negative to GR and positive to Local.

The proposal is effective upon becoming law. The bill was signed by the Governor on May 6, 2024 - resulting in cash and recurring being equal. There is no GR service charge impact. The first year's cash impact was reduced for the Clerk's to GR overage transfer for local fiscal year 2023-24.

#### Miami-Dade Pilot Program (Section 11)

There is a GR and local impact resulting from the pilot program created by the bill. The pilot program will likely result in more driver license reinstatements being performed by the clerks. From the \$60 reinstatement fee, \$37.50 is either distributed to GR if performed by the Department or retained by the clerk or tax collector if performed by the clerk or tax collector. According to HSMV staff, license reinstatement operations are currently performed by the Department in Miami-Dade County but may potentially shift from the department to tax collectors sometime in calendar year 2025 or 2026. The proposed impact shows positive to local (clerks) and negative to GR because that is current administration. This impact could change to positive to clerks and negative to tax collectors, netting zero to Local, if operations do shift to tax collectors during the forecast period. To estimate the impact, the high

Revenue Source: Article V Fees/ Highway Safety Fees Issue: Clerk of Courts Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 1077

scenario uses the most recent REC estimate of the HSOTF portion of 322.29, F.S. reinstatement fees multiplied by the Miami-Dade population percentage of statewide population. The middle scenario is half of the high scenario, recognizing that not all reinstatements would shift to clerks. The low scenario uses an internal estimate calculated by Miami-Dade clerk staff using their data as a base then grows by the Highway Safety REC growth rate. The low scenario translates to about 18% of reinstatements shifting to the clerk.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

Justice Administrative Commission (Sections 1, 2, 3, 6, and 12)

GR,		igh		ddle	Lo	ow
Trust,	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
Local						
2024-25			0.0	0.0		
2025-26			0.0	0.0		
2026-27			0.0	0.0		
2027-28			0.0	0.0		
2028-29			0.0	0.0		

#### GR Fees Redirect to Clerks and County (Sections 5, 8, and 10)

		igh	Mic	dle	Low		
GR	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			(26.9)	(29.0)			
2025-26			(29.3)	(29.3)			
2026-27			(29.5)	(29.5)			
2027-28			(29.6)	(29.6)			
2028-29			(29.8)	(29.8)			

Local	Н	igh	Mic	dle	Low		
Local	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			26.9	29.0			
2025-26			29.3	29.3			
2026-27			29.5	29.5			
2027-28			29.6	29.6			
2028-29			29.8	29.8			

#### Miami-Dade Pilot Program (Section 11)

GR	Hi	igh	Mic	dle	Low		
GK	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	(2.1)	0.0	(1.1)	0.0	(0.4)	0.0	
2025-26	(2.2)	0.0	(1.1)	0.0	(0.4)	0.0	
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	

Local	Hi	gh	Mic	ldle	Low		
Local	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	2.1	0.0	1.1	0.0	0.4	0.0	
2025-26	2.2	0.0	1.1	0.0	0.4	0.0	
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	

Revenue Source: Article V Fees/ Highway Safety Fees Issue: Clerk of Courts Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 1077

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

General Revenue Public Records Modernization Trust Fund of the county Clerk's Fine and Forfeiture Funds Tax Collectors

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the following estimates:

#### Justice Administrative Commission (Sections 1, 2, 3, 6, and 12): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local	/Other	Тс	otal
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

#### GR Fees Redirect to Clerks and County (Sections 5, 8, and 10): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local	/Other	Тс	otal
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	(26.9)	(29.0)	0.0	0.0	26.9	29.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	(29.3)	(29.3)	0.0	0.0	29.3	29.3	0.0	0.0
2026-27	(29.5)	(29.5)	0.0	0.0	29.5	29.5	0.0	0.0
2027-28	(29.6)	(29.6)	0.0	0.0	29.6	29.6	0.0	0.0
2028-29	(29.8)	(29.8)	0.0	0.0	29.8	29.8	0.0	0.0

#### Miami-Dade Pilot Program (Section 11): The Conference adopted the average of the middle and the low.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local	/Other	Тс	otal
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	(0.8)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.8	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	(0.8)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.8	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

7/12/2024: The Conference corrected the Revenue Source for Miami-Dade Pilot Program.

	А	В	C	D	T	E		F		G	1	Н		1		I
1	Summons 34.041(1	-	č	5		-				0						,
2	Total Summons per	<i>N n</i>	2024-25		\$	12,379,886										
3	Circuit Summons pe				\$	3,946,384										
4	Difference (Estimate				\$	8,433,502										
5		Current	Forecast			Proposed Fo	recast					2008-111				
6		GR	Clerks F&FF			GR		s F&FF				owth Rates				
7	FY 2024-2025	\$ 8,433,502	\$ -		\$	-	\$ 8,4	133,502								
8	FY 2025-2026	\$ 8,527,920	\$ -		\$	-		527,920				1.12%				
9	FY 2026-2027	\$ 8,595,902	\$ -		\$	-	\$ 8,5	595,902				0.80%				
10	FY 2027-2028	\$ 8,632,411	\$ -		\$	-	\$ 8,6	532,411				0.42%				
11	FY 2028-2029	\$ 8,660,107	\$ -		\$	-	\$ 8,6	660,107				0.32%				
12																
13	Interest 142.01															
14	Interest Earned										1					
15	CFY 2018-19	\$ 3,700,000									1					
16	CFY 2019-20	\$ 1,900,000	AVG, less hi/lo	\$ 2,433,333												
17	CFY 2020-21	\$ 970,000														
18	CFY 2021-22	\$ 1,700,000														
19	CFY 2022-23	\$ 6,100,000														
20		Current	Forecast			Proposed Fo	recast									
21		PRMTF	Clerks F&FF			PRMTF	Clerk	s F&FF								
22	FY 2024-2025	\$-	\$ 2,433,333		\$	2,433,333	\$	-								
23	FY 2025-2026	\$-	\$ 2,433,333		\$	2,433,333	\$	-								
24	FY 2026-2027	\$-	\$ 2,433,333		\$	2,433,333	\$	-								
	FY 2027-2028	\$-	\$ 2,433,333		\$	2,433,333	\$	-								
26	FY 2028-2029	\$-	\$ 2,433,333		\$	2,433,333	\$	-								
27																
	\$12.50 Traffic Fee 3															
_	FY 2017-18 \$12.50 I			\$ 18,800,000	_											
_	FY 2017-18 Allocate			\$ 24,937,970	-											
	FY 2024-25 Allocate			\$ 27,200,000	_											
32	FY 2024-25 \$12.50 I	Fee Estimate		\$ 20,505,277												
33		-		rent Forecast	-					-	Pr	oposed Foreca				
34		GR	PRMTF	Clerks F&FF		Total				GR		PRMTF		Clerks F&FF		Total
_	FY 2024-2025	\$ 20,505,277		\$ -	\$	20,505,277			\$	-	\$	10,252,639		10,252,639	\$	20,505,277
_	FY 2025-2026	\$ 20,734,848		\$ -	\$	20,734,848			\$	-	\$	10,367,424			\$	20,734,848
_	FY 2026-2027 FY 2027-2028	\$ 20,900,139 \$ 20,988,907		\$ - \$ -	\$ \$	20,900,139			\$ \$	-	\$ \$			10,450,070	\$ ¢	20,900,139
_	FY 2027-2028 FY 2028-2029	\$ 20,988,907 \$ 21,056,248		\$ - \$ -	\$	20,988,907 21,056,248			\$ \$	-	\$	10,494,453 10,528,124	\$ \$	10,494,453 10,528,124	\$ \$	20,988,907 21,056,248
40	112020-2023	÷ 21,030,248	- ب		ç	21,030,240			Ş	-	ç	10,320,124	ډ	10,320,124	ڔ	21,030,240
-	Impact (millions)										+					
41	impact (minolis)	GR	Clerks F&FF	PRMTF			ch	neck			-					
	FY 2024-2025	\$ (29.00)	1				Ś	-			-					
_	FY 2025-2026	\$ (29.30)					ş Ś	-			-					
_	FY 2026-2027	\$ (29.50)					\$	-			+					
_	FY 2027-2028	\$ (29.60)		\$ 12.9			Ś	_								
	FY 2028-2029	\$ (29.80)					\$	-			+				1	
		÷ (20.00)	÷ 10.0	· 13.0			Ŷ									

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н		J
1		5	C	D	<b>–</b>		5			,
	Miami Dade Cle	rk Estimated Inc	rease				\$ 400,000		% of total	
3	# of Reinstatem						10,667		2.30%	
4							- /			
5	FY 2024-25 Fore	casted 322.29 R	einstatement	s to HSOTF			\$ 10,446,787			
6	Derived #						464,302			
7										
8	Population on A	pril 1, 2023 estir	nates per http	o://edr.state	.fl.us/Content/po	pulation-demo	graphics/data/ind	ex-floridaprod	ucts.cfm	
9	F Рор		22,530,738							
10	Miami Dade po	р	2,760,306							
11	% of total		12.3%							
12										
13			Hi	gh		L	ow			
14		322.29 to HSOTF	Derived #	Miami Dade	\$ Shifted	Derived #	\$ Shift			
15	FY 2024-2025	\$ 10,446,787	464,302	56,883	\$ 2,133,110	10,667	\$ 400,000			
16	FY 2025-2026	\$ 10,558,469	469,265		\$ 2,155,914	10,781	\$ 404,276			
17										
18	High Impact: Mi	iami-Dade Popul	ation % of all	322.29 per H	lighway Safety RI	C				
19		Cler			GR		ŀ			
20		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring					
21	FY 2024-2025	2.1	0.0	(2.1)	0.0					
22	FY 2025-2026	2.2	0.0	(2.2)	0.0					
23	FY 2026-2027	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
24	FY 2027-2028	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
25	FY 2028-2029	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
26										
27	Middle Impact:	50% of High								
28		Cler	ks		GR					
29		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring					
	FY 2024-2025	1.1	0.0	(1.1)	0.0					
	FY 2025-2026	1.1	0.0	(1.1)	0.0					
	FY 2026-2027	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
	FY 2027-2028	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
	FY 2028-2029	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
35	1 a las		Calaulatti i							
36	Low Impact: Mi	ami Dade Clerk (			<u>CD</u>					
37	<b> </b>	Cler	-	Cash	GR					
38	FV 2024 2025	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring					
-	FY 2024-2025 FY 2025-2026	0.4	0.0	(0.4)	0.0					
	FY 2025-2026 FY 2026-2027	0.4	0.0	(0.4)	0.0					
	FY 2026-2027 FY 2027-2028	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
42	FY 2027-2028 FY 2028-2029	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
43	1 2020-2029	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0					
44										

Revenue Source: Corporate Income Tax Issue: State of Emergency CIT Tax Return Bill Number(s): <u>CS/HB7073 Section 42</u>

Entire Bill:
 Partial Bill: Section 42
 Sponsor(s):
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: There is currently no automatic extension in the event of a state of emergency declaration.

**b. Proposed Change**: (c) When a taxpayer has been granted an extension or extensions of time within which to file its federal income tax return for any taxable year due to a federally declared disaster that included locations within this state, and if the requirements of s. 220.32 are met, the due date of the return required under this code is automatically extended to 15 calendar days after the due date for such taxpayer's federal income tax return, including any extensions provided for such return for a federally declared disaster. Nothing in this paragraph affects the authority of the executive director to order an extension or waiver pursuant to s. 213.055(2).

### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

HB 7073

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

HB 7073 section 42 allows for an automatic 15-day extension if a taxpayer has been granted an extension or extensions of time within which to file its federal income tax return for any taxable year due to a federally declared disaster that included locations within this state, and if the requirements of s. 220.32 are met. Because this merely extends payments in the event of a state of emergency the base should be unaffected by the proposed changes; however, if the emergency occurs at the end of the year, the new provision could shift funds from one fiscal year into another.

	High		Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			\$0	\$0			
2025-26			\$0	\$0			
2026-27			\$0	\$0			
2027-28			\$0	\$0			
2028-29			\$0	\$0			

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

Revenue Distribution: Corporate Income Tax

**Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024):** The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. For any given emergency, there could be a shifting of funds between fiscal years.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local	/Other	Тс	otal
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

Revenue Source: Lottery - EETF Issue: Lottery Retailer Compensation Bill Number(s): HB 5003 – 2024-25 Implementing Bill

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Sections 56 and 57
 Sponsor(s): Appropriations Committee, Leek
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 11, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law

#### **Retailer Compensation Structure**

Prior to FY 2022 – 23, Lottery retailers earned a <u>5% sales commission</u> on the sale of all lottery tickets and a <u>1% cashing bonus</u> <u>commission</u> on prizes paid by the retailer (under \$600) at their retail location. <u>For REC projections the department used a</u> <u>blended rate of 5.6% to calculate the retailer commission projections.</u>

In FY 2022 – 23, pursuant to amendments to chapter 24, F.S., and rule 53ER22-30, F.A.C, the sales commission rate earned by Lottery retailers was increased from 5% to <u>5.75%</u> on the sale of all lottery tickets, effective July 1, 2022. <u>The amendments</u> <u>limited additional retailer compensation to the Florida Lottery Retailer Bonus Commission program appropriated in the GAA</u>. The rate was to revert back to the 5% sales commission and 1% cashing bonus on July 1, 2023.

In FY 2023-24, SB 2502 increased the sales commission rate to 6%, effective July 1, 2023. This change expires on July 1, 2024 and the commission rate is to revert back to that in existence on June 30, 2022 (5% sales commission rate and a 1% cashing bonus) beginning in FY 2024-25. For REC projections the department used a blended rate of 5.6% to calculate the retailer commission projections beginning in FY 2024-25.

#### b. Proposed Change

#### FY 2024-25 Implementing Bill (HB 5003)

Section 56: Increases the sales commission rate to 6% in FY 24-25, effective July 1, 2024.

Section 57. This change expires on July 1, 2025. The implementation bill is limited to the year of the impact, and therefore, the legislative intent is for the commission rate to revert back to a 5% sales commission and a 1% cashing bonus (5.6% blended rate) beginning in FY 2025-26.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Phone and email correspondence with Becky Ajhar and Reggie Dixon, Florida Lottery

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

To determine the impact of the bill, the input for the sales commission rate in the January 2024 REC Lottery conference package was changed from 5.6% to 6% in FY 24-25. As this change in the rate expires on July 1, 2025, and is intended to revert back to a 5% sales commission and a 1% cashing bonus, the sales commission rate in the January 2024 REC Lottery conference package remains unchanged at 5.6% in the out years.

Revenue Source: Lottery - EETF Issue: Lottery Retailer Compensation Bill Number(s): HB 5003 – 2024-25 Implementing Bill

#### Section 4: Estimated Fiscal Impact

Impact to the EETF		nissions Increase to 6% -25, 5.6% thereafter
from Retailer	Cash	Recurring
Commissions Rates		
2024-25	(36.37)	
2025-26	(0.76)	
2026-27	0	
2027-28	0	
2028-29	0	

Forecast-5.6% Retailer Sales Commission	n			2024-25	2025-26	2026-27	2027-28	2028-29
Instant Game Sales (Scratch + Fast Play)				6,881.04	6,984.26	7,075.05	7,159.95	7,245.87
Terminal Game Sales				2,401.66	2,409.87	2,418.12	2,426.40	2,434.78
EETF transfer due from current year ticke	t sales and	other income		2,255.26	2,278.32	2,299.04	2,318.67	2,338.53
less collection lag loss				-42.96	-48.62	-55.18	-66.69	-72.76
plus collection lag gain from prior year				38.54	42.96	48.62	55.18	66.69
Due to EETF from Lottery Receipts				2,250.84	2,272.66	2,292.48	2,307.16	2,332.45
adjustment for estimated true-up payme	ent in next	fiscal year		-7.50	-7.50	-7.50	-7.50	-7.50
adjustment for delayed June transfer*								
Distribution to EETF from Lottery Receipt	ts			2,243.34	2,265.16	2,284.98	2,299.66	2,324.95
Forecast- Retailer Sales Commission FY24	4-25 @ 6%,	Fy 2026-2029 @5.	5%	2024-25	2025-26	2026-27	2027-28	2028-29
Instant Game Sales (Scratch + Fast Play)				6,881.04	6,984.26	7,075.05	7,159.95	7,245.87
Terminal Game Sales				2,401.66	2,409.87	2,418.12	2,426.40	2,434.78
EETF transfer due from current year ticke	t sales and	other income		2,218.13	2,278.32	2,299.04	2,318.67	2,338.53
less collection lag loss				-42.20	-48.62	-55.18	-66.69	-72.76
plus collection lag gain from prior year				38.54	42.20	48.62	55.18	66.69
Due to EETF from Lottery Receipts				2,214.47	2,271.90	2,292.48	2,307.16	2,332.45
adjustment for estimated true-up payme	ent in next	fiscal year		-7.50	-7.50	-7.50	-7.50	-7.50
Idjustment for delayed June transfer*								
adjustment for delayed June transfer*								
adjustment for delayed June transfer* Distribution to EETF from Lottery Receipt	ts			2,206.97	2,264.40	2,284.98	2,299.66	2,324.95
	ts			2,206.97	2,264.40	2,284.98	2,299.66	2,324.95

Revenue Distribution: Educational Enhancement Trust Fund

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local	/Other	Total		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0.0	0.0	(36.4)	0.0	0.0	0.0	(36.4)	0.0	
2025-26	0.0	0.0	(0.8)	0.0	0.0	0.0	(0.8)	0.0	
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	

Tax: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Certified Public Accountants Bill Number(s): HB 813

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Section 1
 Sponsor(s): Caruso
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date of Analysis June 12, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

In Florida, public accountancy is regulated by the Board of Accountancy under the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. To practice public accountancy, a person must be licensed as a certified public accountant (CPA). CPAs are required to complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every 2 years to renew their license. CPAs are allowed to request their license be placed on inactive status. A CPA with an inactive license cannot use the CPA designation and cannot practice public accounting. Florida law does not currently provide CPAs the option of placing licenses into a retired status as an alternative to an inactive status.

There are approximately 33,722 active licenses and 2601 inactive licenses. Of those, there are approximately 6207 active and 1109 inactive licenses for individuals aged 65-99. These numbers are soft estimates as they do not factor in errors, discipline, and other potential issues in data.

Pursuant to Rule 61H1-31.003 FAC, the normal renewal fee for a CPA license is \$100 due biennially, with a \$5 ULA fee on each license. An inactive license is still subject to these fees to prevent the license from moving to a delinquent inactive status. The current fee for reactivating an inactive CPA license is \$250.

#### b. Proposed Change:

The bill allows a Florida-licensed CPA that is at least 65 years of age to submit an application to DBPR to place a CPA license in a retired status if the licensee meets certain conditions. A retired licensee may reactivate his or her license in a conditional manner determined by the board. The conditions of reactivation must require the payment of fees and the completion of any continuing education requirements.

The following are benefits that the bill offers to a retired licensee that do not apply to an inactive licensee:

- Use the title of "retired CPA" on any business card or letterhead or any other printed or electronic document
- Not subject to the license maintenance fees
- Serve without compensation on a board of directors or board of trustees
- Provide volunteer tax preparation services
- Participate in a government-sponsored business mentoring program such as the Internal Revenue Service's Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program or the Small Business Administration's SCORE program
- Participate in an advisory role for a similar charitable, civic, or other non-profit organization
- Accept routine reimbursement for actual costs of travel and meals associated with volunteer services

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

House Bill Final Analysis

Derek Miller, Director of Legislative Affairs at Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation Kevin Brown, Administration Team Lead for Division of Certified Public Accounting

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

According to DBPR, the Board met on May 29<sup>th</sup> to approve the proposed language for the retired status rule. The proposed reactivation fee listed was \$250. This fee is not yet in effect. Once a retired licensee is reactivated, the normal renewal fees and education requirements should be applicable when it is time to renew the license on a biennial schedule.

It is unknown how many CPAs will choose to submit an application for retired status, or how many of those with retired status will choose to reactivate their license. If a licensee chooses to place their license in a retired status, there will be a loss in revenue from the biennial renewal fees/maintenance fees. However, if a retired licensee chooses to reactivate, there will be a gain in revenue from the reactivation fees. Therefore, the impact is indeterminate positive or negative.

Tax: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Certified Public Accountants Bill Number(s): HB 813

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	Low		Mic	ldle	High		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			+/-	+/-			
2025-26			+/-	+/-			
2026-27			+/-	+/-			
2027-28			+/-	+/-			
2028-29			+/-	+/-			

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

Professional Regulation Trust Fund

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2025-26	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2026-27	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2027-28	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2028-29	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-

Tax: Application & Nonrefundable FeesIssue: Exemption from Regulation for Bona Fide Nonprofit OrganizationsBill Number(s): HB 1569

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Grant
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date of Analysis June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

In response to the 2008 financial crisis, Congress enacted the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act). The SAFE Act and the regulations stated thereunder set forth the minimum standards for the state licensing and registration of residential mortgage loan originators (MLOs). States are permitted to provide an exemption from the SAFE Act registration requirements to a bona fide nonprofit organization and its employees if the state determines that the organization meets certain criteria. Soon after the enactment of the SAFE Act, states began adopting licensure and registration requirements for residential MLOs pursuant to the requirements of the SAFE Act. Florida adopted its requirements for MLOs in 2009 with the enactment of s. 494.00312, F.S.

The Office of Financial Regulation (OFR) regulates state-chartered banks, credit unions, other financial institutions, finance companies, and the securities industry. The OFR's Division of Consumer Finance licenses and regulates various aspects of the non-depository financial services industries, including individuals and businesses engaged in the mortgage business. Specifically, under Ch. 494, F.S., OFR licenses and regulates MLOs, mortgage brokers, and mortgage lenders.

An individual or entity applying for a loan originator license under Ch. 494, F.S., is subject to the following fees: first-time applicants are required to pay an initial fee of \$215 (a \$195 application fee per s.494.00312, F.S., and a \$20 fee per s.494.00172, F.S.). Every subsequent year, the individual or entity is required to pay a renewal fee of \$170 (a \$150 fee per s.494.00313, F.S., and a \$20 fee per s.494.00172, F.S.).

#### b. Proposed Change:

The bill creates an exemption under Florida law parallel to the exemption provided in the SAFE Act for bona fide nonprofit organizations acting as loan originators. For an organization to be considered a bona fide nonprofit organization and qualify for the exemption, the bill requires OFR to determine, pursuant to criteria and processes established by rule, that the organization satisfies the following criteria:

- Has the status of a tax-exempt organization under s. 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986;
- Promotes affordable housing or provides homeownership education or similar services;
- Conducts its activities in a manner that serves public or charitable purposes rather than commercial purposes;
- Receives funding and revenue and charges fees in a manner that does not incentivize it or its employees to act other than in the best interests of its clients;
- Compensates its employees in a manner that does not incentivize employees to act other than in the best interests of its clients; and

• Provides or identifies for borrowers' residential mortgage loans with terms favorable to the borrower and comparable to mortgage loans and housing assistance provided under government housing assistance programs.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

House Bill Final Analysis Gregory Oaks, Director of Consumer Finance (OFR) GuideStar Habitat for Humanity

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

OFR is unsure of the exact number of organizations that could be eligible for the exemption. After reviewing the Habitat for Humanity website, OFR recommended that the 50 affiliates of Habitat for Humanity would be a good starting point as they would be eligible.

Tax: Application & Nonrefundable FeesIssue: Exemption from Regulation for Bona Fide Nonprofit OrganizationsBill Number(s): HB 1569

To determine any additional organizations that may be eligible I searched GuideStar as they appear to have the most extensive list of 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations. When searching for 'loan originator', 26 results came back (though only 15 of the organizations had gross receipts and assets, and when searching 'mortgage', 220 total results came back (though 23 of the results were for Habitat for Humanity organizations and 41 of the organizations did not have any gross receipts or assets).

Assuming each of the 50 Habitat for Humanity organizations, each of the 26 organizations associated with loan originators (including the ones without any gross receipts and assets), and each of the 197 organizations associated with mortgages (excluding the previously noted Habitat for Humanity organizations and including the organizations without any gross receipts and assets) were eligible, a total of 273 organizations would qualify for the exemption and no longer would be required to submit the \$170 annual renewal fee – resulting in a recurring revenue loss totaling \$46,410.

For the revenue loss to exceed \$100,000, the number of qualifying organizations would need to more than double to 589, a scenario which is highly unlikely.

	ŀ	High		ddle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			(*)	(*)		
2025-26			(*)	(*)		
2026-27			(*)	(*)		
2027-28			(*)	(*)		
2028-29			(*)	(*)		

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

Trust Fund

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024) The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)
2025-26	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)
2026-27	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)
2027-28	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)
2028-29	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)

**Revenue Source**: Sales and Use Tax **Issue**: State of Emergency SUT Tax Return **Bill Number(s)**: <u>CS/HB7073 Section 31</u>

Entire Bill:
 Partial Bill: Section 31
 Sponsor(s):
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: There is currently no automatic extension in the event of a state of emergency declaration.

b. Proposed Change: Notwithstanding subparagraph 1. and in addition to any extension or waiver ordered pursuant to s. 213.055, and except as provided in subparagraph 3., a dealer with a certificate of registration issued under s. 212.18 to engage in or conduct business in a county to which an emergency declaration applies in sub-subparagraph b. is granted an automatic 10-calendar-day extension after the due date for filing a return and remitting the tax if all of the following conditions are met: a. The Governor has ordered or proclaimed a declaration of a state of emergency pursuant to s. 252.36. b. The declaration is the first declaration for the event giving rise to the state of emergency or expands the counties covered by the initial state of emergency without extending or renewing the period of time covered by the first declaration of a state of emergency is within 5 business days before the 20th day of the month.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

HB 7073

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

HB 7073 allows for an automatic 10-day extension if the first day of the period covered by the first declaration for the event giving rise to the state of emergency is within 5 business days before the 20th day of the month. Because this merely extends payments in the event of a state of emergency the base should be unaffected by the proposed changes; however, if the emergency occurs at the end of the year, the new provision could shift funds from one fiscal year into another.

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			\$0	\$0		
2025-26			\$0	\$0		
2026-27			\$0	\$0		
2027-28			\$0	\$0		
2028-29			\$0	\$0		

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

#### Revenue Distribution: Sales and Use Tax

**Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024):** The Conference adopted the proposed estimate. For any given emergency, there could be a shifting of funds between fiscal years.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Adjustments to 196.1979 Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Sections 14
 Sponsor(s): Representative McClain
 Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: February 28, 2024; June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

- **a. Current Law**: Section 196.1979, Florida Statutes, provides counties and municipalities the option to provide certain ad valorem exemptions on affordable housing within certain criteria.
- **b. Proposed Change**: A number of clarifying and remedial changes are made to 196.1979 in section 14 of the bill with section 15 indicating they first apply to the 2024 roll.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Impact adopted February 28, 2024 – Identical to Section 14

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

The language of section 14 of this bill is identical to that of section 16 of CS/SB7074, for which the conference adopted an impact on <u>February 28, 2024</u>. This is further identical with section 5 of CS/CS/SB 328.

All of the changes either had no revenue impact or clarified the law to be what was already in practice. As such, there is no fiscal impact.

#### **Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact**

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			\$0	\$0		
2025-26			\$0	\$0		
2026-27			\$0	\$0		
2027-28			\$0	\$0		
2028-29			\$0	\$0		

#### Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 07/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Backtaxes Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073 Partial Bill: Sections 4(partial), 7, 9, 11, 12, & 17 Sponsor(s): Representative McClain Month/Year Impact Begins: 2025 Real Property Tax Roll Date(s) Conference Reviewed: February 28, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: Section 193.155, Florida Statutes, indicates that if the property appraiser (PA) grants a homestead assessment limitation as a result of a clerical mistake or omission, the property owner may not be assessed a penalty or interest. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most recent 10 years resulting from the mistake would be due.

193.703 indicates that if the PA determines a property owner received a reduction in assessment is applied for living quarters of parents or grandparents that was not entitled to such reduction, the PA shall serve on the owner a notice of intent to record a tax lien against the property. There is no requirement regarding the timing of the tax lien. Further, if a reduction in assessment is applied for living quarters of parents or grandparents due to a clerical mistake or omission by the PA, the property owner may not be assessed a penalty or interest. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most recent 10 years resulting from the mistake would be due.

196.011 indicates that if the PA determines a property owner received a homestead exemption that was not entitled to such exemption, the PA shall record a tax lien against the property. Further, any parcel the PA determines to have received a homestead exemption within the prior ten years that was not entitled to is subject to taxes, interest, and penalties. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most recent 10 years resulting from the mistake would be due.

196.075 indicates that if the PA determines a property owner received an exemption for persons 65 and older that was not entitled to such reduction, the PA shall serve on the owner a notice of intent to record a tax lien against the property. There is no requirement regarding the timing of the tax lien. Further, if an exemption is granted for persons 65 and older due to a clerical mistake or omission by the PA, the property owner may not be assessed a penalty or interest.

196.161 indicates that when an estate is being probated or administered in another state and the deceased was a resident of that other state and was granted a homestead exemption in Florida, the PA shall serve on the owner a notice of intent to record a tax lien against the property. There is no requirement regarding the timing of the tax lien. Further, if the exemption is granted due to a clerical mistake or omission by the PA, the property owner may not be assessed a penalty or interest.

b. Proposed Change: Section 193.155, Florida Statutes, is amended such that if the PA grants a homestead assessment limitation as a result of a clerical mistake or omission, the property owner may not be assessed penalty or interest. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most recent 5 years resulting from the mistake would be due and the PA shall serve the owner an intent to record a tax lien against the property unless the property owner voluntarily discloses to the PA that they were not entitled to the limitation.

193.703 is amended such that if a reduction in assessment is applied for living quarters of parents or grandparents to a property that is not entitled to it resulting in a notice of intent to record a tax lien against the property, the **owner must be given 30 days to pay the taxes, penalties, and interest before the lien is filed**. In the event that it is due to a clerical mistake or omission by the property appraiser the property owner may not be assessed penalty or interest. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most **recent 5 years** resulting from the mistake would be due and the PA shall serve the owner an **intent to record a tax lien** against the property **unless the property owner voluntarily discloses** to the PA that they were not entitled to the limitation.

196.011 is amended such that if a homestead exemption is granted to a property that is not entitled to it resulting in a notice of intent to record a tax lien against the property, the **owner must be given 30 days to pay the taxes before the lien is filed**. While there are penalties and interest, they are not mentioned regarding the lien delay like they are in the other sections of the bill. In the event that it is due to a clerical mistake or omission by the property appraiser the property owner may not be assessed penalty or interest. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most **recent 5 years** resulting from the mistake would be due and the PA shall serve the owner an **intent to record a tax lien** against the property **unless the property owner voluntarily discloses** to the PA that they were not entitled to the limitation.

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Backtaxes Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

196.075 is amended such that if an exemption is granted for persons 65 and older to a property that is not entitled to it resulting in a notice of intent to record a tax lien against the property, the **owner must be given 30 days to pay the taxes**, **penalties, and interest before the lien is filed**. In the event that it is due to a clerical mistake or omission by the property appraiser the property owner may not be assessed penalty or interest. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most **recent 5 years** resulting from the mistake would be due and the PA shall serve the owner an **intent to record a tax lien** against the property **unless the property owner voluntarily discloses** to the PA that they were not entitled to the limitation.

196.161 is amended such that when an estate is being probated or administered in another state and the deceased was a resident of that other state and was granted a homestead exemption in Florida resulting in a notice of intent to record a tax lien against the property the **owner must be given 30 days to pay the taxes, penalties, and interest before the lien is filed.** In the event that it is due to a clerical mistake or omission by the property appraiser the property owner may not be assessed penalty or interest. In that event, however, the unpaid taxes for the most **recent 5 years** resulting from the mistake would be due and the PA shall serve the owner an **intent to record a tax lien** against the property **unless the property owner voluntarily discloses** to the PA that they were not entitled to the limitation.

Finally, section 17 of the bill indicates that all of these changes first apply to the 2025 tax roll.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

2023 Millage and Taxes Levied Report, 2023 Final Data Book published by Property Tax Oversight Results of the Ad Valorem Estimating Conference, January 5, 2023 Discussion with Property Appraisers

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Data was requested in 2023 and responses were received from the PAs of Broward, Miami-Dade, Palm Beach, and Pinellas counties. This data represents the back taxes assessed in recent years of the variety that would be eliminated by the bill language. The majority of the backtaxes data received was from Miami-Dade and represented approximately 0.24 percent of their total collections. The middle estimate assumes that 2 percent of the remaining value in the state (value in counties we did not receive data from) would assess backtaxes at the 0.24 percent rate found in Miami-Dade. This translates to a 10.3% share-up of the given data. Further, the middle estimate uses the 2-year average value from the history as the starting point.

The data did not include errors in assessment related to living quarters of parents or grandparents (P/G) or person aged 65 and older (65+). To account for this, the share of backtaxes assessed related to homesteads in 2021 to the total value of homestead exemptions was calculated as 0.49%. This is applied to the total 2023 P/G and 65+ exemption amounts to arrive at the high taxable value impact. Because some amount of the backtaxes were due on homestead assessment limitations and not just the exemption, that share may be overstated. The middle takes half of it and the low assumes zero. Millage rates are applied and the homestead, P/G, and 65+ impacts are summed and grown forward using the taxable value growth rates from the Ad Valorem Conference are used to grow the estimate. The bill first applies to the 2025 property tax roll.

On February 28, 2024, the conference beheld <u>a similar bill</u> and adopted the proposed middle estimate. The prior bill is functionally the same as the current bill with 3 major differences:

- 1. The current bill delays the filing of tax leans in all sections (except for 193.155, where it was already law) by 30 days.
- 2. The current bill requires property owners to report the error to the PA in order to not pay backtaxes.
- 3. The current bill requires those paying backtaxes as a result of a PA mistake to pay on the results of the error in the most recent 5 years rather than the most recent 10 years.

Difference 1 would have a negative indeterminate impact. Some owners, upon receiving the notice of lien and 30 day warning, will pay immediately, avoiding any additional costs of the lien. This is a rational but theoretical behavioral response that cannot be quantified.

Difference 2 would reduce the prior impact. If one assumes that X% of discovered PA mistakes are discovered by the property owner and reported to the PA before the PA discovers the error, then the new impact would be X% multiplied by the prior impact.

#### Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Backtaxes

Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

Difference 3 would have a negative indeterminate impact. The duration of time between a mistake being made by a PA and that mistake being discovered is completely unknown. It is reasonable to expect that it is generally not very long, and if all mistakes are discovered within 5 years, this difference has no impact. It is likely, however, that some mistakes are noticed between 5 and 10 years after occurring. How many and the magnitude of the tax implications is completely unknown.

Thus these three differences lead to a negative indeterminate plus X% of the prior (negative) impact plus a negative indeterminate. This results in a negative indeterminate impact. There is \$0 cash impact in Fiscal Year 2024-25 as section 17 indicates the bill first applies to the 2025 tax roll.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			0	(**)		
2025-26			(**)	(**)		
2026-27			(**)	(**)		
2027-28			(**)	(**)		
2028-29			(**)	(**)		

#### Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	0.0	(**)
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G
		Homestead-Related	School	Non-School			-
1	Roll Year	Back Taxes Owed	Estimate	Estimate			
2	2020	\$ 11,527,365	\$ 4,219,249	\$ 7,308,117			
3	2021	\$ 18,670,822	\$ 6,833,898	\$ 11,836,924			
4							
5	Roll Year	Non-School TV	School TV				
6	2022	14.28%	20.07%				
7	2023	13.38%	14.79%				
8	2024	7.09%	4.78%				
9	2025	7.87%	5.15%				
10	2026	6.75%	5.31%				
11 12		6.31% 5.62%	5.55% 5.11%				
13	2020	5.0270	5.11/0				
14	2023 Aggregate Millage R	ates					
15		5.99					
		10.38					
17							
18	Assumptions	Middle					
	Remaining State Value BackTaxed like Miami-Dade	2%					
19							
20	Implied Share-up Rest of State	10.3%				_	
21	Use History	2-year average					
22							
23		Count	Taxable Value - Middle				
	2021 Total Homestead Exemption	4,955,905	\$ 234,341,652,496				
	2021 Backtax Share of Total HX 2023 Parent/Grandparent Reduction	<i>24,118</i> 665	0.24% \$ 46,579,938				
	2023 Parent/Grandparent Reduction	287,631	\$ 46,579,938 \$ 9,304,847,194				
28		1,403	\$ <u>9,304,847,194</u> \$ <u>22,754,819</u>				
29		1,403	\$ 22,754,815				
30	2023	School Impact	Non-School Impact				
31		8,402,201	\$ 13,681,650				
32	P/G and 65+ in Error - Middle	136,354	\$ 236,177				
33							
34	Assumption	Middle					
	Share of PA Mistakes Discovered and	100.0%					
35	Reported First by Property Owners:	100.078					
36							
37			School Impact				
38			gh	Middl			.ow
39		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
40 41	2024-25 2025-26			\$0 \$(9.4 M)	\$(8.9 M) \$(9.4 M)		
41	2025-26			\$(9.4 M) \$(9.9 M)	\$(9.4 M) \$(9.9 M)		
43	2027-28			\$(10.5 M)	\$(5.5 M) \$(10.5 M)		
44	2028-29			\$(11.0 M)	\$(11.0 M)		ł
45	İ						
46			Non-School Impact	· I			
47		H	igh	Middl	e	L	.ow
48		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
				\$0	\$(14.9 M)		
49	2024-25						Ì
50	2025-26			\$(16.1 M)	\$(16.1 M)		
50 51	2025-26 2026-27			\$(17.2 M)	\$(17.2 M)		
50 51 52	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28			\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M)	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M)		
50 51 52 53	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28			\$(17.2 M)	\$(17.2 M)		
50 51 52 53 54	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28		Total Immed	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M)	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M)		
50 51 52 53 54 55	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28		Total Impact	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M)	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M)		
50 51 52 53 54 55 56	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28		gh	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) Middl	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) e		
50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29	Hi Cash		\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) Middl Cash	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) e Recurring	L Cash	ow Recurring
50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29 2028-29 2024-25		gh	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) Middl Cash \$0	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) e <u>Recurring</u> \$(23.9 M)		1
50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29 2028-29 2024-25 2024-25 2025-26		gh	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) Middl Cash \$0 \$(25.5 M)	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) e <u>Recurring</u> \$(23.9 M) \$(25.5 M)		1
50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58	2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29 2028-29 2024-25 2024-25 2025-26		gh	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) Middl Cash \$0	\$(17.2 M) \$(18.2 M) \$(19.3 M) e <u>Recurring</u> \$(23.9 M)		1

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Special Districts Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB7013

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Section 12
 Sponsor(s): Representative Persons-Mulicka
 Month/Year Impact Begins: Indeterminate
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Section 388.221, F.S., indicates that the board of commissioners of a mosquito control district may levy a special tax not exceeding 10 mills.
- **b. Proposed Change**: Section 388.221, F.S., is amended to indicate that the board of commissioners of a mosquito control district may levy a special tax not exceeding 1 mill. This can be increased to 2 mills if approved by a referendum of the qualified electors held at a general election.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Data provided by Property Tax Oversight – Department of Revenue

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Fourteen mosquito control districts were identified, levying special taxes between 0.11 and 1 mills. Only one district was levying over 0.45 mills and they have levied 1 mill since 1977. There is no expectation that any of these districts had intended to increase their millage in future years. Based on the expectation that none of the districts would have increased their rates beyond 1 or, in the case of a referendum, 2 mills, there is no impact expected. This is presented in the low.

It is possible that, by Fiscal Year 2028-29, a district, absent the new law, would have increased their millage over the new limit. In that case, there would be a negative impact. As there is no way to know which district or districts would have increased the rate, the amount of the increase, or when the increase would take place, the impact is indeterminate. This is presented in the high.

Because the bill goes into effect July 1, 2024, without specifying the tax roll it is to first impact, there is potential for a Fiscal Year 2024-25 impact.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mic	dle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0	
2025-26	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0	
2026-27	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0	
2027-28	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0	
2028-29	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0	

Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the high estimate.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G
1	Special District	2023 Millage Rate					
	Buckhead Ridge Mosquito	1.00	(1 mill				
2	Control District	1.00	since 1977)				
	Florida Keys Mosquito	0.43					
3	Control District	0.+5					
	Citrus County Mosquito	0.40					
4	Control District	0.10					
	East Flagler Mosquito	0.33					
5	Control District						
	Pasco County Mosquito	0.25					
6	Control District						
_	Indian River Mosquito	0.24					
7	Control District						
	Lee Co Mosquito Control	0.23					
8	District South Walton Mosquito						
9	Control District	0.21					
9	Manatee Co Mosquito						
10	Control District	0.20					
	Beach Mosquito Control						
11	District	0.18					
	Anastasia Mosquito Control						
12	District	0.18					
	Collier Mosquito Control	0.4.4					
13	District	0.14					
	Amelia Island Mosquito	0.11					
14	Control District	0.11					
	Ft Myers Beach Mosquito	0.11					
15	Control District	0.11					
16							
17			Total In	-			
18		High		Mic		Lo	w
19		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
20	2024-25	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0
21	2025-26	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0
22	2026-27	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0
23	2027-28	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0
24	2028-29	0/(**)	0/(**)			\$0	\$0

**Revenue Source**: Local Taxes and Fees **Issue**: Alternative Mobility Funding Systems **Bill Number(s)**: CS/HB 479

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative W. Robinson, Jr.
 Month/Year Impact Begins: October 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

#### Concurrency, Impact Fees, and Alternative Mobility Funding Systems

Counties and municipalities are required to plan for future development and growth by adopting, implementing, and amending as necessary a comprehensive plan. All elements of a plan or plan amendment must be based on relevant, appropriate data and an analysis by the local government. Each comprehensive plan must include a transportation element addressing traffic circulation, including the types, locations, and extent of existing and proposed major thoroughfares and transportation routes, including bicycle and pedestrian ways.

Certain public facilities and services must be in place and available to serve new development no later than the issuance of a certificate of occupancy or its functional equivalent by a local government. Local governments may extend this concurrency requirement to additional public facilities such as transportation. One method of funding local government transportation concurrency requirements is through the adoption and imposition of impact fees to fund the infrastructure needed to expand local services to meet the demands of population growth caused by new growth. Local governments may increase impact fees only under limited circumstances, including upon a showing of extraordinary circumstances.

In 2013, the concept of a mobility fee-based funding system was added to the comprehensive planning statutes as an encouraged alternative to transportation concurrency.

#### Local Government Infrastructure Surtax

Section 212.055(2), F.S., authorizes the governing authority in each county to levy a discretionary sales surtax of 0.5 percent or 1 percent. The levy of the surtax shall be pursuant to ordinance enacted by a majority of the members of the county governing authority and approved by a majority of the electors of the county voting in a referendum on the surtax. If the governing bodies of the municipalities representing a majority of the county's population adopt uniform resolutions establishing the rate of the surtax and calling for a referendum on the surtax, the levy of the surtax shall be placed on the ballot and shall take effect if approved by a majority of the electors of the county voting in the referendum on the surtax.

Generally, the proceeds must be expended to finance, plan, and construct infrastructure; acquire land for public recreation, conservation, or protection of natural resources; or finance the closure of local government-owned solid waste landfills that have been closed or are required to be closed by order of the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). Additional spending authority exists for select counties. During the 2023-24 local fiscal year, the 26 counties levying this surtax will realize an estimated \$2.32 billion in revenue. The 19 eligible counties not currently levying this surtax at the maximum rate will allow an estimated \$2.86 billion to go unrealized.

#### b. Proposed Change:

#### Concurrency, Impact Fees, and Alternative Mobility Funding Systems

The bill creates s. 163.3180(5)(j), F.S., to state that if a county and municipality both charge the developer of a new development or redevelopment a fee for transportation capacity impacts, the bill requires the county and municipality to create and execute an interlocal agreement to coordinate the mitigation of their respective transportation impacts. In addition to other requirements, the interlocal agreement must ensure any new development or redevelopment is not charged twice for the same transportation capacity impact.

If a county and municipality fail to execute an interlocal agreement by October 1, 2025, the bill provides that the fee charged to a new development or redevelopment must be based on the transportation capacity impacts apportioned to the county and municipality as identified in the developer's traffic impact study or the mobility plan adopted by the county or municipality, subject to a 10 percent reduction in the total owed by the developer.

**Revenue Source**: Local Taxes and Fees **Issue**: Alternative Mobility Funding Systems **Bill Number(s)**: CS/HB 479

The bill's interlocal agreement provisions do not apply to Miami-Dade County or any county or municipality that has entered into or otherwise updated an existing interlocal agreement as of October 1, 2024.

The bill also amends s. 163.31801(5)(a), F.S., to provide that a local government must credit against the collection of the impact fee any contribution identified in the development order, or any form of exaction, including monetary contributions. If a local government adopts an alternative transportation system pursuant to s. 163.3180(5)(i), F.S., the holder of any transportation or road impact fee credits granted under s. 163.3180 or s. 380.06 or otherwise that were in existence before the adoption of the alternative transportation system is entitled to the full benefit of the intensity and density prepaid by the credit balance as of the date the alternative transportation system was first established.

#### Local Government Infrastructure Surtax

The bill amends s. 212.055(2)(d)1.a., F.S., to confirm a cross-reference. This change has no revenue impact on local governments' ability to levy the surtax or surtax revenue collections.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

EDR staff contacted representatives of the Florida Association of Counties (FAC) and Florida League of Cities (FLC) to request any available information regarding the potential impacts of this bill. FAC did not furnish any information regarding potential local revenue impacts. FLC provided a list of cities that have adopted alternative mobility systems, have such systems under consideration, or have mobility fees, or the equivalent, adopted, in progress, or under consideration, as of January 2023. FLC obtained this list from NUE Urban Concepts, a Florida-based urban planning firm (see attached). FLC could not confirm the accuracy of the list or if it represented an exhaustive list of all jurisdictions that have implemented alternative mobility systems. EDR staff contacted NUE Urban Concepts to request a more recent list, if available, but did not receive any reply prior to this analysis being finalized.

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

As previously mentioned, the bill's interlocal agreement provisions do not apply to Miami-Dade County or any county or municipality that has entered into or otherwise updated an existing interlocal agreement as of October 1, 2024. The number of counties and municipalities that have already entered into or will update an existing interlocal agreement prior to October 1, 2024, is unknown.

The House Final Bill Analysis of CS/HB 479 states that the bill does <u>not</u> have a fiscal impact on state or local government.<sup>1</sup> It has been communicated to EDR staff by a lobbyist that the bill has no local revenue impacts since it is meant to clarify existing law and recent court rulings. However, if the provisions prevent the future collection of local fees, which should not have been collected in the past, then the bill may have a revenue impact. For these reasons, EDR staff recommends a zero/negative indeterminate fiscal impact.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			0/(**)	0/(**)		
2025-26			0/(**)	0/(**)		
2026-27			0/(**)	0/(**)		
2027-28			0/(**)	0/(**)		
2028-29			0/(**)	0/(**)		

**Revenue Distribution:** Local funds only.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Florida House of Representative Staff Final Bill Analysis, dated March 25, 2024, (pp.1,8) available at:

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Documents/loaddoc.aspx?FileName=h0479z.LFS.DOCX&DocumentType=Analysis&BillNumber=0479&Sestion=2024

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: Alternative Mobility Funding Systems Bill Number(s): CS/HB 479

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted a zero impact.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

**Revenue Source**: Seized Property, Proceeds of Forfeiture Funds **Issue**: Property rights in confiscated slot machines and proceeds of forfeitures **Bill Number(s)**: HB 5203

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Cabrera
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 6/17/2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

Section 550.135, F.S., establishes the Pari-mutuel Wagering Trust Fund (PMWTF). Specifying daily license fee revenues and other collections shall be deposited into the PMWTF and are used to fund the operation of the Commission in accordance with authorized appropriations. Additionally, slot machine license fees and other specified fees are used to fund the direct and indirect operating expenses of the Commission's operations and to provide funding for relevant enforcement activities in accordance with authorized appropriations.

Section 215.20, F.S., provides that funds deposited in the PMWTF are subject to a service charge of eight percent.

The Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) within the Florida Gaming Control Commission (Commission) law enforcement officers are authorized to enter upon any premises at which gaming activities are taking place in the state for the performance of their lawful duties and may take with them any necessary equipment. In any instance in which there is reason to believe that a violation has occurred, DGE law enforcement officers have the authority, without warrant, to search and inspect any premises where the violation is alleged to have occurred or is occurring, and may, consistent with the United States and Florida Constitutions, seize or take possession of any papers, records, tickets, currency, or other items related to any alleged violation.

The DGE and its investigators are authorized to seize any contraband in accordance with the Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act under ss. 932.701-932.7062. Contraband includes any equipment, gambling device, apparatus, material of gaming, proceeds, substituted proceeds, real or personal property, Internet domain name, gambling paraphernalia, lottery tickets, money, currency, or other means of exchange which was obtained, received, used, attempted to be used, or intended to be used in violation of the gambling laws of the state in accordance with Section 849.44, F.S.

Under the Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act, an agency that receives final judgment granting forfeiture of real property or personal property may elect to:

- Retain the property for the agency's use;
- Sell the property at public auction or by sealed bid to the highest bidder, except for real property, which should be sold in a commercially reasonable manner after appraisal by listing on the market; or
- Salvage, trade, or transfer the property to any public or nonprofit organization.

If the forfeited property is subject to a lien, the agency must sell the property and use the proceeds to satisfy any liens or may have the lien satisfied prior to taking the above actions.

The proceeds from the sale of forfeited property must be disbursed in the following priority:

- Payment of the balance due on any lien preserved by the court in the forfeiture proceedings.
- Payment of the cost incurred by the seizing agency in connection with the storage, maintenance, security, and forfeiture of such property.
- Payment of court costs incurred in the forfeiture proceeding.

In accordance with Section 849.19, F.S., currently, property rights in confiscated machines and money and other things of value therein are forfeited to the county in which the seizure was made and must be placed in the fine and forfeiture fund of the county. All sums received from the sale of seized property are paid into the county fine and forfeiture fund in which the seizure was made. If the seizure occurs within a municipality that has forfeiture ordinances, the sums received from the sale of the seized property are deposited into the municipality's general operating fund.

If the seizing agency is a state agency, the remaining proceeds after satisfaction of liens, costs incurred with the storage, maintenance, security, and forfeiture of such property, and payment of court costs incurred in a forfeiture procedure must be

**Revenue Source**: Seized Property, Proceeds of Forfeiture Funds **Issue**: Property rights in confiscated slot machines and proceeds of forfeitures **Bill Number(s)**: HB 5203

deposited into the General Revenue Fund. However, various state agencies are provided an exemption under Section 932.7055, F.S., allowing the proceeds accrued pursuant to the provisions of the Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act to be deposited into specified trust funds created within those agencies. The Florida Gaming Control Commission does not currently have this exemption.

**b. Proposed Change**: The bill amends s. 849.19, F.S., which specifies that the property rights in machines and money and other things of value therein confiscated by the Commission are forfeited to the Commission and deposited into the Pari-Mutuel Wagering Trust Fund. Additionally, s. 849.44, F.S., is amending specifies sums received from a sale or other disposition of property that is seized by the Commission shall be deposited into the Pari-Mutuel Wagering Trust Fund.

Section 932.7.055, F.S., is amending to provide an exemption from the requirement that the Commission pay excess proceeds from forfeiture proceedings to the General Revenue Fund. The bill specifies that proceeds accrued pursuant to the Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act are to be deposited into the Pari-Mutuel Wagering Trust Fund or into the Commission's Federal Law Enforcement Trust Fund. The bill authorizes such proceeds to be used for the operation of the Commission.

The bill was approved by the Governor on April 2, 2024, ch. 2024-55, L.O.F., and will become effective on July 1, 2024.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act

Final cases conducted by DGE within the Commission, which had associated excess of process from forfeiture proceedings.

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Revenue from forfeitures is complete when a court of law makes a final determination. Since forfeitures are tied to a civil and/or criminal proceeding, the revenue generated from them is subject to change based on the outcome of the case, which could include returning the assets to the defendant. Therefore, revenue from forfeitures could not be considered revenue and deposited into the Pari-Mutuel Wagering Trust Fund until all legal proceedings have been resolved.

Due to unknown number of investigations that DGE may conduct and the outcome by the court of law, the Commission is unable to determine the revenue from forfeitures that may be deposited into the Pari-Mutuel Wagering Trust Fund at this time.

#### Low Estimate Fiscal Year 2024-2025

- Commission has been notified that a \$142,527.30 payment will be sent to us for a completed case.
  - \$131,125.10 to PMWTF
  - o \$11,402.20 to GR

#### Middle Estimate Fiscal Year 2024-2025

- + indeterminate (an amount greater than \$131,125.10) to PMWTF
- + indeterminate (an amount greater than \$11,402.20) to GR

#### Fiscal Year 2025-2026 – Fiscal 2028-2029

#### Low Estimate

• No forfeiture proceedings sent to the Commission.

#### Middle

- Positive indeterminate to the Pari-Mutuel Wagering Trust.
- Positive indeterminate to the General Revenue Fund for the 8% Service Charge.

**Revenue Source**: Seized Property, Proceeds of Forfeiture Funds **Issue**: Property rights in confiscated slot machines and proceeds of forfeitures **Bill Number(s)**: HB 5203

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

PMW Trust Fund

	High		Middle		Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			+ indeterminate	0	131,125.10	0	
2025-26			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	
2026-27			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	
2027-28			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	
2028-29			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	

#### **General Revenue**

	High		Middle		Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			+ indeterminate	0	11,402.20	0	
2025-26			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	
2026-27			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	
2027-28			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	
2028-29			+ indeterminate	0	0	0	

Revenue Distribution: Pari-Mutuel Wagering Trust Fund and General Revenue (Service Charge)

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the low for GR (GR Service Charge) for the cash in the first year and then 0/\* for the out years and all recurring. The Conference adopted the low cash for the Trust fund for the first year and then 0/\*\* for the rest of the outyears and the recurring.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local/C		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	*	0/*	0.1	0/**	0.0	0.0	0.1	0/**
2025-26	0/*	0/*	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**
2026-27	0/*	0/*	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**
2027-28	0/*	0/*	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**
2028-29	0/*	0/*	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**

Revenue Source: Severance Tax Sales and Use Tax Corporate Income Tax ABT Excise Tax Insurance Premium Tax Issue: Child Care Tax Credits

Bill Number(s): CS/SB 7073

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Sections 26, 32, 39, 44, 49, 54, 55
 Sponsor(s): Senator McFarland
 Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17<sup>th</sup>, 2024.

#### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: NA - Relevant sections of language create new sections in statute.

**b. Proposed Change**: \$5 Million dollars in childcare tax credits are created for taxpayers to claim against their liabilities providing they meet the following requirements:

Severance Taxes: Must be claimed against liability incurred on production of Oil or Gas (sections 211.02 or 211.025). Total credits claimed (including those in sections 211.0251, 211.0252, 211.0253) cannot exceed more than 50% of liability. If total credits available exceed 50% of liability, all other credits must be exhausted before applying this one. Credit is available beginning January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2024.

Sales and Use Tax: Credit can be claimed by any tax imposed by the state and incurred by a direct pay permitholder because of the direct pay permit. Credit is available beginning January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2024.

Corporate Income Tax: The credit must be earned on or before the date the taxpayer is required to file the return on which they claim it. Consolidated filers are subject to the individual cap at the consolidated level. Credit is available for taxable years starting on or after January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2024.

ABT Excise Tax: Credit must be claimed against excise tax on malt beverages, liquor, or wine not both produced and grown in this state. Credit may not exceed 90% of tax liability on the return in which it is taken. Credit is available beginning January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2024.

Insurance Premium Tax: Credit must be taken after section 440.51 deductions, sections 175.101 and 185.08 credits, chapter 220 income tax credits, and subsection 624.509(5) credits. Credit is available for taxable years starting on or after January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2024.

Additionally, the sections on Severance Tax, Sales and Use Tax, and ABT Excise Tax contain provisions stating that any reduction in tax collections as a result of this credit only results in a reduction in distributions to the general revenue fund.

The credit is available via 3 possible pathways: Build a Child Care Facility, Operate a Child Care Facility, or Contract with a Child Care Facility. All 3 set up different individual caps based on the number of employees, described in the tables below.

В	Builds a Child Care Facility							
50% of startup costs								
Employ	Employee Range Up To							
1	19	\$1,000,000						
20	250	\$500,000						
251	+	\$250,000						

<b>Operates a Child Care Facility</b>							
\$300 per child per month							
Employee Range Up To							
1	19	\$50,000					
20	250	\$500,000					
251	+	\$1,000,000					

Contracts With a Child Care Facility						
\$3,600 per child per year						
Employee Range Up To						
1	19	\$50,000				
20	250	\$500,000				
251	+	\$1,000,000				

Section 2: Description of Data and Sources Department Credit Reports Impact from March 1, 2024 Revenue Source: Severance Tax Sales and Use Tax Corporate Income Tax ABT Excise Tax Insurance Premium Tax Issue: Child Care Tax Credits

Bill Number(s): CS/SB 7073

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Given the broad applicability of the credit, we expect the \$5 Million cap will be reached. In the event the cap is not reached, there is no reliable way to estimate how much will be claimed. The maximum annual tax credit of \$5 million is applicable to fiscal years 2024-25, 2025-26, 2026-27.

The credit becomes available for Severance, Sales, and ABT Excise taxes starting January 2024, allowing the potential for an impact in FY24. However, we expect the largest claims to be against Corporate Income and Insurance Premium Tax liabilities for which the credit is available for taxable years beginning January 2024, pushing the brunt of the impact to begin FY25. On <u>March 1, 2024</u>, similar language was presented that only provided 1 years' worth of the \$5 million credit. At that time, an impact of \$1 million was adopted in the year of the credit, representing claims against Severance, Sales, and ABT Excise, with \$4 million in the following year, representing claims against Corporate Income and Insurance Premium Tax. Expanding this to a 3-year credit expands that concept to the low impact presented below.

The credit can be carried forward up to 5 years. The likelihood and schedule of such a carry forward is unknown. This result is represented in the high as negative indeterminate.

#### **Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact**

	F	ligh	Mie	ddle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	(**)	0			(1.0)	0	
2025-26	(**)	0			(5.0)	0	
2026-27	(**)	0			(5.0)	0	
2027-28	(**)	0			(4.0)	0	
2028-29	(**)	0			0	0	

#### Revenue Distribution: General Revenue

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the low impact.

	GR		Tr	ust	Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2023-24	(1.0)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(1.0)	0.0
2024-25	(5.0)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(5.0)	0.0
2025-26	(5.0)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(5.0)	0.0
2026-27	(4.0)	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(4.0)	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

Тах	Scholarship	Share	Chile	d Tax Credit
Bev	488	97.91%	\$	979,133.23
Sales	10	2.01%	\$	20,064.21
Severance	0.4	0.08%	\$	802.57
Total	498.4		\$	1,000,000.00

Тах	Scholarship	Share	Child	Tax Credit				
IPT	63.6	17.21%	\$	688,311.69				
CIT	306	82.79%	\$ 3	3,311,688.31				
	369.6		\$ 4	4,000,000.00				

	Beve	5	Sales			Severance					IF		C	IT		Total						
	Cash		Recurring		Cash		Recurring		Cash		Recurring		Cash		Recurring	Cash		Recurring		Cash	F	Recurring
2024-25	\$ 979,133	\$	-	\$	20,064	\$	-	\$	803	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$ -	\$	-	\$	1,000,000	\$	-
2025-26	\$ 979,133	\$	-	\$	20,064	\$	-	\$	803	\$	-	\$	688,312	\$	-	\$ 3,311,688	\$	-	\$	5,000,000	\$	-
2026-27	\$ 979,133	\$	-	\$	20,064	\$	-	\$	803	\$	-	\$	688,312	\$	-	\$ 3,311,688	\$	-	\$	5,000,000	\$	-
2027-28	\$ -	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	688,312	\$	-	\$ 3,311,688	\$	-	\$	4,000,000	\$	-
2028-29	\$ -	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$ -	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-

	Beve	erag	ge	Sales				Severance					IP			C	IT		СІТ				
	Cash		Recurring		Cash		Recurring		Cash	Recurring			Cash		Recurring		Cash		Recurring	Cash			Recurring
2024-25	\$ (1.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.0)	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	(1.0)	\$	-
2025-26	\$ (1.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.7)	\$	-	\$	(3.3)	\$	-	\$	(5.0)	\$	-
2026-27	\$ (1.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.0)	\$	-	\$	(0.7)	\$	-	\$	(3.3)	\$	-	\$	(5.0)	\$	-
2027-28	\$ -	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	(0.7)	\$	-	\$	(3.3)	\$	-	\$	(4.0)	\$	-
2028-29	\$ -	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-	\$	-

Tax: Local Taxes and Fees
Issue: Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax
Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073 (codified as Chapter 2024-158, L.O.F.)

Entire Bill

**Partial Bill:** Section 30 only

**Sponsor(s)**: House Appropriations Committee, House Ways and Means Committee, and Representative McClain Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

# Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: The Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax, as authorized in s. 212.055(4), F.S., consists of two separate levies for different groups of eligible counties. Non-consolidated counties having a total population of 800,000 or more (excluding Miami-Dade County) may impose, subject to an extraordinary vote of the county's governing body or voter approval in a countywide referendum, a surtax not to exceed 0.5 percent for the purpose of funding health care services for qualified residents. Non-consolidated counties with a total population of less than 800,000 may impose, subject to voter approval in a countywide referendum, a surtax not to exceed 0.25 percent for the sole purpose of funding trauma services provided by a trauma center licensed pursuant to ch. 395, F.S. During the 2023-24 local fiscal year, the single county levying this surtax (i.e., Hillsborough) will realize an estimated \$1.05 million in revenue. The 16 eligible counties not currently levying this surtax at the maximum rate will allow an estimated \$1.05 billion to go unrealized.

Based on the official 2023 population estimates, the six non-consolidated counties having a total population of 800,000 or more (i.e., Broward, Hillsborough, Lee, Orange, Palm Beach, and Pinellas counties) are eligible to levy the 0.5 percent surtax. Although Duval County has a total population greater than 800,000, the county is not eligible to levy because it is a consolidated county government. Although Miami-Dade County is a non-consolidated county having a total population greater than 800,000, the county is prohibited by law from levying this 0.5 percent surtax because it has been granted statutory authority to levy the County Public Hospital Surtax. All other counties (i.e., non-consolidated counties with a total population of less than 800,000) are eligible to levy the 0.25 percent surtax, and any levy expires four years after its effective date unless reenacted by ordinance subject to voter approval in a countywide referendum.

The 0.5 percent surtax proceeds are used to fund a broad range of health care services for both indigent persons and the medically poor, including, but not limited to, primary care and preventive care as well as hospital care. The 0.25 percent surtax proceeds are used for the sole purpose of funding trauma services provided by a trauma center licensed pursuant to ch. 395, F.S.

Both of these surtaxes are subject to a combined rate limitation pursuant to s. 212.055(4)(a)6.,F.S. A county eligible to levy either the 0.5 percent or 0.25 percent Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax cannot levy it along with the Local Government Infrastructure Surtax and Small County Surtax in excess of a combined rate of 1 percent.

Proposed Change: The legislation amends s. 212.055(4)(a), F.S., to remove statutory language that prohibited a county that was consolidated with one or more municipalities (i.e., Duval County) from levying the Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax. Additionally, the legislation removes a county's option to approve the surtax's levy by an extraordinary vote of the governing body. All future levies of this surtax must be approved by a majority vote of county electors voting in a referendum.

## Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Currently, Duval County has a maximum local discretionary sales surtax-taxing capacity of 3 percent. Currently, the county levies the Charter County and Regional Transportation System Surtax at 0.5 percent and the Local Government Infrastructure Surtax at 0.5 percent. This law change would make Duval County eligible to levy the Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax at 0.5 percent. Consequently, Duval County could levy both the Local Government Infrastructure Surtax at 0.5 percent and the Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax at 0.5 percent without violating the combined 1 percent tax rate limitation.

Had Duval County been eligible to levy the Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax at the 0.5 percent rate during the 2023-24 local fiscal year, the county would have received an estimated \$133 million.

Tax: Local Taxes and FeesIssue: Indigent Care and Trauma Center SurtaxBill Number(s): CS/HB 7073 (codified as Chapter 2024-158, L.O.F.)

# Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

As the result of legislation enacted last year (i.e., HB 7063, later codified as Chapter 2023-157, L.O.F.), a referendum to adopt, amend, or reenact any local discretionary sales surtax must be approved by referendum held at a general election, as defined in s. 97.021, F.S. Furthermore, a referendum to reenact an expiring surtax must be held at a general election occurring within the 48-month period immediately preceding the effective date of the reenacted tax, and the referendum may appear on the ballot only once within the 48-month period.

As a result of this 2024 law change, any future receipt of Indigent Care and Trauma Center Surtax revenues by Duval County would be dependent of the surtax's approval by voters in a countywide referendum held at a general election. For this reason, EDR staff recommends a zero/positive indeterminate fiscal impact.

## Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mie	ddle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			0/**	0/**		
2025-26			0/**	0/**		
2026-27			0/**	0/**		
2027-28			0/**	0/**		
2028-29			0/**	0/**		

Revenue Distribution: Local funds only.

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed impact except for the first two years' cash which they adopted as zero.

	GR		Tr	Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0.0	0/**	
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0.0	0/**	
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**	0/**	0/**	
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**	0/**	0/**	
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**	0/**	0/**	

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Area of Critical State Concern Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Sections 13
 Sponsor(s): Representative McClain
 Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: February 28, 2024; June 17, 2024

## Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Section 196.1978, Florida Statutes, provides an ad valorem exemption for certain affordable housing properties with more than 70 units, that have rent set within provided limits, and that are newly constructed.
- **b. Proposed Change**: In section 13, 196.1978(3)(b)2.b. is created which allows newly constructed multifamily projects within an area of critical state concern as designated by 380.0552 or chapter 28-36, Florida Administrative Code, to have the unit limit reduced from more than 70 to more than 10. Both the statute and administrative code relate only to Monroe County.

# Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

- 2022F Real Property (NAL) Roll data
- Apartment Pricing Market Research:
  - Various apartment websites and Apartments.com
    - Individual links can be found in accompanying spreadsheet
- Conversations with Florida Housing Finance Corporation's (FHFC's) Office of Multifamily Development
- Distribution of bedrooms for renter-occupied units: Census.gov Table B25042 Tenure by Bedrooms, 2021 ACS 1year estimates
  - o <u>B25042: TENURE BY BEDROOMS Census Bureau Table</u>
- Florida Housing Finance Corporation: Florida Housing Rental Programs 2022 MTSP Income and Rent Limits, 4/18/2022
  - o https://www.floridahousing.org/owners-and-managers/compliance/rent-limits
- List of FHFC properties: Florida Housing Data Clearinghouse—Assisted Housing Inventory Property List (Sheet 2)

   <u>http://flhousingdata.shimberg.ufl.edu/assisted-housing-inventory/results?nid=1</u>
- Median Household Income by County: Florida Health Charts
  - <u>https://www.flhealthcharts.gov/ChartsReports/rdPage.aspx?rdReport=NonVitalIndRateOnly.DataViewer</u> <u>&cid=293</u>
- Median Income and Income Distribution: 2021 ACS 1-Year Estimates Table S1901
  - o <u>https://data.census.gov/table?q=household+income+in+florida&tid=ACSST1Y2021.S1901</u>
- Rental-occupied bedroom distribution: ACS 2021 1-Yr data
- Rent Limits: Florida Housing Finance Corporation: Florida Housing Rental Programs 2022 MTSP Income and Rent Limits, 4/18/2022
  - o https://www.floridahousing.org/owners-and-managers/compliance/rent-limits
- Rental Rate Information: Smart Asset: "How Much Should I Charge for Rent?"
  - <u>https://smartasset.com/mortgage/how-much-you-should-charge-for-</u> <u>rent#:~:text=The%20amount%20of%20rent%20you,%242%2C000%20and%20%242%2C750%20each%20</u> <u>month</u>.
- Residential Non-homestead Taxable Value Growth Rates: August 2022 Ad Valorem Revenue Estimating Conference (AV REC)
  - <u>http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/advalorem/index.cfm</u>
- Survey Cost per Unit: information received from Office of Economic and Demographic Research
- Impact adopted January 19, 2024
- Impact adopted on February 28, 2024

# Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

The language of section 13 of this bill is identical to that of section 15 of CS/SB7074, for which the conference adopted an impact on <u>February 28, 2024</u>. This is further identical to section 4 of CS/CS/SB 328.

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Area of Critical State Concern Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

The methodology of the <u>impact adopted</u> on June 23, 2023 was applied in Monroe county, but lowered the unit limit to 10. Based on the adopted methodology, there were no properties in areas of critical state concern that would choose to lower their rent to the level necessary to receive the exemption, and thus the impact of that portion is zero. Based on an <u>impact adopted</u> <u>January 19, 2024</u> and <u>an impacted adopted on February 28, 2024</u>, some amount of property will be affected, and a negative indeterminate impact was adopted and is presented below.

There is a cash impact for 2024-25 because the bill first applies to the 2024 roll.

### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			(**)	(**)		
2025-26			(**)	(**)		
2026-27			(**)	(**)		
2027-28			(**)	(**)		
2028-29			(**)	(**)		

### Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: License or Permit to Operate a Vehicle for-Hire Bill Number(s): HB 377 (codified as Chapter 2024-28, L.O.F.)

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Borrero
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

# Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law:

# Vehicles for-Hire

Section 320.01(15)(a), F.S., defines a *for-hire* vehicle to mean a motor vehicle used for transporting persons or goods for compensation. Additionally, there are companies that provide for-hire medical transportation of individuals for compensation while such individuals are on stretchers or wheelchairs, or are handicap, have an illness, injury, or other incapacitation. Some local governments require a non-emergency and emergency medical transportation service provider to apply for a license.

# Local Authority to Regulate Vehicles for-Hire

Section 125.01(1)(n), F.S., authorizes county governments to license and regulate taxis, jitneys, limousines, rental cars, and other passenger vehicles for-hire that operate in the unincorporated areas. Counties may impose licensing fees in order to license these vehicles for-hire.

Section 166.221, F.S., authorizes municipal governments to levy reasonable business, professional, and occupational regulatory fees, commensurate with the cost of the regulatory activity, including consumer protection, on such classes of businesses, professions, and occupations, the regulation of which has not been preempted by the state or a county pursuant to a county charter.

Chapter 189, F.S., authorizes the creation of special districts, which are units of local government created for a particular purpose with jurisdiction to operate within a limited geographic boundary. Special districts are created by general law, special act, local ordinance, or rule of the Governor and Cabinet. Special districts may be classified as dependent or independent based on their relationship with local general-purpose governments. A special district has only those powers expressly provided by, or reasonably implied from, the authority provided in the district's charter.

# **Preemption**

Vehicles for-hire are not considered vehicles used for transportation network companies or TNC's, like Uber or Lyft. The regulation and licensing of TNC drivers and vehicles are expressly preempted to the State pursuant to s. 627.748(17), F.S.

Pursuant to s. 163.211, F.S., the licensing of occupations is expressly preempted to the State and supercedes any local government licensing requirement of occupations with the exception of the following:

- Any local government that imposed licenses on occupations before January 1, 2021. However, any such local government licensing of occupations expires on July 1, 2024.
- Any local government licensing of occupations authorized by general law.

The House Final Bill Analysis of HB 377 states that this preemption does not appear to apply to county governments since they have specific authority in general law [i.e., s.125.01(1)(n), F.S.] to license and regulate vehicles for-hire that operate in their unincorporated areas. However, this preemption may prevent municipal governments from licensing and regulating vehicles for-hire after July 1, 2024, because they do not have specific general law authority to do so.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup> Florida House of Representative Staff Final Bill Analysis, dated March 22, 2024, (pp.4-5) available at:

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Documents/loaddoc.aspx?FileName=h0377z1.RRS.DOCX&DocumentType=Analysis&BillNumber=0377& Session=2024

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: License or Permit to Operate a Vehicle for-Hire Bill Number(s): HB 377 (codified as Chapter 2024-28, L.O.F.)

# Public Use Airports

Section 332.004(14), F.S., defines a *public use airport* as any publicly owned airport which is used or to be used for public purposes. An airport is classified as a primary commercial service airport when the U.S. Secretary of Transportation determines that it has more than 10,000 passenger boardings each year.<sup>2</sup>

Chapter 332, F.S., authorizes local governments to establish and operate airports. Florida airports operate under either a government department model (where the airport operates as a department of the local government) or an airport authority model (where the airport authority is created as either an independent or a dependent special district). Some airport authorities require vehicles for-hire to obtain a permit to operate from the local government and the airport. On the other hand, some airport authorities issue a separate permit for vehicles for-hire for transporting passengers at the airport

# Seaports

Section 311.09(1), F.S, designates Florida's 16 deepwater ports, or seaports, as members of the Florida Seaport Transportation and Economic Development Council. Section 315.03(14), F.S., authorizes ports to operate and maintain, and to fix and collect rates, rentals, fees and other charges for any of the services and facilities provided by the port facilities.

# b. Proposed Change:

The legislation creates s. 320.0603, F.S., to provide an exception from certain local licensing requirements for a person who holds a valid, active license or permit issued by a county or municipality to operate a vehicle for-hire. Such person may operate a vehicle for-hire without being subject to additional licensing or permitting requirements and without paying additional fees, if the person:

- Holds a valid, active license or permit to operate a vehicle for-hire in the county or municipality in which the person is domiciled (i.e., meaning someone's permanent residence or principal home), and
- Has not had a license or permit to operate a vehicle for-hire suspended or revoked within the preceding five years.

The legislation does <u>not</u> grant specific authority to counties, municipalities, or special districts to regulate or license vehicles forhire that is required by s. 163.211, F.S., which expressly preempts the licensing of occupations to the State.

The provisions of this legislation do <u>not</u> apply to *airports*, which include an airport, airport authority, aviation authority, or other entity that operates a public-use airport as defined in s. 332.004, F.S., including counties, municipalities, or special districts that operate airports; and *seaports*, as listed in s. 311.09(1), F.S. Consequently, those airports and seaports will be allowed to license or permit persons who operate a vehicle for-hire and charge the relevant fee(s).

The provisions of this legislation do <u>not</u> apply to a person who holds a valid, active license or permit to operate a vehicle for-hire when such person:

- Provides transportation of persons while on stretchers or wheelchairs, or
- Provides transportation of persons whose disability, illness, injury, or other incapacitation makes it impractical to be transported by a regular common carrier such as a bus, taxi, non-taxi, limousine, or other vehicle for-hire.

Consequently, counties and municipalities will be allowed to maintain or implement licenses or permits for a person operating a medical transportation vehicle for-hire and charge the relevant fee(s).

## Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

According to the Florida Department of Transportation, Florida's aviation systems includes 125 public-use airports, including the following 19 primary commercial service airports.<sup>3</sup>

- 1. Daytona Beach International Airport (DEB)
- 2. Destin-Fort Walton Beach Airport (VPS)
- 3. Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL)
- 4. Gainesville Regional Airport (GNV)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> 49 U.S.C. §47102

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Florida Department of Transportation, Aviation-Airports, available at: <u>https://www.fdot.gov/aviation/airports</u>

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: License or Permit to Operate a Vehicle for-Hire Bill Number(s): HB 377 (codified as Chapter 2024-28, L.O.F.)

- 5. Jacksonville International Airport (JAX)
- 6. Key West International Airport (EYW)
- 7. Melbourne Orlando International Airport (MLB)
- 8. Miami International Airport (MIA)
- 9. Northwest Florida Beaches International Airport (ECP)
- 10. Orlando International Airport (MCO)
- 11. Orlando Sanford International Airport (SFB)
- 12. Palm Beach International Airport (PBI)
- 13. Pensacola International Airport (PNS)
- 14. Punta Gorda Airport (PGD)
- 15. Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport (SRQ)
- 16. Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW)
- 17. St. Pete-Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
- 18. Tallahassee International Airport (TLH)
- 19. Tampa International Airport (TPA)

The legislation provides that a *seaport* means those listed in s. 311.09(1), F.S., which includes the following:

- 1. Port Canaveral, located in Brevard County
- 2. Port Citrus, located in Citrus County
- 3. Port Everglades, located in Broward County
- 4. Port of Fernandina, located in Nassau County
- 5. Port of Fort Pierce, located in St. Lucie County
- 6. JAXPORT, located in the City of Jacksonville
- 7. Port of Key West, located in Monroe County
- 8. SeaPort Manatee, located in Manatee County
- 9. PortMiami, located in Miami-Dade County
- 10. Port of Palm Beach, located in Palm Beach County
- 11. Port Panama City, located in Bay County
- 12. Port of Pensacola, located in Escambia County
- 13. Port of Port St. Joe, located in Gulf County
- 14. Port Putnam, located in Putnam County
- 15. Port St. Pete, located in Pinellas County
- 16. Port Tampa Bay, located in Hillsborough County

# Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Assuming local governments license vehicles for-hire, local governments could experience negative fiscal impacts associated with those operators who satisfy two requirements:

- 1. Hold a valid, active license or permit to operate a vehicle for-hire in the county or municipality in which the person is domiciled; and
- 2. Have maintained their license or permit to operate in good standing for the preceding five years.

The number of such persons satisfying both of these requirements is unknown.

Seaports and airports, as defined, are exempt from the requirements of the legislation. Consequently, any local fee revenues generated from such persons operating vehicles for-hire at these facilities would not be impacted.

Additionally, the legislation does not apply to persons operating a medical transportation vehicle for-hire, so any local fee revenues generated from such persons would be unaffected as well.

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: License or Permit to Operate a Vehicle for-Hire Bill Number(s): HB 377 (codified as Chapter 2024-28, L.O.F.)

The licensing and regulation of vehicles for-hire can vary significantly from one jurisdiction to another while some jurisdictions may not require it at all. The House Final Bill Analysis of HB 377 cites a few licensure examples in Hillsborough and Miami-Dade counties and City of Orlando, as well as a few non-licensure examples in Collier County and the cities of Naples and Sarasota.<sup>4</sup>

EDR staff contacted representatives of the Florida Association of Counties and Florida League of Cities. The Florida Association of Counties representative stated that the Association does not have a comprehensive list of those local governments that license vehicles for-hire. However, they are aware of several counties (i.e., Broward, Charlotte, Hillsborough, Miami-Dade, Osceola, and Palm Beach) that do. FAC also identified several counties (i.e., Collier, Lee, and Sarasota) that have repealed licensure of vehicles forhire. The Florida League of Cities did not furnish any information regarding licensure, non-licensure, or potential local revenue impacts.

Since the statewide number of persons operating vehicles for-hire who might qualify for the exception and the number of local governments currently imposing licensure fees on such persons are unknown, EDR staff is recommending a negative indeterminate fiscal impact.

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			(**)	(**)		
2025-26			(**)	(**)		
2026-27			(**)	(**)		
2027-28			(**)	(**)		
2028-29			(**)	(**)		

# Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

## **Revenue Distribution:** Local funds only

## Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimates.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(**)	(**)	(**)	(**)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Florida House of Representative Staff Final Bill Analysis, dated March 22, 2024, (pp.3-4) available at:

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Documents/loaddoc.aspx?FileName=h0377z1.RRS.DOCX&DocumentType=Analysis&BillNumber=0377& Session=2024

Tax: Local Taxes and Fees

**Issue**: Local Option Food and Beverage Tax – Levy of 1% Tax in Select Municipalities Subject to Referendum Approval **Bill Number(s)**: CS/HB 7073 (codified as Chapter 2024-158, L.O.F.)

# Entire Bill

# **X** Partial Bill: Section 21 only

**Sponsor(s)**: House Appropriations Committee, House Ways and Means Committee, and Representative McClain Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

### Section 1: Narrative

### a. Current Law:

## Municipal Resort Tax

Chapter 67-930, L.O.F., as amended by Chapters 82-142, 83-363, 93-286, and 94-344, L.O.F., authorizes the Municipal Resort Tax, which also consists of two separate levies. Municipalities in counties having a population of not less than 330,000 and not more than 340,000 (i.e., Broward County) and in counties having a population of more than 900,000 (i.e., Miami-Dade County), according to the 1960 decennial census, whose charter specifically provided or was amended prior to January 1, 1968, to provide for this tax levy, are eligible to impose it by ordinance adopted by the governing body. A tax of up to 4% may be levied upon the rent of every occupancy of a room or rooms in any hotel, motel, apartment house, rooming house, tourist or trailer camp, as defined in part I of ch. 212, F.S. A tax of up to 2% may be levied upon the retail sale price of all items of food or beverages sold at retail, and of alcoholic beverages sold at retail for consumption on the premises at any place of business required by law to be licensed by the state hotel and restaurant commission or by the state beverage department. However, the tax does not apply to those sales the amount of which is less than 50 cents or sales of food or beverages delivered to a person's home under a contract providing for deliveries on a regular schedule when the price of each meal is less than \$10.

# The Miami-Dade County municipalities of Bal Harbour, Miami Beach, and Surfside are eligible to impose the Municipal Resort Tax. According to their official government websites, Bal Harbour<sup>1</sup>, Miami Beach<sup>2</sup>, and Surfside<sup>3</sup> are imposing the tax at 4 percent on transient rental transactions and 2 percent on the sale of food and beverages.

It is the duty of every person renting a room or rooms and selling at retail food or beverages or alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises to act as the tax collection agent. These persons must collect, report, and pay over to the municipality all taxes levied in accordance with the enacted ordinance. Any municipality collecting the tax has the same duties and privileges as the Department of Revenue (DOR) under part I of ch. 212, F.S., and may use any power granted to the DOR under this part including enforcement and collection procedures and penalties.

The governing body may authorize by ordinance the creation of an authority or commission empowered to contract and be contracted with its own name as an agency of the municipality to expend the tax proceeds as the body may determine appropriate. The tax proceeds are used for the creation and maintenance of convention and publicity bureaus; development and maintenance of art and cultural centers; enhancement of tourism; publicity and advertising; construction, operation, and maintenance of auditoriums, community centers, and convention structures; or relief from ad valorem taxes being used for any of these other purposes.

## Local Option Food and Beverage Tax

Section 212.0306, F.S., authorizes the Local Option Food and Beverage Tax, which actually consists of two separate levies. Any county, as defined in s. 125.011(1), F.S., [i.e., Miami-Dade County] may impose two separate taxes by ordinance adopted by a majority vote of the county's governing body. The first tax authorized in s. 212.0306(1)(a), F.S., may be imposed at the rate of 2 percent on the sale of food, beverages, or alcoholic beverages in hotels and motels. A second tax authorized in s. 212.0306(1)(b), F,S., may be imposed at the rate of 1 percent on the sale of food, beverages in establishments that are licensed by the state to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, except for hotels and motels. However, this 1 percent tax does not apply to any alcoholic beverage sold by the package for off-premises consumption. The county levying either tax locally administers the tax using the powers and duties enumerated for local administration of the tourist development tax by s. 125.0104, F.S. Miami-Dade County began levying these taxes on October 1, 1993.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>http://www.balharbourfl.gov/doing-business/resort-tax-registration</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> <u>https://www.miamibeachfl.gov/city-hall/finance/filepay-resort-tax/</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> See document entitled "Resort Tax Form" available at <u>http://www.townofsurfsidefl.gov/departments-services/finance/certificate-of-use-local-business-tax-receipt-and-resort-tax-information</u>

Tax: Local Taxes and Fees

**Issue**: Local Option Food and Beverage Tax – Levy of 1% Tax in Select Municipalities Subject to Referendum Approval **Bill Number(s)**: CS/HB 7073 (codified as Chapter 2024-158, L.O.F.)

The county distributes the 2 percent tax proceeds to a countywide convention and visitors' bureau, which by interlocal agreement and contract with the county has been given the primary responsibility for tourist and convention promotion, to be used for those purposes authorized in s. 125.0104(5)(a)2. or 3., F.S. (1992 Supp.). If the county is not or is no longer a party to such an interlocal agreement and contract with a countywide convention and visitors' bureau, the county allocates the proceeds for those purposes authorized in s. 125.0104(5)(a)2. or 3., F.S. (1992 Supp.).

As described in s. 125.0104(5)(a)2. or 3., F.S. (1992 Supp.), the 2 percent tax proceeds are used for the following purposes.

- 1. Promoting and advertising tourism in the State of Florida and nationally and internationally.
- 2. Funding convention bureaus, tourist bureaus, tourist information centers, and news bureaus as county agencies or by contract with the chambers of commerce or similar associations in the county.

The 1 percent tax proceeds are distributed by the county pursuant to the guidelines provided in the approved plans for addressing homeless needs as well as the construction and operation of domestic violence centers. The county and its respective municipalities continue to contribute each year at least 85 percent of aggregate expenditures from the respective county or municipal general fund budget for county-operated or municipally-operated homeless shelter services at or above the average level of such expenditures in the two fiscal years preceding the levy date of this tax.

For the first 12 months of the 1 percent tax levy, the proceeds are used by the county to assist persons who have become or are about to become homeless. These funds are made available for emergency homeless shelters, food, clothing, medical care, counseling, alcohol and drug abuse treatment, mental health treatment, employment and training, education, and housing. Thereafter, not less than 15 percent of the proceeds are made available for construction and operation of domestic violence centers. The remainder is used for programs to assist the homeless or those about to become homeless. In addition, the proceeds and accrued interest may be used as collateral, pledged, or hypothecated for authorized projects, including bonds issued in connection with such authorized projects.

Prior to 2023, sales in cities or towns imposing a Municipal Resort Tax, as authorized by Chapter 67-930, L.O.F., were exempt from both the 1% and 2% Local Option Food and Beverages Tax levies. However, legislation enacted in 2023 (i.e., HB 7063, which was codified as Chapter 2023-157) authorized the 1% Local Option Food and Beverage Tax authorized in s. 212.0306(1)(b), F.S., to be imposed by each of the three municipalities of Bal Harbour, Miami Beach, and Surfside, if the levy is approved by a majority of registered electors of that municipality voting in a referendum held at a general election as defined in s. 97.021, F.S.

	Relevant Taxes on the Sale of Food	d, Beverages,	or Alcoholic Beverages		
	Local Option Food and Beverage Tax	Municipal Resort Tax			
2% Tax	On the sale of food, beverages, or alcoholic beverages in hotels and motels only.	-	Upon the retail sale price of all items of food or beverages sold at retail, and of alcoholic beverages sold at retail for consumption on		
1% Tax	On the sale of food, beverages, or alcoholic beverages in establishments that are licensed by the state to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, except for hotels and motels; however, the tax shall not apply to any alcoholic beverage sold by the package for off-premises consumption.	Up to 2% Tax	the premises at any place of business required by law to be licensed by the state hotel and restaurant commission of by the state beverage department. However, this tax shall not apply to those sales the amount of which is less than fifty cents nor to sales of food or beverages delivered to a person's home under a contract providing for deliveries on-a regular schedule when the price of each meal is less than ten dollars.		

Tax: Local Taxes and Fees

**Issue**: Local Option Food and Beverage Tax – Levy of 1% Tax in Select Municipalities Subject to Referendum Approval **Bill Number(s)**: CS/HB 7073 (codified as Chapter 2024-158, L.O.F.)

b. Proposed Change: The legislation amends s. 212.0306(2)(d), F.S., to clarify that in a referendum to adopt the 1% Local Option Food and Beverage Tax in any of the three municipalities (i.e., Bal Harbour, Miami Beach, and Surfside) currently levying the Municipal Resort Tax, the 1% tax levy must be approved by a majority of electors voting in the election, rather than having to be approved by a majority of registered electors.

### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

None

## Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

On June 23. 2023, the REC reviewed nearly identical legislation, which required a higher voting threshold for the levy's approval, and the Conference adopted a zero/positive indeterminate fiscal impact.

Beginning July 1, 2024, any future imposition of the 1% Local Option Food and Beverage Tax on eligible sales within one or more of these three municipalities (and the resulting tax proceeds going to Miami-Dade County) would be subject to two conditions. First, the municipality's governing body would need to adopt an ordinance calling for a local referendum, which must be held at a general election, to approve the tax levy within the jurisdiction. Second, a majority of electors of that municipality voting in the referendum would need to approve it.

For these reasons, the EDR staff again recommends a zero/positive indeterminate fiscal impact.

### **Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact**

	High		Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			0/**	0/**			
2025-26			0/**	0/**			
2026-27			0/**	0/**			
2027-28			0/**	0/**			
2028-29			0/**	0/**			

**Revenue Distribution:** Local funds only.

## Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted a zero impact.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

**Revenue Source**: Local Taxes and Fees **Issue**: Career and Technical Education **Bill Number(s)**: CS/CS/HB 917

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Snyder
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

### Section 1: Narrative

### a. Current Law:

Florida apprenticeship standards define a journeyworker as a person working in an apprenticeable occupation who has successfully completed a registered apprenticeship program or who has worked the number of years required by established industry practices for the particular trade or occupation.

Currently, counties and municipalities are authorized to issue journeyman licenses in the plumbing, pipe fitting, mechanical, HVAC, electrical and alarm system trades. An individual who holds a valid, active journeyman license in the trade issued by any county or municipality may work as a journeyman in the trade in which he or she is licensed, in any other county or municipality without taking an additional examination or paying an additional license fee, if he or she meets certain experience thresholds. A local government may charge a registration fee for reciprocity, not to exceed \$25.

### b. Proposed Change:

The bill removes the authorization for a county or municipality to charge a registration fee for reciprocity and requires counties and municipalities to recognize a person as a journeyman in the plumbing, pipe fitting, mechanical, HVAC, electric, and alarm system trades if the person was issued a journeyman license in such trade by a county or municipality in the state.

### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

House Choice & Innovation Subcommittee Staff House Regulatory Reform & Economic Development Subcommittee Staff Office of Policy and Budget Staff Florida Association of Counties

## Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Data regarding which local governments currently levy the permissible fee, and the annual proceeds from such fees, is unavailable. A negative impact can be expected as a result of the bill, but the magnitude is uncertain.

#### High Impact

If 4,000 or more individual fees are assessed in a given year, the impact will be negative indeterminant.

Low Impact

If under 4,000 individual fees are assessed in a given year, the impact will be negative insignificant.

## Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)	
2025-26	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)	
2026-27	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)	
2027-28	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)	
2028-29	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)	

Revenue Distribution: Local Funds

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: Career and Technical Education Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 917

# Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the low estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)

Revenue Source: Beverage Tax Issue: 13% Distribution to Select Medical Centers Bill Number(s): HB7073 – Section 48

□ Entire Bill
 □ Partial Bill: Section 48
 Sponsor(s): Representative McClain
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 6/17/2024

### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: s. 561.121 F.S. directs 2% of monthly collection of excise taxes on alcoholic beverages, established in ss. 563.05, 564.06, and 565.12 and s. 565.02(9), be deposited into the Alcoholic Beverage and Tobacco Trust Fund. Then, the remainder of the funds collected shall be credited to the General Revenue Fund. Currently, no beverage tax revenue goes to medical centers.
- **b. Proposed Change**: HB 7073 Section 48 is an addition to 561.121 and creates a distribution to multiple medical centers across Florida. Beginning July 1, 2024, after the distribution to the Alcoholic Beverage and Tobacco Trust Fund, 13% of monthly collections, pursuant to ss. 563.05, 564.06, 565.02(9), and 565.12, is to be paid in the following shares:

One-third to the University of Miami Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center;

One-sixth to the Brain Tumor Immunotherapy Program at the University of Florida Health Shands Cancer Center;

One-sixth to the Norman Fixel Institute for Neurological Diseases at the University of Florida; and

One-third to the Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center in Jacksonville.

The distributions may not exceed \$30 million per fiscal year. The distribution is repealed June 30, 2054.

### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

January 2024 General Revenue Estimating Conference

## Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

The maximum amount that can be distributed annually is \$30 million. This maximum can be reached each year of the window based on the January 2024 General Revenue Estimating Conference forecast for Beverage Tax Collections. The University of Miami is a private university, the University of Florida is public and the Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit medical center. \$10 million of the distribution will stay with a state funded school.

## Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

GR	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			(\$30.0)	(\$30.0)		
2025-26			(\$30.0)	(\$30.0)		
2026-27			(\$30.0)	(\$30.0)		
2027-28			(\$30.0)	(\$30.0)		
2028-29			(\$30.0)	(\$30.0)		

Local/Other	High		Mic	ddle	Low		
	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			\$10.0	\$10.0			
2025-26			\$10.0	\$10.0			
2026-27			\$10.0	\$10.0			
2027-28			\$10.0	\$10.0			
2028-29			\$10.0	\$10.0			

Revenue Distribution: Beverage Tax

Revenue Source: Beverage Tax Issue: 13% Distribution to Select Medical Centers Bill Number(s): <u>HB7073 – Section 48</u>

# Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Tr	Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	(30.0)	(30.0)	0.0	0.0	10.0	10.0	(20.0)	(20.0)	
2025-26	(30.0)	(30.0)	0.0	0.0	10.0	10.0	(20.0)	(20.0)	
2026-27	(30.0)	(30.0)	0.0	0.0	10.0	10.0	(20.0)	(20.0)	
2027-28	(30.0)	(30.0)	0.0	0.0	10.0	10.0	(20.0)	(20.0)	
2028-29	(30.0)	(30.0)	0.0	0.0	10.0	10.0	(20.0)	(20.0)	

Revenue Source: Dentistry Fees Issue: Dentistry Exam Fees Bill Number(s): SB 938 Entire Bill Partial Bill: Sponsor(s): Senator Yarborough Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024 Date(s) Conference Reviewed:

## Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: Prior to October 2011, the Department of Health (DOH) and the Board of Dentistry (board) administered the dental licensure exam. For this exam structure, section 466.006, F.S., requires an exam fee set by the board that could not exceed \$425 plus the per applicant cost to DOH to purchase the exam from the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX). Additionally, any person who fails the exam may retake the exam. Section 466.009, F.S., requires the applicant to pay a re-exam fee set by the board that cannot be greater than the original exam fee.

As of October 2011, Florida stopped administering its own dental exams, making the exam fee in statute obsolete. The exam is now administered by the CDCA-WREB-CITA© (CDCA). The ADEX dental exam fee is \$2,795 and the applicant pays the fee directly to CDCA. The exam is typically administered in the third or fourth year of dental school, resulting in dental students passing the exam prior to applying for licensure.

**b. Proposed Change**: Section 1 of the bill removes the obsolete requirements for DOH and the board to administer the exam and for the board to set an exam fee. Section 2 of the bill removes the obsolete re-exam fee set by the board.

## Section 2: Description of Data and Sources:

- Florida Senate, Bill Analysis and Impact Statement for SB 938, available at: https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2024/938
- Florida Department of Health, 2024 Agency Legislative Bill Analysis for SB 938, on file with Senate Finance and Tax.

Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details): The exam fees required under sections 466.006 and 466.009, F.S., are obsolete because the exam is now administered by CDCA and applicants pay the exam fee directly to CDCA. This results in a zero impact to the state.

	High		Mid	dle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			\$0	\$0			
2025-26			\$0	\$0			
2026-27			\$0	\$0			
2027-28			\$0	\$0			
2028-29			\$0	\$0			

## Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

**Revenue Distribution:** Not applicable, fee revenue goes directly to CDCA.

## Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Single Fee for Certain Registered Agent Resignations Bill Number(s): CS/CS/SB 1198

🗴 Entire Bill

 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Rules and Commerce and Tourism and Senator Martin Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed:

# Section 1: Narrative

# a. Current Law:

In order for a registered agent to resign as the registered agent of the business entity, the registered agent must complete a specific form, accompanied by the payment of the required fee, and mail it in to the Department of State (DOS). The fee is \$25 for each LLC resignation and \$35 for each corporation (for and not for profit) resignation.

Currently, a registered agent serving as such for more than one business entity who wishes to resign from all such positions must pay a separate fee to resign as the registered agent of each individual business entity.

# b. Proposed Change:

The bill creates a mechanism for a registered agent to resign from multiple dissolved business entities, if the entities in question are of the same type and have each been dissolved for 10 continuous years or more, by filing a single composite resignation statement with DOS. The fee is \$25 for two or more LLC resignations and \$35 for two or more corporation resignations.

This mechanism may only be utilized where the entities from which the registered agent wishes to resign are: domestic or foreign LLCs; domestic corporations; or domestic corporations not for profit.

# Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Contact with staff at the Department of State

## Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

## Registered Agents & Dissolved Entities

There are 77,585 registered agents associated with two or more LLCs that have been dissolved for 10 or more continuous years. There are 380,812 registered agents associated with two or more corporations that have been dissolved for 10 or more continuous years. In 2023, 443,662 LLCs and corporations were administratively dissolved.

## DOS Fee Collection

DOS includes registered agent resignation fees within all corporate fees received, so they do not know how much is specifically paid in resignation fees yearly to DOS.

There is no fee associated with remaining as a registered agent of a dissolved entity. Accordingly, DOS believes that this bill will have a positive revenue impact because the consolidated resignation fee may incentivize some registered agents associated with multiple dissolved entities to actually file for resignation.

## Positive Indeterminate or Positive Insignificant

For LLCs, at least 4000 of the 77,585 agents registered to multiple LLCs would need to pay the \$25 fee in a fiscal year for the impact to be positive indeterminate. Any number of agents below 4000 paying the fee would result in a positive insignificant impact.

For corporations, at least 2,858 of the 380,812 agents registered to multiple corporations would need to pay the \$35 fee in a fiscal year for the impact to be positive indeterminate. Any number of agents below 2,858 paying the fee would result in a positive insignificant impact.

Some combination of LLC and corporation resignation fees can also produce enough revenue to meet the positive indeterminate threshold.

Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Single Fee for Certain Registered Agent Resignations Bill Number(s): CS/CS/SB 1198

# **Conclusion**

Even with the consolidated resignation fee, there is still no penalty for remaining as a registered agent in a dissolved entity. Accordingly, there may be no incentive for registered agents associated with multiple dissolved entities to resign. On the other hand, some registered agents may view the consolidated fee as an opportunity to formally remove themselves from long-standing, dissolved entities.

Based on information from DOS and the above assumptions, the high end of this estimate could be positive indeterminate, and the low end could be positive insignificant.

# Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	H	igh	Lo	w
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	**	0	*	0
2025-26	**	0	*	0
2026-27	**	0	*	0
2027-28	**	0	*	0
2028-29	**	0	*	0

### Revenue Distribution: General Revenue

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted 0/positive indeterminate for cash and recurring impacts.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**
2025-26	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**
2026-27	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**
2027-28	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**
2028-29	0/**	0/**	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Opt Out Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Section 16 [Subsection (3)]
 Sponsor(s): Representative McClain
 Month/Year Impact Begins: 2025 Real Property Tax Roll
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: February 28, 2024; June 17, 2024

### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: Section 196.1978, Florida Statutes, provides an ad valorem exemption for certain affordable housing properties with more than 70 units, that have rent set within provided limits, and that are newly constructed. Specifically, a 75% exemption is available for units serving those up to 120% of median annual adjusted gross income in the area, and a 100% exemption is available for units serving those up to 80% of median annual adjusted gross income in the area.

420.6075 requires the Shimberg Center for Housing Studies to produce an annual housing report to assist in research and planning for affordable housing.

**b. Proposed Change**: The bill provides an option to opt out of the 75% exemption for those taxing authorities which the report required by 420.6075 identifies as having more units available at the 120% income level than renters.

### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

2022F Real Property (NAL) Roll data

Apartment Pricing Market Research:

Various apartment websites and Apartments.com

Conversations with Florida Housing Finance Corporation's (FHFC's) Office of Multifamily Development

Distribution of bedrooms for renter-occupied units: Census.gov Table B25042 Tenure by Bedrooms, 2021 ACS 1-year estimates B25042: TENURE BY BEDROOMS - Census Bureau Table

Florida Housing Finance Corporation: Florida Housing Rental Programs - 2022 MTSP Income and Rent Limits, 4/18/2022 <u>https://www.floridahousing.org/owners-and-managers/compliance/rent-limits</u>

List of FHFC properties: Florida Housing Data Clearinghouse-Assisted Housing Inventory Property List (Sheet 2)

http://flhousingdata.shimberg.ufl.edu/assisted-housing-inventory/results?nid=1

Median Household Income by County: Florida Health Charts

https://www.flhealthcharts.gov/ChartsReports/rdPage.aspx?rdReport=NonVitalIndRateOnly.DataViewer&cid=293

Median Income and Income Distribution: 2021 ACS 1-Year Estimates Table S1901

https://data.census.gov/table?q=household+income+in+florida&tid=ACSST1Y2021.S1901

Rental-occupied bedroom distribution: ACS 2021 1-Yr data

Rent Limits: Florida Housing Finance Corporation: Florida Housing Rental Programs - 2022 MTSP Income and Rent Limits, 4/18/2022

https://www.floridahousing.org/owners-and-managers/compliance/rent-limits

Rental Rate Information: Smart Asset: "How Much Should I Charge for Rent?"

https://smartasset.com/mortgage/how-much-you-should-charge-for-

rent#:~:text=The%20amount%20of%20rent%20you,%242%2C000%20and%20%242%2C750%20each%20month.

Residential Non-homestead Taxable Value Growth Rates: August 2022 Ad Valorem Revenue Estimating Conference (AV REC) <u>http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/advalorem/index.cfm</u>

Survey Cost per Unit: information received from Office of Economic and Demographic Research

Shimberg Center For Housing Studies 2023 Annual Report

Impact Adopted February 28, 2023

## Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

County opt-out eligibility was determined using the Shimberg report. The 2023 methodology evaluating the impact of 196.1978 was replicated, and a duplicate version was created were all counties eligible to opt-out did so. The difference between the analyses is the maximum potential impact of the bill. If all eligible counties opted out, the table below would be the impact.

# Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Opt Out Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

	Hi	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			\$0	\$110.4 M			
2025-26			\$134.6 M	\$134.6 M			
2026-27			\$159.8 M	\$159.8 M			
2027-28			\$185.9 M	\$185.9 M			
2028-29			\$214.0 M	\$214.0 M			

Because the impact is at the discretion of local governments, the impact is zero if none adopt an ordinance and negative indeterminant if any do. The language first impacts the 2025 roll, so the Fiscal Year 2024-25 cash impact is \$0.

Functionally identical language appeared before the conference on <u>June 23, 2023</u>, during which the proposed fiscal impact below was adopted.

### **Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact**

	Hi	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			\$0	0/**			
2025-26			0/**	0/**			
2026-27			0/**	0/**			
2027-28			0/**	0/**			
2028-29			0/**	0/**			

#### Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The conference adopted a zero/positive indeterminate impact with a cash impact of zero in FY 2024-25.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0.0	0/**
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**	0/**	0/**
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**	0/**	0/**
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**	0/**	0/**
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/**	0/**	0/**	0/**

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G	
1			2	School Impac	t			
2		Н	igh	Mic	ddle	L	.ow	
3		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
4	2023-24			\$0	\$31.3 M			
5	2024-25			\$37.4 M	\$37.4 M			
6	2025-26			\$45.6 M	\$45.6 M			
7	2026-27			\$54.1 M	\$54.1 M			
8	2027-28			\$63.0 M	\$63.0 M			
9	2028-29			\$72.5 M	\$72.5 M			
10								
11			No	n-School Imp	oact			
12		Н	igh	Mie	ddle	Low		
13		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
14	2023-24			\$0	\$61.2 M			
15	2024-25			\$73.0 M	\$73.0 M			
16	2025-26			\$89.0 M	\$89.0 M			
17	2026-27			\$105.7 M	\$105.7 M			
18	2027-28			\$122.9 M	\$122.9 M			
19	2028-29			\$141.5 M	\$141.5 M			
20								
21				<b>Total Impact</b>	:			
22		Н	igh	Mie	ddle	L	.OW	
23		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
24	2023-24			\$0	\$92.5 M			
25	2024-25			\$110.4 M	\$110.4 M			
26	2025-26			\$134.6 M	\$134.6 M			
27	2026-27			\$159.8 M	\$159.8 M			
28	2027-28			\$185.9 M	\$185.9 M			
29	2028-29			\$214.0 M	\$214.0 M			

1	N County	O Units minus Renters, <=120%	P Eligible to Opt-Out
2	Alachua	3,351	1 Ingible to Opt-Out
3	Baker	4,418	1
4	Bay	1,151	1
5	Bradford	865	1
6	Brevard	6,565	1
7	Broward	(33,237)	0
8	Calhoun	36	1
9	Charlotte	(579)	0
10	Citrus	(620)	0
11	Clay	4,418	1
12	Collier	(1,247)	0
13	Columbia	865	1
14		(61,721)	0
15	DeSoto	(1,469)	C
16	Dixie	865	1
17	Duval	4,418	1
18	Escambia	(612)	C
19	Flagler	(357)	C
20	-	36	1
21	Gadsden	36	1
22	Gilchrist	865	1
23	Glades	(1,469)	C
24	Gulf	36	1
25	Hamilton	865	1
26	Hardee	(1,469)	C
27	Hendry	(1,469)	0
28		3,994	1
29	Highlands	(1,469)	C
30	Hillsborough	3,994	1
31	Holmes	3,554	1
32	Indian River	10	1
33	Jackson	36	1
34	Jefferson	36	1
35	Lafayette	865	1
36	Lake	799	1
37	Lee	(1,135)	0
38	Leon	2,293	1
39	Levy	865	1
40	Liberty	36	1
41	Madison	865	1
42	Manatee	3,057	1
43	Marion	3,216	1
44	Martin	683	1
45		(61,721)	C
46		4,418	1
47		1,338	1
48		10	1
49		799	1
50	U	799	1
51		(7,728)	
52		3,994	1
53		3,994	1
55 54		248	1
54 55		4,418	1
55 56		-	1
50 57		4,418	1
		683	
58		(612)	0
59		3,057	1
60		799	1
61		387	1
62		865	1
63	,	865	1
64	Union	865	1
65	Volusia	(357)	C
66	Wakulla	36	1
67	Walton	36	1
07			

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Opt Out – 99 Year Land Use Restriction Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill: Section 16 [Subsection (4)]
 Sponsor(s): Representative McClain
 Month/Year Impact Begins: 2026 Real Property Tax Roll
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: March 5, 2024; June 17, 2024

### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: A variety of affordable housing exemptions exist in section 196.1978, Florida Statutes, but none include the first 15 years of an affordable housing property with more than 70 units rented at the 80% and below median annual adjusted gross income level with a land use restriction agreement with the Florida Housing Finance Corporation.

Section 192.042, F.S., indicates in part that:

Improvements or portions not substantially completed on January 1 shall have no value placed thereon. "Substantially completed" shall mean that the improvement or some self-sufficient unit within it can be used for the purpose for which it was constructed.

**b. Proposed Change**: A full property tax exemption is added for affordable housing property with more than 70 units rented at the 80% and below median annual adjusted gross income level with a land use restriction agreement with the Florida Housing Finance Corporation. The agreement requires the land to be used for affordable housing for 99 years.

### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

2023 Millage and Taxes Levied Report, 2023 Final Data Book published by Property Tax Oversight Results of the Ad Valorem Estimating Conference, January 5, 2023 2023 Final NAL Real Property Tax Roll Data provided by the Florida Housing Finance Corporation Impact from March 5, 2024

## Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

The Florida Housing Finance Corporation provided data on newly constructed properties that would have been eligible based on the bill language in calendar years 2020 through 2023. The number of properties has declined, but this is expected to return to prior levels because of 2023 legislation aimed to assist with rising costs. The average share of units in the 80% income and below levels ranged from 96.2% to 99.7% in that time period. The agreements vary in length from 30 to 50 years, but the corporation could offer 99-year agreements.

The bill does not require the entire property to be newly constructed, but rather, than an improvement must exist that was substantially completed within 2 years before the first submission to the application. For example, a 100 unit facility built in 1999 with vacant land builds a new 8-unit building on the vacant land in 2025. The new 8-unit building would be eligible for the exemption. An analysis was run looking at new construction on multifamily parcels with 10 or more units from 2015 through 2023. The parcels were divided into those with zero new construction, those with less than \$100,000 of new construction, and those with \$100,000 or more of new construction. The table below shows the share of relevant properties with the identified values of new construction. The value is count of multifamily with 10+ units and the indicated amount of construction divided by the total count of multifamily with 10+ units.

Multifamily 10+ Units	2015	2016	2017	2018	2019	2020	2021	2022	2023
\$100K+ Construction Share	2.21%	2.15%	2.29%	2.39%	2.61%	2.09%	2.77%	2.87%	2.62%
Any Value Construction Share	4.45%	4.22%	4.48%	4.28%	5.75%	3.40%	4.06%	8.48%	5.72%

Special consideration is necessary for the requirement that an improvement must exist that was substantially completed within 2 years before the first submission to the application. The context of the definition of "substantially completed" is to indicate that an improvement is no longer under construction and should have its value placed on the roll. If it is not substantially completed, it has no value on the roll. Alternatively, an improvement only has value on the roll if it is substantially completed. An apartment complex built in 1990 that is operational in 2023 would be considered substantially completed in 2023, and assumably in every year from 1991 until 2023. To argue that this complex was not "substantially completed within 2 years before" a given date would, by the statutory definition in 192.042, be arguing that it should have zero value on the tax roll. The

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Opt Out – 99 Year Land Use Restriction Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

requirement that an improvement be substantially completed within 2 years before the submission has no bearing on the construction date of the property or the date in which it was initially considered to be substantially completed. Additionally, the requirement that an improvement to land where an improvement did not previously exist does not appear to function without some time limit on the word "previously". Without it, every improvement in the state exists where an improvement did not previously exist. As such, the requirements of (4)(b)1. appear to simply be any completed improvement. The analysis presented assumes the construction had to have been completed within 2 years of the first application submission.

To identify the magnitude of the impact on the first year due to the requirement that construction be completed within 2 years of the first submission of an application for this exemption, an assumption must be made regarding when applications first become available. If, for example only, applications became available upon the proposed language taking effect on July 1, 2024, the applicants applying then built on July 1, 2022 would be eligible for the exemption come the 2026 roll. For each impact presented, a date is selected for when applications become available. Based on that date, a multiplier is applied to account for any days prior to January 1, 2025 that would be included. For example, if we assume 10 new properties each year and applications first exist on July 1, 2024, then a 3.5 multiplier would be applied to indicate 35 new properties eligible only in the first year. Each remaining year would not have the multiplier and would have 10 new properties.

Properties receiving the exemption in 196.1978(1) for non-profit charitable owners are used as a proxy to estimate the value for the newly eligible properties. Of the 655 properties receiving that exemption with more than 70 units, the average just value is \$12.6 million and the median is \$11.0 million. Those properties could include moderate income units, so the lower median value per property is used in this analysis.

The high assumes that there will be 43 new properties each year, based on the new properties in 2021. Of them, 99.7% of their units will be for the 80% or less income level, based on the maximum percentage in the history. All of them are assumed to meet the 99-year land agreement. Applications are assumed to be first available on January 1, 2025. The maximum share of 8.5% of parcels having undergone new construction is used as a share up to account for older properties.

The middle assumes that there will be 30 new properties each year, based on the new properties in 2020. Of them, 97.9% of their units will be for the 80% or less income level, based on the average of the maximum and minimum percentage in the history. 50% of them are assumed to meet the 99-year land agreement. Applications are assumed to be first available on July 1, 2025. The average share of 3.7% of parcels having undergone new construction is used as a share up to account for older properties.

The low assumes that there will be 16 new properties each year, based on the new properties in 2023. Of them, 96.2% of their units will be for the 80% or less income level, based on the minimum percentage in the history. 20% of them are assumed to meet the 99-year land agreement. Applications are assumed to be first available on January 1, 2026. The average share of 2.4% of parcels having undergone new construction valued over \$100,000 is used as a share up to account for older properties.

The 2023 average value is grown out across the forecast horizon using the nonhomestead residential just value growth rate from the latest ad valorem conference. Cohorts are made for the impacted years as each year there is a new group of newly constructed affordable housing properties and the prior groups maintain their exemptions. 2023 aggregate millage rates are applied. The analysis first impacts the 2026 roll for properties constructed in 2025. Because of this late start and the nature of the increase due to growth in values and cohorts, the 6<sup>th</sup> year is used as the recurring.

	H	gh	Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	\$0	\$(63.3 M)	\$0	\$(19.0 M)	\$0	\$(3.6 M)	
2025-26	\$0	\$(63.3 M)	\$0	\$(19.0 M)	\$0	\$(3.6 M)	
2026-27	\$(28.0 M)	\$(63.3 M)	\$(7.7 M)	\$(19.0 M)	\$(1.3 M)	\$(3.6 M)	
2027-28	\$(39.0 M)	\$(63.3 M)	\$(11.2 M)	\$(19.0 M)	\$(2.0 M)	\$(3.6 M)	
2028-29	\$(50.7 M)	(50.7 M) \$(63.3 M)		\$(19.0 M)	\$(2.8 M)	\$(3.6 M)	

The high, middle, and low described in the above narrative produce the following results:

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Affordable Housing – Opt Out – 99 Year Land Use Restriction Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073

Functionally identical language appeared before the conference on March 5, 2024, during which the proposed fiscal impact below was adopted.

### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	Previously	/ Adopted
	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	\$0	\$(26.6 M)
2025-26	\$0	\$(26.6 M)
2026-27	\$(11.8 M)	\$(26.6 M)
2027-28	\$(16.4 M)	\$(26.6 M)
2028-29	\$(21.3 M)	\$(26.6 M)

## Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

# Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the middle estimate.

	Sch	ool	Non-S	School	Total Local/Other		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0.0	(4.1)	0.0	(7.2)	0.0	(11.3)	
2025-26	0.0	(4.1)	0.0	(7.2)	0.0	(11.3)	
2026-27	(1.7)	(4.1)	(2.9)	(7.2)	(4.6)	(11.3)	
2027-28	(2.4)	(4.1)	(4.2)	(7.2)	(6.6)	(11.3)	
2028-29	(3.3)	(4.1)	(5.6)	(7.2)	(8.9)	(11.3)	

	Ģ	GR	Tr	ust	Local	/Other	Total		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(11.3)	0.0	(11.3)	
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(11.3)	0.0	(11.3)	
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(4.6)	(11.3)	(4.6)	(11.3)	
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(6.6)	(11.3)	(6.6)	(11.3)	
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	(8.9)	(11.3)	(8.9)	(11.3)	

	А		В		С		D		E		F	G		Н	 I	
1	2023 Aggregate Millage	e Rate	S													
	School		5.99													
3	Non-School		10.38													
4																
5	Historical - FHFC Data		2020		2021	2	2022		2023							
	Count		18		24		14		10							
	Units <=80% Income		2,129		3,118		2,027		1,311						 	
8	Share of Units <=80% Income		100.0%		97.9%		100.0%		93.9%						 	
9															 	
10	196.1978(1) Exempt Properties	20	23 Just Value												 	
	Mean	\$	12,633,278												 	
12	Median	\$	11,001,853												 	
13																
14	Assumptions		High	N	/liddle		Low	Prev	iously Adopted						 	
	New Properties Each Year		24		18		10		20						 	
	Date of First Applications		1/1/2025		7/1/2025		1/1/2026		1/1/2025							
17	First Year Includes Built After		1/1/2023		7/1/2023		1/1/2024		1/1/2023						 	
18	First Year Multiplier		3.0		2.5		2.0		3.0						 	
	Annual Share Up for New Construction		108.5%		103.7%		102.4%		108.5%							
	on Older Properties														 	
	Share of Units <=80% Income		100.0%		97.0%		93.9%		100.0%						 	
	Share with 99 Year Agreement		100.0%		50.0%		20.0%		90.0%						 	
	Average Value Per Property	\$	11,001,853	\$	11,001,853	\$	11,001,853	\$	11,001,853						 	
23															 	
24			Homestead Res.	G	rowth	Value Pe	r Property H	Valu	e Per Property	Va	lue Per Property L				 	
25	2022		1,038,437												 	
26	2023		1,233,675		18.80%				11,001,853		11,001,853				 	
27	2024		1,276,230		3.45%		11,381,351		11,381,351		11,381,351				 	
28	2025		1,322,140		3.60%		11,790,778		11,790,778		11,790,778				 	
29	2026		1,375,623		4.05%		12,267,733	\$	12,267,733		12,267,733				 	
30	2027		1,434,837		4.30%		12,795,806	\$	12,795,806		12,795,806		+		 	
31 32	2028 2029		1,494,000 1,554,612		4.12%		13,323,416 13,863,953		13,323,416 13,863,953		13,323,416 13,863,953	 			 	
32	2029	Ş	1,554,012		4.06%	Ş	12,803,953	\$	13,803,953	Ş	13,803,953				 	
-	llich Cohort		2020		2027		000		2020		Tatal				 	
34	High - Cohort 2026	ć	<b>2026</b> 958,624,016		2027	2	2028		2029	Ś	<b>Total</b> 958,624,016				 	
35 36	2026		958,624,016 999,888,607	ć	333,144,186					\$ \$	1,333,032,793				 	
36 37	2027		999,888,607		333,144,186 346,880,751		346,880,751			\$ \$	1,333,032,793				 	
37	2028		1,041,117,107		346,880,751 360,953,842		346,880,751 360,953,842	\$	360,953,842	Ş Ş	2,166,217,170				 	
39	2029	ې	1,003,333,044	ب	500,555,042	ې د ا	500,555,042	ې	500,955,042	ې	2,100,217,170				 	
29															 	

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н	I
40	Middle - Cohort	2026	2027	2028	2029	Total			
41	2026	\$ 278,248,416				\$ 278,248,416			
42	2027	. , ,				\$ 406,046,584			
43	2028	\$ 302,192,706	\$ 120,596,434	\$ 120,596,434		\$ 543,385,574			
44	2029	\$ 314,452,785	\$ 125,489,079	\$ 125,489,079	\$ 125,489,079	\$ 690,920,024			
45									
46	Low - Cohort	2026	2027	2028	2029	Total			
47	2026	\$ 47,254,574				\$ 47,254,574			
48	2027	\$ 49,288,678	\$ 24,619,063			\$ 73,907,741			
49	2028	1	\$ 25,634,183			\$ 102,589,368			
50	2029	\$ 53,403,116	\$ 26,674,172	\$ 26,674,172	\$ 26,674,172	\$ 133,425,632			
51									
52			Scho	ool Impact					
53		Hi	gh	Mic	ldle	Lo	W	Previousl	y Adopted
54		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
55	2024-25	\$0	\$(13.0 M)	\$0	\$(4.1 M)	\$0	\$(0.8 M)	\$0	\$(9.7 M)
56	2025-26	\$0	\$(13.0 M)	\$0	\$(4.1 M)	\$0	\$(0.8 M)	\$0	\$(9.7 M)
57	2026-27	\$(5.7 M)	\$(13.0 M)	\$(1.7 M)	\$(4.1 M)	\$(0.3 M)	\$(0.8 M)	\$(4.3 M)	\$(9.7 M)
58	2027-28	\$(8.0 M)	\$(13.0 M)	\$(2.4 M)	\$(4.1 M)	\$(0.4 M)	\$(0.8 M)	\$(6.0 M)	\$(9.7 M)
59	2028-29	\$(10.4 M)	\$(13.0 M)	\$(3.3 M)	\$(4.1 M)	\$(0.6 M)	\$(0.8 M)	\$(7.8 M)	\$(9.7 M)
60									
61			Non-Se	chool Impact					
62		Hi	gh	Mic	ldle	Lo	w	Previousl	y Adopted
63		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
64	2024-25	\$0	\$(22.5 M)	\$0	\$(7.2 M)	\$0	\$(1.4 M)	\$0	\$(16.9 M)
65	2025-26	\$0	\$(22.5 M)	\$0	\$(7.2 M)	\$0	\$(1.4 M)	\$0	\$(16.9 M)
66	2026-27	\$(9.9 M)	\$(22.5 M)	\$(2.9 M)	\$(7.2 M)	\$(0.5 M)	\$(1.4 M)	\$(7.5 M)	\$(16.9 M)
67	2027-28	\$(13.8 M)	\$(22.5 M)	\$(4.2 M)	\$(7.2 M)	\$(0.8 M)	\$(1.4 M)	\$(10.4 M)	\$(16.9 M)
68	2028-29	\$(18.0 M)	\$(22.5 M)	\$(5.6 M)	\$(7.2 M)	\$(1.1 M)	\$(1.4 M)	\$(13.5 M)	\$(16.9 M)
69									
70			Tot	al Impact					
71		Hi	gh	Mic	ldle	Lo	w	Previousl	y Adopted
72		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
73	2024-25	\$0	\$(35.5 M)	\$0	\$(11.3 M)	\$0	\$(2.2 M)		
74	2025-26	\$0	\$(35.5 M)	\$0	\$(11.3 M)	\$0	\$(2.2 M)	\$(2.2 M) \$0	
75	2026-27	\$(15.7 M)	\$(35.5 M)	\$(4.6 M)	\$(11.3 M)	\$(0.8 M)	\$(2.2 M)	\$(11.8 M)	\$(26.6 M)
76	2027-28	\$(21.8 M)	\$(35.5 M)	\$(6.6 M)	\$(11.3 M)	\$(1.2 M)	\$(2.2 M)	\$(16.4 M)	\$(26.6 M)
77	2028-29	\$(28.4 M)	\$(35.5 M)	\$(8.9 M)	\$(11.3 M)	\$(1.7 M)	\$(2.2 M)	\$(21.3 M)	\$(26.6 M)

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Annual Inflation Adjustment to Homestead Exemption Bill Number(s): CS/HJR 7017

✓ Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Buchanan
 Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2025
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: January 12, 2024; January 19, 2024; June 17, 2024

### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: The second homestead exemption applies to the non-school ad valorem levies on the assessed valuation of a homestead greater than \$50,000 and up to \$75,000 and does not change with economic conditions.
- b. Proposed Change: The joint resolution allows the total value of the second homestead exemption to adjust for inflation using the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers. This is the same index used to cap the property's assessed value growth through the Save Our Homes cap, though this one is not capped at 3%, allowing the exemption to potentially catch up to assessed value in years of high inflation. It is assumed that this adjustment to the exemption value will be done by effectively changing the \$75,000 upper bound of the exemption, but this is not explicitly stated.

Any future homestead exemptions added to the constitution that only apply to non-school levies will also be adjusted annually for inflation using the same index.

## Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

2023 Millage and Taxes Levied Report, 2023 Final Data Book published by Property Tax Oversight Results of the Ad Valorem Estimating Conference, January 5, 2023 2023 Final NAL Real Property Tax Roll

### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Using the estimated Save Our Homes growth cap from the latest Ad Valorem Estimating Conference, every homestead parcel's non-school assessed value is grown out to 2030. Each year, each parcel's 2<sup>nd</sup> homestead exemption under the current law is calculated as well as the 2<sup>nd</sup> homestead exemption under the proposed change. The sum of the differences for each parcel is the base new exemption. Dividing this by the number of homesteads with a non-zero impact gives the average additional exemption per parcel.

Each year there is some value of net new homesteads. Since 2000 this value has fluctuated, but never exceeded 2.71% nor decreased by more than -1.64%. In recent years this has increased at a decreasing rate, with a 2023 value of 1.51%, which is remarkably close to the 10-year average of 1.48%. As such, the 2023 value is used in estimating the number of net new homesteads each year. Further, some share of these net new homesteads would, for value or exemption reasons, not be impacted by the proposed change. The ratio of the number of homesteads impacted in the base additional exemption process to the total number of homesteads in 2023 was used to share down the net new homesteads to the net new homesteads with additional exemption value. This value is cumulative each year and multiplied by the average additional exemption per parcel to arrive at the additional new exemption. The base new exemption plus the additional new exemption is multiplied by the millage rates to arrive at the impact.

The resolution additionally indicates that any future homestead exemptions added to the constitution that only apply to nonschool levies will also be adjusted annually for inflation using the same index. It cannot be predicted whether or not there will be future exemptions added.

The proposed change would go into effect on January 1, 2025 and first impact revenues in Fiscal Year 2025-26. The proposed change is a joint resolution to be submitted to the voters, and as such, has a zero/negative indeterminate impact. The impact is zero if the resolution fails to pass, or the below table if it passes:

# Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Annual Inflation Adjustment to Homestead Exemption Bill Number(s): CS/HJR 7017

	Hi	gh	Mic	dle	Low			
	Cash Recurring		Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring		
2024-25			\$0	\$(140.2 M)				
2025-26			\$(22.8 M)	\$(140.2 M)				
2026-27			\$(46.8 M)	\$(140.2 M)				
2027-28			\$(84.5 M)	\$(140.2 M)				
2028-29			\$(111.7 M)	\$(140.2 M)				

### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	Hi	igh	Mic	ldle	Low			
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring		
2024-25			0	(0/**)				
2025-26			(0/**)	(0/**)				
2026-27			(0/**)	(0/**)				
2027-28			(0/**)	(0/**)				
2028-29			(0/**)	(0/**)				

Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted a zero/negative indeterminate impact since this is a joint resolution proposing an amendment to be submitted to the voters.

	Ģ	GR	Tr	ust	Local	/Other	Total		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0.0	0/(**)	
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	0/(**)	

Note: If the constitutional amendment does not pass, the impact is zero. If approved, because the amendment is self-executing, the Conference adopted the following impact (with the 5<sup>th</sup> year cash impact being the recurring impact):

	Scho	ool	Non-S	ichool	Total Local/Other			
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring		
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	(140.2)	0.0	(140.2)		
2025-26	0.0	0.0	(22.8)	(140.2)	(22.8)	(140.2)		
2026-27	0.0	0.0	(46.8)	(140.2)	(46.8)	(140.2)		
2027-28	0.0	0.0	(84.5)	(140.2)	(84.5)	(140.2)		
2028-29	0.0	0.0 0.0		(140.2)	(111.7)	(140.2)		

	А	В		С		D		E		F		G	
1						Taxabl	e Va	alue Impact - Ba	ise	Only			
2	County	Fiscally Constrained County Flag		2025		2026		2027		2028		2029	
3	Alachua		\$	22,308,580	\$	45,303,240	\$	80,923,663	\$	105,670,630	\$	131,147,569	
4	Baker	Yes	\$	2,340,154	\$	4,770,365	\$	8,547,867	\$	11,201,963	\$	13,945,840	
5	Вау		\$	16,584,275	\$	33,643,501	\$	59,957,519	\$	78,193,151	\$	96,975,965	
6	Bradford	Yes	\$ \$	2,099,768	\$	4,298,544	\$	7,796,449	\$	10,275,791	\$ \$	12,850,581	
7	Brevard Broward		\$ \$	70,636,429	\$ \$	143,413,942 363,777,706	\$ \$	255,979,486 647,418,657	\$ \$	334,101,088 843,592,212	\$ \$	414,457,408 1,044,821,803	
9	Calhoun	Yes	Ş Ş	678,691	ې \$	1,389,900	ې \$	2,520,460	ې \$	3,326,480	ې Ś	4,169,390	
10	Charlotte		\$	26,531,994	\$	53,813,495	\$	95,916,946	\$	125,118,279	\$	155,067,815	
11	Citrus		\$	18,981,282	\$	38,696,341	\$	69,451,509	\$	90,946,583	\$	113,206,427	
12	Clay		\$	23,668,009	\$	47,999,578	\$	85,562,747	\$	111,597,068	\$	138,285,548	
13	Collier	M	\$	49,359,436	\$	99,852,605	\$	177,317,403	\$	230,700,333	\$	285,271,230	
14	Columbia Miami Dado	Yes	\$ \$	5,264,451	\$ \$	10,741,516	\$ \$	19,318,267	\$ \$	25,364,595	\$ \$	31,632,860	
15 16	Miami-Dade DeSoto	Yes	\$ \$	195,690,044 1,873,166	ې \$	396,702,028 3,837,455	ې \$	706,153,618 6,947,743	ې \$	920,160,562 9,157,695	\$ \$	1,139,580,861 11,467,511	
17	Dixie	Yes	\$	647,683	\$	1,347,823	\$	2,500,703	\$	3,336,377	\$	4,225,001	
18	Duval		\$	85,069,692	\$	172,606,945	\$	307,872,525	\$	401,772,499	\$	498,345,488	
19	Escambia		\$	27,685,661	\$	56,306,947	\$	100,772,306	\$	131,767,120	\$	163,776,551	
20	Flagler		\$	17,793,363	\$	35,980,189	\$	63,871,504	\$	83,095,835	\$	102,733,814	
21	Franklin	Yes	\$	1,088,816	\$	2,209,693	\$	3,948,500	\$	5,158,957	\$	6,411,743	
22 23	Gadsden Gilchrist	Yes Yes	\$ \$	2,782,571 1,581,912	\$ \$	5,690,693 3,239,573	\$ \$	10,278,807 5 848 407	\$ \$	13,522,373 7,684,697	\$ \$	16,890,613	
23	Glades	Yes	\$ \$	811,299	\$ \$	1,664,816	\$ \$	5,848,407 3,021,309	> \$	3,984,010	\$ \$	9,599,719 4,987,410	
25	Gulf	Yes	\$	1,219,706	ې \$	2,488,130	\$	4,466,188	ې \$	5,850,240	\$	7,275,752	
26	Hamilton	Yes	\$	624,678	\$	1,280,422	\$	2,327,134	\$	3,072,621	\$	3,861,876	
27	Hardee	Yes	\$	1,248,363	\$	2,562,585	\$	4,642,939	\$	6,109,533	\$	7,628,263	
28	Hendry	Yes	\$	2,357,573	\$	4,816,126	\$	8,680,656	\$	11,389,534	\$	14,214,673	
29	Hernando		\$	22,398,301	\$	45,528,245	\$	81,457,463	\$	106,502,980	\$	132,346,934	
30	Highlands	Yes	\$ \$	9,159,541	\$	18,707,937	\$	33,734,186	\$	44,332,654	\$ \$	55,323,729	
31 32	Hillsborough Holmes	Yes	\$ \$	129,328,575 1,038,501	\$ \$	262,241,740 2,126,092	\$ \$	467,308,903 3,843,944	\$ \$	609,461,330 5,053,228	\$ \$	755,434,498 6,310,074	
33	Indian River	163	Ś	21,019,523	ې \$	42,633,887	ې \$	76,133,833	ې \$	99,345,796	ې Ś	123,181,184	
34	Jackson	Yes	\$	2,490,610	\$	5,103,463	\$	9,228,631	\$	12,136,140	\$	15,180,719	
35	Jefferson	Yes	\$	1,223,119	\$	2,492,477	\$	4,474,054	\$	5,869,245	\$	7,323,630	
36	Lafayette	Yes	\$	462,633	\$	947,934	\$	1,708,958	\$	2,249,003	\$	2,812,408	
37	Lake		\$	43,818,666	\$	88,771,660	\$	157,981,510	\$	205,819,895	\$	254,886,627	
38 39	Lee		\$ \$	87,429,722 24,679,102	\$ ¢	177,205,749	\$ ¢	315,519,928	\$ \$	411,218,949	\$ ¢	509,437,098	
40	Leon Levy	Yes	ې \$	3,716,706	\$ \$	50,025,592 7,607,885	\$ \$	89,113,777 13,678,837	ې \$	116,144,004 17,933,951	\$ \$	143,861,873 22,374,871	
41	Liberty	Yes	\$	348,043	\$	715,038	\$	1,284,052	\$	1,689,106	\$	2,113,212	
42	Madison	Yes	\$	1,000,074	\$	2,052,406	\$	3,743,809	\$	4,944,163	\$	6,203,595	
43	Manatee		\$	45,965,260	\$	93,122,787	\$	165,739,664	\$	215,963,366	\$	267,428,299	
44	Marion		\$	41,586,288	\$	84,622,702	\$	151,603,436		198,347,484	\$	246,606,481	
45	Martin	-	\$	21,198,635	\$	42,959,899	\$	76,447,424	-	99,564,646	\$	123,263,592	
46 47	Monroe Nassau		\$ \$	7,719,000 12,566,838	\$ \$	15,601,178 25,461,170	\$ \$	27,674,277 45,321,672	\$ \$	35,978,853 59,047,656	\$ \$	44,471,216 73,126,435	
47	Okaloosa		ې \$	21,245,244	ې \$	43,034,988	ې \$	76,537,505	ډ \$	99,712,100	ې \$	123,475,426	
	Okeechobee	Yes	\$	2,556,476	\$	5,222,165	\$	9,437,104	\$	12,414,071	\$	15,526,257	
	Orange		\$	109,695,059	\$	222,193,760	\$	395,299,657	\$	514,904,731	\$	637,511,727	
	Osceola		\$	34,635,558	\$	70,231,536	\$	125,099,603	\$	163,094,986	\$	202,034,923	
52	Palm Beach		\$	159,339,751	\$	322,925,287	\$	574,522,742	\$	748,413,604	\$	926,645,058	
53	Pasco		\$ ¢	60,326,071	\$	122,550,853	\$	219,088,356	\$	286,265,093	\$	355,526,094	
54 55	Pinellas Polk		\$ \$	106,226,257 59,123,600	\$ \$	215,765,679 120,124,309	\$ \$	385,401,562 214,655,197	\$ \$	503,255,321 280,502,065	\$ \$	624,528,000 348,258,075	
	Putnam	Yes	ې \$	5,088,060	ې \$	10,402,078	\$ \$	18,772,647	ې \$	24,726,929	ې \$	30,973,133	
57	Saint Johns	1	\$	40,112,164	\$	81,151,669	\$	144,072,707	\$	187,418,402	\$	231,720,967	
58	Saint Lucie		\$	41,075,172	\$	83,270,462	\$	148,449,837	\$	193,635,714	\$	240,022,208	
	Santa Rosa		\$	21,250,211	\$	43,081,530	\$	76,776,580	\$	100,123,925	\$	124,095,439	
-	Sarasota Saminala		\$ ¢	62,233,858	\$	126,022,907	\$	224,162,611	\$	291,954,343	\$	361,381,474	
	Seminole Sumter		\$ \$	47,718,504	\$ ¢	96,622,208	\$ ¢	171,842,448	\$ ¢	223,780,260	\$ ¢	276,985,197	
62	Sumter Suwannee	Yes	\$ \$	24,791,307 2,985,347	\$ \$	50,171,124 6,155,328	\$ \$	89,129,937 11,201,592	\$ \$	116,034,164 14,795,288	\$ \$	143,569,121 18,553,304	
64		Yes	\$ \$	1,257,581	ې \$	2,589,859	ې \$	4,687,984	ې \$	6,201,944	ې \$	7,805,233	
65	Union	Yes	\$	704,612	\$	1,447,766	\$	2,632,480	\$	3,478,609	\$	4,349,504	
66	Volusia		\$	61,458,749	\$	124,832,302	\$	222,982,235	\$	291,191,287	\$	361,376,551	
67	Wakulla	Yes	\$	3,489,061	\$	7,108,622	\$	12,738,428	\$	16,656,044	\$	20,698,394	
68	Walton		\$	7,682,324	\$	15,578,881	\$	27,755,634	\$	36,193,191	\$	44,856,812	
69 70	Washington Statew	Yes ide All	\$ ¢	1,612,405	\$ ¢	3,299,379	\$	5,976,225	\$ ¢	7,858,374	\$ ¢	9,831,028	
70		ide - All ned County On	_	2,110,230,795	_	4,280,144,691		7,629,264,741	-	9,950,363,120		12,334,242,111	
/1	scally Constrai	nea county On	Ş	61,751,600	\$	126,316,070	\$	227,988,360	\$	299,773,615	Ş	374,540,323	

1	A	В		Н		ا IonSchool Ta	ax L	ر evy Impact -	Bas	K Se + Net New			
2	County	Fiscally Constrained County Flag		2025		2026		2027		2028		2029	
3	Alachua		\$	240,984	\$	495,618	\$	896,620	\$	1,185,809	\$	1,490,597	
4	Baker	Yes	\$	25,279	\$	52,188	\$	94,709	\$	125,706	\$	158,506	
5	Bay		\$	179,148	\$	368,060	\$	664,319	\$	877,463	\$	1,102,209	
6 7	Bradford Brevard	Yes	\$ \$	22,682 763,035	\$ \$	47,026 1,568,950	\$ \$	86,383	\$ \$	115,312 3,749,196	\$ \$	146,057 4,710,640	
8	Broward		\$ \$	1,939,514	ې \$	3,979,733	\$	2,836,207	ې \$	9,466,574	ې \$	11,875,236	
9	Calhoun	Yes	\$	7,331	\$	15,206	\$	27,926	\$	37,329	\$	47,388	
10	Charlotte		\$	286,606	\$	588,720	\$	1,062,743	\$	1,404,045	\$	1,762,470	
11	Citrus		\$	205,041	\$	423,338	\$	769,510	\$	1,020,579	\$	1,286,682	
12	Clay		\$	255,669	\$	525,116	\$	948,020	\$	1,252,314	\$	1,571,726	
13	Collier		\$	533,195	\$	1,092,389	\$	1,964,645	\$	2,588,860	\$	3,242,336	
14	Columbia	Yes	\$	56,868	\$	117,512	\$	214,043	\$	284,635	\$	359,533	
15 16	Miami-Dade DeSoto	Yes	\$ \$	2,113,899 20,234	\$ \$	4,339,925 41,982	\$ \$	7,824,057 76,980	\$ \$	10,325,804 102,765	\$ \$	12,952,248 130,337	
	Dixie	Yes	\$ \$	6,996	ې \$	14,745	\$	27,707	ې \$	37,440	ې \$	48,021	
18	Duval	105	\$	918,947	\$	1,888,322	\$	3,411,173	\$	4,508,587	\$	5,664,095	
19	Escambia		\$	299,068	\$	615,999	\$	1,116,539	\$	1,478,657	\$	1,861,452	
20	Flagler		\$	192,209	\$	393,624	\$	707,685	\$	932,480	\$	1,167,652	
	Franklin	Yes	\$	11,762	\$	24,174	\$	43,749	\$	57,892	\$	72,875	
22	Gadsden	Yes	\$ ¢	30,058	\$	62,256	\$ ¢	113,887	\$	151,745	\$	191,975	
23 24	Gilchrist Glades	Yes Yes	\$ \$	17,088 8,764	\$ \$	35,441 18,213	\$ \$	64,799 33,476	\$ \$	86,236 44,708	\$ \$	109,108 56,686	
25	Gulf	Yes	\$	13,176	\$	27,220	\$	49,485	\$	65,650	\$	82,695	
26	Hamilton	Yes	\$	6,748	\$	14,008	\$	25,784	\$	34,480	\$	43,893	
27	Hardee	Yes	\$	13,485	\$	28,035	\$	51,443	\$	68,560	\$	86,701	
	Hendry	Yes	\$	25,467	\$	52,688	\$	96,180	\$	127,810	\$	161,561	
29	Hernando		\$	241,953	\$	498,080	\$	902,534	\$	1,195,149	\$	1,504,229	
	Highlands	Yes	\$ \$	98,944	\$	204,665	\$	373,769	\$	497,490	\$	628,798	
31 32	Hillsborough Holmes	Yes	> \$	1,397,044 11,218	\$ \$	2,868,928 23,259	\$ \$	5,177,700 42,590	\$ \$	6,839,218 56,706	\$ \$	8,586,118 71,719	
33	Indian River	103	\$	227,059	\$	466,415	Ś	843,549	Ś	1,114,833	\$	1,400,053	
34	Jackson	Yes	\$	26,904	\$	55,832	\$	102,252	\$	136,189	\$	172,541	
35	Jefferson	Yes	\$	13,212	\$	27,268	\$	49,572	\$	65,863	\$	83,239	
36	Lafayette	Yes	\$	4,997	\$	10,370	\$	18,935	\$	25,238	\$	31,965	
37 38	Lake		\$ \$	473,342	\$ \$	971,163	\$	1,750,407	\$ \$	2,309,658	\$	2,896,990 5,790,160	
30 39	Lee Leon		ې \$	944,441 266,591	ې \$	1,938,633 547,281	\$ \$	3,495,905 987,365	ې \$	4,614,593	\$ \$	1,635,105	
40	Levy	Yes	\$	40,149	\$	83,230	\$	151,559	\$	201,250	\$	254,308	
41	Liberty	Yes	\$	3,760	\$	7,823	\$	14,227	\$	18,955	\$	24,018	
42	Madison	Yes	\$	10,803	\$	22,453	\$	41,481	\$	55,482	\$	70,509	
	Manatee		\$	496,530		1,018,765		1,836,366	\$	2,423,485	-	3,039,537	
44	Marion		\$	449,227	\$	925,773	\$	1,679,739	\$	2,225,804		2,802,880	
	Martin Monroe		\$ \$	228,994 83,383	\$ \$	469,982	\$ \$	847,024 306,626	\$ \$	1,117,289 403,745	\$ \$	1,400,989 505,451	
40	Nassau		\$	135,751	\$	278,546	ې \$	502,156	\$	662,618	\$	831,140	
	Okaloosa		\$	229,497	\$	470,803	\$	848,022	\$	1,118,943	\$	1,403,397	
49	Okeechobee	Yes	\$	27,616	\$	57,131	\$	104,561	\$	139,308	\$	176,468	
	Orange		\$	1,184,957	\$	2,430,803	\$	4,379,850	\$	5,778,128	\$	7,245,831	
51	Osceola Palm Beach		\$ \$	374,143	\$ \$	768,334	\$ \$	1,386,081	\$	1,830,210 8,398,504	\$ \$	2,296,289	
52	Paim Beach Pasco		\$ \$	1,721,233 651,659	\$ \$	3,532,807	\$ \$	6,365,610 2,427,460	\$ \$	3,212,393	\$ \$	10,532,063 4,040,839	
	Pinellas		\$	1,147,486	\$	2,360,479	\$	4,270,181	\$	5,647,401	\$	7,098,260	
	Polk		\$	638,670	_	1,314,162	\$	2,378,341	\$	3,147,722	\$	3,958,232	
	Putnam	Yes	\$	54,963	\$	113,799	\$	207,998	\$	277,479	\$	352,034	
	Saint Johns		\$ ¢	433,303		887,800	\$ ¢	1,596,300	\$ ¢	2,103,161	\$ ¢	2,633,694	
	Saint Lucie Santa Rosa		\$ \$	443,706 229,551	\$ \$	910,980 471,313	\$ \$	1,644,798 850,671	\$ \$	2,172,930	\$ \$	2,728,044	
	Sarasota		\$ \$	672,268	\$	1,378,692	\$	2,483,682	ې \$	3,276,236	ې \$	4,107,390	
	Seminole		\$	515,469	\$	1,057,048	\$	1,903,984	\$	2,511,204	\$	3,148,158	
	Sumter		\$	267,803	_	548,873	\$	987,544	\$	1,302,105	\$	1,631,778	
	Suwannee	Yes	\$	32,249	\$	67,339	\$	124,112	\$	166,029	\$	210,873	
	Taylor	Yes	\$	13,585	\$	28,333	\$	51,942	\$	69,597	\$	88,713	
65 66	Union Volusia	Yes	\$ \$	7,611 663,895	\$ \$	15,839 1,365,667	\$ \$	29,167 2,470,604	\$ \$	39,036 3,267,673	\$ \$	49,436	
	Wakulla	Yes	\$ \$	37,690	\$	77,768	\$	141,140	ې \$	186,910	ې \$	235,254	
68	Walton		\$	82,987	\$	170,433	\$	307,527	\$	406,151	\$	509,834	
69	Washington	Yes	\$	17,418	\$	36,095	\$	66,216	\$	88,185	\$	111,737	
70	Statew	ide - All	Ś	22,795,310	Ś	46,824,839	Ś	84,530,899	Ś	111,660,408	ć	140,188,531	

CS/HJR 7017

				1			
	А	В	С	D	E	F	G
1	2023 Aggregate Millage Rat	tes					
2	School Millage	5.9684					
3	NonSchool Millage	10.5329					
4							
	Data 0 Assessting						
5	Data & Assumptions						
6	Net New Homesteads Per Year	1.51%					
7	2023 Homestead Parcel Count	5,016,947					
	Share of New Homesteads affected by	84.20%					
8	law change (Other 2)	04.2070					
9							
				Homesteads with			1
	Roll Year	CPI Increase	New 2nd	Additional	Base New	Base Tax Impact	
10	Non Tear	ci i increase	Exemption	Exemption Value	Exemption	base tax impact	
	2025	1.02	¢ 25.500		¢ 2,440,220,705	¢ 22.226.050	
11	2025	1.02	. ,	4,224,213		\$ 22,226,850	
12	2026	1.02	. ,	4,244,677	\$ 4,280,144,691	\$ 45,082,336	
13	2027	1.03		4,273,780		\$ 80,358,283	
14	2028	1.02	. ,	4,292,467	\$ 9,950,363,120	\$ 104,806,180	
15	2029	1.02	\$ 27,893	4,310,679	\$ 12,334,242,111	\$ 129,915,339	
16							
			Net New				
		Average	Homesteads	Cumulative New			
		•					
	Roll Year	Additional	with	Homesteads with	Additional New	Additional Impact	Total Impact
		Exemption	Additional	Additional	Exemption	•	
		per Parcel	Exemption	Exemption Value			
17			Value				
18	2024	\$-	63,671	63,671	\$-	\$-	\$ -
19	2025	\$ 421	64,631	128,302	\$ 53,969,987	\$ 568,460	\$ (22,795,310)
20	2026	\$ 853	65,605	193,907	\$ 165,434,301	\$ 1,742,503	\$ (46,824,839)
21	2027	\$ 1,521	66,594	260,501	\$ 396,150,810	\$ 4,172,617	\$ (84,530,899)
22	2028	\$	67,598	328,098		\$ 6,854,228	\$ (111,660,408)
23	2029	\$ 2,459	68,616	396,715		\$ 10,273,193	\$ (140,188,531)
_	2029	Ş 2,439	08,010	550,715	\$ \$75,545,222	\$ 10,273,193	Ş (140,188,551)
24							
25				pact on School			
26		Hi	gh	Mi	ddle	Lc	ow.
27		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
28	2024-25			\$0	\$0		
29	2025-26			\$0	\$0		
30	2026-27			\$0	\$0		
31	2027-28			\$0	\$0		
32	2028-29			\$0	\$0		
33	2020-23			γU	γU		<b>├────┤</b>
_			-				
34	ļ			act on Non-School			
35		Hi	gh	Mi	ddle	Lc	ow.
36		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
37	2024-25			\$0	\$(140.2 M)		Ţ
38	2025-26			\$(22.8 M)	\$(140.2 M)		
39	2026-27			\$(46.8 M)	\$(140.2 M)		<u>                                     </u>
40	2020-27			\$(84.5 M)	\$(140.2 M) \$(140.2 M)		<u> </u> ]
_							
41	2028-29			\$(111.7 M)	\$(140.2 M)		
42							
43				Total Impact			
44		Hi	gh	Mi	ddle	Lo	ow
45		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
46	2024-25	Casir	nccurring	\$0	\$(140.2 M)	Cubii	necurring
-							<u> </u> ]
47	2025-26			\$(22.8 M)	\$(140.2 M)		
48	2026-27			\$(46.8 M)	\$(140.2 M)		ļ
49	2027-28			\$(84.5 M)	\$(140.2 M)		
50	2028-29			\$(111.7 M)	\$(140.2 M)		

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Homestead Exemption Implementation Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7019

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Buchanan
 Month/Year Impact Begins: January 2025
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: January 12, 2024; January 19, 2024; June 17, 2024

### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: The second homestead exemption applies to the non-school ad valorem levies on the assessed valuation of a homestead greater than \$50,000 and up to \$75,000 and does not change with economic conditions.
- b. Proposed Change: The implementation of this bill depends upon the passage of the accompanying joint resolution, CS/HJR 7017. If it passes, the \$25,000 second homestead exemption on the assessed valuation of a homestead greater than \$50,000 is adjusted annually by the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers.

The bill additionally allows for an appropriation to offset 95% of the reduction in ad valorem tax revenue in fiscally constrained counties resulting from the new exemption adjustment.

### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

2023 Millage and Taxes Levied Report, 2023 Final Data Book published by Property Tax Oversight Results of the Ad Valorem Estimating Conference, January 5, 2023 2023 Final NAL Real Property Tax Roll Impact for HB7019 – January 12, 2024

### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Using the estimated Save Our Homes growth cap from the latest Ad Valorem Estimating Conference, every homestead parcels non-school assessed value is grown out to 2030. Each year, each parcel's 2<sup>nd</sup> homestead exemption under the current law is calculated as well as the 2<sup>nd</sup> homestead exemption under the proposed change. The sum of the differences for each parcel is the base new exemption. Dividing this by the number of homesteads with a non-zero impact gives the average additional exemption per parcel.

Each year there is some value of net new homesteads. Since 2000 this value has fluctuated, but never exceeded 2.71% nor decreased by more than -1.64%. In recent years this has increased at a decreasing rate, with a 2023 value of 1.51%, which is remarkably close to the 10-year average of 1.48%. As such, the 2023 value is used in estimating the number of net new homesteads each year. Further, some share of these net new homesteads would, for value or exemption reasons, not be impacted by the proposed change. The ratio of the number of homesteads impacted in the base additional exemption process to the total number of homesteads in 2023 was used to share down the net new homesteads to the net new homesteads with additional exemption value. This value is cumulative each year and multiplied by the average additional exemption per parcel to arrive at the additional new exemption. The base new exemption plus the additional new exemption is multiplied by the millage rates to arrive at the impact.

The proposed change would go into effect on January 1, 2025 and first impact revenues in Fiscal Year 2025-26. The related resolutions are self-executing and, as such, the impact of this implementing bill is zero.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			\$0	\$0		
2025-26			\$0	\$0		
2026-27			\$0	\$0		
2027-28			\$0	\$0		
2028-29			\$0	\$0		

Revenue Source: Ad Valorem Issue: Homestead Exemption Implementation Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7019

### Revenue Distribution: Ad Valorem

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The adopted impact of the implementing bill for the constitutional amendments is zero because both resolutions are self-executing.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

Revenue Source: Article V/Highway Safety Fees Issue: Railroad Crossing Bill Number(s): CS/CS/CS/HB 1301

□ Entire Bill
 ▶ Partial Bill: Sections 17, 18, 19, and 20
 Sponsor(s): Representative Abbott
 Month/Year Impact Begins: 07/01/2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 06/17/2024

## Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Section 316.1575, F.S. states that any person walking or driving a vehicle approaching a railroad-highway grade crossing shall stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of such railroad and shall not proceed until he or she may do so safely. A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction punishable pursuant to chapter 318 as either a pedestrian or moving violation. Section 316.1576, F.S. states that a person may not drive a vehicle through a railroad-highway grade crossing that does not have sufficient space and undercarriage to drive completely through the crossing without stopping. A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction punishable pursuant to chapter 318. Section 318.18, F.S. specifies penalties for noncriminal offenses pursuant to section 318.14, F.S. and criminal offenses listed in section 318.17, F.S. Section 322.27, F.S. grants the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles authority to suspend or revoke a driver license or identification card.
- b. Proposed Change: Section 316.1575, F.S. is revised so that any person cycling, walking, or driving a vehicle approaching a railroad-highway grade crossing shall stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of such railroad and shall not proceed until he or she may do so safely. If the infraction resulted from operation of a vehicle, for the first violation there will be a fine of \$500 or 25 hours of community service and 6 points assessed against the license. The fine is \$1,000 with no community service option for each subsequent violation. Section 316.1576, F.S. is revised so that when a person drives a vehicle through a railroad-highway grade crossing that does not have sufficient space and undercarriage to drive completely through the crossing without stopping, the penalty for a first violation is a fine of \$500 or community service and 6 points assessed against the license. The fine is \$1,000 with no community service option for each subsequent violation. Section 318.18, F.S. is revised to include replace the \$100 fine for a violation of section 316.1575, F.S. with the new fines in the bill and include the new fines for violations of section 316.1576, F.S. In addition, the department shall suspend the driver license for 6 months for each subsequent violation of section 316.1576, F.S. Section 322.27, F.S. is revised to conform to previous changes in the bill.

# Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

https://oli.org/track-statistics/collisions-fatalities-state https://services.flhsmv.gov/SpecialtyPlates/UniformTrafficCitationReport https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/crashreports/crash\_facts\_2022.pdf https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.flclerks.com/resource/resmgr/publicationsanddocuments/2023 Distribution Schedule e.pdf Contact with DOR, OSCA, and Clerks staff Article V REC held 12/20/2023

# Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

There will be positive impacts to GR, local funds, and various state trust funds from higher fines and additional driver license reinstatement fees. Crashes and paid violations data from HSMV was used to assume that crashes represent approximately 25% of paid violations. According to Operation Lifesaver, there were 122 collisions at rail crossings in Florida in 2023. Therefore, assuming collisions are 25% of paid violations, it is assumed that there were 489 rail crossing violations in 2023. This amount was grown by the Allocated Traffic growth rates from the most recent Article V REC. It is further assumed that 50% of rail crossing violations are signal violations vs stopping on tracks violations, 85% of violations are first-time violations, and 15% of first time violations will elect community service rather than the fine. These assumptions were used to estimate the new stream of fines collections vs the current fines and the new driver license reinstatement fees. The result for all years is an insignificant positive impact to GR and State Trust and a \$0.1M positive impact to local funds.

# Revenue Source: Article V/Highway Safety Fees Issue: Railroad Crossing Bill Number(s): CS/CS/CS/HB 1301

### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

CD	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
GR	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			*	*		
2025-26			*	*		
2026-27			*	*		
2027-28			*	*		
2028-29			*	*		

Truct	High		Mic	dle	Low	
Trust	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			*	*		
2025-26			*	*		
2026-27			*	*		
2027-28			*	*		
2028-29			*	*		

Local	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
Local	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25			0.1	0.1		
2025-26			0.1	0.1		
2026-27			0.1	0.1		
2027-28			0.1	0.1		
2028-29			0.1	0.1		

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

General Revenue, Local Trust Funds, Multiple State Trust Funds (see attached spreadsheet)

# Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed impact.

	GR		Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	0.1	0.1	0.1	0.1
2025-26	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	0.1	0.1	0.1	0.1
2026-27	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	0.1	0.1	0.1	0.1
2027-28	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	0.1	0.1	0.1	0.1
2028-29	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	Insignificant	0.1	0.1	0.1	0.1

	A	В	C	D	F	F	G	н	1		к	1	М	N	0	Р	0	R
1	Data and Assumptions	5	c		<u> </u>		G			,	ĸ	-	141		Ű	·	Υ Υ	IX I
	FI HSMV Crashes 2022		397,620		Allocate	ed Traffic												
3	FI HSMV Moving Violations 20	122	1.593.603			th Rates												
4	Crash per Violation		25%		2024-2025	1.49%												
5	FI Rail Crossing Collisions 2023	3	122		2025-2026	0.74%												
	Estimated Annual Rail Crossin		489		2026-2027	0.36%												
	% of Rail Crossing Violations t		50%		2027-2028	0.36%												
	% of Violations 1st Time		85%		2028-2029	0.00%												
9	% of 1st Time Choosing Com.	Serv.	15%															
10																		
11	Violations: Current																	
		Number of	316.1575 @	316.1576 @	Total Fines		Child Welfare	Juv. Justice	County Radio				B&SC TF	DOR G&D TF		Clerk or		
12		Violations	\$100	\$60	Collected	10% Clerks	Trust Fund	Trust Fund	Comm. Program	GR 20.6%	EMS TF 7.2%	ACC TF 5.1%	8.2%	2.0%	Clerk 0.5%	County 56.4%		1 /
13	2024-2025	496	\$ 24,815	\$ 14,889	\$ 39,704	\$ 3,970	\$ 496	\$ 496	-	\$ 5,879	\$ 2,055	\$ 1,455	\$ 2,340	\$ 571	\$ 143	\$ 16,095		<b> </b>
14	2025-2026	500	\$ 24,997	\$ 14,998	\$ 39,996	\$ 4,000	\$ 500	\$ 500	\$ 6,249	\$ 5,922			\$ 2,357	\$ 575		\$ 16,213		
15	2026-2027	502	\$ 25,089	\$ 15,053	\$ 40,142	\$ 4,014	\$ 502	\$ 502					\$ 2,366					
16	2027-2028	504	\$ 25,180	\$ 15,108	\$ 40,288	\$ 4,029	\$ 504	\$ 504	\$ 6,295	\$ 5,965	\$ 2,085	\$ 1,477	\$ 2,374	\$ 579	\$ 145	\$ 16,332		
17	2028-2029	504	\$ 25,180	\$ 15,108	\$ 40,288	\$ 4,029	\$ 504	\$ 504	\$ 6,295	\$ 5,965	\$ 2,085	\$ 1,477	\$ 2,374	\$ 579	\$ 145	\$ 16,332		
18																		
19	Violations: New																	
		Number of	316.1575 @	316.1575 @	316.1576 @	316.1576 @	Total Fines		Child Welfare	Juv. Justice	County Radio				B&SC TF	DOR G&D TF		Clerk or
20		Violations	\$500	\$1,000	\$500	\$1,000	Collected	10% Clerks	Trust Fund	Trust Fund	Comm. Program	GR 20.6%	EMS IF 7.2%	ACC TF 5.1%	8.2%	2.0%	Clerk 0.5%	County 56.4%
21	2024-2025	496	\$ 89,644	\$ 37,222	\$ 89,644	\$ 37,222	\$ 253,733	\$ 25,373	\$ 496	\$ 496	\$ 6,204	\$ 45,560	\$ 15,924	\$ 11,279	\$ 18,135	\$ 4,423	\$ 1,106	\$ 124,736
22	2025-2026	500	\$ 90,303	\$ 37,496	\$ 90,303	\$ 37,496	\$ 255,598	\$ 25,560	\$ 500	\$ 500	\$ 6,249	\$ 45,895	\$ 16,041	\$ 11,362	\$ 18,269	\$ 4,456	\$ 1,114	\$ 125,653
23	2026-2027	502	\$ 90,633	\$ 37,633	\$ 90,633	\$ 37,633	\$ 256,531	\$ 25,653	\$ 502	\$ 502	\$ 6,272	\$ 46,062	\$ 16,099	\$ 11,404	\$ 18,335	\$ 4,472	\$ 1,118	\$ 126,112
24	2027-2028	504	\$ 90,962	\$ 37,770	\$ 90,962	\$ 37,770	\$ 257,464	\$ 25,746	\$ 504	\$ 504	\$ 6,295	\$ 46,230	\$ 16,158	\$ 11,445	\$ 18,402	\$ 4,488	\$ 1,122	\$ 126,570
25	2028-2029	504	\$ 90,962	\$ 37,770	\$ 90,962	\$ 37,770	\$ 257,464	\$ 25,746	\$ 504	\$ 504	\$ 6,295	\$ 46,230	\$ 16,158	\$ 11,445	\$ 18,402	\$ 4,488	\$ 1,122	\$ 126,570
26																		
27	DL Suspensions: New																	
		Number of	Violations	Total								1	1	1	1			1 /
		Violations	,	Reinstatement	GR	HSOTF	Tax Collector					1	1	1	1			1 /
28			Suspension	Fees	4 0.000		A						l	l	l			<b>⊢</b> /
29	2024-2025	496 500	\$ 74 \$ 75		\$ 2,606	\$ 1,551 \$ 1,563	\$ 1,426 \$ 1,437							-	-			<b>⊢−−−−</b> ┦
30	2025-2026 2026-2027	500	\$ 75 \$ 75		\$ 2,625 \$ 2,634	\$ 1,563 \$ 1,569	\$ 1,437 \$ 1,442											<b>⊢−−−−</b> ┦
	2026-2027 2027-2028	502	\$ 75 \$ 76		\$ 2,634	\$ 1,569 \$ 1,574	\$ 1,442 \$ 1,447						<u> </u>	l	l			<u>⊦</u> /
	2027-2028 2028-2029	504	\$ 76	,	\$ 2,644	\$ 1,574 \$ 1,574	\$ 1,447 \$ 1,447											<b> </b>
34	2020-2023	504	Ş 70	\$ 5,005	Ş 2,044	\$ 1,574	Ş <u>1</u> ,447											<b> </b>
35	Net Impact																	<b> </b>
36	ince impace	GR	Trust	Local														
37	2024-2025	\$ 42.286	\$ 44.892	\$ 132,433								1	1	1	1			<b> </b>
38		\$ 42,597	\$ 45,222	\$ 133,407														
39		\$ 42,753		\$ 133,894														
40	2027-2028	\$ 42,908	\$ 45,552	\$ 134,381														
41		\$ 42,908	\$ 45,552															

Revenue Source: Highway Safety Fees Issue: Services Provided By HSMV Bill Number(s): CS/CS/SB 736

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Senator Trumbull
 Month/Year Impact Begins: 07/01/2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 06/17/2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Section 319.28, F.S. states rules and guidelines for transfer of ownership of motor vehicles and motor homes. Section 319.29, F.S. states that if following the issuance of an original, duplicate, or corrected certificate of title by the department, the certificate is lost in transit and is not delivered to the addressee, the owner or lienholder of the motor vehicle or mobile home may within 180 days apply to the department for reissuance of the certificate of title at no charge. Section 320.03, F.S. describes the duties of county tax collectors regarding motor vehicle registrations. Section 320.06, F.S. rental cars under nine passengers to elect a permanent registration provided payment of appropriate license taxes and fees occurs annually. Section 320.084, F.S. allows one free motor vehicle license plate to be issued by the department for use on any motor vehicle owned or leased by any disabled veteran who has been a resident of this state continuously for the preceding 5 years or has established a domicile in this state and who has been honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces. Section 320.131, F.S. directs the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to design, issue, and regulate temporary tags for certain uses. The fee for a temporary tag is \$2, to be deposited 50% into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund (HSOTF) and 50% into the Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund (BSCITF).
- b. Proposed Change: Section 319.28, F.S. is revised so that if the previous owner of a motor vehicle or motor home died testate and the application for a certificate of title is made by a Florida-licensed attorney or accompanied by an affidavit attested by a Florida-licensed attorney, the affidavit shall establish a presumption of ownership and right of possession to the motor vehicle or mobile home, so long as the affidavit sets forth the rightful heir or heirs and the attorney attests in the affidavit that such heir or heirs are lawfully entitled to the rights of ownership and possession of the motor vehicle or mobile home. Section 319.29, F.S. is revised to clarify language. 320.03, F.S. is revised to allow a general lines agency licensed per chapter 626 to be appointed as a tax collector agent in a political subdivision with a population of 1.9 million or greater starting July 1, 2025. Section 320.06, F.S. is revised to also allow rental trucks to elect a permanent registration provided payment of appropriate license taxes and fees occurs annually. Section 320.084, F.S. is revised so that a disabled veteran who qualifies for a free plate can instead receive a military license plate for which he or she is eligible. A military veteran receiving a military license plate or specialty license plate must pay all applicable fees except those waived under previous subsections and is not eligible for accessibility benefits for which he or she would be otherwise eligible. Section 320.131, F.S. is revised to include the following instances for which a person may apply for and receive a temporary tag for 60 days: when an existing owner of a motor vehicle has submitted an application to transfer a valid out of state title that is subject to a lien and when an active-military service member with a valid Florida driver license provides evidence that he or she is deployed outside of the state.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

January 3, 2023 Highway Safety Revenue Estimating Conference Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles SB 736 Agency Bill Analysis prepared 12/6/2023 CS/CS/CS/SB 736 Staff Analysis prepared by Committee on Fiscal Policy Staff on 02/23/2024 Phone and email contact with HSMV staff Number of disabled veteran plates July 2023 through May 2024 https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/bulletins/2021/info21-012.pdf

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

#### Permanent Tags for Rental Trucks - Section 4

Rental car companies have had the option to select permanent registrations for fleet cars since July 2021. There is no tax or fee savings resulting from this selection. Rather, the benefit is in fleet management, for example not having to track down specific tags to update the annual expiration sticker. The bill expands this option to rental trucks. Similar to cars, there is not fee change. Therefore, this section of the bill has zero impact.

Revenue Source: Highway Safety Fees Issue: Services Provided By HSMV Bill Number(s): CS/CS/SB 736

#### **Disabled Veteran Plates - Section 5**

Currently, a disabled veteran may receive <u>one</u> free "Disabled Veteran" license plate. From July 2023 through May, 2024, there were 123,130 disabled veterans plates issued in Florida. The bill allows a disabled veteran to instead receive a free military special or specialty plate upon payment of applicable fees related to such plate. A military special plate is a plate which a veteran may qualify for depending on circumstances of service (for example "Purple Heart Recipient"), is provided without any extra charge, and the base tag fee is distributed into Department of Veteran Affairs Trust Funds instead of the State Transportation Trust Fund. In Fiscal Year 2022-23, \$3.2 million was distributed to veterans programs from base tag fees related to these plates. Specialty plates are license plates with specific designs for which there is an extra charge that is distributed into whatever state, local, or other fund is specified by statute for that plate. The most recent Highway Safety REC projects total specialty tag annual use fees ranging from \$56.1M in FY 2023-24 to \$62.8M in FY 2028-29. The net overall impact is positive or negative indeterminate. There could be some veterans who currently choose to pay for their registrations because they would rather have the stamped plate or specialty plate that will now receive either a free stamped plate or a specialty plate where they only pay the specialty plate fee (a negative impact). There also might be some veterans who currently use the free disabled veteran plates who now will choose to use specialty plates and will pay the specialty plate fees (a positive impact). The volume of either is unknown, thus the ultimate direction of positive or negative resulting from this section is unknown.

#### Temporary Tags - Section 6

There will be a positive impact to state trust funds from the sale of additional temporary tags for deployed Florida residents and out of state title transfers. Each temporary tag will also pay a \$2.50 service fee which is distributed either to HSOTF or local tax collectors depending upon who performs the transaction. This fee will almost exclusively go to tax collectors because the department was redirected these services to tax collectors. According to HSMV staff, there is nothing in the current data set that gives an indication of the scope this increase may cause. In addition, there is no way of knowing if these individuals will chose to obtain a temporary tag since it is only advantageous to do so in some (likely rare) circumstances. Therefore, the low impact is indeterminate positive. The middle and high scenarios increase the current forecast by 5% and 10%. There will also be an insignificant positive impact to the GR service change in all scenarios.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

- ÷-	ermanent ra		ucks Section 4					
	GR/Trust/	Н	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
	Local	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
	2024-25			0.0	0.0			
	2025-26			0.0	0.0			
	2026-27			0.0	0.0			
	2027-28			0.0	0.0			
	2028-29			0.0	0.0			

#### Permanent Tags for Rental Trucks - Section 4

#### **Disabled Veteran Plates - Section 5**

Trust/Local/	Hi	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
Other	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			+/-	+/-			
2025-26			+/-	+/-			
2026-27			+/-	+/-			
2027-28			+/-	+/-			
2028-29			+/-	+/-			

### Revenue Source: Highway Safety Fees Issue: Services Provided By HSMV Bill Number(s): CS/CS/SB 736

Truct	Н	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
Trust	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0.3	0.3	0.1	0.1	**	**	
2025-26	0.3	0.3	0.1	0.1	**	**	
2026-27	0.3	0.3	0.1	0.1	**	**	
2027-28	0.3	0.3	0.1	0.1	**	**	
2028-29	0.3	0.3	0.1	0.1	**	**	

### Temporary Tags - Section 6

Local	Н	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
Local	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0.3	0.3	0.2	0.2	**	**	
2025-26	0.3	0.3	0.2	0.2	**	**	
2026-27	0.3	0.3	0.2	0.2	**	**	
2027-28	0.3	0.3	0.2	0.2	**	**	
2028-29	0.3	0.3	0.2	0.2	**	**	

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

Various State and Local Trust Funds HSOTF BSITF GR Service Charge

## Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted a positive/negative indeterminate impact.

	(	GR	Trust		Local	/Other	To	otal
	Cash	Recurring	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-
2025-26	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-
2026-27	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-
2027-28	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-
2028-29	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-

	A		В		С		D	Е	F	G
1	Temporary Tags Im	pac	t -Trust							
2			(	Curi	rent Forecas	t			Middle	High
3			\$1 HSOTF	•	\$1 BSCITF		Total		5%	10%
4	2024-2025	\$	1,375,120	\$	1,329,789	\$	2,704,909		\$ 2,840,154	\$ 2,975,400
5	2025-2026	\$	1,391,042	\$	1,329,789	\$	2,720,831		\$ 2,856,872	\$ 2,992,914
6	2026-2027	\$	1,402,427	\$	1,329,789	\$	2,732,216		\$ 2,868,827	\$ 3,005,438
7	2027-2028	\$	1,411,602	\$	1,329,789	\$	2,741,391		\$ 2,878,461	\$ 3,015,530
8	2028-2029	\$	1,419,824	\$	1,329,789	\$	2,749,613		\$ 2,887,094	\$ 3,024,575
9										
10			Cha	nge	2					
11			Middle		High					
12	2024-2025	\$	135,245	\$	270,491					
13	2024-202 cash	\$	129,610	\$	259,220					
14	2025-2026	\$	136,042	\$	272,083					
15	2026-2027	\$	136,611	\$	273,222					
16	2027-2028	\$	137,070	\$	274,139					
17	2028-2029	\$	137,481	\$	274,961					
18										
19	Temporary Tags Im	pac	t - Local							
20			Cha	nge	9					
21			Middle		High					
22	2024-2025	\$	169,057	\$	338,114					
23	2024-202 cash	\$	162,013	\$	324,026					
24	2025-2026	\$	170,052	\$	340,104					
25	2026-2027	\$	170,764	\$	341,527					
26	2027-2028	\$	171,337	\$	342,674					
27	2028-2029	\$	171,851	\$	343,702					

Revenue Source: Highway Safety Fees Issue: Specialty Tags Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 403

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Chaney
 Month/Year Impact Begins: 10/01/2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: 06/17/2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Section 320.08056, F.S. requires that January 1 of each year, the department shall discontinue the specialty license plate with the fewest number of plates in circulation. Section 320.08058, F.S. lists the specialty license plates which may be developed by the department.
- b. Proposed Change: Section 320.08056, F.S. is revised so that the requirement that January 1 of each year the department shall discontinue the specialty license plate with the fewest number of plates in circulation does not apply to collegiate plates. Section 320.08058, F.S. is revised so that if a collegiate license plate is discontinued per section 320.08056(8)(f), F S., the department must reauthorize the plate if the plate is resubmitted for authorization. Section 320.08058, F.S. also adds the following new specialty plates: Universal Orlando Resort, Margaritaville, Clearwater Marine Aquarium, General Aviation, The Villages: May All Your Dreams Come True, Cure Diabetes, Recycle Florida, Boating Capital of the World, Project Addiction: Reversing the Stigma, and United Service Organizations. The Give Kids the World license plate is abolished while the qualification for the Divine Nine license plate is expanded.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Highway Safety REC held 01/03/2024 and Conference History

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

The bill would add ten new specialty license plates to the list of available plates while abolishing one current plate. In addition, the qualification for the Divine Nine plates is expanded. The most recent Highway Safety REC projects total specialty tag annual use fees ranging from \$56.1M in FY 2023-24 to \$62.8M in FY 2028-29. The proceeds from these annual use fees are deposited into a variety of state, local, and other funds ranging from universities to private or public benefit organizations. The overall change to specialty tag use fees would be positive indeterminate because the number of new specialty tags which owners and lessees of motor vehicles would choose is unknown. In addition, past performance shows that when new specialty tags are introduced, there is a high level of substitution from existing plates. Also note that a new plate cannot be issued until at least 3,000 plates are presold.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

Trust/Other/	Н	ligh	M	iddle	Low		
Local	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			**	**			
2025-26			**	**			
2026-27			**	**			
2027-28			**	**			
2028-29			**	**			

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

Other/Local/State Trust Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund

Revenue Source: Highway Safety Fees Issue: Specialty Tags Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 403

## Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	(	GR	Trust		Local	/Other	Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	**	**	**	**	**	**
2025-26	0.0	0.0	**	**	**	**	**	**
2026-27	0.0	0.0	**	**	**	**	**	**
2027-28	0.0	0.0	**	**	**	**	**	**
2028-29	0.0	0.0	**	**	**	**	**	**

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: Broadband Internet Infrastructure Pole Attachments Bill Number(s): HB 1147

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Representative Tomkow
 Month/Year Impact Begins: June 30, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed:

#### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law: In 2021, the Legislature passed CS/CS/HB 1239 (Broadband Internet Infrastructure), creating s. 288.9963, F.S. Under this law, a broadband provider is currently entitled to receive a promotional rate of \$1 per wireline attachment per pole per year for any new attachment necessary to make broadband service available to an unserved or underserved end user within a municipal electric utility service territory. The promotional rate expires on July 1, 2024.

#### b. Proposed Change:

The bill extends the expiration date of the \$1 wireline attachment promotional rate from July 1, 2024, to December 31, 2028.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Contact with a representative for Florida Municipal Electric Association Contact with staff at League of Cities Revenue Estimating Conference CS/CS/HB 1239 Analysis (June 21, 2021) Center for Technology, Innovation and Competition, Survey of Rates for Pole Attachments and Access to Rights of Way (April 2018) Contact with legislative staff for Representative Tomkow

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

Data needed to estimate the fiscal impact on municipal electric utilities as a result of the extension on discounted pole attachment rates for broadband service providers is not readily available. Pole attachment rates, the number of providers who will take advantage of the continued promotion, and the number of underserved or unserved areas within each municipality is either unavailable or unknown. Based on recent conversations with a representative from Florida Municipal Electric Association, no known provider has taken advantage of the promotional rate since the passage of CS/CS/HB 1239 in 2021.

#### **Pole Attachment Fees**

Local governments establish their pole attachment fees by local ordinance or agreement. As a result, the pole attachment rates vary for each municipal electric utility. These rates may also vary per agreement/contract between the municipal electric utility and the broadband service provider, as the terms and rates in the contract are typically negotiated between the parties.

In 2018, the Center for Technology, Innovation and Competition, conducted a survey of rates for pole attachments and access to rights of way. According to the survey results, the mean rate for wired pole attachments was \$17.58 and the median rate was \$15.56. When looking at rates for different types of utility facility owners (municipal vs private) it was determined that wired pole attachment rates were highest for municipalities (mean \$23.32, median of \$20.40) and lowest for private utilities (mean \$7.69, median \$5.30). Based on the REC CS/CS/HB 1239 Analysis, it is estimated that the average cost of wired pole attachments in Florida is around \$18.00, as of June 21, 2021.

#### **Unserved and Underserved Areas**

The availability of broadband Internet service access in rural unserved or underserved areas is different for each municipality. Some municipalities may have only a few small unserved or underserved areas within the municipality or they may not have any areas. Whereas in other municipalities the entire county may be unserved or underserved. Currently, information regarding which areas are unserved or underserved within each municipality is unknown.

#### **Broadband Service Providers**

While Broadband Internet providers will benefit from the extension of the discounted pole attachment rates, the number of broadband providers who will take advantage of the promotional rate is indeterminate. Based on recent conversations with a

Revenue Source: Local Taxes and Fees Issue: Broadband Internet Infrastructure Pole Attachments Bill Number(s): HB 1147

representative from Florida Municipal Electric Association, no known provider has taken advantage of the promotional rate since the passage of CS/CS/HB 1239 in 2021.

#### Overall

The estimate adopted for the promotional fee in 2021 was negative indeterminate, which is the estimated high for this impact. However, since no known provider has used the promotional rate since 2021, there might still be no provider who takes advantage of the rate in the coming fiscal years, or there could be providers who do but the total revenue loss to local governments does not reach \$100,000. Therefore, the middle estimate is negative insignificant and the low estimate is a zero impact.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	Н	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	(**)	0	(*)	0	0	0	
2025-26	(**)	0	(*)	0	0	0	
2026-27	(**)	0	(*)	0	0	0	
2027-28	(**)	0	(*)	0	0	0	
2028-29	(**)	0	(*)	0	0	0	

Revenue Distribution: Local funds only

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted 0/negative indeterminate for the cash impact.

	(	GR	Trust		Local	/Other	Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0.0	0/(**)	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0.0	0/(**)	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0.0	0/(**)	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0.0	0/(**)	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0/(**)	0.0	0/(**)	0.0

Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Barber and Cosmetologist Licensure Requirements Bill Number(s): CS/HB 133

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Rep. Chambliss
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed:

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

Chapter 455, F.S., specifies the general licensure requirements for professions regulated by Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), including for those performing barbering services (defined by s.476.034(2) to include certain hair, beard, and skin care services done for compensation, but excludes medical services) and cosmetology services (defined by s.477.013(4) to include certain hair, face, scalp, and nail aesthetic services done for compensation, but excludes services for medical purposes). An application may be denied by the Barbers' Board and Board of Cosmetology if the applicant has a criminal conviction within 5 years before the board received the application. The boards may also deny an application if, at any time before application, the applicant's criminal history includes a forcible felony or a crime that would require registration as a sexual predator, if such crime relates to the practice of the profession.

#### b. Proposed Change:

The bill reduces the look-back period for the Barbers' Board and Board of Cosmetology to deny an application on the basis of a criminal conviction from 5 to 3 years. However, the boards may use a criminal conviction from more than 3 years before the application was received as the basis of for denial, if the applicant was convicted of any crime during the 3-year period immediately preceding the application. Additionally, the bill requires that applicable boards approve education program credits offered to inmates as vocational training or through an industry certification program for satisfying applicable training requirements for licensure.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Correspondence and data from DBPR

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

DBPR provided the following data showing number of license applications received, licenses granted and the number of active licensees for barbers and cosmetologists.

Lic	ense Type	FY 2020-21	FY2021-22	FY 2022-23	FYTD 2023-24
	Barbers	1,707	1,744	2,119	2,014
Applications Submitted	Restricted Barber	1,281	1,272	1,474	1,565
ttio	Cosmetologist	9,051	8,994	8,738	7,960
ica i	Nail Specialist	7,397	8,389	9,519	
E D	Facial Specialist	7,252	8,617	8,709	7,970
A	Full Specialist	5,166		5,908	
	Total	31,854	35,232	36,467	34,616
pa	Barbers	1,139	1,248	1,344	1,453
ute	Restricted Barber	967	952	1,045	1,188
Gra	Cosmetologist	6,401	6,369	6,037	5,747
Licenses Granted	Nail Specialist	6,410	7,545	8,540	8,541
USE	Facial Specialist	6,352	7,938	7,830	7,269
ce	Full Specialist	4,623		5,089	
Li	Total	25,892	29,711	29,885	29,260
	Barbers	12,408	14,147	13,356	
s d	Restricted Barber	6,031	7,231	7,137	8,603
er o	Cosmetologist	118,823	116,098	115,518	
Number of Licensees	Nail Specialist	46,748		50,754	54,062
i i i	Facial Specialist	36,844	41,043	45,103	44,593
~ -	Full Specialist	38,365		42,652	
	Total	259,219	267,482	274,520	286,851

The tables below shows the fee structure for the different initial application and renewal fees collected for license applications for barbers and cosmetologists.

#### Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Barber and Cosmetologist Licensure Requirements Bill Number(s): CS/HB 133

Board	License/ App Type	Total Fee Paid	Initial License Fee	Application Fee	ULA Fee	Total Renewal Fee Paid	Renewal Fee	ULA Fee	Exam Fee (when applicable)
	Barber by								
	Examination	\$205.50	\$0.00	\$100.00	\$5.00	\$75.00	\$70.00	\$5.00	\$100.50
	Barber by								
	Endorsement	\$255.00	\$100.00	\$150.00	\$5.00	\$75.00	\$70.00	\$5.00	
	Barber by								
	Examination (Out of								
	State/ Country)	\$205.50	\$0.00	\$150.00	\$5.00	\$75.00	\$70.00	\$5.00	\$100.50
Barbers	Restricted Barber by								
barbers	Examination	\$238.50	\$100.00	\$0.00	\$5.00	\$75.00	\$70.00	\$5.00	\$133.50
	Restricted Barber by								
	Examination (Out of								
	State/ Country)	\$238.50	\$100.00	\$0.00	\$5.00	\$75.00	\$70.00	\$5.00	\$133.50
	Barber Shop	\$130.00	\$50.00	\$75.00	\$5.00	\$105.00	\$100.00	\$5.00	
	Barber CE Provider	\$250.00	\$0.00	\$250.00	\$0.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$0.00	
	Barber CE Course								
	Approval	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	

Board	License/ App Type	Total Fee Paid	Initial License Fee	Application Fee	ULA Fee	Total Renewa Fee Paid	Fee	ULA Fee	Exam Fee (when applicable)
	Cosmetologist by	0-0-0-0			40000	0.000			
	Examination	\$45.00	\$0.00	\$40.00	\$5.00	\$45.0	\$40.00	\$5.00	\$49.50
	Cosmetologist by Endorsement	\$95.00	\$40.00	\$50.00	\$5.00	\$45.0	\$40.00	\$5.00	
	Cosmetologist by Current Licensure (Out of State/								
C	Country)	\$45.00	\$0.00	\$40.00	\$5.00	\$45.0	\$40.00	\$5.00	
Cosmetology	Cosmetology Salon	\$95.00	\$40.00	\$50.00	\$5.00	\$45.0	\$40.00	\$5.00	
	Nail Specialist	\$75.00	\$40.00	\$30.00	\$5.00	\$45.0	\$40.00	\$5.00	
	Facial Specialist	\$75.00	\$40.00	\$30.00	\$5.00	\$45.0	\$40.00	\$5.00	
	Full Specialist	\$75.00	\$40.00	\$30.00	\$5.00	\$45.0	\$40.00	\$5.00	
	Initial HIV/AIDS								
	Course Provider	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.0	\$0.00	\$0.00	
	Cosmo CE Provider	\$250.00	\$100.00	\$150.00	\$0.00	\$250.0	\$250.00	\$0.00	
	Cosmo CE Course	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.0	\$0.00	\$0.00	

Over the prior 3 fiscal years, DBPR has denied 26 applications due to voluntary disclosures of criminal convictions or ongoing case activity; 20 for cosmetology applications and 6 for barber applications. The department also reports that there are 1,493 barber and cosmetology licensees with convictions.

The bill expands the pool of applicants that are able to be granted a barber or cosmetology license by reducing the lookback period for criminal convictions from 5 years to 3 years. The high impact is based on assuming that there will be an increase in the number of applications received in each year of the forecast.

The low estimate assumes that there will be an increase in the number of applications in the first 2 years of the forecast period. The increase is due to a nonrecurring shift of applications granted from years 3, 4 and 5 to years 1 and 2. Therefore, the impact is observed in the Fiscal Years 2024-2025 and 2025-2026 only.

Both the high and the low estimates assume that the applicants wait to apply until outside of the lookback period for criminal convictions.

Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Barber and Cosmetologist Licensure Requirements Bill Number(s): CS/HB 133

### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	High		Mic	ldle	Low	
	Cash	Recurring	Recurring Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring
2024-25	*	*			*	*
2025-26	*	*			*	*
2026-27	*	*				
2027-28	*	*				
2028-29	*	*				

Revenue Distribution: Professional Regulation Trust Fund, GR Service Charge

Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted a zero/positive insignificant estimate for the cash and recurring impact.

	GR		Trust		Local	/Other	Total		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	0/*	0/*	0/*	0/*	0.0	0.0	0/*	0/*	
2025-26	0/*	0/*	0/*	0/*	0.0	0.0	0/*	0/*	
2026-27	0/*	0/*	0/*	0/*	0.0	0.0	0/*	0/*	
2027-28	0/*	0/*	0/*	0/*	0.0	0.0	0/*	0/*	
2028-29	0/*	0/*	0/*	0/*	0.0	0.0	0/*	0/*	

Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Yacht Broker Licensing Bill Number(s): SB 92

Entire Bill
 Partial Bill:
 Sponsor(s): Senator Hooper
 Month/Year Impact Begins: October 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

Section 326.002, F.S., defines the term "yacht" based on length and weight.

Section 326.004, F.S., requires a license, as either a salesperson or a broker, for any person who conducts a business that facilitates a purchase or sale of a yacht in Florida. DBPR is authorized to deny a license to individuals who do not meet certain statutory criteria for licensing.

#### b. Proposed Change:

The definition of "yacht" is revised to remove the weight restriction and to add a requirement that the vessel be "manufactured or operated" primarily for pleasure.

In addition, the licensure provision is revised to:

- Allow an out-of-state salesperson or broker to assist with the purchase of a yacht without licensure in Florida as long as a Florida broker or salesperson is involved in the transaction; and
- Require DBPR to deny a license if any statutory criteria is not met.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Sources:

- Senate Staff analysis of SB 92
- House Staff analysis of SB 92 (posted as final analysis of CS/HB 95)
- Department of Business and Professional Regulation Agency Analysis of SB 92
- Contact with Department of Business and Professional Regulation

#### Relevant Data:

- The initial registration fee as a salesperson or broker is \$551 (\$500 licensure fee and \$51 fingerprint processing fee).<sup>1</sup>
- The biennial renewal fee is \$500.<sup>2</sup>
- There are currently 2,818 registered salespersons and 337 registered brokers.<sup>3</sup>
- All fees are deposited in the Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares, and Mobile Homes Trust Fund.<sup>4</sup>

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

There are potentially three impacts for this bill:

- A reduction in licensing fees (and renewals) for brokers or salespeople who will no longer need to be registered if they sell only non-pleasure vessels (e.g., commercial fishing or shipping vessels).
- A reduction in licensing fees (and renewals) from out-of-state professionals who were licensed here solely to facilitate their customers' purchase of Florida vessels.
- A reduction in new registrants whom the Department will not be able to license due to the removal of the agency's discretion as to whether to issue a license to someone who did not meet statutory criteria.

<sup>2</sup> Id.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 326.004(5), F.S., and Rule 61B-60.002, F.A.C.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Senate Staff Analysis for SB 92 dated January 29, 2024, available at

https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2024/92/Analyses/2024s00092.fp.PDF (last visited June 10, 2024). <sup>4</sup> Section 326.006(3), F.S.

Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Yacht Broker Licensing Bill Number(s): SB 92

None of these changes are likely to significantly impact the number of registered brokers and salespersons, individually or collectively. The impacts all have the same directionality, however.

#### High Impact

If more than 6.5% of currently registered brokers and salespersons allow their licensure to lapse as a result of these changes in each of the next two years, then there is a recurring indeterminate reduction in collections as follows:

6.5% of the 3,147 registered parties would be 205 individuals not paying the \$200 biennial fee, for a total impact of -\$102,500 in every other year. If there are lapses of at least 205 individuals for two consecutive years, then the recurring impact will be over the Conference's threshold for significance in each year thereafter.

#### Low Impact

Based on contact with DBPR, the most likely outcome is that a small number of brokers or salespersons are impacted by each of these changes, and that there is a corresponding recurring insignificant reduction in licensure fees and renewals. As such, the proposed low impact is recommended.

	ŀ	ligh	Mie	ddle	Lo	w
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)
2025-26	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)
2026-27	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)
2027-28	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)
2028-29	(**)	(**)			(*)	(*)

#### **Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact**

Revenue Distribution: Division of Florida Condominiums, Timeshares, and Mobile Homes Trust Fund, GR Service Charge

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the low estimate.

	GR		Trust		Local	/Other	Total		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	
2025-26	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	
2026-27	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	
2027-28	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	
2028-29	(*)	(*)	(*)	(*)	0.0	0.0	(*)	(*)	

Revenue Source: Sales and Use Tax Issue: Freedom Month Sales Tax Holiday Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073, Section 58 Partial Bill: Section 58 Sponsor(s): Representative McClain Month/Year Impact Begins: Sales Tax Holiday Dates: 7/1/2024 to 7/31/2024, Collections Affected: August 2024 Date Conference Reviewed: 6/17/2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

- a. Current Law: Chapter 212, F.S. authorizes the collection of sales and use tax on admissions to ticketed events, gym memberships, museum tickets and memberships, and retail sales of the listed items.
- b. Proposed Change: During the period of July 1, 2024 to July 31, 2024, the following items are exempt from sales and use tax: sales of tickets to live music events, state parks, live sporting events, festivals (including ballets, plays and musical performances), movie tickets, and museum tickets that are scheduled to be held between July 1, 2024 and December 31, 2024; use of or access to clubs providing physical fitness facilities between July 1, 2024 and December 31, 2024; the retail sale of specified boating and water activity supplies, camping supplies, fishing supplies, general outdoor supplies, and residential pool supplies, and electric scooters between July 1, 2024 and July 31, 2024.

The retail sales exemption is valid only for the listed items and subject to the following price conditions. The retail exemption is not valid for commercial fishing supplies.

Expenditure Type	Description
Boating and water activity supplies	<ul> <li>Life jackets, coolers (\$75 or less)</li> <li>Recreational pool tubes, pool floats, inflatable chairs, and pool toys (\$35 or less)</li> <li>Safety flares (\$50 or less)</li> <li>Water skis, wakeboards, and kneeboards and recreational inflatable water tubes or floats capable of being towed (\$150 or less)</li> <li>Paddleboards and surfboards (\$300 or less)</li> <li>Canoes &amp; kayaks (\$500 or less)</li> <li>Paddles, and oars (\$75 or less)</li> <li>Snorkels, goggles, and swimming masks (\$25 or less)</li> </ul>
Camping supplies	<ul> <li>Tents (\$200 or less)</li> <li>Sleeping bags, portable hammocks, and camping stoves and collapsible camping chairs (\$50 or less)</li> <li>Camping lanterns and flashlights (\$30 or less)</li> </ul>
Electric scooter	• A vehicle having two or fewer wheels, with or without a seat or saddle for the use of the rider, which is equipped to be propelled by an electric motor and which weighs less than 75 pounds, is less than 2 feet wide, and is designed for a maximum speed of less than 35 miles per hour (\$500 or less)
Fishing supplies	<ul> <li>Rods and reels (\$75 or less if sold individually or \$150 or less if sold as a set)</li> <li>Tackle boxes or bags (\$30 or less)</li> <li>Bait or fishing tackle (\$5 or less if sold individually or \$10 or less if sold as a set)</li> </ul>
General outdoor supplies	<ul> <li>Sunscreen or insect repellant (\$15 or less)</li> <li>Sunglasses (\$100 or less)</li> <li>Binoculars (\$200 or less)</li> <li>Water bottles (first \$30 or less)</li> <li>Hydration packs (\$50 or less)</li> <li>Outdoor Gas or Charcoal Grills (\$250 or less)</li> <li>Bicycle Helmets (\$50 or less)</li> <li>Bicycles (\$500 or less)</li> </ul>
Residential pool supplies	<ul> <li>Individual residential pool and spa replacement parts, nets, filters, lights, and cover (\$100 or less)</li> <li>Residential pool and spa chemicals purchased by an individual (\$150 or less)</li> </ul>

The tax exemptions do not apply to sales within a theme park or entertainment complex as defined in s. 509.013(9), Florida Statutes, within a public lodging establishment as defined in s. 509.013(4), Florida Statutes, or within an airport as defined in s. 330.27(2), Florida Statutes.

Revenue Source: Sales and Use Tax Issue: Freedom Month Sales Tax Holiday Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073, Section 58

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

- Florida Economic Estimating Conference, December 2023.
- Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, November 2023.
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Consumer Expenditures Survey, Average annual expenditures and characteristics, Table 1800, 2022.
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Table R-1. All consumer units: Annual detailed expenditure means, standard errors, coefficients of variation, and weekly or quarterly percents reporting, Consumer Expenditure Surveys, 2021 & 2022.
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Consumer Expenditures Survey, Annual expenditure means and characteristics, Florida: Quintiles of income before taxes, 2020-2021.
- US Census Bureau, Annual Estimates of the Resident Population for the United States, Regions, States, and the District of Columbia: April 1, 2022 to July 1, 2023.
- IBIS World Industry Report OD4853, Swimming Pool Equipment Stores, September 2023.
- Source: IBISWorld, US Industry (Specialized) Report OD4244, Sunscreen Manufacturing Sunny outlook: A return to outdoor gatherings and activities will drive demand for sunscreen, September 2023.
- Source: IBISWorld Reports, US Industry (Specialized) Report OD4948, Insect Repellent Manufacturing, Constant buzz: Ecoconscious, natural products will be the industry's saving grace going forward, January 2022.
- Source: IBISWorld, US Industry (Specialized) Report OD4229, Sunglasses Stores, Bright lights: Industry revenue is expected to grow as the economy rebounds from the pandemic, February 2021.
- Impact of CS/CS/SB58 & CS/CS/HB475, Sales Tax Holiday for Items Related to Electric Transportation, REC dated 2/16/2024, http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2024/ pdf/page391-402.pdf
- Impact of Freedom Month Sales tax Holiday, HB7073 Section 26/SB7074 Section 43, REC dated 2/16/2024, http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2024/\_pdf/page368-387.pdf

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

#### NOTE 6/17/2024: This Freedom Month impact analysis is identical to the one adopted on 2/16/2024, except for the new category "electric scooters" added in CS/HB 7073.

The analysis was split into multiple components, each using a separate methodology. The first methodology was used to estimate the sales and use tax impact on ticket sales and memberships. This methodology relied on IBISWorld Industry Reports to estimate the amount of ticket and membership revenue generated by the qualified industries in Florida. Next, the analysis led to an estimate of the portion of annual ticket and membership revenue that will be purchased during the sales tax holiday. Underlying the analysis is an expectation that the tax holiday will shift ticket and membership sales from later periods into the qualified week. The analysis also assumed that a large majority of museum ticket sales (83%) are already tax exempt because these museums are operated by a 501(c)(3) (Florida Statute 212.042(a), F.S.. The estimates were grown by a CPI estimate of 5.4% which is the 2023 CPI estimate for admissions.

Second, the estimate for sales tax on State Park entrance fees was based on FY 2023-24 annual pass and day pass fees and assumptions made on the number of months' worth of annual passes and number of weeks' worth of single-day passes that would be sold during the tax exemption period.

Third, the estimates for retail sales for boating and water activities, camping supplies, fishing supplies, sports equipment, and partially for outdoor supplies used average annual expenditures by consumer unit by category from the Consumer Expenditures Survey for the United States and applied their respective shares of total expenditures to Florida average annual expenditures for the last year for which actual survey data was published. The expenditures were then grown by Florida personal income growth (FEEC) to the impact year.

#### **Boating and Water Activity Supplies**

Expenditures for canoes, kayaks, wakeboards, and kneeboards and recreational inflatable water tubes or floats, paddleboards and surfboards are included in the CE category, "Un-motored recreational vehicles/ Boats without motor and boat trailers."

#### Revenue Source: Sales and Use Tax Issue: Freedom Month Sales Tax Holiday Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073, Section 58

#### General outdoor supplies

The current estimate reflects updated IBIS World reports, some of which have significant revisions based on significant revisions in US Census economic data. The estimate for outdoor supplies used IBISWorld reports for the US market size for sunscreen, insect repellent, and sunglasses and assumed Florida's market for these items was proportional to Florida's share of the US population. Other sports equipment expenditures from the Consumer Expenditures Survey were used as an estimate for spending on water bottles, hydration packs, and binoculars. It appears that IBIS World may have discontinued the insect repellent and sunglasses reports. The most recent reports are two-three years old.

#### Residential pool supplies

Expenditures for recreational recreational pool tubes, pool floats, inflatable chairs, and pool toys, Individual residential pool and spa replacement parts, nets, filters, lights, and covers, and pool and spa chemicals were developed using an IBIS World report on Swimming Pool Equipment Stores revenues. Since these items are also sold by general merchandise stores, online retailers, and other specialty stores, this approach might underestimate the expenditures in this category. As a result, the REC 2/18/2022 doubled the estimate for specialized pool stores to account for sales occurring on other retail locations.

#### Electric Scooters

The bill includes electric scooters, as defined, selling for \$500 or less as an exempted category during the sales tax holiday. This analysis uses the methodology for the impact adopted at the 2/16/2024 REC for CS/CS/SB58 & CS/CS/HB475, which uses the Consumer Expenditures survey as a data source as well. In contrast to the 2/16/2024 impact, the duration of the holiday here is one month. The proposed impact is 61 days, which comprises of one month duration (31) plus 30 additional days to account for shifted purchases (15 days before and 15 days after the holiday).

The CE category "scooters" includes both manual and electric devices. The category is reduced to include only electric scooters. It appears that most scooters will qualify for the exemption because the maximum speeds they reach appear to be most likely below the maximum set in the bill. The estimate for electric scooters includes the category "scooters" as well as the categories "Other sports equipment" and "Toys, games, arts and crafts, and tricycles" to capture the "other electric scooters" term, which is interpreted to include two-wheeled items for adults or for children that may not be captured in scooters, such as electric sit-down toys, electric skateboards, electric hoverboards, etc.

The REC impact dated 2/16/2024 took into account a provision that stated the following.

"The lease or rental of an electric bicycle, an electric scooter, or protective clothing and equipment does not qualify as an exempt retail sale under this exemption."

CS/HB 7073 S. 58 does not contain that provision. However, past DOR implementations of Freedom Week 2021 & 2022 and Freedom Summer 2023 stated that "this sales tax holiday does not apply to… rentals of any eligible items." Therefore, this analysis assumes DOR will implement the 2024 bill by a similar rule and rentals of electric scooters will not be exempt during Freedom Month.

#### Price caps

The bill proposes each item to have a price cap of "\$xxx or less" price exemption. The price cap for bicycles is \$500 or less. The assumed percentage of the bicycles category that falls below the price cap is 50 percent.

#### Bicycles

Bicycles expenditures were reduced for the permanent exemption of baby bicycle seats, carriers, or trailers and for the preexisting exemption on child bicycle helmets.

#### Pool toys

Pool toys are explicitly exempt in "Boating and water activity supplies."

Revenue Source: Sales and Use Tax Issue: Freedom Month Sales Tax Holiday Bill Number(s): CS/HB 7073, Section 58

#### Duration

The duration of "Freedom Month" for retail sales is one month, July. The assumed duration is a total of eight weeks: four weeks for the actual days of the holiday plus four more weeks added to account for induced/ shifted/ impulse purchases, presumably two weeks before and two weeks after the actual holiday (cell G 52 on the Summary retail sales worksheet).

#### Amusements parks and other tourist-related establishments

As discussed at the 2/17/2023 REC, impact from the bill language excluding amusement parks, lodging establishments, and airports from the sales tax exemption is not included regardless of whether the bill language contains it. Whether these establishments are required to comply or exempted from complying with the sales tax holiday is not considered in this analysis.

The table below shows the estimated impacts.

Estimated Sales Tax (Milli	Estimated Sales Tax (Millions of Dollars)								
EXEMPTION TYPE									
Admissions	(63.8)								
Retail sales	(18.1)								
Total	(81.9)								

**Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact** Sales Tax Holiday Dates: 7/1/2024 to 7/31/2024, Collections Affected: August 2024 Millions of Dollars

	Н	igh	Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			(81.9)				
2025-26							
2026-27							
2027-28							
2028-29							

Revenue Distribution: Sales and Use Tax

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	GR		Trust		Revenue	e Sharing	Local Half Cent	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	(72.5)	0.0	(Insignificant)	0.0	(2.4)	0.0	(7.0)	0.0
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0

	6% Sub-Total		Add: Loc	al Option	Total		
	Cash	Cash Recurring Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring		
2024-25	(81.9)	0.0	(9.9)	0.0	(91.8)	0.0	
2025-26	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2026-27	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2027-28	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	
2028-29	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	0.0	

	А	В	C	D	E	F	G	н	I
1	CS/HB 7073, S. 58 - Freedom MONTH, less than \$\$\$	_	-	U	-		3	31 Da	
2	6/17/2024	inec, an earce	01100					4 W	
3	RETAIL SALES EXEMPTIONS							7/1/2024 Sta	
4	Camping, boating, fishing, water sports, and other sp	orts equinme	nt			100		7/31/2024 En	
5	compility, southing, isting, watch sports, and other sp	iones equipine				100		//J1/2024 En	4
	Consumer Expenditures by Category					e	-	<b>EV</b> 11	
6	consumer expenditures by category					Estimates	FL population growth	-	
7			2022 2022 CYs 2020-21				FL households growt		
8 9			United States	Cauth	Claudala	2022	FL Pers. Income grow		2025
-	Number of Consumer Units		134,090,000	South 52,034,000	Florida 9,200,869.00	2022		2024	2025 1.4
	Florida FTE Visitors (converted to CUs)		134,090,000	52,054,000	911,326	1.7		1.5	1.4
12	Average number in consumer unit:		2.4	2.4	2.3	6.6		6.3	1.4 6.4
13	Income after taxes per Consumer Unit (\$)		83,195	75,370	75,370	0.0	7.5	0.5	0.4
14	Average annual expenditures per Consumer Unit (\$)		72,967	65,576	55,533				
14			72,507	03,370	55,555				
16	Average annual expenditures per Consumer Unit (Househo	d)							
17		-1							
18	Camping equipment	0.0001972	6.83	18.41	15.59	168,119,022	181,342,864	192,851,818	205,251,140
_	% of average annual expenditures	0.00936%	0.00936%	0.0281%	0.0281%		, ,		, ,
	Camping lanterns and flashlights								
	<ul> <li>Sleeping bags, portable hammocks, and camping stoves</li> </ul>								
	and collapsible camping chairs								
20	• Tents			West					
21									
22	Hunting and fishing equipment		30.67	78.69	66.64	718,430,524	774,940,560	824,122,286	877,108,861
23	% of average annual expenditures	0.042032%	0.0420%	0.1200%	0.1200%				
24	Fishing only (share from FW survey, 48.22%)			0.120%		346,427,198.90	373,676,338	397,391,766	422,941,893
25		0.4822		South					
	<ul> <li>Rods and reels</li> </ul>								
	<ul> <li>Tackle boxes or bags</li> </ul>								
26	<ul> <li>Bait or fishing tackle</li> </ul>								
27									
28	Hunting and fishing equipment - INCREMENTAL for tackle	boxes							
29			0.74	0.66	0.56	6,067,166	6,544,395	6,959,736	7,407,209
30	% of average annual expenditures	0.001%	0.0010%	0.0010%	0.0010%				
31	Assumed 5% of fishing equipment	5.000%							
32	· · · · ·					00 000 0		442.000	404 000 055
_	Water sports equipment		12.10	10.88	9.21	,,	107,103,158	113,900,477	121,223,658
34	% of average annual expenditures	0.016585%	0.0166%	0.0166%	0.0166%				
25	<ul> <li>Life jackets, coolers</li> <li>Recreational pool tubes, pool floats, inflatable chairs, and pool toys</li> <li>Safety flares</li> </ul>								
35	Snorkels, goggles, and swimming masks								
36									

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н	Ι
37	Un-motored recreational vehicles/ Boats without motor a	nd boat trailers	•	-	•				
38			30.88	27.75	23.50	253,331,990	273,258,482	290,600,875	309,284,929
39	% of average annual expenditures	0.04%	0.0423%	0.0423%	0.0423%			-	
	Water skis, wakeboards, and kneeboards and recreational inflatable water tubes or floats capable of being towed     Paddleboards and surfboards     Canoes & kayaks     Paddles, and oars								
41									
42	Other sports equipment		6.83	6.14	5.20	56,039,674	60,447,621	64,283,939	68,417,047
43	% of average annual expenditures	0.0094%	0.0094%	0.0094%	0.0094%				
44 45	<ul><li>Water bottles</li><li>Hydration packs</li><li>Binoculars</li></ul>								
	Bicycles		60.59	54.45	46.11	671,134,582	723,924,432	769,868,411	819,366,757
	% of average annual expenditures	0.0830%	0.0830%	0.0830%	0.0830%	- , - ,	-,- , -		,, -
	• Bicycles								
	Reduced for permanent exemption of baby bicycle seats and pre-existing exemption on child bicycle helmets.	5.00%							778,398,419
50	Bicycle helmets	0.05	3.03	2.72	2.31	24,856,836	26,812,016	28,513,645	-
51	% of bicycle expenditures (assumed 5%)	0.004%	0.0042%	0.0042%	0.0042%				
52	Bicycle Helmets								
53								_	
54	Miscellaneous household equipment - Other household ap	pliances	20.38	18.32	15.51	167,216,480	180,369,330	191,816,498	204,149,255
55	% of average annual expenditures	0.0279%	0.0279%	0.0279%	0.0279%				
56	<ul> <li>Outdoor Gas or Charcoal Grills</li> </ul>								
_	Source: US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Table 1800. Region of Table R-1. All consumer units: Annual detailed expenditure i		•		-		-	ırveys, 2021, 2022.	

	A	В	С	D	E	F
1	CS/HB 7073	, S. 58 - Freedom MONTH, less than \$\$\$ price, all categories			31	Days
2	6/17/2024				4	Weeks
3	<b>RETAIL SALE</b>	S EXEMPTIONS			7/1/2024	Start
4	Swimming p	ool equipment & supplies			7/31/2024	End
5						
6		Florida share of US population				
7		Ju	ly 1, 2023 Populatio	on		
8		United States	334,914,895			
9		Florida	22,610,726			
10 11		Florida's share of US total	6.8%			
11		FTE visitors	2,096,050			
12		Plus adjustment for FTE visitors	7.4%			
13						
14		Source: US Census Bureau, Annual Estimates of the Resident Population for th	ne United States, Regi	ons, States, and the	District of Columb	bia.
15 16						
16			2022	2023	-	
17		FL population growth, FY ending, FDEC	1.7	1.6	1.5	1.4
18						
19		Swimming pool retail stores - U.S.				
20		FY ending:	% of Total	2023	2024	2025
21		Total revenue (2022 \$ m)		5,712	5,799	5,881
		Sales to homeowners				
22		(excluding commercial or government purchases from retail stores)	100%	5,712	5,799	5,881
23		Pool chemicals	46%	2,599	2,639	2,675.76
24		Pool equipment & recreational items	30%	1,731	1,757	1,781.88
25		All other products	24%	1,382	1,403	1,423.15
26		Source: IBISWorld Reports, INDUSTRY REPORT OD4853 Swimming Pool Equipment Stores, September 2023.				
27		Swimming Foor Equipment Stores, September 2025.				
28		Florida share based on housing starts			FY2023-24	FY2024-25
29		US Housing starts			1,358,330	1,341,049
	1	FL Housing starts			210,364	184,225
30 31 32 33		FL % of US			15%	14%
32		FL swimming pool retail stores revenue (annual) (\$ m)			680.8	612.4
22					000.0	012.4
34	4					

	А	В	С	D	E	F								
		Swimming pool retail stores	- U.S.											
35	Categories & Items Included													
36		Pool equipment & recreational ite												
37		pool covers, reels and liners, slides, ladders, diving boards and other miscellaneous equipment												
38		swimming pool floats, games, lounges, masks, fins and fitness items, among more. This segment also includes a variety of backyard a paint and other swimming pool related items	nd patio furniture,	pool and deck										
39		Pool chemicals												
40 41		chlorine, algae control, water clarifiers, stain removers and tile cleaner All other products	rs											
42 43		above ground pools, spas and hot tubs												

	Α	В	С	D	E	F	G
1	CS/HB 707	73, S. 58 - Freedom MONTH, less than	\$\$\$ price, all catego	ries	•	31 [	Days
2		6/17/2024				4 \	Veeks
3	<b>RETAIL SA</b>	LES EXEMPTIONS				7/1/2024 \$	Start
4	Outdoor i	tems				7/31/2024 E	nd
5							
6		Florida share of US population					
7		L	luly 1, 2023 Populatio	n			
8		United States	334,914,895				
9		Florida	22,610,726				
10		Florida's share of US total	6.8%				
11		Plus adjustment for FTE visitors	7.4%				
		Source: US Census Bureau, Annual Estimates	of the Resident Populati	on for the United Stat	es, Regions, States, an	d the District of Colu	mbia: April 1,
12		2020 to July 1, 2023.					
13			2022	2022	2024	2025	
14		FL population growth, FY ending, FDEC	2022			2025	
15 16			1.7	1.6	1.5	1.4	
		La sa stana a Usast					
17		Insect repellent	IBIS Data	EDR Estimate	EDR Estimate		
18		United States	FY 2022-23	FY 2023-24	FY 2024-25		
19		Domestic demand (\$)	517,215,427	525,144,721	532,545,635		ulation growth
20		Source: IBISWorld Reports, US INDUSTRY (SPE			Manufacturing, Consta	nt buzz: Eco-conscio	us, natural
20 21		products will be the industry's saving grace go	ong forward, January 20	22.			
22			FY 2024-25	]			
23		Florida insect repellent demand	39,286,057				
24		nondu insect repellent demand	33,200,037				
25		Sunscreen		EDD Estimate	EDD Estimate		
25 26		United States	IBIS Data FY 2022-23	EDR Estimate	EDR Estimate		
26				FY 2023-24	FY 2024-25		
21		Domestic demand (\$)	861,000,000	874,199,766	886,519,946		
20		Source: IBISWorld, US INDUSTRY (SPECIALIZE		screen Manufacturing	Sunny outlook: A retu	irn to outdoor gathe	rings and
28 29		activities will drive demand for sunscreen, Se	FY 2024-25	1			
29 30		Florida sunscreen demand	65,398,852				
30		rionua sunscreen demand	05,598,852				

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G
31		·					
32		Sunglasses stores	EDR Estimate	EDR Estimate			
33		United States	FY 2022-23	FY 2023-24	FY 2024-25		
34		Domestic demand (\$)	1,938,350,828	1,968,067,178	1,995,803,335	FDEC pc	opulation growth
		Source: IBISWorld, US INDUSTRY (SPECIALIZEI	D) REPORT OD4229, Sun	glasses Stores, Bright	ights: Industry revenu	ie is expected to gro	ow as the
35		economy rebounds from the pandemic, Febru	uary 2021.				
36				_			
37			FY 2024-25				
38		Florida sunglass store revenues	147,231,032				
39			FY 2024-25				
40		Florida - Other sports equipment	68,417,047				
		Source: US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Table 1	800. Region of residence	e: Average annual expe	enditures and charact	eristics, Consumer E	Expenditure
41		Survey, 2021, 2022.					
42							
43			FY 2024-25				
44		Florida total outdoor sales	320,332,987				

	А	В	-		D	E	F	G	Н	
3	6/17/2024	CS/	HB 7073, S. 58 -	Freedom M	ONTH, less than \$\$\$ price, all categories				31	Days
4		RET	TAIL SALES EXE	MPTIONS					4	Weeks
5		Elec	ctric scooters						7/1/2024	Start
6 7 8			NOTE: All Leve	ers are in ve	llow.				7/31/2024	End
7				<b>,</b>						
8		I.	GENERAL PUR	CHASING A	ASSUMPTIONS					
9					ADJUSTMENT FACTORS					
					Business purchases factor based on Florida					
10					Sales Tax Contributions from Businesses	0.2802				
					Taurista aurebassa fastar basad an Elavida					
11					Tourists purchases factor based on Florida Sales Tax Contributions from Tourists	0.2101				
					Bill language conditions & exclusions*	1.00				
12					Effective sales tax factor (State + Local Optic					
14			* Includes price lir	mits and othe	r price exclusions, certain tourism-related dealers,		ther bill language exclus	ions not explicitly accou	nted for elsewhere.	
15			included price in				and bin language choice			
12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 22 23 24 25 26 27		II.	GROWTH RAT	E ASSUMP	TIONS					
17						FY 2020-21	FY 2021-22	FY 2022-23	FY 2023-24	FY 2024-25
18					FDEC growth in population	1.67%	1.71%	1.64%	1.53%	1.41%
19					FDEC growth in resident households	1.70%	1.84%	1.73%	1.59%	1.49%
20					FEEC growth in personal income	10.29%	6.61%	7.87%	6.35%	6.43%
22										
23					RE CALCULATIONS					
24		III.	FLORIDA CON	SUMER EXP						
25					Florida Consumer Expenditures	ACTUAL	EV 0004 00	EV 2022 22	EV 2022 24	EV 2024 25
26						FY 2020-21	FY 2021-22	FY 2022-23	FY 2023-24	FY 2024-25
	CE		Florida		Number of Consumer Units	2020-2021 Avg.	9,370,362	9,532,569	9,683,708	9,827,77
28	GE		FIOIIda		by growth in households	9,200,869	9,370,362	9,552,569	9,003,700	9,027,77
30					by growin in nousenoids					
31	CE		Florida		Income before taxes per Consumer Unit	\$72,775.52	\$77,588	\$83,691	\$89,002	\$94,725
32			Tionaa		by growth in personal income	ψ12,110.0L	ф11,000	<i>ф00,00</i> г	\$00,00 <u>2</u>	φ01,7±0
33										
34	CE		Florida		Average annual expenditures per Consumer	·l \$55,533	\$59,205	\$63,862	\$67,915	\$72,281
35					constant share (2019-2020) of income before	e taxes				
36										
_	Calculated		Florida		Aggregate income before taxes	\$669,598,025,927	\$727,026,606,033	\$797,787,990,190	\$861,871,459,304	\$930,931,550,348
38	<b>a b b b b b b b b b b</b>								<b></b>	
_	Calculated		Florida		Aggregate expenditures**	\$510,949,925,995	\$554,771,932,062	\$608,767,796,145	\$657,667,945,987	\$710,365,604,943
					constant share of income before taxes	76.3%	76.3%	76.3%	76.3%	76.3%
40					** Includes state and local sales tax					

	А	В	С	D	E	F	G	Н	1
3	6/17/2024	CS/H	HB 7073, S. 58 - Freedom M	IONTH, less than \$\$\$ price, all categories					Days
4			AIL SALES EXEMPTIONS						Weeks
43									
44		IV.	EXPENDITURE CALCULAT	TIONS					
73		-	-		% of Expenditures			FY 2024-25	
74	ITEMS SPECIFIED IN BILL		CE CATECODY	CE SUBCATEGORY/ITEM		Percent of Category for Item	Taxable Expenditures	Salaa Tay Annual	Salaa Tay Daily
	Electric scooters		CE CATEGORY	CE SOBCATEGOR 1/ ITEM	0.22773%	Category for item	\$147,105,938	Sales Tax-Annual \$8,826,356	Sales Tax-Daily \$24,182
15	Electric scooters		Sports, recreation, and	Scooters and other single-rider	0.2211378		ψ147,100,900	φ0,020,000	ψ24,102
76	<ul> <li>Protective equipment</li> </ul>		exercise equipment	transportation [D]	0.00012%	80.00%	\$636,298	\$38,178	\$105
77	<ul> <li>A vehicle having two or fewer wheels, with or without a seat or a saddle, equipped to be propelled by a motor, weighs less than 75 pounds, is less than 2 feet in width, and is designed for a max speed of less than 35 mph.</li> <li>Powered ride-ons (Razor).</li> <li>Electric skateboards (one- wheeled).</li> </ul>		Sports, recreation, and exercise equipment Toys, hobbies, and	Other sports equipment [I]	0.00936%	2.00%	\$1,245,689	\$74,741	\$205
78	Electric hoverboards.		playground equipment	[D]	0.21825%	10.00%	\$145,223,952	\$8,713,437	\$23,872
80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87			A.	Florida Resident Consumer purchases (h Holiday duration Additional days - time shifting of purchases Total consumer purchases for days impacted		DLE Sales Tax (State) \$749,636 \$725,454	ax holiday)	HIG Days 31 60 91	GH Sales Tax (State) \$749,636 \$1,450,908 \$2,200,544
88			В	Other Florida purchases					
89			D.		Factors	Sales Tax (State)		Factors	Sales Tax (State)
90				Business purchases factor	0.28018	\$413,289		0.14009	\$308,273
91				Visitor purchases factor	0.02101	\$30,997		0.02101	\$46,241
92				Total other Florida purchases		\$444,286			\$354,514
93 94 95			A. & B.	. Total Florida purchases		\$1,919,375			\$2,555,057
96				Bill language conditions & exclusions*	0.600			0.800	
88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 135 136 137				SALES TAX IMPACT		\$1,151,625			\$2,044,046
137				TOTAL IMPACT		MIDDLE			HIGH
138 140 142		ν.	TOTAL IMPACT		-	FY 2024-25			FY 2024-25
140				Electric scooters & equipment		\$1,151,625			\$2,044,046
142				Total		\$ 1,151,625			\$ 2,044,046
143									

**Revenue Source**: Other Taxes and Fees **Issue**: Adjuster Examinations and Sales Representatives **Bill Number(s)**: CS/CS/CS/HB 989

□ Entire Bill
 ▶ Partial Bill: Sections 16 and 32
 Sponsor(s): Representative LaMarca
 Month/Year Impact Begins: July 1, 2024
 Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

a. Current Law:

### **Claims Adjuster**

The Department of Financial Services may not issue any license as an agent or adjuster to any individual who has not qualified for, taken, and passed a written examination of the scope prescribed by law.<sup>1</sup>

Current law exempts applicants who receive specific adjuster designations from specific educational institutions. For example, an applicant for licensure as an all-lines adjuster who has the designation of Accredited Claims Adjuster (ACA) from a regionally accredited postsecondary institution in this state is exempt. Even more specific, an applicant for licensure as an all-lines adjuster who has the designation of Certified All Lines Adjuster (CALA) from Kaplan Financial Education is exempt.<sup>2</sup>

All exams are provided by outside vendors. Approximately 3 percent of the 15,000-18,000 annual applications utilize the state's exam process. Applicants are directed through the department's website to PearsonVue, the department's testing vendor. All fees associated with the exam are paid to the examiner. Currently, PearsonVue's exam fee is \$44.

#### Home Warranty Association Sales Reps

A "home warranty association" is any corporation or any other organization, other than an authorized insurer, issuing home warranties.<sup>3</sup>

"Insurer" means any property or casualty insurer duly authorized to transact such business in this state.<sup>4</sup>

A "sales representative" is any person with whom an insurer or home inspection or warranty association has a contract and who is utilized by such insurer or association for the purpose of selling or issuing home warranties. The term includes all employees of an insurer or association engaged directly in the sale or issuance of home warranties.<sup>5</sup>

A "person" includes an individual, company, corporation, association, insurer, agent, and every other legal entity.<sup>6</sup>

No person may solicit, negotiate, or effectuate home warranty contracts for remuneration in this state unless such person is licensed and appointed as a sales representative. A licensed and appointed sales representative shall be directly responsible and accountable for all acts of the licensee's employees.<sup>7</sup>

Sales representatives for home warranty associations and insurers shall be licensed and appointed in the state.<sup>8</sup> For an original appointment or biennial renewal, such representative shall pay an appointment fee of \$60.<sup>9</sup> The representative also pays a \$50 application fee accompanied by a \$5 license fee. A home warranty association is not required to be licensed as a sales representative to solicit, sell, issue, or otherwise transact the home warranty agreements issued by the home warranty association.<sup>10</sup>

- <sup>4</sup> Id.
- <sup>5</sup> Id.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 626.221(1), F.S. See s. 626.241, F.S., for the scope of examination.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Section 626.221(j), F.S.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Section 634.301, F.S.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Id.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> Section 634.317, F.S.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> Section 634.318, F.S.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> Section 624.501, F.S.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> Section 634.318, F.S.

**Revenue Source**: Other Taxes and Fees **Issue**: Adjuster Examinations and Sales Representatives **Bill Number(s)**: CS/CS/CS/HB 989

#### b. Proposed Change:

#### Claims Adjuster

Section 16 of the bill adds to the list of those exempt from examination an applicant with an adjuster designation of Registered Claims Adjuster (RCA) from American Insurance College.

#### Home Warranty Association Sales Reps

Section 32 of the bill creates an exemption from licensure and appointing requirements for:

- A municipality, a county government, a special district, an entity operated by a municipality or county government, or
- An employee or agent of a municipality, county government, special district, or entity operated by a municipality or county government.

#### Section 2: Description of Data and Sources

Discussion with Senate Staff Discussion with representatives from the Office of Insurance Regulation Discussion and correspondence with representatives from the Department of Financial Services House Staff Analysis for CS/CS/CS/HB 989

# Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details)

#### **Claims Adjuster**

No amount of the examination fee collected by PearsonVue is transferred to the state. The fiscal impact of this provision is zero.

#### Home Warranty Association Sales Reps:

An impact may result from this provision when a home warranty sales representative who is employed by a "local government" no longer pays the \$60 biennial appointment fee. Although specifically exempted under the provision no local government, as confirmed by the department, holds a sales representative license, nor are the application or license fees required for licensure as a sales representative being exempted.

There is no data collected by the department to determine if or how many sales representatives are employed by a local government. Individuals who hold the license are appointed by the insurer and the state's system does not identify who employes the individual.

The presented impact contemplates either no licensed sales representatives are employed by a local government or that the number of \$60 renewals does not exceed \$100,000.

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

	F	ligh	Mie	ddle	Low		
	Cash Recurring		Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			0/(*)	0/(*)			
2025-26			0/(*)	0/(*)			
2026-27			0/(*)	0/(*)			
2027-28			0/(*)	0/(*)			
2028-29			0/(*)	0/(*)			

#### **Revenue Distribution:**

Insurance Regulatory Trust Fund, GR Trust Fund

Revenue Source: Other Taxes and Fees Issue: Adjuster Examinations and Sales Representatives Bill Number(s): CS/CS/HB 989

## Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	Ģ	GR	Trust		Local/Other		Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0.0	0.0	0/(*)	0/(*)
2025-26	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0.0	0.0	0/(*)	0/(*)
2026-27	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0.0	0.0	0/(*)	0/(*)
2027-28	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0.0	0.0	0/(*)	0/(*)
2028-29	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0/(*)	0.0	0.0	0/(*)	0/(*)

**Revenue Source**: Healthcare Provider Licensure Fees **Issue**: Healthcare Provider Licensure Fees

Bill Number(s): CS/SB 7016/ Chapter No. 2024-15

x Entire Bill

Partial Bill:

Sponsor(s): Senate Fiscal Policy and Health Policy Month/Year Impact Begins: Upon becoming law Date(s) Conference Reviewed: June 17, 2024

#### Section 1: Narrative

#### a. Current Law:

#### Temporary Certificate to Practice in Areas of Critical Need

Physicians who meet certain requirements may receive temporary certificates to practice in areas of critical need. Requirements include having a license in any United States jurisdiction and either working for a county health department, correctional facility, Veterans' Affairs clinic, or other specified entities, or practicing for a limited time to address critical physician-specialty, demographic, or geographic needs. Physicians are required to pay fees for the certificate; however, fees may be waived for physicians who volunteer to provide uncompensated care. Current law does not allow for certificates for advanced practice nurses or allopathic and osteopathic physician assistants.

#### Limited Licenses

Physicians who meet certain requirements may receive limited licenses. Requirements differ for allopathic and osteopathic physicians, but both must have been licensed to practice in any United States jurisdiction for at least ten years. Allopathic physicians may receive a limited license to practice in areas of critical need and osteopathic physicians may receive a limited license to practice in areas. Physicians are required to pay fees for the limited license; however, fees may be waived for physicians who volunteer to provide uncompensated care. Current law does not allow for limited licenses for graduate assistant physicians.

#### Medical Faculty Certificates

A medical faculty certificate authorizes physicians to practice only in conjunction with the faculty position at certain medical schools or affiliated clinical facilities, teaching hospitals, or specialty-licensed children's hospitals. In order to receive a certificate, a physician must meet several requirements, including accepting a full-time faculty appointment to teach at one of eleven programs of medicine listed in statute. In any year, most of the medical schools have a 30-person cap on the number of certificate holders at each school, except for one school with a cap of 10-persons.

#### Foreign-Trained Physicians

Foreign-trained physicians must meet the same standards as U.S. trained physicians and must meet additional requirements to practice in Florida. For example, one pathway for foreign-trained physicians to practice in Florida requires them to complete at least two years of residency in an approved medical specialty area that counts towards board certification by the American Board of Medical Specialties.

#### Healthcare Compacts

A healthcare compact is a contract between states that may establish uniform guidelines, standards, or procedures for the participating states. Generally, there are two types of compacts. First, a mutual recognition compact allows a provider to receive a multistate license that authorizes the provider to practice in other compact states as long as the provider maintains residence in the state of initial licensure. Second, an expedited licensure compact requires the provider to apply for a license in each state using a more efficient application process. Florida is a member of three compacts, including the Nurse Licensure Compact, the Professional Counselors Licensure Compact, and the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact.

#### b. Proposed Change:

#### Temporary Certificate to Practice in Areas of Critical Need

Sections 37, 40, and 41 of the bill expand temporary certificates to advanced practice nurses and allopathic and osteopathic physician assistants. Similar to temporary certificates for physicians, these providers must meet several requirements, including having a license in any jurisdiction of the United States and working for a specified entity or practicing for a limited time to address a critical healthcare specialty, demographic need, or geographic need. The bill does not provide new fee authority for these providers.

Revenue Source: Healthcare Provider Licensure Fees Issue: Healthcare Provider Licensure Fees Bill Number(s): CS/SB 7016/ Chapter No. 2024-15

#### Limited Licenses

Sections 38 and 39 expand limited licenses to graduate physician assistants, which generally are providers who have graduated from medical school, have not received and accepted a residency match, and have obtained a limited license for practicing temporarily under the supervision of a physician. The limited license is for two years and is eligible for a one-time renewal that terminates after one year. The bill does not provide new fee authority for these providers.

#### Medical Faculty Certificates

Section 36 adds a medical school, the Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine, to the list of schools where employment qualifies a person to receive a medical faculty certificate. It also removes a limitation on the number of certificate holders allowed at each institution. The bill does not provide new fee authority; however these providers may fall under existing fee authority.

#### Foreign-Trained Physicians

Section 33 expands the ability for foreign-trained allopathic physicians to practice in Florida. First, it expands the pool to include persons with an active medical faculty certificate with a full-time faculty appointment for at least three years at a list of medical schools approved in statute. Second, it expands the pool to include graduates of foreign-trained medical schools who have a full-time employment offer from a healthcare provider in Florida and that meet other requirements. The bill does not provide new fee authority; however these providers may fall under existing fee authority.

#### Healthcare Compacts

The bill makes Florida a member of three compacts, the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Compact, Physical Therapy Licensure Compact, and Interstate Medical Licensure Compact.

Compact	Bill Sections	Туре	Description
Audiology and Speech- Language Pathology Compact	55 - 59	Mutual Recognition	Allows audiologists or speech-language pathologists with a license in their home state to practice in another member state. This compact started in 2022, will be fully operational in 2024, and has been enacted by 31 states. A fee payable to the compact commission has not been identified and there is no new fee authority for the state of Florida.
Physical Therapy Licensure Compact	60 - 73	Mutual Recognition	Allows physical therapists or physical therapy assistants with a license in their home state to practice in another member state. This compact has been enacted by 37 states. While a provider must pay a \$45 fee to the Physical Therapy Compact Commission, there is no new fee authority for the state of Florida.
Interstate Medical Licensure Compact	49 - 54	Expedited Licensure	Provides an expedited licensure pathway for qualified physicians. Physicians complete one application and receive licenses from each state where they will practice. The physician must designate a state of principal license. This compact has been enacted by 40 states, D.C., and Guam. While a physician must pay a \$700 application fee to the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission, there is no new fee authority for the state of Florida.

## Section 2: Description of Data and Sources:

- Florida Senate, Bill Analysis and Fiscal Impact Statement, available at: <u>https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2024/7016/?Tab=Analyses</u> (last visited May 17, 2024).
- Florida Department of Health, Agency Bill Analysis for SB 7016, (on file with the Senate Committee on Finance and Tax).
- Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology Interstate Compact, *Home*, available at: <u>https://aslpcompact.com/</u> (last visited May 17, 2024).
- Physical Therapy Compact, *About Us* and *Compact Fees Table*, available at: <u>https://ptcompact.org/Compact-Privilege-Fee-Jurisprudence-and-Waiver-Table</u> (last visited May 17, 2024).
- Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, *About the Compact*, available at: <u>https://www.imlcc.org/a-faster-pathway-to-physician-licensure/</u> (last visited May 17, 2024).

Revenue Source: Healthcare Provider Licensure Fees Issue: Healthcare Provider Licensure Fees Bill Number(s): CS/SB 7016/ Chapter No. 2024-15

#### Section 3: Methodology (Include Assumptions and Attach Details):

The bill does not provide new fee authority for the state of Florida. As a result, an indeterminate positive impact may occur from an expanded pool of providers that fall under existing fee authority. This scenario could occur for the expanded pathway to practice in Florida for foreign-trained physicians and providers with a faculty medical certificate.

On the other hand, an indeterminate negative impact may occur from out-of-state providers who decide to take advantage of the new compacts. These providers would be subject to fees payable to the compact commissions, thus would be substituting Florida licensure fees for compact fees.

There is no anticipated impact from the temporary certificates because it is assumed that advanced practice nurses and physician assistants who would use these certificates are a different cohort than those who would want to practice permanently in Florida. There is no anticipated impact from the limited licenses for graduate physician assistants because this is an entirely new provider category for Florida with no current or new fee authority.

As with analyses from previous compacts, it is unknown how many providers may use the various licensure options under this bill. However, background data has been attached showing fees under current law and counts of providers.

#### Links to Previous Compact REC Impacts:

- Nurse Licensure Compact: <a href="http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2016/\_pdf/page786-788.pdf">http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2016/\_pdf/page786-788.pdf</a>
- Professional Counselors Licensure Compact: did not identify an impact for CS/HB 385 in 2023 or CS/HB 1521 in 2022
- Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact: <u>http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/conferences/revenueimpact/archives/2023/\_pdf/page599-602.pdf</u>

	Hi	gh	Mic	ldle	Low		
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	
2024-25			+/-	+/-			
2025-26			+/- +/-				
2026-27			+/-	+/-			
2027-28			+/-	+/-			
2028-29			+/-	+/-			

#### Section 4: Proposed Fiscal Impact

Revenue Distribution: Medical Quality Assurance Trust Fund, General Revenue Service Charge

#### Section 5: Consensus Estimate (Adopted: 06/17/2024): The Conference adopted the proposed estimate.

	(	GR	Tr	Trust		/Other	Total	
	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring	Cash	Recurring
2024-25	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2025-26	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2026-27	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2027-28	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-
2028-29	+/-	+/-	+/-	+/-	0.0	0.0	+/-	+/-

CS/SB 7016 Health Care				Fees that May Apply to Expanded Pathways				Fees that May Be Foregone Due to Expanded Pathways				Licenses					
Section	Description	Provider Type	Initial Application Fee	, Initial	Initial Fee Rule		Renewal Timing	Renewal	Initial Application Fee	Initial Certification Fee		Renewal Fee		Renewal Fee	Number of Active Florida Licenses In-state FY 2022-23	Number of Active Florida Licenses Out-of-state FY 2022-23	License Source
Temporary Ce	ertificate for Practice in Areas of Critical Need																
	Section 41 creates a new statute that allows for certain advanced practice nurse to receive a temporary certificate for practice in areas of critical need. No new fee authority is provided.	Advanced Practice Nurse	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	\$100	Did not identify	/ 6489-7.001	\$50	Did not identify	64B9-7.001	43,063	8,466	DOH Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Annual Report and Long-Range Plan FY 2022-23, Table 1
	Sections 37 amends section 458.315, F.S., to allow for certain physician assistants to receive a temporary certificate for practice in areas of critical need. No new fee authority is provided.	Physician Assistant (Allopathic)	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	\$100	\$200	64B8-30.019	\$275	Biennial	64B8-30.019			
		Physician Assistant							<b>Å</b> 4.00	6200	5 4 B 4 5 6 0 4 B	4075				4 077	
40 Limited Licens	Same as Section 37, but amends section 459.0076, F.S., for osteopathic medicine.	(Osteopathic)	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	\$100	\$200	64B15-6.013	\$275	Biennial	64B15-6.013	11,504	1,977	Same as above
		Graduate Physician Assistant (Allopathic)	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	None	N/A	N/A			
		Graduate Physician Assistant													Not available. New cate	egory of provider in	
39 Foreign Traine	Same as Section 38 , but amends section 459.0075, F.S., for osteopathic medicine.	(Osteopathic)	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	None	N/A	N/A	Florida.		N/A
33	Section 33 of the bill amends section 458.311, F.S., to expand the ability for foreign trained allopathic physicians to practice in Florida. No new fee authority is provided, but these providers may fall under existing fee authority. <b>Fee Notes</b> : There is an up to \$500 application fee under section 458.311, F.S., for physician licensure. Per Rule 6488-3.002, application fees and certification fees for licenses by exam under 458.311 are reduced until February 2027.	Foreign Trained Physicians	\$350	\$350	64B8-3.002	\$350	Biennial	64B8-3.003	None	None	N/A	None	N/A	N/A	Did not identify		N/A
Medical Facul	ty Certificate	1		Т	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	T	1	1	1	1	
	Section 36 of the bill amends section 458.3145, F.S., to add the Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine, to the list of schools where employment qualifies a person to receive a medical faculty certificate. It also removes a limitation on the number of certificate holders allowed at each institution. No new fee authority is provided, but these providers may fall under existing fee authority. Fee Notes: There is an up to \$500 application fee under section 458.3145, F.S., for a medical faculty certificate. Per Rule 6488- 3.002, application fees for medical faculty are reduced until February 2027. Per Rule 64815-10.002, the osteopathic faculty certificate is \$400, but per the DOH MQA annual report, there are 0 of these.	Medical Faculty	\$350	\$350	6488-3.002	\$350	Biennial	6488-3.003	None	None	N/A	None	N/A	N/A	62	8	Same as above
Compacts			,	1 1000												· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
49 – 54	Interstate Medical Licensure Compact. No new fee authority is provided.	Physician (Allopathic) Physician (Osteopathic) Audiologist	None None None	None None None	N/A N/A N/A	None None None	None None None	N/A N/A N/A	\$350 \$200 \$75		64B8-3.002 64B15-10.002 64B20-3.0001	\$400	Biennial Biennial Biennial	64B8-3.003 64B15-10.003 64B20-3.0001	59,144 8,452 1,239	23,389 2,764 299	
55 – 59	Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Interstate Compact. No new fee authority is provided.	Speech Language Pathologist	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	\$75	\$200	64B20-3.0001	\$75	Biennial	64B20-3.0001	11,731	1,779	
		Physical Therapist	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	\$100		64B17-2.001		Biennial	64B17-2.001	17,566	2,958	
60 - 73 Notes	Physical Therapy Licensure Compact. No new fee authority is provided.	Physical Therapist Assistant	None	None	N/A	None	None	N/A	\$100	\$75	64B17-2.001	\$75	Biennial	64B17-2.001	11,983	773	Same as above

1. N/A = not applicable.

2. Renewal fees provided are for active licenses. Renewal fees may differ for renewal of inactive, delinquent, retired, or other types of expired licenses.

3. Fees are limited to application, certification, and renewal fees in rule. There may be additional fees for licensure. For example, under Rule 6488-30.019 for physician assistants, all persons obtaining licensure or re-licensure as a physician assistant shall pay an additional unlicensed activity fee of \$5. Due to the +/- indeterminate impact, fees in this table are to provide a sense of the cost estimate.

		a	

Impact Notes

#### No impact.

There is no new authority in the bill for the relevant boards to establish fees for a temporary certificate. No impact assumes that the cohort of advanced nurse practitioners and physician assistants who would permanently practice in Florida is different from the cohort who would use the temporary certificate.

#### No impact.

Completely new category of provider and no new fee authority in the bill.

#### Positive Indeterminate

The impact is positive indeterminate depending on how many foreign trained physicians take advantage of the expanded pathway to practice in Florida. The impact assumes that foreign trained physicians would be subject to existing fees.

Positive Indeterminate The impact is positive indeterminate depending on how many new faculty positions are added with the new school and removal of statutory cap. The impact assumes that medical faculty would be subject to existing fees.

#### Negative Indeterminate

The impact assumes that some providers who may be currently paying or planning to pay Florida licensing fees under current law may opt to use the compact instead of Florida licensure. For the Physical Therapy Licensure Compact and the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, these providers would be subject to fees payable to the compact commissions, thus would be substituting Florida licensure fees for compact fees. Fees payable to the compacts are \$45 and \$700, respectively.